214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Hunting Island State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 94 user reviews. Phone: (843) 838-2011
CGID2526

Hunting Island State Park

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   10   9   7   4   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
This park is very nice but the loop we stayed at was very difficult to maneuver. We stayed in site 115 which much to our surprise was layed out so that we could not back up into it. We had to drive the loop against traffic in order to be able to get into our site. We arrived after dark and found this to be extremely difficult. You see this loop is called the gauntlet. The road is tiny and there are trees right next to you and over you on both sides. Not to mention cars that are sticking out of their sites. Lots of trees had the scars from trailers hitting them. This part of our stay was very stressful. The bathroom and showers were very outdated and for this reason it looks dirty. Raccoons and deer coming up to our site in the middle of the day! The beach was great! The beach was not very full even though it was Memorial Day weekend. The wonderful thing too was that we could take our dogs on the beach. For this reason mainly, we would stay again but we would not come in after dark and would not stay in the site 115. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
I have been coming to this park for 10 years now. This is our favorite campground on the east coast. It is getting harder and harder to book a site here because of the popularity of the State Park, but a stay here is well worth the effort. It is not luxurious, but the natural amenities cannot be beaten. The roads are tight to extremely tight, so be careful about what site you pick and do not be afraid to have someone spot you through the tight places. Others have left scars on the trees! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
Campsites next to beach dunes are a feature of this state park. Miles of beach stretch down past the lighthouse which can be climbed ($2), to a fishing pier at the south end of the park. Miles of hiking/mountain biking trails extend through the woods. A well stocked camp store/office offers wi-fi connection with tables outside. Paved roads run through sandy sites, most are level although some in the west side of the park have elevation. Some roads are narrow and wind through the sites southwest of the office. Good AC voltage and fair broadcast TV reception from Savannah and Charleston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
Stayed in oceanfront site #46, a beautiful setting to wake up to every morning. The staff are friendly and helpful. A 10 all around. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
This is one of our favorite beach campgrounds. Most sites are far enough from each other for privacy. The restrooms are convenient to most sites and were always clean during our stay. The restrooms are old and the showers are not the best but they were always clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Easy access to beach depending on your site location. There are great restaurants within 10 miles and seafood to purchase within 2 miles. TV reception with HD antenna was good - 13 channels. Some folks with satellite TV had trouble getting through the trees. Wireless Internet is available near the camp store and was super fast. Sprint service was OK but not great - Internet was sometimes slow on phone. If you want the best sites you must reserve 11 months ahead on the SC web site. Great beach and local attractions if you like the outdoors and low country atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Nice setting with beach access; however, the bathrooms left something to be desired. Also, there are no sewer hookups, which is not a problem if you are not staying longer than a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
The ratings for this campground (since we are rating a campground by definition) should be different than the rating for the island itself. Note that the entire island is owned by the state park and it is absolutely beautiful and unspoiled. The campground doesn't rate nearly as well. Where the lack of development has created value in the beauty of the island, it has not created beauty or function in the campground. Roads are narrow and rutted and have trees right next to them. Campsites are huge, but have trees right in the middle of them. We saw numerous people having a very difficult time getting into their campsite. Leveling is also an issue, as is flooding. We saw no attempts at drainage; when it rained, many sites were completely underwater. The dump station has crumbling cement. As there are no sewer connections, this is particularly noteworthy. Cell phone reception is minimal, so be aware. The state park has WiFi, but you need to be within a few feet of the store for it to work. Positives are that the campground is in a beautiful forest and it fronts a wonderful beach. Check-in is aided by a wide driveway with room to park and uncouple a tow vehicle. Volunteers are plentiful and helpful. We couldn't say the same for the park rangers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
Really liked this state park. The park had the ocean view, the wood view, and 30/50 amp service. If you like quiet and peace, this is the place. Will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$27
This is a charming spot among the live oaks and palmetto trees. We camped right by the ocean after reserving 9 months ahead and loved it. Such a great view of the sea to wake up to. Weather was nice enough even in January to sit outside and walk on the beach to the lighthouse, though a cool, rainy front moved through. Bathrooms are old but kept clean. We got TV reception with our antenna and some 3G reception for iPad, though not strong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
On the beach. Cold, but it was winter-can't help that. Had campfire and enjoyed just walking on the beach, etc. Went to see the lighthouse and the park rangers where very nice and helpful. They say the PARK has not changed in 100 years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$27
We stayed here for two weeks and loved this campground. Lots of big rig friendly sites, though some of them might be a challenge to get into due to the narrow roads and the trees. Some sites are close together, but several are very spacious. Wi-fi available; strong signal near the campground store where there are tables available nearby for those who can't get a signal from their own site. Loved being close to the beach, but I'd be wary of booking a waterfront site as the shore is being slowly eroded by the sea, and some of those sites could be prone to flooding during storms or high tide. Plenty of trails to walk, and the lighthouse is now open again and can be climbed. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$27
A great campground! We were in a waterfront lot (#54) for 2 nights that had a spectacular view. Unfortunately, the way the ocean is eroding the beach, that site may not be there next year. The park was at about 3/4 capacity but everyone was very quiet. Since it was December, the weather was cool but we had some great walks on the wide beach. The restrooms and showers were clean. We had decent cell data reception (3 bars with Verizon) and picked up 12 TV channels. The staff was very helpful, and the camp store had a large selection of grocery items. The campground has 2 dump sites, with the one by the entrance having both a left and right side dump. We look forward to a return trip to Hunting Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$32
Nights Stayed – 4 Nights Park Overall – The Park is large, it is well maintained. All employees go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. At busy time the park provide curbside check in. You never get out of your car, well organized. The park is large 200 plus sites. This is a beautiful beach park. RV Type Used - 5th Wheel 28Ft My Site (191) – The site is large and reasonably secluded. The gravel pad is reasonably level. Bath house are nearby. I could not connect to DTV due to the dense canopy that gave us wonderful shade. Restroom - Clean, soap provided but no towels. Average. Bath – Clean, no heat (Nov) Cell Service - Verizon worked, 3 bars and 3G at least Internet Access – Only at the Park Store but free Basic Shopping - Groceries – the park store has the basics. Firewood at the park store is $6 for an average size bundle. I found nowhere else selling it. The nearest large grocery is 17 miles (Lady Island HWY 21) Dining - Lunch at Johnson Creek Tavern just outside the park gates. Great food, with outdoor seating and a great low country view. Would I Return – Yes, but I would try to stay in following beach sites: - Sites on the beach – 45 to 48 - Sites with beach views – 62 to 88, 3 to 11 and 12, 49, 43, 40, 39 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
