224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Dreher Island State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (803) 364-4152
CGID2506

Dreher Island State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   9   9   8   9   9   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
We stayed here for four nights. Our site was #14 and was on the lake. Very nice, clean park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
This could be one of the most beautiful campgrounds. What really kills it's beauty is the large amount of trees that have been cut and just left laying. Everywhere you look within the park and campground you see trees cut and left. There is one dump station for each section of campground. We stayed on the upper loop. The problem is there is only 1 dump station for 85 campsites. Once a line forms, it shuts traffic down so no one can pass. Come prepared as the nearest grocery store is 15 miles from campground. The campground does have a store stocked with Ice, soft drinks, firewood and a few other items. The check-in process was easy and the staff are friendly. Our site was located on the upper loop (Islanders Camp Circle) The campground roads and all of the sites are paved. Our site had a moderate grade but was easy to level. On some of the site's, the asphalt is broken from tree roots that make leveling a little more difficult. Each site has water, electric, picnic table and a fire ring. Sites are well spaced for privacy. There are several sites that are grouped that would be great for those traveling with a group. AT&T cell service was good with good 4G MIFI. Over the air TV reception provided 8-10 channels. The bath house was clean and well stocked each time I visited. Park rangers made rounds through the park at regular intervals. Our site was a lakefront site and the view was absolutely amazing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This is a GREAT place to stay. We were there for a 4 day stay. All of the RV sites are paved and tent sites have a pad. Most all of the RV lakefront sites have a slight grade to them. The asphalt on many is broken up from tree roots but not enough to effect leveling of your RV. All of the sites are well shaded and offers a lot of privacy. If I were to have a negative comment, it would be the large amount of dead trees that have been cut and left on the ground. If you walk the trails, this is where you will see this the most. While I did not use the bathhouses, I did check them out. They are a little older but very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$23
We needed an overnight stop, but ended up staying three days! We were 20 feet from the lake front, surrounded by trees. The only sounds were of loons on the lake and birds in the trees. The lake is great for fishing. The park was clean. It was a little off the beaten path, but worth the drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
I was impressed with this park, being a state park. The check in staff were very friendly. I didn't have a reservation. They gave a great site recommendation. The lake side sites were nice, but weren't very level. The sites are large, and long. They all appeared to be paved. I didn't like the set up, however. The fire ring was right by my back bedroom window, and the awning just made it out. It was over the hill and the picnic table area was near the back end. Fishing was great, and swimming as well. I had a blast. I would have preferred full hookups, but that isn't a deal breaker. Overall, I would be back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
The park has numerous water front sites. Supplies such as ice, food etc are about a 15/20 minutes drive. Clean toilets/showers. We wanted to stay longer but the park was full. The one negative I found is the park does not provide soap in toilets. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$29
Stay 7 nights and loved it. It is a state park and like most you give up a few things for lower price and woods. Will go back again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Be cautious when you get within ten miles or so from the park or you'll miss the signs. They are located RIGHT at the turning point. No handy turn-around either. It's a bit of a hazard, as is the narrowness of the roads in the park. Most sites slant quite a bit for a motorhome, but ours was fine as the girl who took our reservation did a good job. They use Reserve America, but the cost for a one-day stay, made on the same morning was only $1.60. The only trail in the park was okay, no more. The scenery, in early spring, is beautiful and the lake is great. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
First I have to say, I think that technically this park is in Prosperity, SC, not Chapin. There are two campground loops: A and B. We were in A-site 12. The whole campground has a lot of shade trees. Our pad wasn't quite level, but not too bad. The site itself had quite a slope to it, but we had great access to the water right at our site. We kept our small boat right outside our door. One thing we had to get used to was that the people with a site that isn't on the water would come over to our site to fish. The loop road was not in wonderful condition and is very narrow. We handled it fine, but a really large rig might have difficulty. I don't know if the other loop would be better for a big rig. We stayed here for two weeks and really enjoyed being right on the water. A very peaceful morning cup of coffee! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
One of our favorites!! Beautiful view. Very peaceful and private feeling. Lake Murray is supposedly too far north to have alligators - I did go swimming and wasn't eaten, so...! Site was not level - we needed to use our wooden blocks to make it work. A lot of folks bring their boats because you can moor the boat right at your campsite! Go look at the campsites before you pick one, and just maybe you will find the perfect one for you too! If it had had sewer hook-up and 50amp, would've been a 10 for sure!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
Park was empty on Monday when we checked for one night. The lake is very big I think there will be a fishing tournament upcoming - there were a lot of big time fishing boats coming and going while we were here. The sites were spacious and many were on the lake most slope front to back or side to side - you'll need blocks to level. We stayed in #14 a pull-thru about 15' from the water. The place was so quiet and peaceful we stayed another night. The bath house was older, but clean & I agree the shower curtains could have been about a foot wider. We would camp here again if in the area, but make reservations during the regular season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
Park was crowded on the weekend, but it really thinned out by Sunday. This lake is enormous with many power boats. Our focus was kayaking and as long as you stayed at the shore, you were ok. The sites were spacious and many were on the lake. We stayed in #16 which had easy access for our kayaks. Other than the lake, there are not alot of trails for hiking: but it's enjoyable. It would be nice if they upgraded the shower curtains as they do not completely cover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
