219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Lakepoint Resort State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (334) 687-8011
CGID25

Lakepoint Resort State Park

Camp Information
Sites
245
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   7   6   10   8   8   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Great level sites, good hookups. Easy to navigate inside campground. Pretty park. Check in person not very friendly and not in a hurry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
No cable or WI-FI - life's tuff in the woods. We have overnighted here four times in the past three years - guess we like it. Don't miss a tour of the city of Eufaula - fantastic antebellum homes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
Spacious sites, not very private, beautiful lake front site. Fished from the bank and caught mostly bass. Comfort station was very clean, showers roomy. Paved roads into loop need some work; potholes and cracked. Prices were bit high for state park with water and electric only. Check in staff at marina was helpful and friendly, but returned next day for propane tank filling and encountered a surly staff member who was not friendly, didn't want to help with bait, and overcharged for campsite. Darn Alabama ants invaded our camper by third day of stay! Stayed in Clark Loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
A very nice State Park that sets next to Lake Walter F. George. You have three campgrounds loops here to pick from. The Deer Court is for the larger RV's. Our site had 50 amps, water, sewer, long pull through, level, blacktop site, table, BBQ cooker, lots of space on each side plus front and rear, noise free, dark at night, and a dead Wi-Fi system. The hookups worked with no problems. Lots of sites are under trees and others are not. If you have a Sat. dish, pick the right site before you pay. We could pick up two channels over the air on TV. The Clark Loop and Barbour Loop has 30 amps and water only with back in blacktop sites. All hookups are on the wrong side plus sites are very short. The AL Loop is now only used for RV storage. Tons of room in this park to walk or ride a bike. The check in system changed four years ago as others have noted. Now you drive to the marina to pick up a gate code, next go find a site you like, and go back and pay for it and then return to your site. This is around a three mile trip one way. The park has a locked gate so you need a code to get in. Two key pads to use, one low and one higher up for tall RV's. The top key pad would not work. Office made no notes to repair it and told me it was working. I check mileage back to Walmart and it was 12 miles south on Hwy 431. You have lots of places to eat in city plus other super markets as well to pick from. We do not use the bathhouses but checked them I found everything to be very clean, setup for ADA use, and cool with an AC system. On washer and dryers we have our own but I do check the machines. I found two new washers at $1 each, other washers and dryers with rust and wear at .75 cents each. Nice wash room with places to work and places to set down. Laundromat is next to the locked gate, a good ways to any camp sites. Verizon cell phone worked well with full bars, MiFi 4G had no service, 3G worked well with three bars. Rate was based on a Sat, Sun, and Monday stay. Sat. and Sun, cost a little more. Lots of permanent residents in the Deer Loop and have been here a long time. Discount if you are over 62 years old. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Phenomenal facilities (a 100+ room lodge for conventions has an excellent restaurant open to the public), although the camping area is a couple of miles from them. We were in the "C" loop, which is on the lake, and there were only two other rigs there the night we stayed. We had a gorgeous view with ducks and egrets right in front of us, but it lost points because someone stole our 30-amp power cord while we were at lunch despite the fact that the campground was gated -- and the staff was less than helpful in trying to solve the mystery even though the only vehicles the other campers noticed were park vehicles. Nevertheless, we'd stay there again -- but we won't leave anything on the site if we go somewhere during the day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
I think you'd have to look hard to find a campground that has all the amenities this park has at this rate. We had plenty of room for our RV. Clean laundry room was close by. Lake Eufaula was gorgeous, lots of bass fishermen, and a super marina with a cafe. The city of Eufaula is about six miles away with the usual fast foods etc. We stayed an extra night and definitely will go back to stay a few more days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
Great park. We stayed in a back-in site in the Barbour Loop because when we arrived on Friday afternoon that loop was empty. Sites are well spaced and mostly shaded with easy access to the trails. Roads are paved and great for cycling. Through the weekend some of the other sites in the loop were taken, it still remained quiet. We visited the other loops and found them more crowded. No problems with electricity or water, but the connections are on the passenger side. Verizon aircard worked well. Campground had recently been mowed. We would have rated the campground higher except for the registration and check-in. During that process we talked to two different employees - one of which was very friendly and helpful. When we first went to the marina to check in we were told we had to go pick a campsite, leave something to mark that it was taken then drive back to register. In other Alabama State Parks we registered then just called back to advise which site we were in. Even so, we would not hesitate to stay here again and will recommend it to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