This is a great campground right on the Atlantic Ocean. Ocean view / Ocean Front sites are 30 Amp + Water. Interior sites have some 50 Amp Service. WiFi is available at the Camp Store. Reserve early for Ocean access sites (11 months on Reserve America) This is a State Park Campground, not an RV Resort. Come here to enjoy the local, and to spend time on the Beach. Plentiful Bathroom/showers well maintained several times a day. We will come back again. This was our 2nd stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
This was our 4th year in a row visiting this park and we already have reservations for next summer. The biggest driver in rating this park is it's pristine location on the ocean. The entire island is state owned and as such has not been commercialized. With that said, this is a very old campground in need of work. The bathhouses are in need of renovation and are very damp and musty. The campground hosts and staff do a very good job of cleaning, but there is only so much they can do. As others have posted here, the sites are not paved but overall are pretty level. For larger campers and RV's bring wide leveling blocks as the sand/ground is soft. Both the deer and raccoons are very friendly. The deer will eat from your hand and the raccoons will eat anything they can get to, so secure your site when you leave or go to bed. Please don't let my rating of an "8" scare you away. This is a great campground with an uncertain future. Every year the ocean reclaims part of this campground. Visit it now while you can. In these economic times it may be a while before the state can step in and renourish the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This is a beautiful state park. We had to reserve well ahead of our stay, but that is expected in popular waterfront locations. It is a long drive out from the highway but the weather was perfect for our arrival and departure, so no problems there. We did find our loop to be a bit tight for maneuvering a 36' fifth wheel, but with one stop to check tail swing on the trailer, we got to our site. We enjoyed this state park and will return in the future. Make sure you check out the lighthouse while you're here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
I love Hunting Island State Park. I give it a 10 because it fits our lifestyle. Quiet, wooded and shaded but ocean breezes, wonderful staff, considerate campers. Ocean is a step from the sites if you get near the beach. There are many access points to the beach. If possible get closer to ocean. Back in sites are buggy with less breezes. Park store adequately stocked. Reasonable drive to stores, restaurants. State Park pier has museum and fishing with no pier charges. No lights allowed for night fishing on ocean or pier. Turtle habitat. We camped her many times and absolutely love this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
Reservations are a must at this popular park; particularly, if you want a site near the beach (up to site #88). Sites back in the marsh are more available, but lack the view and beach breeze. Campground roads are paved, except where they have suffered beach erosion, and the sites are packed sand. Most sites are shaded by trees. Trees close to the roads give big rig drivers fits as they try to thread the needle. We visit this campground at least once a year and look forward to each visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$14
I just started full timimg and Hunting Island was the first place I stayed for more than a couple days. I utilized the snowbird special of $400 a month to park there for the month of January. I had a beachfront site, shaded. I walked the tree trunk studded beach every day, fished, watched the otters and got to know the very friendly campground hosts. This is a very family friendly park, clean and well maintained with tons of hiking trails and beaches. It's my favorite spot - so far We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Hunting Island State Park, SC A beautiful, tree filled campground! It sits on an island above Hilton Head and the sites themselves are of various sizes. We were able to get one fairly close to the ocean/beach. We arrived around 4 in the afternoon and were able to get a place for one night (we had heard that they required a 2 night minimum and they do during high demand). We called ahead and were told that there were 1 night stays available but I'd suggest calling ahead to be sure. Seeing the sunrise on the beach was priceless! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$38
Unique, natural. Great place to hike. Most of the beach is only accessible at high tide. Good bath houses and play areas. Spacious sites towards the front. Beaufort, light house, and pier area are interesting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
The location of this RV campground, while remote, is just delightful. We camped right alongside the beach. There's lots to see and do, so we would go there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$25
The staff and volunteers here are very helpful and friendly. The park store is stocked very well. The bathrooms are always kept very clean, however, they are old. There are sites on the ocean, but they are getting fewer due to the erosion of the island. Bike trails are very nice and level of packed sand. No grocery stores nearby, but a couple of fish markets within 5 miles have reasonable prices on fresh seafood. Beach is pet friendly. Lighthouse is a short walk down the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
This was our sixth or seventh stay at HISP. It is a terrific park with a beautiful beach right at the campground. Experience the Gullah culture (descendants of slaves)in nearby Frogmore or Penn Center. There are excellent golf courses nearby. There are plenty of places to bike and fish at HISP. Suggestions for improvement are to modernize the ageing restrooms and showers and to bring in wi-fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
The scenery at this park is nice. The road throughout the park is somewhat narrow so be careful when getting to your site. The sites are nice and large. The hookups are in good shape. The dump station near the park entrance was in horrible shape when we were leaving so we did not use it. There was another one in the middle of the park that we wished we had looked at to see it's condition. The attendants were helpful. Sites are assigned to you as you come in. We didn't have a reservation. The tree canopy is great through out the whole park. The mosquitoes are monsters too! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
This is a wonderful family park with a great beach. Our only negative is that bathhouses are still so bad. This park has to be one of the most attended in SC and since we have been camping there for the last 10 years nothing has been done to the bathhouses. Raccoons were the worst ever, they were chewing on everyone's water hose. We will be sure to take a extra one in October. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Beautiful!! This place was a fantastic place to stay and we will go back! We have 3 children and they loved it too, the beach is calm; it's kind of like you're on your own. There is hardly any people on the beach at certain times of the day. Fantastic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
A beautiful state park on the ocean. The staff was extremely friendly, park in excellent condition and facilities were clean. A nice getaway park, away from noise, crowds and technology. We stayed in #47, right on the beachfront.Many other appealing sites there as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
Loved the ocean. Campground is located right on the water. Lots of trees around the spots and road, but ok if you are careful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