We stopped here on our way to Cherokee, NC for a week. We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. We had a site on the lake with a great view and tons of shade. At first, the site looked a little tricky to back in to due to the narrow drive, but there was plenty of room when we got to our site. The park makes for a nice walk, being able to view the lake from most any point. The bath house was close and cleaned daily and Rangers make regular rides through the camping areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
We had a site right on Lake Murray and the views were wonderful! Getting into our spot was rather tough. The spaces have narrow lots and there are a lot of trees. We have a 37 foot coach and it took two people to help us in, but it was worth it.We enjoyed watching the sunrise over the water as we had our morning coffee and fishing from our site. There was a big fishing tournament the weekend we stayed here so the park was busy.We found the park to be relaxing. Although there is only electric and water, the dump station is conveniently located to the exit. If we are ever back in the area, we will visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$26
We had a great paved site (no. 14) on the water. The campsite was close to waters edge. Personnel were very friendly. There is a very good hiking trail, a bit over two miles, but we were in the upper campground loop and had to walk a long way along side the road to get to the trail head. That is the only complaint, though, otherwise highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$21
The smaller of two campgrounds was open during holiday season. Most sites were filled. Easy walk to other islands - no walk path on one bridge but traffic was limited during this time of year. It might be different during summer months. The larger campground on last island looked real nice (closed for season) with large sites. Bathrooms cleaned but could use updates. Curtains for privacy rather than doors. It is in close proximity to Columbia. A good choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$21
Sites were nice and everything ran smoothly. We had a super nice weekend. The first campground wasn't noisy at all. We were able to drive the golf cart around to see birds and deer. It was a super cool weekend temperature wise. It was cool every day we were visiting. Great place for camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
The state park is absolutely beautiful, we spotted deer and a lot of other smaller wildlife. Lots of great waterfronts and forest around. The site was lake front, with a BBQ/fire spot and picnic table, and we were able to swim rather privately from it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
This was a great park with nice trails. Great if you like boating. Beautiful scenery all around and paved campsites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
A beautiful state park. We were there 11 days and had a great site right on the water. We had non-camping family members that rented one of the Villas and we were close enough to walk back and forth. Our only problem was we arrived with full black and grey water tanks and the dump was not very convenient. You have to go all the way around the camping area to get to the dump and then go some distance to turn around and return to the camping area. We would definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
We enjoyed our 7-night stay at this state park. We arrived on a Friday, and the campground was packed but given the lake views it was very pleasant. The park is located on three small islands in Lake Murray, and we entertained ourselves walking around admiring the blooming dogwood trees and getting different glimpses of this huge body of water. The one discordant note was that when we tried to reserve four nights the park's reservation system said we had to reserve for 7 nights...apparently because our arrival fell during what was considered 'spring break.' However, the campground was virtually deserted starting the Monday after our arrival. We chatted with some another couple who were disappointed by the same requirement (they also paid for seven nights but were leaving after five and also lamented the wasted cost given the mid-week emptiness). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$15
This place should be called Wildlife Park - or at least Deer Island. Wonderful lake front sites, and we saw deer, Canadian geese, buzzards, and even an eagle. CG would be perfect if you had a boat (and the weather was warmer than January). The only real reason for the 7 was the sites are tiny, and some are hard to back in (you got to know your neighbors real quick, as everybody was always helping to direct new comers around the trees). The water and electric hookups are far from pads, and though the pads are paved, the rest of the site is not very level - but it's a state park, and you're on the lake so that doesn't really matter. Would stay here again (but would pick a warmer month). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
This state park is gorgeous! We camped on the banks of Lake Murray. The area is very wooded and natural. The park has two areas to camp - A and B. From a review we chose B and it's the better of the two in my opinion. The roads are paved and good for walking and/or bicycling. We will certainly do a return trip here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Just returned from this park and enjoyed its scenery and mid-week serenity. I generally concur with the positive comments posted here but want to advise other prospective campers that this lake, attractive as it is, is not very suitable for swimming. It's OK to swim in places, and the water seems nice enough, but there aren't any beach areas or a sandy shoreline near the park. Also, beware of rocks and look out for fishhooks. I got a hook in a beach shoe and am mighty grateful I wasn't barefoot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Beautiful park. Camped in loop A on site 4 (steep site and difficult to level). Would definitely go back but would camp on loop B on a waterfront lot. They are right on the water, very private with lots of trees and shade. Saw lots of people swimming right in their own back yard. Lots to do. Playground for little ones and lots of paved roads for bike riding. Saw several deer while walking in the evening. If you have a boat you should definitely bring it. Staff was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2006
$18
This was our first time in a state park (or state "recreation area") and we LOVED it! We'd always avoided state parks because 50 amp service usually isn't available, but a visit to Dreher Island changed our view on that. This place is ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!! The sites are clean, paved, very wide and pretty much level. The staff is friendly, it isn't very crowded and the lake (Lake Murray) is stunningly beautiful. If you've never been here, YOU NEED TO TRY IT!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$20
Second trip to Dreher Island and loved it! Great staff, nice lake, fun for the kids with 2 playgrounds! Will make it a yearly vacation! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$19
Super state park on beautiful Lake Murray. 348 acre park with 12 miles of shoreline. Great for hiking or biking. Many launch their boats and ski or fish. Very clean lake. One of the best SC state parks we've been to. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com