We loved this park! Loved the town of Eufaula and the historic homes and charming town. We camped in the Barbour Campground as we wanted more quiet than the full hook up sites near the lake. We had 30amp service, water, and there are dump stations. We did get some TV reception. Our MiFi Verizon card worked great. Great for relaxing, bird watching, and exploring. The Wildlife Refuge was an easy drive from our site. The laundry did have some new washers and dryers - very inexpensive to do laundry. We understand from talking with folks, the State Park has recently completed many renovations. We enjoyed a large easy back in site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$23
I realize this campground is in the State Park system, but it could certainly use some upgrades. We were lucky to get adjoining sites with our friends and therefore had a nice lot between us in Deer Court, which consisted mostly of seasonals. Wi-Fi was terrible and we had to drive to the lodge to use our computer. Roads could use repair and laundry room was very outdated with rusty machines. The ride into town was doable every day if you need anything. Grass needed to be mowed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$24
Nice park in State system. Easy access. Ate Thanksgiving dinner in lodge. Food was too good and of course, we ate too much. Sites are big. On Lake Eufaula with great fishing. Approx. 5 miles to city of Eufaula. 2nd stay there and will definitely go back. Had to change sites to get satellite signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We just over nighted here, but this park is really a destination resort. The "Loop" we were in had a sandy beach. The marina rents pontoon boats and jon boats. Has a resort hotel, golf course, restaurant etc. City of Eufaula is worth a day's exploration and tours of the antebellum mansions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$26
Pretty good park, nice and quiet with the lodge, marina and good restaurant in the park. We didn't use the Laundry or Showers but they were here, about 1/8 mile from the sites. Long 80' pull-through sites with very wide spacing, great for families or persons fishing and boating as it has lake access, although not lake front or lake views. Access to the sites are older pavement, during our stay the sites had been updated with new sewer/electricity and were muddy where the pavement had been trenched. Lots of tall pine trees that provide shade and block your satellite dish. We gave it a 7 because of the mud on some sites and older paved access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
The section we stayed in, just had 50 amp service and Wi-Fi service added and there was some mud and standing water on a couple of sites. Aside from that, the sites were large level and somewhat shaded (tall pines). The only negative was that there were several (about 50% of sites) sites taken by long term campers, thus a lot of clutter around some sites but I must say they were neat and not trashy like some private campgrounds. I would definitely stay here again and bring my fishing gear. Also, the Alabama gives seniors a discount which is appreciated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
Nice park with good walking trails and paved roads. You pick your site so you can choose your best location for you. Nice trees so satellite is not much of option. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Love the landscape around the campground, always keeps grass cut, etc. Nice, roomy lots. Different sections and you can pick your lot, so we always drive around to see which section has more rowdy people (usually the one with waterfront lots) and we pick the quieter one. Love the trails and great place to ride bikes. We like to play tennis here, too, although court needs a face lift. Also they have a rec-room but I can't remember if there is a TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
This is a gorgeous campground! You have to register at the marina, which is a couple miles from the CG, and I didn't feel the staff were particularly helpful or friendly - over the phone or in person. But the CG itself made up for all that! We stayed in Deer Court, which had sewer hook-ups (not all the loops do) and very easy pull-through sites. Only a few yards to the lake, beautiful trees, great spot for a little biking and walking. Only minutes to the lovely older part of Eufaula - although the weekday afternoon traffic through that part is HORRENDOUS!!! Also the little River City BBQ place is wonderful (between town and the CG)!! Rate reflects senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
For a state park, this is one of the best we've ever stayed in even though like most state parks it doesn't have 50 amp or cable. Sites are very long and has plenty of room between sites. Each site is shaded. Would definitely stay here again but not when temperatures are above 85. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
This was a typical State park with some facilities. The staff was very friendly and the RV site was large with easy access. I asked for, and was graciously given a site with minimal trees so that my satellite TV could receive a signal. The park was quiet and is located right on a large beautiful lake. This is one of those parks that would require more than a one night's stay to appreciate. I would stay there again without hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
Wonderful campground but the drainage could use some improvement. There had been a lot of rain and the sites were a little swampy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$14