We stayed in site #57 within site of the beach and close to a bathhouse. Our site was not level it was more like a bowl but very wide. I have to say that overall the state park was very nice but the campground was shoddy. This is probably the lowest I've ever rated a campground. This place is fighting Mother Nature.This park was made by the CCC and it shows. They should close down for a year or so and do a complete over haul on this place. The bathhouses are old, old, old. I didn't use them but I don't think they have heat or air in them or any ventilation according to my husband. The water has encroached on the road and campsites after a storm this spring and they had to move several campsites away from the water. They added a new road but can't seem to put a sign to it after 5 months, it looks like you are driving into someones campsite. Each site has 30amp (if you are in the front 50 if you are away from the water) , water and a picnic table with a grill/fire ring, most sites are shady. Most sites near the water were smaller and those in the back are roomier but I understand buggier because they have cut canals around the sites for water runoff. Most of the sites are very sandy. I would avoid sites 20-37 because the staff keeps piling new sand in them and has to pull out an RV quite often. A large MH had to be pulled out while we were there and after wards the staff just smoothed out the sand for the next sucker. Don't know why they don't add gravel to the base instead. Our Verizon phone worked but not our AT&T phone. No Wi-Fi in park or cable. Limited over the air TV available. There was a playground quite far from our campsite. There is only one location for trash and recycling in the park and that is next to the front dump station which is probably why we saw so much garbage in the park. Should add more receptacles near store and 2nd dump station. The dump stations were very small. The entrance one can be used going in or out of the park but can't be used by 2 RV's at the same time. The back dump is tiny and is right in front of site #147. I would hate to be in that site. Gate code is changed everyday. The store seems well stocked and they were helpful. The volunteers checking people in were also helpful.There is no laundry so if you plan a long stay you will have to leave to do it. We did see deer in the campground, they seemed very tame so they must be fed by campers. The rest of the park is great. We rode our bikes on the trail from the campground to the lighthouse. It was a challenging trail for us flat lander with lots of switchbacks and elevation changes. There about 5 trails in the park and all can be biked or hiked. You can also ride on the beach at low tide- the sand is quite hard. They have a visitors center with a movie and a separate nature center with animals and programs. Overall the entire park is great but the campground needs a lot of work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$26
This is a beautiful rustic state park right on the ocean. It has no laundry or sewer hook ups. There are only a limited number of ocean view / ocean front sites, difficult to get reservations but, well worth the effort. It has a beautiful beach, and it's convenient access to Savannah, Hilton Head, Beaufort, and Charleston. This is a very popular place with limited staff and volunteers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Hunting Island State Park is a great beach campground, however, the island is eroding. Some of the waterfront sites have been relocated due to erosion. The camp store is stocked well and the park staff is professional and friendly. The gate is locked each night and the code changes daily. When leaving the volunteers will give you the code for the current day. The bathrooms are dated and the shower water temperature couldn't keep up with the number and length of showers being taken in the mornings. Taking your shower later or earlier than the rush will help in this matter. The beach is pet friendly and the lighthouse is a short walk down the beach. Park is clean and can accommodate big rigs. Not a lot of commercial establishments (restaurants or stores) are nearby. Expect to travel 10 miles or so for grocery or fuel. Wildlife is abundant - deer, raccoons, opossums, squirrels, birds, and in the summer months, loggerhead turtles come up to lay their eggs on the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
This was our fourth visit to Hunting Island SP. It has the best beach we have found for walking and cycling because the sand is hard-packed. At low tide there is a 200 yd width and three miles in length so there is plenty of room to roam. Biking and hiking in the park is terrific. Sites are a good size and there is plenty of shade. Several sites are right on the beach while many others are a one-minute walk. If you like shade, there are huge, private sites away from the ocean. The washrooms are a little dated. We don't fish but lots of campers here do. Lots of seafood to purchase nearby as well. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This is a great beachfront campground. Reservations are required many months in advance for sites closer to the ocean. Sites are generally large and well spaced, although beach erosion has forced relocation of some sites. We stayed for eight days on site #33, within view of the water but back far enough to avoid blowing sand. Staff has dumped sand on some sites to elevate them, but the soft sand just bogs down big rigs. While the park is beautiful, the restroom and shower facilities were the worst we have ever experienced. We will probably not go back there until those facilities are updated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Have to admit we loved this park. Yes, the bathrooms are a little outdated and yes the roads are tight, but oh man. The beach was just gorgeous!! The water-pressure and temp was good (in the showers) and by taking our time we were fine getting our 40-footer around the roads (the roads are definitely not for the faint of heart if you have a big-rig however). Sites are decent although they can vary a bit in how firm they are (we bought planks w/ us to put under the motorhome wheels and make sure we didn't sink any). The beach is sublime and so very peaceful and the very reason we'd come back and stay. Also, extremely dog-friendly area (included on the beach). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
This is a beautiful park located on a gorgeous stretch of beach. There are several excellent hiking trails near the lighthouse parking lot. However, it is very crowded and can feel congested. The smoke from the campfires is thick and unpleasant. There were a lot of insects, so maybe that caused the extreme smoke conditions as people tried to repel the insects. We left a day early to get away from the smoke. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Park is pretty. Had a nice time. Park is outdated, trees are way to closed to the road for larger RV's and the bathrooms need remodeled. Saw several trailers having a hard time getting into and out of the camping spots. I would go back only if I got a site on the ocean. Saw several deer around the campground. Biggest complaint is the bath houses. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This is a very pretty park, full of palm and pine trees, as well as oak trees with hanging Spanish moss. The beach is adjacent to the campground. The roads into the campsites are so tight and narrow at some spots, a great deal of caution must be used if you are a large RV. The reason for the lower marks is this park had the filthiest restrooms I have ever seen at any campground. There was black mold all over the shower floor and up the walls, and there was hair everywhere. One day, it looked like someone had washed a dog and left the hair snarls all over the floor. In the toilet area, used feminine hygiene products were left on the floor, and ants covered the sinks. As this park does not have sewer hookups at the sites, you are forced to use the facilities. For this reason, we will not be returning to this campground, nor recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This campground was like being in a jungle. The walk to the beach was short. Our campsite was very nice except there were large hornets coming from holes in the ground. We were careful not to disturb them. The undertow in the ocean was very fierce: be careful! Everyone at the camp store was friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were very clean. All in all a different place than Huntington Beach. Local seafood is about a mile away, and that was some of the best I have ever had. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
