223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Edisto Beach State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 48 user reviews. Phone: (843) 869-2156
CGID2516

Edisto Beach State Park

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   8   1   10   10   10   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2014
$38
This is a beach and marsh accessible park about 25 miles off the main hwy 17 about 40 miles from Charleston. It is very laid back and rustic. The bathroom building is new and in very good condition. If you don't like salty tasting water that imparts its salty flavor to your tea or coffee, bring you own drinking water or plan to bring it. Remember that is the same for ice cubes as well. Having said that, the sites in the Oaks area are fairly private. There is 50 amp available which is not at the Ocean campground--they only have 30 amp. No sites are concrete, but are fairly level. The big downfall is that the roads in and out are not being maintained AT ALL. There are potholes so big that we are hesitant to drive our rig through--it might just disappear. If you like your vehicle and rig a rockin' and a rollin' you will love this campground. It rained 2 of the 3 nights we were here and the mudholes were so deep that they held water the entire time. These roads need a lot of work. We will not come back. There are parks that are closer in to Charleston that are no more expensive and are in a lot better shape for campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$47
This park has some positive attributes, but more negatives for us. We stayed in the beach campground and not the one in the trees. The good points are the size of the sites, the proximity to the beach is close, and the utilities work well. The negatives include the really bad pot holed roads. Many holes are nearly the width of the whole road. When it rains like it did during our stay all the roads turn into a muddy mess. There is one trash bin all the way at the entry road into the park. It is quite a hike from most everywhere. The dump station for the park is not close to the park itself. It is out the front gate and down the road about 3/4 of a mile. This eliminates the ability to use a sewer tote for gray water dumping. Also the "love bugs" were swarming during our stay. While they don't bite, they are mating and are covering every surface. However the biggest drawback this park has, I was surprised that it hadn't been mentioned before. The drinking water here is literally undrinkable do to high levels of salt and minerals in the ground water. The water is bad for your appliances, and can't even be used to water plants or wash a vehicle. Bottled water is a must to stay here, and the local store sells out regularly. The citizens of Edisto voted down a Reverse Osmosis System that would have made the water usable. So if you plan to come here, bring your own drinking water. We also had difficulty driving our rig to the park due to lack of maintenance of the many overhanging trees and shrubs along highway 17 and 174. We are not looking forward to leaving and taking the same roads back out. I will not stay here again. Too many negatives for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
We camped here over Labor Day weekend. We were on the Beach Campground. We arrived after dark and beware the gate is locked and the office will give you a pass code to open the gate. The entrance was very difficult to find in the dark and the gate not lit at all. The road in the beach campground was just gravel so it was dusty. The nicest thing was the beach is right there! We have never stayed so close to the beach from our campsite. The park is pet friendly and dogs can go on the beach at any time! The restrooms in the beach campground are not updated and they are horrendous! The showers were backing up so only one shower was working which made for a long line. We really cannot recommend any good restaurants. Seacow was not very good and pricey. McConkey's was a little better but fried greasy food. Not much to do in the area but so nice to relax. We would come again and hope that the restrooms get updated soon! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
We were not able to get a site in the beach area, so we booked a spot in the Live Oaks section. DO NOT STAY THERE!! It is an over grown brushy area that has dusty dirty ground and is a mosquito haven! Also, we were not greeted in a very friendly way. We arrived early, check-in is at 2:00 & the volunteer sent us to the boat landing to wait. After finding the landing, the volunteer there, who was super nice, asked "Why didn't she send you to the beach instead?" To which I replied, "Where is the beach?" She asked if the other volunteer gave us a map. I said no, all she gave us was the "heave-ho", get out. So, the nice girl gave us directions to the beach to wait. All this time we were hauling a 5th wheel around. Not a pleasant experience. When we finally checked in at the campsite, I suggested that she send people to the beach in the future instead of the campground and she, matter of factually replied that she was just doing what she was told. We couldn't sit outside because the mosquitoes were so thick. When we left, I felt like I had been eating dust just from folding up the patio mat. Definitely not a pleasant experience. We will never stay there again. We have stayed in a few state parks in different states and, maybe it's just us but we've found them to be less accommodating than private rv parks. We will try to avoid them in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
