223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails / Carolina Landing was rated 5 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (864) 972-9527
CGID2517

Thousand Trails / Carolina Landing

Camp Information
Sites
333
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   2   8   8   7   7   7   6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$1
Rate is based on TT membership. Nice campground with a beautiful lake. Stayed here the first week of April and it was kind of disappointing that the pool wasn't open. The weather was in the high 70's and their operations schedule says everything was to be up and running. You can wash your RV for a $5 fee. Campfires are permitted. Most of the roads in the cg are paved. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Very disorganized and didn't appear to be well maintained. We stayed one night here, arrived right before office closing. The gal in the office gave me 3 different sites to choose from that she said were open with unlocked electric boxes. Two were in close proximity to the bathhouse so we headed there first. The first site had a car parked in it, and the second a motorhome that appeared to have been there for a while. The third site was pretty far from the bathrooms and we couldn't make the turn into it due to another vehicle parked with a fair portion of it in the roadway. And that site had no picnic table. A call to the office got an answering machine so no help there. We headed back to the first section and just started trying sites at random to find one without a reserved sign, with an unlocked electric box that actually worked. The third one had working 20A and that was good enough at that point. The site was very unlevel, and I reached my limit of comfort with the height of the levelers before we were actually level but it was close enough at that point. Showers were clean and hot, though I got a scare when the lights went out as they were on a timer and I didn't realize that as they were on when I went in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$3
Park is following the trend of other 1000 trails campgrounds - no upkeep. The sites are not level and its hard to level your RV. The few sites we were told to select from are on the site of a very steep hill. Looks like everything has been put away for the winter. Very disappointing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$1
Rate reflects membership price. Very close to freeway, but not too noisy. Good free Wi-Fi. $3 extra for 50A. Sites close together. Good Verizon phone. Good air TV. Pool(s) not operating while we were here. Lake access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
We stated here on our way back to Chattanooga. Not far off the highway and easy to find. This is a membership cg, but has daily spaces. The man next to us had been here a year. We wanted full hookups and were given just a couple of choices. Very narrow spaces, but ours was flat and lever. Overnighters, we didn't even unhook from the truck. After I walked around the site, I wished we had picked a site without sewer. Those had plenty of space and hardly anyone in that whole area. Wi-Fi only available near the office. Overall very clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$4
Rate reflects fee for 50AMP hookup. All sites are full hookup and pull through but 30/50AMP is only available in sites 1-26, closest to the office and adult pool. The hills are fairly steep, and the site map plainly shows which to avoid with a big rig. Restrooms and laundry are in the building with store and office, next to the adult pool. During our stay the family pool was closed and empty, so the adult pool was open to all. Hilly is what you get. Most of the sites are cut into side hills, and sites 1-26 are typical of what you find. The sites are very narrow ,and with slides open on the fifth wheel there was no room on the pavement to walk around the rig. The awning went out over a fairly steep hillside, so there was no place level for the picnic table or any of our patio furniture. The beach and lake are nice. There is a decent play area for children, and there is an 18 hole putt-putt course. Water pressure could be a problem, so a regulator should be used when you hook up. Leveling isn't a big deal, but you must make sure the wheel chocks are firmly set when you disconnect or make your final sets with jacks. The sites not only slope side to side but front to back, nothing is level. Interior roads and sites are crumbling and rocky as you go deeper into the preserve. It's not unpleasant, but the park was designed and built when RV's were all single wide and not 40 feet long. The lack of space makes it difficult to set up for outdoor activities in your site. From the side of the fifth wheel under the awning to the edge of the pavement was 3 feet then the hillside was dirt, clay, tree roots, and too steep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