Quiet, pleasant place to spend some time. Concrete pads were nice and level everywhere we looked. Nice area to ride a bicycle, little traffic. Lots of tall pine trees to shade you. Sites directly on the lakefront are about $28 a night for water and electricity, sites in the same loop not on the lakefront are $14 for water and electricity. Tennis courts are rough, green-painted asphalt which is *not* even. Picnic tables at each site, as well as a fire ring or a small BBQ grill. My only real complaint was that there were not enough garbage receptacles, nor was there any pickup service. For the entire loop of about 60 sites, there was a single dumpster, and it was at the very beginning of the road, quitea hike. All said, it was a nice place, for a nice quiet stay. We'd go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
We are a retired couple who enjoy space, peace, and quiet. This park provided lots of this. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 days spent there on our trip from Arizona to South Carolina. We did miss having internet and I missed a pool because I like to swim as often as possible. The sights are big, treed, and quite level. There are many hiking trails, and there are 2 tennis courts. Town is close by and the "downtown" area is quite quaint and pretty. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
We stopped here as an overnight stop on a trip. After hours check in is provided along with pricing as we departed before the office opened. We used a long pull-through site that was paved and level. Nice state park and close to town for eating etc. We will stay here again and would be a nice weekend or week long place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
We found this park to be quiet and clean in appearance. A great place for kids to ride bikes. The park was not full over the weekend and nearly empty when we left Monday morning. We will return for another visit. We camped in the Deer Court section with full hook-ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$14
I have been visiting this park since it opened, not much has changed. It is in need of an update, however we always have a blast and the staff is wonderful. They know us by name now. We store our camper there, we visit often as I love to bass fish. I recommend this park, just wish it had a pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$19
This park was a big disappointment. It was old and in disrepair. The sewer sites are not on Lake Eufala (Walter F. George reservoir), only near a creek leading to the lake. The beach (on the creek) seems to be a mix of construction sand and goose droppings. Most of the paved roads in the camping area are crumbling apart. There was a lot of litter blowing around and our sewer connection was clogged and backed up when we tried to use it. We stayed 2 nights only because we wanted a chance to visit Providence Canyon, nearby in Georgia (well worth a visit). Georgia's Florence Marina State Park is not far from Lakepoint and a much nicer campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$19
A nice, but dated state park. Alabama should visit nearby FL state parks and learn from them. Sites were paved, level and in good shape. Many pull throughs. We stayed in a circle campsite that had a lot of space. Campground itself is kind of boring, but there are things to do in the park (fish, golf, hike, bike, etc). Some updating would go a long way to making this a 8 or 9. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
Great visit and wonderful, friendly park. Only complaint is that some of the campers/visitors do not adhere to posted speed limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
We rode through this campground in May to see if we wanted to stay there. The answer was definitely NO. What used to be really nice was not anymore. I understand that this was used by Katrina refugees and that they really messed it up. I am sure it will be spruced up, but call and check it out before you reserve a spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$14
I had to comment on the previous review. I wrote the one in January 2004, and of course, that was prior to Katrina. When we were there this year, the full hook up sites were indeed occupied by Katrina refugees. It was sad that the area was a little run down, mostly broken awnings and so we wonder if anyone instructed these people on what to do with an awning. We were located in the electric and water section, with view of the lake. It is a really pretty place and the fellow campers were pleasant. We had a great time. I feel sorry for the parks and the evacuees from the hurricanes in the south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$17
This park, even in January, is beautiful. The site we had was a pull-through, on one of the ends of the row so we felt like we had a quarter acre. The facilities were lovely and the lake really nice. I would imagine in the summer the place would be packed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$17
We stayed here overnight on a return trip from the beach. The loop we stayed in has many campsites in a big field. However, there are trees and the sites are well spaced. Our pull through seemed like it was 100 feet long. The sites are big. I don't recall any sites directly on the water (at least on our loop). However, the sites are relatively close to the swimming area. There is another loop, without full hook-ups, that has sites on the water. The area in general is quite wooded and very peaceful. The roads are great for bike riding. We used the recreation building for our group as it rained some. The kids also played in that building. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com