206527 User submitted reviews online!!
Swamp Fox Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (843) 665-9430
CGID2519

Swamp Fox Campground

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   7   8   5   5   1   7   5   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
We liked the fact that it's right off of I-95. Good for an overnighter. There are a lot of seasonal people who return every year for some reason. We wouldn't stay here again unless we had to. It's laid out very strangely, and the roads are very narrow. Getting into the campground isn't a problem, but getting out may prove difficult. The exit roads are not marked at all, and RVs are parked on them so you have to find another way out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
This rate reflects Passport America. This is a very easy park to get into late and was very easy to find site. We got held up with the closing of the Interstate and did not arrive until almost midnight. Pulled in and site map was on door. Found site easily and paid in the morning in the office. Very nice staff and nice campground if you need a stopover or need to be in area for a while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
The price reflects the Passport America rate. This is a good place to stay overnight, but I'm not sure about a longer stay. It's really not a "destination" campground. It served our needs well as an overnight stopover. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Entrance roads are very windy. (Our GPS warned us to take an "extreme" right: she was right!) We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Stayed here a week. $138. Easy on and off of I-95. First put us in a "too small spot" but moved us out front under large pines, big site, 50A, no sewer, but we can go a week without a sewer dump. Weak Wi-Fi, Good laundry, quiet, friendly, take credit cards. Lot of long term campers. Would recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
We pulled off for an overnight stay. It was fine. I abhor extra person charges...2.00 per person over two people. This wasn't stated anywhere, even in the office. Just a pet peeve. Probably won't be back. The sign on the door indicated that there were only electric and water hookups, no sewer. As I pulled in at 9 pm and left at 8 am I didn't see or use any amenities or facilities. I also can't comment on the website address or the GPS address. For some reason, it comes up as a golf course in the GPS and internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
This is a pretty nice park for an overnight. The park was neat and well maintained. Staff was friendly and directed us to our site. The park was quiet at night except for road noise, which wasn't too bad in the back. Sites were grass and level with full hookups but no cable or wireless. There were several local TV channels and we picked up free wireless from a nearby motel. I'd be happy to stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2012
$15
We stayed here overnight. It said in one magazine we picked up that they had cable, which they don't. The place is a bit run down and needs a lot of work done to it. It's OK for a one night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
Not a destination CG, but a good place to stay due the convenience of being directly adjacent to I-95. Road noise is significant, but campers (to include many long-term) were very quiet. The office, bathrooms and showers were very clean. Lots of beautiful mature trees and bushes! PA price of $15 makes this a very good deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
Campground appears to be going downhill and needs upgrading. Electric hookup cabinets had panels falling off that exposed bare electric mains. Cable TV appeared to be there at one time but had fallen into disrepair. Swimming pool is available at neighboring Ramada Hotel but was cracking with a lot of mold in the cracks. There's a lot of full-timers with sites in need of cleaning. However, the campground is close to I-95 (less than 1 mile), surprisingly quiet, generally clean and the staff is better than average. Rate paid was Passport America. Despite all the bad, my wife and I would stay here again due to it's proximity to the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
We stayed overnight while traveling. The manager was nice and friendly and escorted us to our site, which was more grass than gravel. This park has numerous permanent residents and needs general cleaning. Grass around sites had not been trimmed, but had been sprayed with a weed killer. Somewhat difficult to find from directions. Noise from interstate was loud. We will probably not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$24
Stayed one night and it was OK for that. A little muddy, but there was a lot of rain recently. The manager lady was friendly, the price was right for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
We always stop here when we head north or south on I-95. It's easy on/off the Interstate, with gas and food nearby. The staff is always courteous and professional. The sites are mostly pull-through making it doubly nice for big rigs. It is a little noisy near the interstate, but you tune it out fairly quickly. Fellow campers have always been friendly. There is a motel and restaurant adjoining the campground as well. We use Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$19
We stayed here using Passport America. The staff was friendly and helpful and escorted us to our site. The roads were decent and there are a lot of trees, but they were trimmed well for a large rig. We had good power and water, but our sewer connection had been badly damaged by vehicles running over it,so we could not use it. We also decided that our big rig would have difficulty making turns at the dump station, so we just waited till our next stop to dump. It appeared that there were some rigs staying long term, but there were quite a few over-nighters as well. The park is convenient to the highway, but not noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
