224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Hickory Run State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (570) 443-0400
CGID2496

Hickory Run State Park

Camp Information
Sites
381
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   5   6   10   9   7   6   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$28
Like any PA state park sometimes site selection will make or break your trip. We stayed in site 263 and had no issue with road noise or leveling issues. We also had NO issues with bears nor did we see one at all in our 4 days there. We visited the Boulder field which is a must if visiting the area. As far as cell service, I have AT&T and didn't have much of an issue with signal as others are stating. Roads in the state park are definitely hilly and the CG roads a bit tight but by no means undoable. We got nervous on night 2 when a tent went up next to us with 6-8 guys but surprisingly they were quiet and only dropped the F bomb a few times. They actually saw my kids and yelled "sorry" one time. My kids just rolled their eyes since my wife and I can have a bit of a mouth too. All in all, I've been here twice in the last 10 years but given the lack of activities it makes for a nice "every once in awhile" trip. There are just too many other PA CG's to enjoy in the fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$23
Feels remote. Sites are large. There are water spigots located throughout the campground, so no water at each site. No Internet or cell service. I was there during the week so it was almost empty. The bathrooms were pit toilets with no running water. There were hand sanitizers available. Fairly long narrow roads to get there. I would overnight there again for one night on my way to somewhere. I would only suggest you stay there if you are fully self contained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
The thing that defines this park for us is the road from the interstate. Very bad up and down and narrow. That being said, other than the segregation of dogs, it really is not a bad park. We had no hookups and the site wasn't level but doable and the site was big. It was clean and the folks were nice. One surprise to us was NO ALCOHOL Really? After that road? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
An excellent state park which offers a number of different rates to RVers depending on if you want rustic or full hookup. There is an excellent lake to swim in, but a major attraction is Boulder field, where a glacier melted leaving miles of boulders. It's great for a weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
We had a great time camping here, it was our first experience at a PA state park, and it was everything we expected and more. This park has a lot of hiking trails, and we did only the "shades of death" trail and went to the famous boulder field, both were fantastic. The park has a very nice sand swimming beach that has a snack bar and restrooms, very nice. The campground was very nice, spacious, wooded, we stayed in an electric site. The restrooms were very nice and there was a separate dish washing area which was great for those who needed it.We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Wooded camp sites, clean bathrooms, lots of hiking trails. Most trails are off limits to bikes. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
We stayed at this park on Memorial day weekend. We are usually State park campers. I booked site online, and got site 219 this was on second loop after the entrance to the campground, site was small but adequate, lots of tree's. There were a lot of nice larger sites, and we wrote these all down for future reference. This is bear country, we saw no sign of bears though, you must take care with your food and things just in case. The Staff there was very friendly, lots of things to do, lots of trails, very nice swimming area with snack bar. One big drawback was the bathrooms, 2 loops shared one bathroom, mens side had only 3 stalls and one urinal, womens was not much better, waiting was the norm in the morning. These were not well maintained either, at least not on this weekend, Other than that this was a great campground to visit, I will return, but not on a holiday weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$19
Arrived right after three days of rain. Was pleasantly surprised to find our site was well drained and mostly dry. Campground was virtually empty, we were the only campers in our loop. Site was large and included fire ring, picnic table and lantern post. Rest rooms were clean, showers hot, but buildings were not heated. Even though park was empty, park rangers patrolled frequently. Hiking trails were numerous and challenging. We also took a 20 minute ride over to Lehigh Gorge State Park and rode the bike trail. I highly recommend it. Overall a very nice two days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
If you enjoy a natural setting, with great hikes, and opportunities for fishing and family time, this park is for you! Early May, and the campground was mostly empty. Since we are new dog owners, we got a dog site (with electric) - most of these were filled, followed by sites that had electric. Camp store had the basics. The Park is only a few miles from the intersection of Routes 476, 80, and 940. There are reasonable restaurants there if you don't want to cook. Site we had (285) was wide, but I felt the location of the fire ring was too close to my neighbors rig. Also if you are bothered by road noise, this row of sites backs up to Rt 534. Go for the lower sites. Both my daughters want to come back for the beauty found in this park. Don't miss the "Shades of Death" trail - Not as difficult as it sounds, but following a stream and rock formations for a mile and a half. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