Only bad thing I can say about this campground is the road into the ocean side campground is pretty rough, but you really shouldn't be driving that fast now should you? Bi-Lo grocery across the street, two restaurants nearby (we loved the Seacow), level sites, ocean right over the dunes, What's not to like! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Beautiful! We stay here every year and its always a blast. The prices are great and the sites are well-shaded. The beach is close and never too crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
We camped in the beach campground. The entrance/check is on the left, across from a Piggly Wiggly grocery store (very convenient even walking). All campground roads are gravel and if not kept up could be full of ruts and pot holes, but in our recent stay, it was in great shape. There are 74 sites in this campground and another 51 in the live oak campground about 1 mile inland. The beach campground has an assortment of sunny/shady/partial shade campsites. During our recent 3 day stay we noticed the ranger was constantly driving around and the cleanup personnel were taking care of dropped palm fronds and cleaning each site as it was vacated. The restrooms were clean, heated, and with lots of hot water in the showers. Very easy beach access from any campsite. Lots of very friendly people during our stay. Lots of large dogs and for what we could tell, all were well behaved. Had 3 bars on my Verizon data access on my iPad. The RV dump site is not at either campground. As you leave Edisto Beach driving inland, the dump is 100 yds past the live oak campground on the right. This is a very popular campground so you must plan early, but it is well worth it. We look forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$26
This review pertains mostly to the beach campground (there are two that are part of this state park). Large sites, many with adequate shade. Mostly level or near level sites. Heavy rains makes a few sites very, very muddy and wet (this is the low country of SC!) but most are elevated enough so that is not a big problem. Campground roads are not paved and maintaining them is an ongoing problem. Ranger station is located at entrance to Live Oaks part of the park where one must register and then through it to reach Beach campground. Sites in Live Oaks section seemed smaller and tighter than those closer to the ocean. Entrance road to register is HORRIBLE and really needs to be paved. There is a grocery store right across the street from the Beach campground and hardware store in nearby. Not much to do if one is not into the ocean in Edisto Beach, but found 2 small restaurants with good food (McConkeys and The Sea Cow). McConkeys is right behind grocery store and within walking distance of the campground. Great Shrimp Burgers!!! Rating reflects how this compares to other similar parks (as in State Parks without all the frills). For what it is, an excellent choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$27
Very nice area. The Piggly-Wiggly grocery store was within walking distance of our site. Lots of hiking/biking trails to enjoy. Our favorite part was that the beach on the city side of the pier was dog friendly (in the off-season). So, our little corgi dog could run free. Looking forward to returning in the early spring. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
My family has been coming to this park for years, and it is a very popular park. I was a little confused where to register as you have to go to Live Oaks park first as it's now part of the state park. It's a great state park, but the roads leading into the park are terrible after it rains. As popular as this park is one would think they could do a better job maintaining the roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
The lot size was very large and backed right up to the marsh. We had a fire pit, beautiful trees, and lots of shade. The kids had plenty of room to ride their bikes. This is definitely a true family friendly campground. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Edisto has two sections for camping. The oceanfront section was full so we had to say in the Pine section. This was nice but of course the ocean area would have been better. The beach park area itself had been hit pretty hard by the waves from Hurricane Irene. The beach had a lot of erosion with exposed rebar in areas. The area close to the camping was not as beaten up. The site we had was large and easy to back into. The water at our site did not taste all that great so we used our water tank water for that. The mosquitoes were particularly bad in the pine area too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
Wonderful in every respect. Super park with quiet, peaceful surroundings. Bathhouse/restrooms were virtually NEW. This is a fantastic destination- our only regret was we could only stay the one night. Definitely be back. Some parts of the road were a little tight and some sites appeared tight; however, we had a 42 ft motorhome right next to us. Big rig access - yes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Great state park right on the beach. We had one of the few shaded sites at this park. Most are out in the open unless you are in a tent or a smaller unit. This is a great place to stay. With a short walk over the dunes, you are on the beach. The beach was not crowded. People were friendly and the facilities were clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