My husband, five year old, and I stayed on site 74 for 6 nights and loved it. We could see the ocean from our site and enjoyed the very short walk to and from the beach. We saw dolphins every morning. The water is shallow for a long ways out, so the waves are pathetic, which is perfect for little kids. When the tide goes out, there are great tidal pools. Found tons of shells, sharks teeth, and sandollars. You can't walk on the beach at night with a light because of turtle nests. Our site had lots of room and shade. The camp store was very well stocked with the necessities and much more. The playground had no shade, so we didn't spend much time there at all. The bathhouse we used was also used by beachgoers, so it could have used an extra cleaning during the day, but overall, it was okay. For a small fee, we climbed the nearby lighthouse and also took part in the Nature Center's fish printing activity. We saw a couple alligators at the lighthouse visitor's center. We didn't see any raccoons at our campsite, but we kept our food in the car. We did see quite a few deer. We visited the Old Sheldon Church ruins, which is a great place to go if you like historical places and/or like to take pictures, and visited Beaufort's waterfront, which was also picturesque, on our way back to the park. We had awesome sandwiches at Plum's and indulged afterwards at The Chocolate Tree. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Ok: this is a tough one. Based on my reading of this review, I wouldn't go here. But it is one of our favorites, and we will continue to come back. First and foremost: the bathhouses are in desperate need of replacement or renovation. They are not well maintained, nor are they well cleaned. The beach is the best. The sites vary considerably. Some are big, some are small. Some afford great views of the ocean and some are terrible and crowded. Cell phone service is spotty. Verizon was not too bad and can access internet with VZW, but a slow connection. A wireless hotspot at the office would be nice. Satellite receiption may be difficult with the trees, but it's possible from some sites. The interior roads are narrow, windy and the trees provide for a host of potential issues, both just driving through and trying to get into your site. Be patient, have help and you will be fine. If not, you could do some serious damage in here: just look at the roadside trees. Site maintenance is not well done and they have recently dumped sand in some of the sites for leveling or some purpose. They should have used gravel, not sand. It was a daily occurrence to see someone being pulled out (or in) by the park tractor. How long they will continue to put their paying customers through this is unknown, but I think it speaks to a general lack of customer service exhibited here. The ranger staff that we had contact with were unsupportive and uncaring. Some rules enforced, and others ignored. I was helping a fellow that had gotten stuck on a tree backing into his site. I went to the office for ranger assistance and none ever responded, unbelievable. We have been coming here for years, and will continue but is sure could use some love! SC really needs to take a look at how FL operates their parks. But aah, the beach! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This was our second stay here. The good: A beautiful park, nice staff, wonderful beach, all kinds of wildlife, soooo relaxing here. The bad: A challenge to maneuver through the trees to avoid damaging your rig (some spots are really tight). Our site was next to a beach access path and several campers seemed to think it was okay to walk through our site, past our truck & camper, to "short cut", to get to the beach access path and most didn't speak and pretended as if not to see us when we were sitting outside. "Very Rude". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
It almost seems like a right of passage to stay at this campground, the most popular SC state park. As others have reviewed, campers should expect a quiet, relaxed campground with limited "amenities." Hiking or biking the trails, walking on the beach, and visiting the light house are all worthwhile activities in the park. Severe erosion from storms continues to plague the park; most of the rental cabins have been lost to the sea, with only 3 or 4 left. Shower/toilet buildings are a bit long in the tooth, but clean. Beaufort is 13 or so miles away and we recommend the walking tour of the narrow old streets, and for those who like walking in cemeteries, walking in the U.S. military cemetery is a moving experience. St. Helena Island, between Hunting Island and Beaufort, is worth exploring, especially Lands End and Fort Fremont, and Penn Center. We'd stay here again the next time we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
Wonderful first-time experience at this park. It is an older park, but well kept, right on the beach. Park personnel are very friendly and helpful. Rangers were very visible each day/night. Bath houses are cleaned daily. Sites vary in size and most are well spaced. They are not specifically laid out, which allows you to adjust your camper to the site. We had a large site so there were no issues for our 39' fifth wheel. Many of the sites are tight for large campers. Maneuvering into many of the sites can be tough. Also, there are a few tight turns in the park roads. One camper came in late at night, turned too tight and wiped out the side of his camper, and had to get the park personnel to pull the tree off with a backhoe. I would not advise arriving after dark unless in a small camper/tent or very familiar with the park/site. Overall, this was a great park. We have already made plans to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
The campground is somewhat tight depending on the site. They classify the sites closest to the ocean as "ocean", however they may not have a view. The best sites we found if you want an ocean view and have a motorhome are 64, 62, 88, and 53. The sites in the back seemed to be larger and more private if you do not care about the ocean view. The actual park is beautiful and the staff very nice and helpful. We kayaked at the lagoon and the marsh area. Make sure you bring bug spray as there are no see-ums. We had a great trip and will be going back in Dec and April. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Loved this park! Right on the ocean yet wooded. Some spots looked tight, but we were in a pull through. Great for families. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
This is a wonderful park, if you want to relax. This is the campground that your father liked with surf fishing, beach swimming, bike riding and wildlife. Did I mention bugs? Bugs bugs bugs: bring bug spray. There are wild deer that eat out of your hand. My five-year-old wanted to take them home. The campground roads were very tight for our 38 foot rig. There are some huge sites and very small sites: the best site is #37. You can buy fresh shrimp off the boat .5 miles away. Nothing to do but enjoy nature! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
Wonderful park and campground but don't come here if the heart of Myrtle beach atmosphere is what you're looking for. This is a very serene place with no commercial entertainment. The only reason I did not rate it a 10 is because due to trees in the way it made getting through the campground difficult. A "few" trees need to be cut to keep RVs from being damaged when maneuvering through the campground and into sites. I watched one camper scrape the side of his trailer on a tree in front of our site while he was leaving the campground. The bathrooms were as most beach bathrooms, a lot of sand in the floors but other than that clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
Pro's - Very nice beach on the Atlantic, water & electric worked well, nicely stocked camp store. Con's - Many campsites and access roads are very tight for any decent sized rig. Like many state and federal parks, this place was designed for small rigs and tents! I strongly suggest calling to confirm campsite size before making a reservation! According to Reserve America, our campsite was supposed to be "60' length, 60' width. Due to trees and other obstructions, the actual campsite size was about 35' length by 10' width. Spent the better part of an hour maneuvering our 32' 5th wheel between trees, obstructions and other campers' vehicles to get situated. Another camper we spoke with had a 29' 5th wheel that he had torn his roof up trying to maneuver underneath the trees. Some sites get flooded during a rain storm. Another camper had 15 racoons making mayhem with his "pop-up" camper (perhaps some "hunting" on the "island" might help). Bathrooms & showers were somewhat clean but not really cleaned to good standards. Another problem is the very mature Poison Ivy that abounds throughout the campground and no effort is made to control it (I spoke with a park ranger who was absolutely useless in this regard). In addition to the daily use fee of $23., there is a ReserveAmerica transaction fee, accommodation tax, local accommodation tax, transportation tax, increasing the daily fee by 18 pct, over making the daily fee over $27 (still relatively cheap for a campsite near the ocean). Suggest stocking up with food in Port Royal (Publix/Food Lion) before making the 20 mile trek to Hunting Island. Hunting Island is OK for a smaller rig, but keep a close eye on your kids/pets to avoid the poison ivy and racoons. A pretty beach, but don't think we'll be back... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Wow. If you can get sites in the front by the beach, this is an amazing campground. Location is remote so don't plan on doing much off the island. We stayed 5 days and wanted more. The kids enjoyed the beach daily and adults found it very relaxing. Staff was wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$23