This is a large and pretty state park, with good sized sites and some privacy. Lots of trees. It is electric only, with a common water source. We spent Easter here and enjoyed it. There is a separate area for dog owners, which was good. The weather was cold, so we didn't hike; but lots of trails are evident. The restrooms in our loop were pit and not all that clean. Another camping loop has showers and modern restrooms. There is a 10% grade down to the park on the main entrance, so if steep hills are an issue for you, consider coming in the back way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
The campground at Hickory Run State Park is huge. 381 sites. Park has two large loops, one rustic and one modern. We stayed in the modern loop w/ flush toilets and showers. It was a busy weekend and restrooms / showers were filthy. Cleaning crews were nowhere in sight until mid-afternoon on Monday. Our site was large, gravel covered and level. It had a picnic table, fire pit and lantern pole. We had a good one, but many sites in this campground are rather small and wide open. I did notice tent sites within the campground are nice and secluded. The check-in booth at the campground was closed all day Sunday, which seemed odd since it was a holiday weekend. Signs posted directed us to register at the park office located over a mile away. At the office there was a very small parking area for cars only so I had to park my truck / trailer along the shoulder of the main county road. Very dangerous and not very well thought out. In our three days at the park we saw no rangers on patrol. The highlight of our stay was the great hiking trails and terrific scenery. This is truly a beautiful park. Overall a nice park, but very surprised at how dirty restrooms were and lack of staffing for registration. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$14
Stayed at Hickory Run for 3 nights over the Memorial Day weekend. This is one monster-sized campground (381 sites) lay out was into 2 loops. Larger loop has some electric sites and also modern restrooms with showers. Smaller loop is more rustic with no showers and pit toilets. Despite the overall size of the campground, you have to be very choosey in selecting a good campsite. Many of the sites are extremely close together which equals little privacy especially on busy weekends. But, there are some large, rather private sites available. Restrooms were clean but the showers just warm at best. Our site was level with a gravel surface. Park Ranger patrols were frequent. Park attendant at entrance was very courteous and knowledgeable. Hiking trails were numerous and very rewarding. We visited the “Boulder Field”. In my opinion a waste of time and gas. Seemed like we drove forever on this bumpy gravel road to get there. When we finally arrived the 1st thing we saw was a little boy all scraped up from falling on the rocks. We’ve camped here before and far and away this was our best experience. I now know which sites are “large and private” and which areas of the campground to avoid. Overall a good campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
We camped here at the peak of the autumn leaf peeping season. Absolutely fabulous campground for leaf viewing. The campground is laid out into two loops. The larger loop has a limited number of electric sites and also modern restrooms with showers. The smaller more rustic loop had pit toilets and pump water. There were also 20 or so pet sites located in the rustic loop, but they all backed up onto main route #534 which is a rather well traveled and noisy roadway. The restrooms appeared clean and well kept. My biggest complaint about the park is that most all of the sites are small and packed on top of one another. Practically none of the sites had any form of growth or understory between them. Overall very little privacy! This campground is perfectly located for sightseeing this area of the Pocono Mountains. We drove into the town of Lake Harmony for breakfast, very nice. But, if your idea of camping is having a little privacy and some space between you and your neighbors then Hickory Run is definitely not for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
This was the first time we stayed at a State Park. When staying at a state park versus a privately owned park, there seem to be more rules that are pretty strict. That was one thing we were not used to, we enjoy a beer or two sitting around the fire. Park rangers were not lenient at all even though it was just the wife and I. The setting was not very private as the tent sites were pretty much out in the open, with the woods to the back of the sites. Furthermore our site was next to a popular road, which made it even less private. There was not much in the way of amenities at this campground. The store was pretty well stocked, but the people at the check in booth were not very helpful in describing the campground and what is available to campers. The campground is relatively close to Jim Thorpe PA, and the popular Pocono Whitewater Rafting company. Along with white water rafting, they also have extensive paintball facilities here. There are a few good hiking trails in the area as well. If you are looking for super affordable, extremely rustic accommodations with not many amenities, then this place fits the bill. It just wasn't exactly what we were looking for. It was our first camping trip away from our home, "favorite" campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Fun park with lots of hiking and fishing. Bears were a pain, but entertaining. Lehigh Gorge State park is near by and offers easy hiking and biking on the rail trail. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com