We spent 4 nice days in the Live Oak section of this park. We stayed in one of the marsh side sites. We are very glad we did. There was a nice breeze off the ocean there every day. I can not say that the breeze got much farther than our row of sites and the large increase in bugs and humidity says it did not. The ocean was a short drive/bike ride from this part of the park. There is a campground down by the beach but it was full when we tried to reserve. I liked the Live Oak section myself as there was shade. We enjoyed the bike riding opportunities on the island. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
We camped in the beach campground. The only thing I could complain about was the dust from the road-it had not rained in a while & when cars going faster than they should in & out of the park-created a thick cloud of white dust. The park people do a great job keeping the place clean-but they could clean all day & there are those who would leave messes in the restrooms. The beach was wonderful, lots of shells, the Piggly Wiggly across the road had everything-prices reasonable. Seacow eatery best food & lots of it. Flowers Seafood very clean & great for fresh seafood. Our spot was spacious, for the most part very quiet park, about a minute walk to the beach. Bring drinking water. The water was sort of salty tasting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
The campground has two sections. We stayed in the Live Oak Campground. We were in site 90 which was deep enough for both my 32 ft RV and the towed car to be off the road. All access roads are dirt/gravel and were in fairly good shape. Lots of shade at our site and a sense of privacy due to the foliage surrounding the site. The shower/restroom building appeared to be brand new and it was well keep up. Our rate was just under $22 a night due to the senior citizen discount we got. The RV dump site was across the main highway from the campground and on the way off the island. Access to it was easy. One thing I did not like was the fact that there was a back exit to the campground onto the main highway. Would have felt more secure is there was a locked gate on this access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Edisto Beach SP has been one of our favorite places to camp for 20 years. It is beautiful and peaceful, but the campground needs work. This is one of the most popular parks in SC, but the state does not maintain the campground well. The roads have potholes and the sites badly need gravel. When it rains many sites flood which makes it tough on the tent campers. All that said, it is still a great place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$26
I live about 40 minutes from this park but have never camped here until this weekend. A great walk to the beach and the sound of the Ocean was terrific. Mostly snowbirds and full-timers, but the amount of kids (even for a Monday) was huge and very noisy. I will also add, though the kids rode around on their bikes making the peace in the park at times barely tolerable, the Park Ranger deemed it necessary to stop by my campsite and say something about my dogs whom were lying there on my mat right near me. The dog gestapo is out with unreasonable regulations once again. I will say as well, the amount of good campsites is very little. The layout of this park could be much better: we had site 036 and got everyone's headlights as they drove in. I only saw about 7 or 8 campsites in the place that would be called great. Edisto has very little entertainment and one can only walk the beach so many times. I love camping and hiking mainly, but gee wiz. Overall there are much better choices. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This CG is in two sections. The off beach section has nice sites. Easy to get into, clean and a nice size. Two things I didn't care for. One is the roads are dirt, something to expect in a state CG. However there are many pot holes, mostly at the beach site. How hard is it to fill in pot holes on a dirt road? The second is they use Reserve America for reservations. Reserve America has never provide me with accurate data. For example: the site to my left showed to be vacant but was occupied and the site across was vacant but listed as occupied. One time in Texas they showed the CG full on a Thursday. I didn't believe it and went anyway. It was 15% occupied. And they charge us for this too! The beach site is not in my rating but I biked to it to take a look. It is, well, very cozy camping. I have a 34 footer and I'm not sure there are too many spots it would fit into. My slide outs would probably touch the campers next to me. I would use the treed sites again but would say away from the beach area unless I was tent camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
We spent a lovely weekend at the waterfront side of the park. We stayed in site # 72. The site was large and several yards from the beach access. The beach area was not crowded and had sea shells. The park rangers patrol the area every hour. Very pleasant stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
