223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Huntington Beach State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 80 user reviews. Phone: (843) 237-4440
CGID2535

Huntington Beach State Park

Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   10   10   8   9   10   9   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$37
The best part of this place is the beach and Brookgreen Gardens across the street. Our site was in deep woods which made it quite dark in the rainy weather we experienced. Many other sites are more open, which means you look at your neighbors. Staff in office were indifferent at check-in. Water and electric worked well. Verizon mifi and cell worked well. US 17 which runs by the park is a high speed, narrow, no shoulder four lane road. Could not make a left turn towing the car on departure. Too dangerous. Had to drive three miles north to the first light to make a safe U-turn to head south. Would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
This park was very well maintained, neat and clean. The beach is absolutely beautiful and not crowded at all. There are two beach access points from the campground and we used both, but the access point near site 9 is much easier to use and provides a wide walkway all the way to the beach, showers and a bike rack. The access near site 35 is more of a nature walk to the beach, beautiful and worth the visit, but we had a cart and bikes, so the first was the best for us. Our site, no.110 was nice and shaded and one of the more private sites, but we had to pull closer to the center of the site leaving less room under our canopy, because of the right side was unlevel. There is a great walkway called "alligator alley" by Atalaya that we only discovered by following a Segway tour. The natural areas and interesting and provided great photo ops. I had read reviews on how bad the mosquitoes were, but we didn't experience that at all. The ants however were horrible....they were everywhere in our camper. We travel with a 17 lb dog and she had a great time playing on the beach, which she was able to do all day if it wasn't too hot. Sites 103 - 133 are the much more wooded sites in the campground. We can't wait to come back! This place is a gem! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
We had been recommended this campground and came to investigate. It is a large campground that sits about 800 feet from the beach (the beaches were beautiful!). There are 2 beach accesses from the campground. The main loop roads are paved and well maintained. The sites are gravel but hard packed, flat and well maintained. One thing we noticed was that the electrical and water services are not always in the back right side. They are on the right but some are in the middle so you can't back all the way in. Almost every site was taken when we were there but everyone was real nice, vehicles drove slowly, and there was no noise. There is a great bike path up by the entrance road (US-17) that you can take up to restaurants and a great seafood market in Murrells Inlet. There is a nature center, wildlife viewing platforms and daily nature programs June-August in the park as well. The restrooms were fairly clean, but I noticed the showers had a good deal of mildew. The restrooms are kind of dated with a lot of maintenance done and you would think with the amount of money that they make they could update them. Verizon voice and data was 3 bars. OTA TV received channels from Myrtle Beach and Charleston. A very nice campground, and we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
We lucked into this absolute gem of a park trying to escape traffic over Easter weekend. We were here 2 nights at 2 different campsites. The sites are large and well-situated. The campground is along a very wide dune system and so close to the beach you can hear the surf at night. The park is on an "island" with wetlands separating it from the mainland inhabited by many interesting birds and a few alligators. We also saw 2 Painted Buntings. There is a Nature Center, and an empty residence of the original millionaire owners that you can tour. There is a paved bike path to the nearby town of Murrells Inlet with a fabulous seafood store and a bunch of restaurants. The beach is wonderful, and (best of all) dogs are allowed on the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
Love this park. Walking distance to the beach and sites are good size with no crowding. Several free things to do in the park. We come back every year for a week or more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$33
Awesome campground that is exactly as described by prior positive reviews. Easy access to and in the park with our larger RV. Ocean sounds make for a great night's sleep. Looking forward to our next stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$31
This is a wonderful campground in the state park. Sites are large with plenty of space between sites. Restroom/showers were very clean. Sites fill up quickly with locals, so make reservations early. There are plenty of hiking trails and a nice boardwalk to the beach. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$36