This is a wonderful campground that sits next to a beautiful beach! When we arrived, there was a kind man standing outside who directed us to our site. The camp store is well stocked and has a friendly staff who is happy to answer all questions regarding the park area, directions to area restaurants,etc. The restrooms are clean, although not fancy. Several people were fishing in the ocean and there is also a volleyball net on the beach at the campground. We will visit again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$26
This is a beautiful park right on the ocean. On some sites, you could look out your MH window, and enjoy views and noises of the surf. Other sites were generously sized with space to one's neighbors, mostly back-in, but well shielded from the constant ocean winds. Although the park has 200 sites, a quarter or more of them were closed off, presumably due to it being the low season. All sites are dirt/sand so be sure to pack welcome mats. This park is very popular during the "high" season, starting in March. SC calls it their most-visited park. The bathrooms and showers were somewhat shabby but usable, and could use some updating. The gate is locked nightly at 8:00 pm but you can have the combination to the lock. Be warned that the combination is changed daily in the high season, so you need to get a daily update. We liked Beaufort and the Gullah culture on St. Helena Island, but the number of gated communities, some taking up entire islands, was a turn-off for us. The beach is a delight to walk on as the tides change the appearance substantially. We will definitely come back to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
As other reviewers have said, the beach and convenient access to it are the major positives here. The sites are generally level and reasonably sized with several exceptions. A few sites have some inconveniently placed trees. A dish will work but only on a handful of sites. There are assorted shopping and dining choices within a short drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$23
It's hard to beat camping next to the ocean, especially when it's truly next to the ocean. We stayed in spot 47, literally less than 50 feet from the beach. The view was spectacular. We walked the beach down to the lighthouse, took photos of pelicans and other birds, and hiked the trails within the park. It's a wonderful park. You have to use the dump station and some of the sites near the ocean are less than level but it's well worth it for the location. Be sure to check into alternate truck route through Beaufort before heading in -- downtown Beaufort has a size and weight limit over an older bridge. Alt route takes you a few miles south and over newer bridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$27
This is a very nice park for beach camping. The sites are comfortable in size although some appeared to need creative driving to get units backed into. The park facilities were clean but the bathrooms need to be updated. They get a lot of use since there are no sewer hookups and the wear shows. Christmas week was busy but not crowded. There were limited sites near the ocean available. Plan early though if you must have an ocean spot - they go fast. Sites right off the ocean are an excellent choice. There is easy access but not direct impact from the wind which never stops blowing at the beach! Good central location with easy day trip access to Savannah, Tybee Island, GA and up to Charleston area. Car rental company in Beaufort will pick up which is great if you don't tow. Great park to enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
A lovely campground next to a fabulous beach, with friendly staff and several clean, warm bath houses. We rode our bicycles on the trail to the state park, the lighthouse is worth a visit too. There is Wi-Fi at the visitor center, ask at the office. We left a day early to get a problem on our RV fixed, and had to fill in a form to apply for a refund, but it was credited in two days. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
This park is a real gem! We stayed here 2 nights and wished we could stay longer but we were just passing thru on our way further south. Bathhouses are clean but old. Would give this a definite 10 if it had Wi-Fi and cable but otherwise no complaints. Beautiful beach, lots of shade sites, friendly staff, wonderful hiking and walking trails. Great local seafood available not far up the road at Gay's Seafood, bought it fresh off the boats. Camping fee is good for access to the lighthouse as well. Definitely recommend this place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
This was our third stay at this park. We have camped in the woods here before and enjoyed it but this time we were in a beachfront site. It was fantastic! Great staff, great weather. Fishing was fun, the beach was magnificent and, unfortunately, the no-see-ums (South Carolina's Air Force) were unstoppable. It didn't matter. This park is very, very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
Terrible place. The sites are nasty and close together and the workers are the rudest that I have ever encountered. They would not let any one come in to check out the park and I know why. If you did, you would go somewhere else. Take your money elsewhere! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$11
Actually, I can't rate this campground. We stopped by to check it out, which we've done at countless other parks, both public and private. We were stopped at the entrance. When I told the guy we just wanted to drive through to take a look at the park to see if we'd like to stay there, we were refused, told to turn around and leave. We would never, ever, ever, stay at such a snotty and rude place, no matter how perfect it might seem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
This was a great camp site. Very picturesque with deer right beside your RV and beauty from foliage to the beach. A lot to see and do plus the Seafood restaurants were great. Very busy though with quite a few children so book early and stay away from the sites near the play area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
Our first trip to Hunting Island State Park. A great campground! Great beach, fishing pier, nature trails and a lot more. We really enjoyed ourselves. Very clean campground. A lot of friendly staff on hand, as well as volunteers. A really good beach campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
How nice it was to camp near the ocean! We will definitely go back. Nice, well stocked camp store and large sites. They even have a really nice playground with well kept equipment. I would recommend making reservations well in advance as we had a hard time getting a spot in this very popular camp ground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
This was our second visit to this park and we were not disappointed. We stayed on Site 97 and it was very roomy for our 30 foot travel trailer. We walked around the entire campground and some sites looked like they would be a bit of a challenge for larger RV's due to the trees, but most were very nice. There is plenty to do and see here, but the best thing about this park is the beach. It is beautiful and not crowded. We saw observed of the prettiest sunrises we have ever seen. There is plenty of wildlife to see and they will visit you right at your campsite. The view from the lighthouse is fantastic and the kids enjoyed crabbing off the pier. We are already planning our next trip!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