Site: Our site was a paved, full hook with 30 amp electric. There was a locked 50 amp plug that was 2 or 3 dollars a day extra. The site was very unlevel. Many of the sites were unlevel. It was just long enough for our rig, but no parking for the truck. We did have room to park the car at our site. Laundry: Yes but didn't check it out. TV, Phone, WiFi: TV over the air was ok, we got all major networks. Our Verizon cell phone worked well. Didn't try the WiFi. Dog Friendly: Yes, had lots of room to walk a dog. Has many amenities, like all TT parks. There is a indoor and outdoor pool and planned activities. Located about one mile off exit 4 of I-77, along Lake Hartwell, just 4 miles from GA. Summary: We stayed only one night as we were just passing through the area. It is a very very hilly park. This is big rig friendly, BUT you must choose you site and the location to get to the site very carefully. Since we stayed here for free as TT Members, we may stay here again. But we would drive through and check out what sites where available and we could get into before staying here again. There is a great Corp of Engineers Park we stayed at on Lake Hartwell about 5-10 miles from here. To be fair to the park, we only spent one night here and really didn't get to check out the park very well. We got in late and it was pouring rain. Bonus: On large Lake Hartwell. Only one mile off the interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$3
Most roads and sites are paved. Very hilly and as stated before, limited level space for sitting outside. Sprint cell phone and internet access was good. The rooftop dish had good signal most of the time, some sites have trees. Power and water pressure were good. $3 is for 50amp service if requested, some sites had both, some only 30amp. Staff was friendly. A small Kaufman's bakery in Fair Play (2 or 3 miles from CG) is excellent! It's open Thursday, Friday and Saturday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$3
The rate stated is the fee for 50 amp service. This campground is built on a hillside. The first 27 sites are the only ones I would recommend. The road on each row is well paved but quite steep. As you venture further back into the campground, the roads become nonexistent. While another reviewer mentioned wheels off the ground, I walked the entire campground and did not notice this at any site. That being said, when the sites were cut into the hill no room was left on either side of the asphalt pad for any semblance of a site. Therefore, we barely had room for our chairs and small table. The sites are also quite close together. On the positive side, both pools were well kept and we enjoyed the adult pool which was close to our site. We had good satellite TV and also good cell service. There is no boat ramp in the campground, but we were able to hand launch our kayaks into Lake Hartwell from the beach area. The tennis courts are completely unusable as they are covered in tall weeds and the hard surfaces are broken up. The campground is about 20 miles from any sizable grocery store. We would probably stay again but certainly not as a destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$3
I can only echo the previous comments. Landscaping is nice but paving sites without leveling them is just ridiculous. TT member for almost six years, will try to avoid this park from now on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
This park was 1000 trails when we visited on ROD. Sites were small and close together; limited shade. Pool was nice, mini-golf needed repair. Laundry and store nice. Staff courteous and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$3
Carolina Landing is a part of the Thousand Trails preserve system, but this preserve does not live up to the “America’s Finest Campground Getaways” advertised. On arrival the entrance is nicely landscaped and very attractive but beyond the gate many of the roads and campsites are deteriorating. The 50 amp sites are mostly asphalt paved and stair stepped up a hillside. They are completely unlevel, fore and aft and especially across the sites leaving most all coaches with wheels hanging in the air or supported on numerous boards. There is not much level area left between coaches and no space for picnic tables. On the plus side however, the electricity is very good with 120volts, high water pressure (use a pressure regulator), and good sewers. The Verizon cell phone and air cards work well and many sites are satellite friendly. Although TTN members stay free of charge, there is an extra $3 per day charge for the 50amp service. The two pools and laundry are fairly good and the family lodge is nice except for a musty odor. We toured the nearby Clemson University and BMW plant while here, both very nice. We felt that the budget for this preserve probably does not allow for sufficient maintenance. Regrading the sites and repaving the roads will be a major challenge and expense but is necessary if this preserve is to come up to the standards established by Thousand Trails. We will not go out of our way to stop here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
Wow - this campground has seen better days and needs to have a lot of upkeep done on it. The roads are filled with pot holes and areas are washed away. Some spots were impossible to get into. The petting zoo for the kids is still on the map and it is no longer there. The pool was nice along with the one playground and the putt putt was cute. We won't be going back. We camped over Memorial Day - usually a very busy weekend and we had our whole section virtually to ourselves. Also - we did not pay to camp here - it is included in our 1000 Trails membership. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$3
Nightly rate was for 50amp service. Main sites are notched into a hillside. Many folks had a hard time leveling their RV's. Sites need to be repaved. Tennis court was in bad shape. Grounds needed work and some better plantings. There was barely enough room outside our fiver for two lawn chairs. The sign coming into the preserve said 1000 Trails/NACO. Staff was friendly. Not really a place I would come back to. TLC and money would dramatically change this place. Lake Hartwell is down quite a bit due to drought over last few years. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$2