Soooo close to the beach but it's a typical state campground. Would not consider putting my feet into their showers or using their toilets: filthy. Beach isn't wide and flat, but enjoyed walking it. For the price, we'd go again. Thankfully, we did not have to use the restroom areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$21
Although this is a lovely State Park and we enjoyed our stay, it is probably not a place I would rush back to. We stayed in the Live Oaks section as the beach parking was full. It had large private sites that were great even though it required a little maneuvering to get in. We had site #87. When we went over to the beach area, we were glad we had ended up in the section we did. It was a little too crowded and tight, and the beach view was nothing great. Yes the water is awful, but what can you expect on a salt marsh. Also, Route 174 into the park was pretty rough and narrow with lots of overhanging trees. Great to look at, but a wicked drive. You should come here at least once to lay back and relax. Ocean walks are great and town is pretty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
We camped on site # 74 which backed up to the marsh area. It was a large and mostly private site. The beach has great shelling and we kayaking in the creek: but be aware and careful of the tide schedule. It was quite relaxing, not commercial at all! I would recommend this campground highly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
We camped on site 45 in the beach campground. Positives - close to great natural beach, clean restrooms, laid-back & quiet atmosphere, nature programs for family, good bike riding on island, grocery store across the street. Negatives - dump station a mile away, hard to get reservation. Weather was beautiful. Saw sea turtle nesting. Very relaxing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Great campground! Our site was #54, which had a lot of space. About 30 yards from the beach, maybe 50 yards from the bathroom/showers. Most sites on the main road in the campground were spacious, and good for large fifth wheels, and RV's, but the marsh side had the most space. Sites #53-75 had space, but some have trees you may have to contend with if you have a tall unit. Most of these are back in sites. Small road closest to the beach good only for small units, and tents, because road is narrow, and overhanging trees might make it difficult for larger units to navigate. These are sites 1-12. If you choose a site at the north end be prepared if it gets very windy, because there are no trees blocking you from the beach. Only drawback for this campground is the water. Water is not great for drinking, and not to wonderful for showers either. The beach is great if you have a dog. It was basically empty when we were there, so plenty of space without other people. Our dog loved it. Park Rangers also do a very good job of patrolling the park to keep any problems down. Overall, an excellent campground, and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
We volunteered here for 3 months, and despite the water this is the best campground we seen since we left. We have been in 7 other camp grounds. There is a reverse osmosis system at the fire station for good drinking water. We arrived Thanksgiving and spent the winter and found the weather to be very enjoyable. The beach is amazing! So many shells, so little time! The rangers and maintenance crew were friendly and helpful. We would definitely camp here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Beautiful State Park and campground! We camped on site #28 with views of the marsh and the ocean. Nice wide sites with plenty of room and all are fairly level. In close proximity are restaurants and grocery store (we love the Pig!). Nature walks and bike trails are great and easily accessible. Only negative, as previous reviewer said, is the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2008
$23
The staff was friendly and helpful. The beach is fabulous. My favorite sites are at the north end of the beach campground. They are open and sunny, which is a good thing in December, with great beach access. The south end of the beach campground and especially the Live Oaks section are more heavily wooded to the point that getting around can be tricky. The water is foul. I found it undrinkable and wasn't even that thrilled washing with it. That is with a filter too. The dump station is quite a distance from the beach campground, including around a mile on a state highway. There's not much around as far as shopping and services go. The grocery store right across the street has the basics but otherwise isn't very impressive. There was a decent hardware store nearby. The nearest laundromat was a 30 minute drive and all of the driers were out of order. The only major plus was the beach but that's probably not enough to get me to come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Great Park! We had our 40' motorhome and we did brush a few palm tree branches getting in and out. The park was beautiful and the beach was amazing. The Piggly Wiggly at the entrance is worth a visit if only to see how much stuff can a little grocery store carry. I had a great time and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We camped in the Live Oaks section of the campground. We didn't know the two campground were so far from each other. Our site was huge, but covered with bugs, ticks, spiders and mosquitoes. We were unable to be outside for more than five minutes at a time. It would have been nice to know in advance that we were a mile from the beach. Our golf cart was useless. The bathrooms at this site were brand new but without a/c. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