Beautiful park on the ocean. One can hear the waves breaking on the beach from many sites. The historic landmark Atalaya winter residence of Archer Huntington can be toured. Brookgreen Gardens are across the highway from the park, easily reached by bicycle, admission good for a week. Nature center, trails, and boardwalks allow close up viewing of migratory birds, alligators, and other marsh wildlife. Paved bicycle path leads to Murrells Inlet that is several miles north of the park with numerous restaurants. Litchfield, south of the park Park store, has wide selection of gifts and some supplies (no dairy except ice cream). Wi-Fi is available at the office/store. Bathhouses are cleaned daily and have tiled showers. One of the nicest state parks I've camped at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Think this is the best State park CG in SC: and that's a huge compliment! Not sure why the previous post had problems with overhanging limbs: we have a large MH and have never come close to any. The causeway leading to the CG is more than wide enough for two vehicles to pass safely: assuming each takes his half of the road out of the side and not the middle!! Sites are level, some heavily shaded, some with very few trees. Sites in the middle of the CG are best for satellite TV access. The walk to the ocean is quite a distance, even though this CG is on the ocean side of the highway with no other roads to cross. The staff is very courteous and helpful: even when challenged when the CG is full, which it is every weekend Spring - Fall!! Most of us who use this CG love it. Sites are not cramped for space and the facilities are always kept clean. Only thing missing is a playground for the kids!! We return as often as possible and just made our reservations for next year. Do it ASAP because this CG fills up FAST!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
We tire of state parks where policy is more important than the customer. There was an RVer who wanted to stay longer and rent the "campground host" spot, since it was going to be empty. The ranger gave him a flat no with no reason. So he had to leave and the spot stayed empty. What a waste! The campground is attractive and clean with some semi-open sites and some wooded sites. There are overhanging branches that hit our motorhome roof on the entry road and on roads within the park. Roads are paved and sites are dirt, mostly level. The only trash receptacle was a full 1/3 mile from our campsite (we paced it off), and there are no dog waste bags or receptacles anywhere. Only a few sites had sewer hookups, but there is a triple dump station at the entry/exit that is in good shape. Watch the entry causeway road; it is very narrow and there are bicyclists on the road. The check-in parking lot has a big tree blocking at least 50% of the access, and you check in behind a long line of people buying supplies at the store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
This is one of our favorite parks. About 12 sites have sewer and the rest are electric and water. Pretty scenery and a beautiful ocean beach. All visitors pay a fee to enter park (not campers). There is a locked gate after the park closes. Campers are given the combination to the lock for after hour entrance. There are three bathrooms/shower buildings ranging from new (closest to campground entrance) to old (furthest from the entrance). They are cleaned once or twice a day but not thoroughly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
This park has it all for the adventurous type. If it had 50 amp service and sewer service, it would be an excellant RV park. I will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Loved this campsite, although the sites were fairly close to one another, but everyone was friendly. Lots to do, as site is right at the beach, and across from Brookgreen Gardens, which is a nice attraction and close to town. Lots of hiking and biking paths. Dump site was easy access and had multiple dumps in lanes. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This is an awesome campground, a short walk to the beach, lots of trees for shade. Lots of places to hike and bike. The one big drawback were the restrooms and showers, both were dirty most of the time and out of supplies in the evenings. We will go back and would suggest it to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Very Beautiful campground. Our site was close to the bathhouse and with big trees in between sites. It was very quite at night even though it was full. The only down side was the shower house is out dated and the showers were not cleaned everyday. The bathroom stalls were clean. The people working the check in at the camp store were not friendly. It is a wonderful State Park with beautiful beaches and the marsh walk with all the trails in the park were really nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Awesome. Camp here every year in the late fall. Cool enough for a campfire yet warm enough during the day for comfortable walks along the beach or other areas. Sites are huge with shade and sun. Usually stay on sites 10 or 11 or 12 or 13. Would have given a 10 but the bath houses are a little dated. All roads around campground are paved and sites are graveled. Have camped here for around 20 years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
We were truly amazed at the size of these sites. They are huge, with a good 50 feet between campers. We were in site 171, which was almost at the end of the park (Host in 173). Thought there would have been road noise, but hardly none. We were there the week of Easter, park was full with everything from tents to motor homes. Lots of children in tents and pop ups too. 95% were very well behaved and didn't even know the were there. Good 30 amp only, water was fine, no sewer in our site. Host lent us his tote to dump our tanks (thanks again). The beach was beautiful and not very crowded considering the park was full. We will be back, but hopefully will get a full hookup site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$38