Hunting Island State Park – Hunting Island, South Carolina - $23 plus taxes site 47 – water and electricity. Another great SC campground. There are over 200 sites in this campground. Some loops are crowded while the loops in the woods have more private sites. We had a site right on the beach with the boardwalk right next to us and the waves putting us to sleep at night. Nice couple who checked us in on the road by the office and gift shop – fast, quick and easy. Nice beach and the palm trees are beautiful throughout the whole state park. We rode our bikes over to the main entrance and saw the Hunting Island lighthouse, gift shop and beaches. Nice area! We also rode on the nature trail which ended at a section that had been hit by a hurricane with trees down all over – very interesting. This was about a 45 minute ride over and back and if you wait until the tide is at low tide you can ride your bikes on the beach and be over there in 5 but if the high tide comes in you can’t get back that way so watch the tide charts. I can see why everyone raves about this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$23
Great location if you want to be away from it all. I suggest a location on the other side of the store from the ocean. We have stayed at this park three times. This time we were closer to the beach and there was so much wind we could hardly sit outside. Other parts of the campground seemed OK. This is a place to sit back and enjoy nature! If you like seafood be sure to eat at Johnson's Creek just outside the park and the Shrimp Shack further down the road. Good store, great people, we will definitely camp here again and again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
We made reservations for this popular campground 6 months ago as we needed 3 sites together for a group of us. When we arrived we learned they had just upgraded their campsites from 30 to 50 amp sites. This is the second year we have stayed here during school break. It has lots to offer for the kids and pups and no one was ever bored. The only downfall were the raccoons. We stayed on the wooded side (not beach side) of the campground. The raccoons fearlessly came into our campsite, opened our cooler and had a nice feast on some left over turkey in our cooler - they didn't bother anything else. The raccoons actually came into our friends screened porch, opened the cooler, took out some hamburger and sat outside their trailer happily eating. They weren't bothered by our attempts to "shoo" them away, they just kept on eating their meal. So, keep your food inside! Opossums were also noticed to be "in the gang." Since we were here over the Easter holiday, we participated in a very nice Easter morning service in the campground - well attended by many campers. We learned that this same group of missionaries offers a kids camp for 2 hours in the mornings for free near the camp playground. Everything else was great but heed warning, make reservations well in advance as this is a very popular (and rightly so) campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
We could only snag a 2-night reservation and plan to return in the future. We loved the feeling of camping within a grove of trees...you know your neighbors are close at hand, but the vegetation provides a nice buffer. We stayed in site #91 which connected straight to a path to the beach. We took a sunrise walk on the beach and were delighted to see six dolphins swimming just a few feet away from the shore. We walked alongside of them for a good 10 minutes. Very memorable. We also hiked a short (1.5-2 mile) trail through the maritime forest to the lighthouse on the other side of the park, and despite warnings from one of the rangers about the possibility of bugs, none materialized and the path provided a lovely experience. The only downside was that the wireless card we use to access the internet didn't work very well from the campground, which has prompted us to order a booster for it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
Love this place. We camp here at least 3 times each year and love it. If they only had a pool and sewer, but I guess that's a little much to ask for in a state park. We have camped here in a tent, a motorhome, in a popup, in a hybrid and now in a TT and have had great success with all of them. Summer is awful for mosquitoes, but they do spray often and it can be very hot and sticky. The beach is beyond compare on the eastern seaboard. It is quiet, beautiful and very clean. Again, love it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$32
We got the last site over Thanksgiving. Park is tight & sometimes you have to go against traffic to fit in, but once in it is worth it. The kids loved the beach and the we liked the local seafood. Local bar prior to entering the park and The Crab Shack are a must eat. The kids could ride their bikes on the beach and if you look hard enough you can find shark teeth (black). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$23
Nice place in great location by the ocean and beach! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$21
This is a great park. The ocean front sites are smaller and fewer, but they are definitely a jewel if you can get one. The sites away from the water usually have more shade. The sites across the main campground road are in a woodsier environment and have much more privacy. There are also many tent sites, most of which are oceanfront. I don't believe the ocean front sites can accommodate big rigs. I have read that sites are booked well in advance, but I was able to secure an oceanfront site just 3 weeks in advance. The down side to the site I got was that it is easier to access by traveling in the opposite direction on the road, however, there are less than a handful in the entire campground like this. The oceanfront sites have excellent views of the ocean and the sunrises were awesome. They are literally steps from the beach and just a few yards away from the water at high tide. Leave your windows open and hear the waves 24/7. Park security is good and the gate code changes each day so you must ask the park staff for the code if you plan on returning after the gate is locked each night at 10 PM. Television channels are limited and sometimes the signal is weaker than other times. If you bring a dish or antenna, it will depend on what site you occupy whether you will have good access to the satellite due to the tree cover. I did not have any problem with insects during my visit in November. I also did not have any trouble with raccoons. I saw many deer and squirrels. Dogs are allowed in the campground but must be on a leash; however, they are allowed on the beach off leash. All of the people working at the park were very courteous, friendly, and pleasant. The park store is open until 9 PM every night and is well stocked. If you forget something, chances are they have it on the shelf. The Lighthouse is a short walk down the beach, but make sure you don't get caught during high tide. It will be a long walk back via the highway. There are also many hiking trails, most which begin at the Day Use area near the Lighthouse. One trail leaves from the campground and travels through the palmetto/pine/hardwood forest. It is not a loop trail, so you must make a U turn. Down the road (not walking distance) is a wildlife viewing area and a boardwalk that goes out over a marsh. This park is one of South Carolina’s gems and I highly recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