We stayed in the beach campground, and had a wonderful site with the ocean out our back window. Restrooms are clean. The water has an unpleasant taste so we would advise you take drinking water. Only other problem we found was the location of the dump station. We have a 36 foot 5th wheel and there is a pretty sharp turn to get back on the highway after you dump. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
Edisto Beach State Park – Edisto Beach, South Carolina -$23 plus tax and fees – site 23 Beach Campground – water and electricity. This campground has two sections one is in the woods where the sites are pretty, private and huge. Great walk in tent sites here! It is warmer in this section but not bad. The other is on the beach. Some of the beach sites are in a field and others are among the palm trees one dune away from the beach. Not as private as the other section. It is very relaxing here with a nice breeze blowing most of the day. The showers are hot! There are bike trails that go to the next campground as well as to the interpretive center, boat dock, forest trail and to the Spanish Mount. The trails are not paved but they are hard pressed. They go through beautiful palm trees and over bridges. The Spanish Mount Trail is interesting ending with a Mount that used to be over a half an acre wide and 20 feet high of crushed oyster and clam shells where they think the Indians used to have get together and celebrations. We really enjoyed the bike trails here. There is also a Piggly Wiggly, Package Store, Subway, Restaurant, Gas Station and State Beach across the street from the Beach Campground in walking distance. Campers in the beach section must keep their lights blocked from the beach at night so that the turtles will come out and lay their eggs. Bring extra drinking water because the water has a salty taste. Nice campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$27
Edisto in winter is fun--if, like us you live near enough to watch the weather for "nice, long weekends". Crowds and prices are low & the beach wide and warm. Edisto Beach State Park is great--nice, wide campsites, majestic live oaks, beach w/ pier--who needs cable of wi-fi?? Walk to GOOD restaurants & retail. Will always return & you will too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
My family has been coming to Edisto Beach for over 15 years but, unfortunately the family has outgrown the house so we always have to come up with a creative alternative. This year we broke down and bought a camper, cancelled our reservations at the resort, and were lucky enough to find a site in the Live Oak section. We were worried that it wouldn't be nice since it was so far back from the beach and we couldn't have been more wrong. Our site was large and private, just the right distance from the bathrooms and trash can, and wonderfully shaded for the middle of the summer. We ended up spending more time at the campsite than the house and enjoyed one of the most relaxing vacations in a long time. The bathroom was clean, modern and very large. We did see one snake slither from our site and hundreds of giant spiders and webs on the hike to the Indian Mound. The interpretive center was very nice and we were free to go visit the front beach wheneer we wanted to. The only reason I can't give it a 10 is one night the couple across from us got into a loud domestic and were throwing stuff and me and and another camper went to the ranger station and called all the numbers posted and couldn't find anyone or get a response. It settled down so we didn't call 911 and they left the next morning. Other then that it was the perfect trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
It's been over 15 years since I last camped at Edisto and I'm so pleased that not much has changed. My favorite thing about Edisto is that there is nothing to do there but go to the beach. The campground is nice and quiet and most sites are shaded. It was a short walk to the beach, which was pretty un-crowed. I used the showers, but not the restrooms. The showers had nice tile and were very clean. The only negative of the whole trip were the racoons. Those guys are smart, fast and very messy. Next time we will bring a trash can with a secure locking lid. We had several racoons come up within a few feet of us. But that's part of camping and technically, we are in their space. Overall it was a very relaxing weekend and I'm already planning the next trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
We have camped here for many years,we love the habitat and the fishing. We were very disappointed this past time because we were not allowed to fish off the dock. Other than that the stay is always very relaxing. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
The Beach Campground section is close to the ocean. Can be extremely windy. The sites near the entrance have large dunes as a buffer from the wind. The sites are large but there are some low hanging trees to navigate. Dump station is not located in the campground. It can be crowded with very little room to wait in line without being on the main road. We ended up dumping at a Flying J. Overall a nice place, but found other SC state parks on the ocean we like better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