GREAT location for sure. Pretty sites but even the "ocean front" are really not on the ocean or view but you must walk through dunes on wooden walkway to get to the ocean but that ocean is gorgeous. The drive in road separates the salt water march from fresh water. Alligators are there, as are egrets and blue herons. Great trails to hike and bike. Across Rt 17 is the Brookgreen Botanical Gardens and small zoo. Amazing place. Better than being in Myrtle Beach campgrounds that are site on top of site, these sites are well placed and there is grass between sites and room to stretch. We recommend it and will be going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
Nice park, but needs more lighting at night. It is dark after sunset. This park has no snack shop or a small shop that sells RV supplies. Overall a nice park and plan to come back in the spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$31
What a gem! Except for Wi-Fi (only at the office) and TV this park has it all. Far away from the highway, right behind the dunes of a beautiful beach. Most sites (like ours) are back in with electric and water. Three dump stations on the way out, you probably won't have to line up. Sites are gravel, well apart from each other. We didn't use any facilities, staying just for one night. We'll definitively return in springtime and spend more time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$26
For a state park campground, this place is awesome. Large, level sites with close proximity to the ocean. Lots to do in the area, with restaurants and attractions nearby, or if you choose not the leave the park once you arrive, there is plenty to do. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
This was our second visit to this park. It is excellent in many ways. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The campground is right on the ocean with a fabulous, wide beach right at the campground. The sites are large and clean with a combination of sun and shade. There are many organized activities right at the campground e.g. birding and tours of Atalaya, a "castle" right in the park. We stayed here only two nights and thus didn't do justice to the area. The park is very close to shopping, golf courses, Brookgreen Gardens (reputed to be magnificent) and dining due to its proximity to Myrtle Beach. Unfortunately, the washrooms, although very clean, are quite dated and it is time for a makeover in that area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
This is a lovely and quiet CG and we've been here several times. The only thing that would make it even better is having Wi-Fi throughout the park instead of just at the Ranger Station. That said, we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
Staff was pleasant and let us look around to choose a site. Sites were level and clean. We chose a site close to the tents that was easy to back in to. Being very close to beachfront was nice and the beach itself was wide. For some reason the electrical box tripped. We had been running the A/C for part of the day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
This is a very nice campground. Three beach access points. Two that are for the campground and with boardwalks and one for the public beach. The beach was amazing. The most pristine powdery white fine sand I have seen. Beach was not very crowded at all. Brookgreen Gardens across the street was nice and cost $12.00 adult and the ticket is good for 7 days, it was worth it. 20 miles or so south of Myrtle Beach. Take LOTS of bug repellent. We went here in 2008 for the 1st time after a friend suggest us and we come back every year since then. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
This is a nice campground. Three beach access points. Two that are board walks. The beach was amazing. The most pristine powdery white fine sand I have seen. Beach was not very crowded at all even though this cg was full. Brookgreen Gardens across the street was nice. 20 miles or so south of Myrtle Beach. We went up there one day and went out on one of the piers. (2nd street I think.) Looked at the beach: there was no way I would swim here after seeing the campgrounds beach. Take LOTS of bug repellent or the MOSQUITOS will pack you out of here!! We stayed a week and loved it, but used lots of 40% deet repellent (OFF didn't work), tiki bite fighter and Cutters candles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We camp here annually for Easter vacation and absolutely love this park and campground. The beaches are beautiful and the surroundings are natural and left mostly wild. Sites are huge and well spaced. We love the castle, nature center, trails, and wildlife all on site. Brookgreen garden across the street is fabulous as well. Bring your bikes! We camp with our 6 children and even with no playground or activities we always have the most wonderful time. On site Sunday morning worship services are a plus too. We are already booked for next spring! Can't wait! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
Wonderful campground , great beach access. Lots of space between sites. Will come back again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
Wonderfully laid out park. Lots of privacy. So quiet at all times of day and night you can hear the surf. Great for biking and the alligators appear daily. Wi-Fi reception with Verizon Mi-Fi painfully slow and TV reception erratic. Would stay again but sure need to plan ahead in order to get a site, especially with full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