Once again, this is a state park, not a private one, so the rating is based on that. Sites by the ocean are smaller than those in the woods (deep woods, so no satellite possible). Big rigs will have a challenge in the wooded area. Bath houses should be updated, but they were clean and sufficient. We were there just after heavy rain, and the sites closest to the ocean were very, very wet, even underwater - ours was 'lake front' for the first 2 days! The beach is fabulous! The setting is beautiful and we loved the park. Biggest negative - the roads were too narrow in some spots for a big rig to safely navigate. Our site had to be entered 'against the flow' of a one way street - and many of the sites were not clearly defined. SC State Parks love their trees, and sometimes have a few too many in the way of RV safety. Another problem is the reality that beach erosion is taking its toll on the campsites closest to the water. Biggest positive - the setting. Also impressed with the staff and the size of camp store. It had some of everything and wasn't absurdly expensive. We've already made reservations for 2 more visits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Wow – watch out for the mosquitoes – they are vicious!!! If you are up front by the beach sites you will just love the park, the back area is swampy, humid and so thick with trees that you never get a breeze or much sunlight. Some sites listed as 20’ long can easily accommodate a 40’ motorhome making it very difficult to reserve a site if you haven’t actually seen the park. Some sites listed as 40’ are very unleveled with too many trees around them so there is not enough maneuvering room to back in. Sites by the beach were nice although closer together than those in the back of the park. The rangers (both women - one nice and the other not so nice) said reservations are available 11 months in advance and the front sites always book up exactly 11 months to the day in advance. The park “hosts” were all very nice. Bathrooms while clean are still very dated and it would be nice to have a door to close for some privacy when showering. Too many trees for satellite TV and local TV is limited to about three fuzzy stations – bring your DVDs and other forms of entertainment. The beach is beautiful, clean and not crowded. You can fish, ride your bike along the edge of the water or just enjoy the sunrise over the ocean. Dogs are allowed on the beach as long as you clean up after them. A garbage dumpster in the back camping area would be nice instead of having to go all the way to the front entrance of the park to get rid of trash. You cannot leave any food outside because of raccoons. Also saw deer in the park. Drive or bike to the lighthouse, pay the $2 charge and climb to the top – the view is beautiful. Park roads are a little tricky for a 40’ long, 12’ high motorhome…need to be very careful and go sloooooow – you can do it – just take your time and be sure to have somebody watching for trees and other obstructions. I would not call this park big rig “friendly”….it is only big rig “tolerable”. I will go back but only if I can reserve a site in the beach front area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
This campground is beautiful, book in advance to get a site close to the ocean. Since we were there is June, there were many mosquitoes. The camp store has many items, but very expensive. The showers would be nicer if they had doors for more privacy. Also there is no laundry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
If you enjoy camping at the beach, this is a wonderful campground. We have been twice and had a blast both times. You have to book almost a year in advance to get an ocean front site in the summer. We were at site 113 and enjoyed it. Lots of shady sites throughout the campground. Bring your crab nets and head down to the marsh boardwalk or the pier. We enjoyed catching and eating them for dinner. The campground store is very nice. Prices are a little high but for small conveniences, its worth it. The nearest grocery store is 10 miles away so make sure you are well stocked before you arrive. You can buy fresh shrimp right off the boat about a mile or 2 outside of the campground. Great campground for bike riding too. You can bike right on the sand at the beach. Great place for children. The bathhouses were a little dated but that is typical in most state parks. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
This is a beautiful campground, situated right on the beach. Our site (62) was an easy walk to the beach, and we enjoyed getting up to beautiful sunsets each morning. The beach itself is very nice - clean and uncrowded. The sites are well spaced, and felt roomy. There was a nice mix of tents, trailers and motor homes. The camp store was nice also, and most of their prices seemed very reasonable. The staff were are very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a nice camp ground, close to the beach, it would be tough to do better than this. My only demerits were the rest rooms (they should have been cleaner, and lacked any soap, towels or garbage containers), and the lack of any garbage receptacles other than the main dump station. I realize both of these are due to tight budgets, and to keep the rates reasonable. Neither was a major problem, but they were enough to keep this from being a "10". We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
Hunting Island State Park is beautiful and the campground would be a 10 if it had more privacy in the showers and a washer and drier. The sites away from the ocean view are deep in saw palmetto and live oak woods. The oceanside loop has many long-leaf pine. There is a great variety in site depth so check before you reserve. There are also pull through sites. There are some wonderful nature walks through woods that remind you of Jurassic Park! We kept expecting to see T-Rex pop out of the woods. We did see an alligator at the visitor center. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
Hunting Island is an excellent campground. We have stayed there twice -- the first time in a Class C motorhome and the second in a tent. The beach is the highlight -- very long and very wide. The camp store was more than adequate. Cycling and hiking were good on the beach and in the woods. The nature center was excellent and rangers provide frequent walks/talks about the area. We camped on the side farthest from the beach. Although the walk to the beach is about five minutes, that is absolutely no problem. The sites far from the beach don't have the wind that the beach sites have, however, no-see-ums or related little biting insects can be a nuisance. Dogs and people can easily pick up ticks in this park. We were told there is no lyme disease in the area and although we and our golden retriever carried away some ticks, we suffered no ill effects. It would be a good idea to get a tick-repelling treatment for your dog. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
We absolutely loved this campground. Our only complaint was that we only allowed 2 days and should have planned a week. The ocean was nice with big sandbars, great hiking trail meandered through the "jungle" to the lighthouse and sites were large enough to have some privacy. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
What a great park. Beach was great! Yes the store prices were high but what camp store is not? Drive to Beaufort to sight see, go to dinner, and get groceries on the way back. We found the rangers very friendly and no more rules than other places we have been. Did not have to worry about the kids. Tropical oasis. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
The park has a great beach, but thats about it. the store prices were way out there ($6.00 for a gal of milk) and the rangers were not friendly at all. I know it is a family campground, but we enjoy having a beer (at our campsite) while relaxing and talking with friends. the ranger informed me thats its a $425.00 fine per container open or closed wow! the same ranger returned later to inform us we were talking to loud. now we are a family of five (three kids) and we camp almost every weekend and take one big trip each year and have never run into this ever before. we go camping to relax with friends, not to keep looking over our shoulders and worrying if we are breaking some other crazy rule. the park also has only two dumping stations one of which you can not get into with a big rig and the only other dumpster is located at the main entrance. the five rating is for the beach only. we will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
This park is a good one. The sites closer to the water are the best, offering ocean views, breezes, and fewer insects. Our first year here we stayed near the back of the park on a stream. Big mistake! The bugs were awful! At low tide, the beach is great for walking. Also good for biking. There are two nice naturalist centers and a resident alligator (maybe more than one) living in the swamp. We have reservations again this year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$25
This is a big campground with rv sites for all rig sizes and personal interests. Really glad we found this place and would stay here again in a heartbeat. Next time it'll be for a week or more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$23