As stated; nothing fancy, but an OK park with a great Passport rate. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
This is a Passport American Campground and has quite a few long term residents. The roads are gravel, however the sites were fairly level. The bathroom and laundry were clean and the internet worked well from our campsite around the office area where the antenna is located. The campground staff is very friendly. We have stopped here before and will again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$17
It is what it is. Nothing special but nothing can be said to not stay again. We arrived late in the day without a reservation. The lady in the office was cordial and offered some local attraction information. We were only here for the one night. The rate reflects the PA discount and makes the CG well worth us coming one exit further than we needed to. If in the area we will stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We found the manager/owner of the campground to be rude and un-caring toward persons with disabilities. They also discriminate against African-Americans. If you are black or have a disability we would not recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
This is our third time here. We were told they were booked beginning early next week for the Nascar race. BUT, we told the very nice lady at the desk we were here to put the wife's sister in a nursing home and they let us stay AND GAVE US THE PA RATE. Now how can you beat that? The place is not elegant and has a few permanents but it is fine for stopover of a few days of local site seeing. Wi-Fi comes from the Motel adjacent owned by the same family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
This is an older campground but it is kept nice. The sites a plenty big enough and the grass is cut. The lady that checked me in was real friendly and informative. I would stay here again and I have stayed here before. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$33
One of the worst experiences we have had in 15 years of camping. Staff was rude and unpleasant. The whole campground needs maintenance badly. They are using common household bleach in the water system instead of a chlorination. The taste and smell are incredible and very hard to get rid of. The only thing that was up to date was the rate at $33.60 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$33
It is not a Passport America park during snowbird time. We stopped here for an over night because it was advertised as a Passport park. They have the signage but don't give the Passport rate from October to the spring supposedly because of the number of Canadians here. There are a lot of seasonal campers. The sites are poorly maintained. There is a very tight right turn into access road - nearly 150 degrees - I made it, but sure wasn't sure if I would. I do not plan to stop here again - only worth it if given the Passport rate, else wise it is overpriced. There are too many better parks in the area. (877) 251-2251 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This is a Passport American Campground and has quite a few long term residents. However, it was clean and a good one night stop with level sites. It is behind a Ramada Inn and you can get a pool/Jacuzzi pass to use at the hotel. Also, you are given a code for the hotel’s wireless internet but it worked poorly while there, even in the hotel lobby. The hotel blamed it on recent storms, which I have some doubts about. The campground staff are very friendly. We would stop there again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$19
The rate given is the Passport America rate and the reason we chose to stay here. Many of the sites are taken by seasonal campers. It was quiet and good for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$15
Good spot to stop overnight when traveling on Interstate 95, easy off & on. Most sites are in an open area, few trees. There is a pool & a nice restaurant and bar at the hotel next to the campground that is affiliated with them. Food was good and reasonable. The rate I paid was a Passport America rate. Bathrooms were heated & clean and there is a small store in the office with limited supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$15
Unfortunately, there was flooding in the area when we were there, so the site selection was limited. All we could get was 30 amp electric and water. The sites, though, were large, reasonably level, and pleasantly treed. They were having a free Thanksgiving dinner the night we were there. Extremely gracious hosts. The Passport America rate made it even more attractive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$13
Not a destination site for most, but a number of campers were there to play golf in the area. A short walk from the campground is a partner-hotel with pool and hot-tub which are available to the campers. Hotel has restaurant with buffet for those too tired to cook. Campground is very close to I-95 but noise was not a factor. If heading North/South and need a place to spend the night, this is an excellent choice. It is PPA so rates make it perfect, and better than a Walmart lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2004
$23
Not a horrible place for a quick overnight, but not terrific, either. It is located right off the I-95 freeway, so there was significant road noise. In winter, it was bearable. It's not meant to be a vacation hot spot, simply a place to get off the road, have hookups, and rest. Clean, level sites with pull-thru's, full privileges at adjacent motel's swimming pool -- we've seen a lot worse for the money. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$30
This is a small privately run campground. We ran away there from a hurricane that hit Myrtle Beach in August 04. It was well run and clean. Not a place I'd go to spend a week, but a fine place to stay for a night or a few nights. I recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com