This is a lovely park with a walkway to the beach and a robust single stream recycling program including composting. We got heartache from seeing many aluminum cans in trash bin just 10 feet from the recycling bin. Sites 103 to 121 are large, wooded, and well separated, but had plentiful mosquitoes in November. Just across the highway is the fabulous Brookgreen Gardens; one small entry fee allows entry there for 7 days and there are very good restaurants on the Brookgreen grounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We just LOVED this campground. It was a state park, so less hook-ups (we were unable to get sewer) but we expected that. The beach was perfect, unspoiled, not crowded, dogs allowed (but never saw dog mess). Great price. Bathrooms were older but clean. Our site (112) was tucked into the trees and private. Many mosquitoes, but it was South Carolina in August! We would not have liked the full hook up sites out in the open field, not very private. We can't wait to go back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
This place is awesome. Make a reservation and go! In my opinion, the BEST South Carolina SP that there is!! Where else can you go and camp and see alligators at the CG? The beach is awesome, almost every site has at least one or two trees for shade, and it is convenient to Myrtle Beach. We came back late one night (11 PM) and there was an alligator in the middle of the causeway. Too cool! I want to give this park a 10 so bad, but it has limited sewer hook-ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
A gem of a park: our best SC state park experience so far. Park is well maintained and very crowded (reserve early) but sites have enough space between them to keep one from feeling overcrowded. Beach is beautiful and access is excellent from campground. The gorgeous and very interesting Brookgreen Gardens is across the street and this alone has lured us into booking again soon. Only one caveat prevents us from giving this a perfect 10: no 50 amp service for larger rigs and in the bad summer heat in June many sites were not putting out even a full 30 amps (measured 25-27 on some days). This is not our first experience with this problem in a SC state park; the state badly needs to update its electrical infrastructure in all parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Great CG and surrounding area. Large sites in the open or in the woods. Broad beach only a short walk away. Walk the half-mile causeway over tidal marshes at high and low tide to see alligators, birds, crabs and more. Tour Huntington's winter home (Alatala) and magnificent gardens (Brookgreen). Scheduled daily programs. Hike or bike - lots of options. Pet friendly, even on the beach. Okay, no Wi-Fi and limited sites with sewer (but three lanes at the dump). Just a great place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
This is a wonderful park with lots to do without even leaving the park. Beach access is excellent, and has good bike/walking trails with a chance to view alligators from a close, but safe distance. This is another gem in the South Carolina State Park system. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Excellent facility and would rate higher if all sites had sewer and if Wi-Fi available. Sites were large, nicely spaced and fairly level. Nice proximity to Myrtle Beach area, wonderful garden across the street and you can enjoy viewing the gators! I've stayed here before and will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
This is a gem of a park in a fascinating area; I don't know how we missed it for two years. We had planned to stay 3 nights, but upon arriving added on two days. The next visit will be even longer. The sites are level and easy to back into. All sites are spacious. Those sites on the main loop are out in the open and those sites in the outer loop back into the woods for those who prefer full shade. The sites are gravel, but easy to walk on. A few of the main loop sites have full hookups; the remainder are water & electric. Virtually all sites are back in. Brookgreen Gardens, an outstanding sculpture garden with a native animal zoo and other activities, is nearly across the road from the park. It was opened by the Huntingtons in 1932, and was the first outdoor sculpture garden in the country. You'd miss so much to pass up the place. There are well over 1,000 sculptures in the gardens today. We took three days to see most everything there. Atalaya, the unique Huntington's home until the early 70s, is in the state park and can be self-toured for $1. We also recommend a guided tour of the Yawkey Wildlife Preserve on two sea islands south of Georgetown. You will not be disappointed to visit this area and to stay at this park. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
It is one of the best state parks I have stayed in. It is easy in and out, with lots of room between sites. Most are back ins, but easy to use as they are angled to the road for easy access. Most sites have good gravel and lots of grass. All sites are very level, almost no leveling needed. There is lots to do in the area and lots of trails in the park. The staff are great, and eager to accommodate. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$26
I have not stayed at this CG since Thanksgiving weekend last year, but just wanted to give my thoughts about it. I love it! The sites are huge, the beach access is awesome, the mansion home on site is nice, and you can not beat the price for what you get and where you are located. Restaurant row in Murrells Inlet has some fabulous places to eat. The lowland area of the CG has some of the best wildlife in the area. I saw a bald eagle last trip. This CG is our number one spot when we go to the beach. You have to plan ahead when making reservations because they book up fast. I have a reservation for 8 nights at the end of July. Nice shaded site. I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 because all the sites do not have sewer, but, that is just one minor flaw for the price. Reserve a site and go!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