What a great place to camp. The site we had was just about 40 feet from the ocean. We could hear the waves coming in and crashing onto the sand. The draw backs to this campground include the bugs and very little else. The biting gnats just about ate us alive. I used a can of the regular Off while there. We were here for 5 days. The weather was a bit cool so the mosquitoes were not out yet. The gnats made up for them. This park has it all. We saw wild life such as deer and other sites such as the lighthouse. The lighthouse was in super shape and one could climb to the top if they cared to. I did not. We were in site #62 and I scoped several others while I was there. Almost every site was shaded and well maintained. The staff there were very friendly and helpful. I saw so many smiles that I forgot that I was at a campground. The bath houses were clean. The sites were laid out with plenty of space between them. Of course there were a few that had very little space. But, they were in the minority. The beach had some erosion issues. When the tide was low, one could walk a long way out onto this huge sandbar. I liked it. The fishing seems to be ok. At least the facilities were in good repair and plentiful. The nature center was ok as was the other large parts of the park. Overall, Id give this park a 9.5. The half point off is because of the bugs only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$30
Campground is nice but waterfront is limited. Found mostly that only tents would fit. Had reservations for site 59 as shown on web site. Turns out that 59 was on the other side of the road. Ranger said to look at it first due to length of motorhome. She was right. As stated above, trees could make it very difficult in this (and many other) sites. Took site 31 next to road, but it was fine as it was only a short walk to beach and was pullthrough. TV is nonexistant. One motorhome nearer to beach got one channel. We and our neighbors got none and trees prevented SAT. Nature museum, nature walks, and lighthouse just down the road were interesting. Deer ticks were already bad. UGA was here doing a study. They said they were out earlier this year. Tents and motorhomes were side by side throughout the park. Was nice to visit but once is enough. Camped here 4 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
Beautiful Scenic Park loaded with Palm trees. Made us feel like we were on a tropical island. I was not impressed with the set up of the campsites. They are laid out to minimize the amount of trees that would need to be removed. This preserves nature, but does limit the sites that are available to tall fifth wheels and slide outs. The reservation web site has no warnings of low hanging branches and limited room for slides. We would not have cleared the branches on main road to the back loop and barely fit into our site due to a leaning tree. I would recommend the park, but use caution because you may not fit in the site you choose due to the trees. The beach was beautiful. Even though the campground was full, the beach felt deserted. Bug spray is a must! The lower rating due to the site layout and tree clearance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
A great beach campground. Wildlife so tame you'd think you were in a Doctor Dolittle movie. The bugs are murder! You're in deep trouble without some strong spray. Site was large and well spaced from the other campers. Lots of palm/palmetto trees surround the area. No sewer hookups-I don't believe any SC parks do though. Bathhouses were outdated, another sc park thing I think. Not that I would expect a KOA type bathhouse for the price. We spent 4th of July week there and for the money, I think it's hard to beat. The beach is beautiful!!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
We visited Hunting Island campground in June of 2005. We camped in a pop up camper at site #115. My sister and her hubby were on site 113. 113 is a VERY shaded site. We had THE most amazing time and our kids LOVED it. The campground is VERY well kept and bath houses were cleaned every morning. My only complaint was that they had no hand soap or paper towels in the bath house. I guess that's to cut down on the littering though. Just make sure you bring your own with you. Those antibacterial hand and face wipes come in really handy. The campsites are real roomy and there are some REALLY nice shaded ones too. Most have water and electric hookup. It's very quiet at night and there were always staff cleaning up around the campground. The wildlife there was AWESOME. As soon as we got there, deer and racoon came running for us to feed them. They get into EVERYTHING so be warned that you can not leave ANY trash, food or coolers outside or all your food will be gone. Many of the animals know how to open sealed bags. One night a raccoon got into bags of chips in our screened in tent over the picnic table. I looked out and he was chomping away giving me a look like "haha...what are you gonna do?". Me yelling at him to "get" didn't phase him a bit. And the DOLPHINS! They were all over in the ocean. The kids found LIVE sand dollars, hermit crabs and starfish. Loggerhead turtles come up every night and lay hundreds of eggs. You're not allowed to have lights at all on the beach at night because of them. The the volunteers and wildlife people go out every morning at 6am to dig up the eggs and relocate them. You can sign up at the welcome center of the campground to go out with the volunteers at 6am. Once relocated, they cover the nests with a special netting that the babies can get out of, but that prevents the deer and racoon from digging them up and eating them. I could go on and on about everything, but we had such a great time. The island loses approximately 15 feet of beach each year due to erosion. It's really sad because it's such a beautiful place. They leave the driftwood and anything that washes up so that it helps build up the sand dunes. If you ever want to make the trip to the low country of South Carolina, I HIGHLY recommend this place. The campground also offers cabins for those that want a taste of camping. It's real close to Beaufort, SC. Our children said they NEVER wanted to go back to Myrtle Beach again. Hunting Island will be our yearly vacation spot from now on! Hunting Island beach was never once crowded, so there was plenty of room to play, fly kites and ride bikes. Make sure you stop by the Nature Center down the road from the campground and also walk the pier. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$19
We just returned from camping the week of Thanksgiving at Hunting Island State Park. I had read the previous reviews on this website and decided we should check it out for ourselves. We loved it. It has a very tropical feel and seems you are much further south than you actually are. We had georgeous weather so that did not hurt any either. Our campsite (#47) was literally steps from the ocean. At high tide we were less than 50 feet from the water. I am sure people have camped here for years and tried to get this site. This was our first trip and just blessed I guess to get this premier located site. Biking is permitted anywhere on the island. Our kids loved that, we did to. We biked probably 30 miles during the week. We did lots of shelling and one afternoon picked up 38 sand dollars. The campground was full over the holiday but did not seem crowded. We did notice the mosquitoes at times but never really a problem. We will definitely return here. We also went to the Lighted Boat Parade in Beaufort on Friday evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Any time spent on Hunting Island is great. One of the best parks in the state system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$23
Very nice state park, rates are up there compared to other state parks. Very nice sites in reserved area, reserve early, these are first to go, if you happen to get stuck in the back, sites 100 and up, bring some industrial strength bug spray, borders marshy creek area, bugs are terrible, reserved area is shaded with constant breezes from ocean, a dream to stay there, no bugs. well equipped campground store, also Beaufort, SC is not far away, some good restaurants close by. Would give it a higher rating if sewer hook ups at sites. Park personnel very nice and helpful, make you feel welcome, rangers even stop and show kids about park wildlife. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$21
This State Park is great, lots to do, clean, oceanfront. Just wish I lived closer to visit more often. Lots of bugs in the fall (when we visited) but what do you expect when camping. Good fishing & crabbing. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$22
Very Good State Park located on one of South Carolina's barrier islands. Park has a great web site that explains activities available on the island. Sites have plenty of shade and ample room. Didn't get to swim (visited in Dec-Jan) but the beach has a definite South Pacific feel to it with Palm Trees lining the shore. Lots of wildlife, including deer that come up to the edges of the campground looking for handouts. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com