This is still a Thousand Trails Park, but is available for use by ROD and RPI members. Many of the asphalt sites are not level. Sites at the top of the hill are fairly level. We stay her a couple of times a year. We like the park, but it does need improvements and upgrades. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$10
This is no longer run by Thousand Trails. It is an RPI campground. It is a bit old, has cathode ray tube TV, etc. Good location and well kept up for its age. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$1
Park is a typical Thousand Trails preserve. The dirt roads were muddy due to recent rain. Sites are located on terraced hills. Paved, but not wide enough to enter or leave rig without stepping in mud. One employee we met was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$2
I don’t understand some of the other comments as we almost avoided this campground based on all the negativity. I guess membership owners are a bit more picky than other RV’ers. Yes we needed to use a few boards to level our rig and paid $2 per night for the 50 amp service but everything worked fine and I even had free wifi service at our site. The employees were very pleasant and helpful. I would stay here if passing through again but would not use this as a destination resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2007
$2
We are Thousand Trails members and are suppose to get our site for free, yet we had to pay $2 a day for 50 AMP - I hardly think we used $2 extra electricity. At least reserve the 50 AMP sites for 50 AMP users only. You will be hard pressed to find a near level site - the sites range from unlevel to extremely unlevel and these are NEW sites. Someone was asleep during construction or just didn't know people expect at least near level sites. There was no security, or security was also asleep during a loud party next door that lasted past midnight. Dogs bark and run free, but no one from management cares. The buildings have been improved from the time we were here several years ago and with some work and attention this could be a nice park. The Thousand Trails organization will be hearing from us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$1
Cabins were nice inside, also pet friendly. Unfortunately cabins are split in half, so no privacy. Not what you would expect from membership campground. The area where cabins are is extremely hilly, do not waste your time bringing bikes. 50 amp sites were the nicest in campground, newly paved. The other sites were unkept. Separate campground for the families with their own pool. Lots of road noise, just off I-85. We enjoyed the surrounding area. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This was supposed to be a Thousand Trails trip for the presentation for membership. We stayed one night and left the next morning because of the goat farm atmosphere of the park. It is built on a hillside with no space for sitting or being outside. We left without the presentation or free gifts, that's how bad this place is for camping. At best, it's a stopover versus pulling in Walmart for the night, if you want the electric and water. If you stay here, hope you like the washout red clay that washed on your site when it rains. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$2
We camped here in a 40' motorhome using the ROD membership. We stayed in a 50 amp site with new asphalt which was nice. Would have been nicer if the site would have been leveled before being asphalted. The park is located on a hill with some sites terraced. Lots of trees but we were able to get satellite internet and TV. Nice and quiet park. We enjoyed our stay and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$30
I agree with the other post 110 %. This is the worst run campground I have ever tried staying at. Yes , tried because we left. This is a Thousand Trails Resort. We were invited to come for a presentation, even were called the night before to make sure that we were coming. We drove over 100 miles one way. We get there and the park ranger says good luck . We drive around and then meet up with him again and he says there is not much left. So instead of driving all over he went looking to see what he had. He took us to 3 sites next to each other that I wouldnt put a tent on. The site was washed out, the road was gone and took us in the site backwards. Here we are here to possible buy a membership and we dont even have a site that is suitable. So long story short, we left and drove back home. Over 200 miles roundtrip for nothing. I have made several phone calls about this. The manager only said just to come back next weekend. I was out money for gas and time and two very disappointed kids. I even asked the manager for the corp. phone # for Thousand Trails and he would not give it to me. Very poorly run. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$25
This is a fairly poor campground right now. Thousand Trails claim they are fixing it up, but right now, I can't recommend it. The sites are uneven and overgrown and the roads are a mess. Most sites do not have sewer. There is a nice indoor pool which is the nicest part of this campground. On Lake Hartwell with no lake front spots, if you can believe that. Much better off at a COE park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com