A very clean and friendly campground in a beautiful area. We are looking forward to going back soon. We especially liked the proximity to the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
There is so much to do at this park! The back sites are the most private and have woods in the back; the others towards the front are much closer. We had site 121, and it was very private and very close to the restrooms. We kayaked at the marsh area. We ask ranger how to get there as it is very easy. The highlight was Brookgreen gardens less than 1 mile from the park. They have 9000 acres of garden, sculptures and very cool zoo. The ticket is good for 6 days as you could never see it all in one day. We loved this area so much we have already scheduled a trip in April. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
The sites are huge, there's nice access to the beach, the trails were nice, has paved roads to ride your bikes on and the birds and alligators put on a show on the causeway every morning. The only thing that would make this campground better would be a sewer connection. We have already made plans to come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Pretty nice campground Sunday afternoon until Friday. We arrived on a Monday and campground was nice and quiet. Friday afternoon the week end crowd started coming in and some were loud and rowdy. There were a lot of golf carts and ATVs riding through the campground, some weren't obeying the speed limit. Sunday evening the campground was quiet again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a excellent campground close to Myrtle Beach. No crowd or late night teenagers driving golf carts here. Very quaint and reasonable. Bring bug spray and a beach towel and enjoy the nature. This is the campground your father would like. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
This was once a wonderful campground but it has gone downhill aver the last couple of years. Trash dumpsters were difficult to use and some people were putting their trash on the ground beside the dumpster. Dog waste was on the beach and on the boardwalk to the beach. Kids were riding around and around the campground on golf carts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$23
Wow, what a neat campground we happen to luck out and get four days in the same spot from a cancellation and had a spot in between the trees, very nice. The only thing i could find that kept this park from a 10 was the restrooms but if you can keep the price at this rate just clean them and i can live with it. Will differently be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
Wonderful park near the beach (though not as close or scenic as Hunting Island). New paved roads are excellent and almost all pads are very level and most are large enough to handle any size rig. There are a few nice boardwalks to walk, a hiking trail, and a great little education center with turtles, baby alligators, etc. The beach is a few hundred feet off from the sites and through a hammock. The Huntington beach "house" ruins are interesting and worth the $1 separate fee. Great campground store and the four dump stations were immaculate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
This is an outstanding State Park. Good, paved interior roads. The sites are gravel and level. Full hookups are available in 40 sites. Thirty Amp, water, sewer. The beach is great and there is a lot to do in the park and surrounding area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$22
Sites are large, level and well spaced. Only a few have sewer hookups. Very nice beach is a short walk away via a couple paths through the woods. Park is wooded but not so much so as to present problems getting into sites. Cell coverage is good and dishes should work well on most, but not all, sites. Plenty of shopping and dining nearby. I will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$27
This is a gem. It is south of Myrtle Beach but still close enough to get all your tourist stuff. Right across the street from Brook Green Gardens which was the purpose of our short trip from Outdoor Resorts in Hilton Head Island. Maybe 20 various rigs, clean, quiet and a short walk to a quiet, deserted beach, it was special. There is a wonderful bird sanctuary and the Huntington's Winter Castle to explore plus the spectacular Brook Green Gardens, a must see when in the area. The Christmas "Nights of 1000s Candles" was unbelievable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
It certainly was quiet, even for November. Only about 2 dozen campers. Rest rooms were clean, although it's strange there was no soap or towels/hand dryers. There is direct access to the beach in a couple of places and at night or when it is quiet, you can hear the surf pounding. Rangers passed through often. The only down side in my estimation was the lack of control over speed limits in the camp area including the rangers. 20-25 MPH was the standard. In fairness, the roads are paved, so there wasn't a dust problem like in some parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
OK - no 50 amp, no cable, no WIFI, lots of mosquitoes, BUT it is so beautiful in every other way that I had to give it a 10. I hate that reservations cannot be made 11 months in advance from the beginning of your stay. It is hard to get two weeks without moving sites. We had gone there before Hurricane Hugo, and I do not think they had any full hook-up sites then. I wish they had more. We will try to go back every year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