Overall a good experience. Most sites are not crowded. Showers and restrooms were clean. We were in the Beach Side campground. Watch for stray cats. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
Well run and maintained state park. Don't feel crowded on sites. Can walk to grocery store just across road to entrance for food and supplies. Plan to visit there again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
We stayed in the "Live Oak" area of the campground, not in the oceanside sites. I expected to be eaten alive by mosquitos, but as long as we kept the "Deep Woods Off" applied, we experienced only a slight problem with bug bites. Don't bother with anything less than maximum strength, though; we ran out of "Deep Woods Off" on the second day and tried some of the "Skintastic" repellent, but that did absolutely nothing to stop the little vampire wannabes; we ended up buying some more of the napalm-strength stuff. Aside from the slight bug problem, the camp- ground is wonderful. The sites in the "Live Oak" area are big, nicely spaced, and have enough undergrowth between them to provide a good deal of privacy. The beachside area is a little more crowded. The cavernous bathhouses were bright and spacious on the "Live Oak" side, a little less so on the beach. Either area, though, is beautiful. Visit the website and you get a little idea of the natural aesthetics of the state park. Several trails are available. Don't go on foot. The mosquitos rise from the pine needles in a low, black cloud and make any walk uncomfortable. A bike is the best way to experience the trails without the bugs (just keep moving, avoid eye contact). We saw many marsh birds, crabs, dolphins, a sting-ray, a stray cat, and one lost mole. Palm trees, live oaks, and spanish moss everywhere; beautiful, beautiful place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
This is one of our favorite parks. We've stayed there twice and are returning next May for a 3rd time. We like the sites that face the marsh, affording great sunsets and an ever-changing "cast" of birds. The beach is good for walking and swimming. There is a series of bike trails that criss-cross the island, which makes for good riding. There is a Ranger Program that we found both interesting and informative. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$28
Nice sites overall, but some really tight turns. Playground equipment is pathetic and rusty and downright unsafe. Otherwise, would go back, as nice beace and nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
This campground has 2 parts - a location directly on the beach, as well as another location about a mile down the road. The beach location can be very windy - tenters beware! The location inland is very shaded, very private sites, and has a brand new bath house. It's a short bike ride through the marshes to the beach. We witnessed turtles hatching during a ranger-led program one night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$27
Since many people love this place, I am going to get into to trouble for saying this, but I wasnt too impressed. The campground fee was over $27 per night which included tax and a reservation fee. That is quite a lot for just water and electric in March. The dump station is several miles outside the campground down the main highway. Not a place to be towing a blue tote tank. The winter accumulation of trash, both natural and man-made, had not been picked up. The showers in the bath house needed a good paint job. The entrance road was too narrow for medium to large RVs. In fact, I chickened out half way through and switched over to the exit road, which had me going the wrong way on a one-way road. Once we made it to the loop at the far end of the campground, we found many large sites with the beach just over the dunes. In an effort to keep people off the dunes, some real ugly fence and rope have been erected. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$22
This state park is our favorite place to camp. There is a front main campground and a secondary campground just up the road which is not connected to the beach area. If is commonly referred to as the over flow area. It is shady and bugs are a bit worse there. Almost no chance satellite with work here due to trees. Also the roadway in areas is very tight. The front park sites are great and there are now 30 sites that allow reservation (30-60). I actually liked it better without reservations. Slow paced retreat. If you don't get a reservation, arrive very early or at night before gates open to get a good site. You will be glad you did. We have stayed here 20 or more times in the last five years. Always love it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$19
One of our favorite places. We stayed two nights in Feb. I would think that during warmer weather bugs could be a problem since this place is surrounded by marshland. Maybe we will find out since we might go back in Sept. One other problem is they do not take reservations. You might want to call first like we did when we where on 95 and make sure they have a site before you drive the 50 miles to the island We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$20
We had a great time. Very nice location. The gnats were bad at times. The showers did not drain very well. Very easy access to beach and shade trees are nice. We would go again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com