Great park. A beach that is not as crowded as beaches in the area. Alligators are around as well as other wildlife. (Don't leave the Garbage cans out). The bugs were a little intense and would recommend that anyone camping here in the warm months take a screen room. Walk to the beach is better on the boardwalk than the other path. (recommend a beach cart) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Why did we wait so long to go here?! We were VERY pleased with Huntington Beach. We have already made more reservations. This will definitely be our favorite beach campground. We hope no one makes reservations besides us!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
What a beautiful park! This was our second time camping here and it was just as wonderful as the first. Our site was nicely shaded by a sprawling oak and was right at the beach access point to a nice winding trail to the beach over the dunes. They have a really nice camp store and gift shop as well as a great nature center. They had paved the campground road recently which cut down on the dust and noise of the stones from before which was nice. The other campers were very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms are conveniently located and clean. Overall a super week. We will be back very soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
Huntington Beach Campground – Huntington Beach, South Carolina - $23 plus fees and taxes – Site 3 – water and electricity. Sites? This campground is on the beautiful grounds of the state park and the former home of Archer and Ann Huntington – Atalaya (very interesting)which is open daily and free to explore. Brookline Gardens is across the site also built by the Huntingons. Beaches are beautiful, places to ride bikes all over the park and some sites are more private than others. Very peaceful, education center, marsh boardwalks, bird watching, alligators, palm trees. Enjoyable place to camp and we will be back! The only negative is that there is no privacy when trying to change up in the shower stall but the showers are hot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
Great location and nice sites. One section has a lot of vegetation between the sites the other section is more open. Sites are large and fairly level. Roads are recently paved. Access to the beach and dogs are allowed. Convenient location to nearby attractions. Myrtle Beach is a short drive away. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
A very nice state park. We have been there 2 of the last 3 weekends and plan to return again. Yes, the roads are being paved. We saw the paving equipment in place and it was due to start Monday, Nov. 19th. Thank God because the potholes were beginning to swallow the campers! Comments by so many are very true. Many are large enough for even the biggest rig. Most have limited shade, but those in the highest numbers (101 - 133) are very wooded and afford much privacy. Bathhouse in that area was clean and the showers were great. Very limited stock in camp store during this time of year, but have been there when campground was packed and it had everything. Would not hesitate to recommend Huntington Beach to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
The previous reviewer stated most of what we experienced, so glad to hear that the main roads are to be paved, dodging potholes and dealing with the dust was not fun. I felt bad for campers with sites close to the road and downwind when some inconsiderate boob drives by too fast, raising a cloud of dust. Paving the roads will eliminate most of that problem. Our biggest complaint was ANTS! They were like the Borg, for those who are familiar with the Star Trek series. Kill five and ten reappear. We have never had a problem with ants in our trailer before. They were RELENTLESS. I sprayed inside and outside with bug spray and it would knock them back a bit, but they would reappear somewhere else with a vengeance. Next time I will bring some ant dust along and sprinkle some around everything that touches the ground. Once they get inside, be prepared to do battle! On the plus side, we saw gators galore, more birds than you can count, and enjoyed great walks on the WIDE beach, (go at low tide). On a side note, the restaurants we visited in nearby Murrells Inlet were superb, and Murrells Inlet Seafood Market had the best Tuna steaks I have ever had. Definitely worth the short drive. We would stay here again, but with "ant protection." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
Great wooded and spacious sites making for easy parking and privacy. Roads were potholed - was informed by park staff that they will be paving the main campground roads (but not sites) very soon. Very narrow beach, but beautiful. Enjoyed a walk around Atalaya Mansion and running around the park on the boardwalks through the salt marsh and nature trail to Sandpiper pond (an interdune pond). It was rainy while we were there, but still got out and enjoyed nature's bounty. Great place to view egrets, though missed out on the gators. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
Second time here and we had a great stay again. We try to get a site on the first loop so we are close to the beach walkway, bathrooms, and a short distance to the camp store. The beach is very close and just one of the greatest beaches we have ever been to. The kids played at the beach every day and we visited the nature center almost every afternoon for one of talks that the staff there gives on the local marine life. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Decent State Park - were told our site and unable to have it when we arrived. Nice beach - enjoyed just the quiet of it. Have FHU but apparently have to book way in advance. If you want an ocean front Park - this is a nice one to stay at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
Very nice park. This was our 4th time at this campground and we intend on returning. The park rangers do a spectacular job keeping the restrooms clean. The walk to the beach isn't far at all. You can hear the ocean from your site at night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Nice large sites. Some shaded, but would probably be very hot in summer. Staff was very nice and the beach was a short walk over the dunes and was great. Only problem was dust. Roads are dirt and it had been dry for some time. Would have gotten a 10 if not for that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
Fairly typical state park campground. Sites tend to be in open areas with limited trees for shade. This would be a rather hot place in summer weather. Beautiful natural area with very long and isolated beach to enjoy. Prefer the campsites at Myrtle Beach State Park but this park is much more separated from the noise of the MB urban area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
This is our 3rd time staying at this park right after Christmas. I have always rated it higher than this year's rating, as the campground has always been just so pretty and the beach and park are just great. This year they did a poor job with communicating with fellow campers. We were there from 12/30/06-1/4/07. We were in the office on 3 separate occasions and there were no notices of the main road/causeway being closed on 1/4/07. The only way out of this park was down a narrow road with overhanging branches that was built during the early 1930s. They did trim them the day before though, so we did not get our truck or camper scratched up. The day before we were leaving, a newly checked in camper informed us that they were asked to help with "flagging" the morning of the 4th around 9 am. That was when they assumed the road was going to be closed. Now, bear in mind, no signs were posted and no mention of this closure was made during the time we were there. We arose at 4:30 am and got the truck and trailer ready to go by 8 am. We rode over to the causeway and there was tape and cones blocking the road and that was after we drove the 1/4 mile from the campground. The road was blocked with digging equipment. We were stuck. One very nice ranger, who was not directly assigned to the campground and park, was kind enough to assist us. The regular park rangers were of no help whatsoever. We finally were led to the one way out, which was an 8-10' wide drive that no one closed off the incoming traffic. So there was two way traffic on a road which barely could hold one. This was so inconsiderate of the park employees. They could have had flagmen directing traffic in the morning. They should have posted flyers throughout the campground or informed fellow campers who were checking in and were leaving on that scheduled day. What a mess. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$21
We loved it. Even though we were out of season, the campground stayed pretty full the week we were there. A really great state run campground. A lot of space between camp sites. Neat & clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$23
I found out about Huntington Beach State Park when I did an online search for campgrounds along the Grand Strand. The campground at HBSP was very nice and seemed to be well maintained. Most of the sites had more than adequate shade, but were also accommodating for even the largest of RVs. We stayed in a pop-up camper with our two dogs, a pitbull/chow cross and a German shepherd dog. The campground is laid out very well. The sites are situated such that campers are not crammed in on top of one another, and there was plenty of room for our two dogs to be tied on 20 foot long tie outs without being in the way of other campers or getting tangled up in each other's lines. The campground appears to be extremely dog friendly, with 'waste bag stations' in several locations in case you forget to bring a bag with you when you walk your dog. There were many, many campers here with dogs. Beach access is easily accessible to everyone, including people in wheelchairs or parents with strollers, via a raised boardwalk from the campground all the way to the beach. There was a floodlight on the side of the bath house, which made me feel safe going to the bathroom during the night, as it lit up the area very well, without being obtrusive and shining directly into the campsites. The bath house that was near our campsite needed to be updated. There were some cracked and loose tiles on the floor, and green stuff growing in a couple of the faucet heads, both at the sinks and the showers. There was indication of mildew/mold on the benches at the showers themselves, and the tile grout in the showers needed to be scrubbed because it looked dirty. There was also little privacy for those taking a shower. The only curtain was for the shower itself, so you had to undress and dress either in the shower behind the curtain, or out in the open for whoever walked by to see. I overheard other campers saying that the other bath house was newer and better, but I did not see it for myself. The toilets, countertops, and sinks appeared clean. We and other campers did use our Lysol spray in the shower areas, though. Atalaya 'Castle,' the winter home of Arthur and Anna Hyatt Huntington, is open to the public and can be toured alone or with a guide. Brookgreen Gardens is across the street on the opposite side of Hwy 17, and requires at least one full day to see everything there. Myrtle Beach is about 10 miles up the coast, and Georgetown is to the Southwest. Not directly related to the campground, I did want to say that the Sandpiper Pond trail needs some work. I was not impressed with it at all. The pond is grown up and so are the viewing sites, so we really only got to see the pond at the beginning of the trail, at the first raised viewing area. It's a fairly long trail, and is a bit confusing, because it was not well marked. The freshwater lagoon and saltwater marsh, on the other hand, provide excellent wildlife viewing opportunities. We saw several alligators, herons and other birds. The Education Center at HBSP provides some good programs and 'excursions' that are fun for young and old. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This was our 3rd visit to Huntington Beach SP and will be our last! Our site was next to a marsh, which made mosquitos pretty bad. That isn't the park's fault. My score comes primarily from the filthy bathrooms! On both days we were there the bathrooms hadn't been cleaned. There was water and grass everywhere, human waste stains in the toilets, and the showers were full of mold. This place needed an overhaul. We will not be returning! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
This campground is wonderful. Nice large sites with wonderful areas to bike around. The Education Center is not just for the children we also found it very informative of the marine life out there. There is a camp store that has a good little variety of things, most of the things are not outrageously priced. The Atalaya Castle was neat to walk through everyone enjoyed it. All of the staff there were very kind.The only downfall for this place was the restrooms. They are "old", the showers were filthy fortunately though we did not go to camp in the bath house. A great place for the price. We will definitely be back every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$17
My kids and I camped in a tent at Huntington Island, it was a great park for a family. Of course the beach (which is a few minute walk) was wonderful, and the Education Center at the State Park was a lot of fun. There are several Nature Programs offered daily that were great. I can't say enough good things. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$25
Another wonderful South Carolina state park. The sites are really spacious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
We arrived during a downpour and some of the sites were flooded. There was heavy flooding around some of the sewer connections at those sites that had them. Some sites were shaded and some were out in the open which would most likely be very hot in the summer months. There is direct beach access from the campground with the beach being about 300 yards away. Although the campground was almost full during our stay, the beach itself was deserted. There were three dump stations located at exit but one was closed for some reason. Roads and pads are gravel and were level for the most part. Big rigs can easily maneuver around the park. We will go back here again. We were in a 30' travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2004
$35
I loved this place! A short walk to the beach where you could ride your bikes or hike out to the jetty. It is clean, very picturesque and apparently in the summer, they have lots of programs for families to learn about the park and nature. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2004
$22
We camped at this park in 1999 with 2 small children and had a great experience. The bathrooms back then were somewhat primitive. We visited the park in 2004 and found that they had built a new campground here and closed the old one. We checked it out and it was great! The bathhouses were clean and the sites were awesome. It's not as close to the ocean as the old sites - ours was backed into the dunes and the ocean was right on the other side. We loved it though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Really enjoyed this State Park. No waterfront but close walk to beach. Something for every member of the family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$26
This is a nice state park. The beach area is good also. It also is in part of the beach where there aren't as many people if you are not into crowds. My wife, daughter and chinese crested stayed here in 2001 and again in 2003 and found the place to be very well maintained and beautiful. You can see aligators up close and personal here. The good and the bad, depending on how you see it, it that it takes about 20 moinutes to get to Myrtle Beach downtown from the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$19
Great for the nature lover. Big wide sites, Salt water marshes, fresh water lagoons, beach and ocean. Nature trails. Great birding. Brookgreen gardens is directly across on HWY. 17. and easy to get to on bicycles. We enjoy it in the off season when it's cooler and no mosquitos. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$18
Beautiful state park located on the beach south of Myrtle Beach. Sites are not on the beach but within easy walking distance. Divided into two sections. Note: During a visit in November 2001, looks like the southern section is being dismantled so the number of sites may be reduced. 24 sites of sewer, the rest are water & electric. Great biking in the park trails or on the beach. Very nice nature programs. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$22
Nice campground on the beach. Near Myrtle Beach. Nicer than Myrtle Beach State Park. Great seafood restaurants nearby. Sewer hookups on 24 sites. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com