214481 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Greenwood State Recreation Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (864) 543-3535
CGID2544

Lake Greenwood State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   9   8   5   8   1   4   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We camped in campground #2 in a beautiful spot right on the water of this beautiful lake. The price reflects $22 plus the numerous taxes that are added in. Our spot was paved with asphalt and was easy to level up on. Our utilities, water and 50 amp electric were adequate. The dump station looks very well conceived. They do recycle plastic bottles, newspaper and aluminum cans. We were able to receive DirecTV and a few local channels, as well. Our Verizon signal was weak, but usable. The park staff was helpful upon check in. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
We camped here from Monday thru Friday. It was mostly quite during the week but as the weekend approached, so to did the traffic and noise. It seemed that every site had a boat or jet skis along with several other vehicles that made the narrow roads appear more so. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Bathrooms were clean and well stocked. WiFi is available if you go up to the office area. AT&T cell service was good. Overall, we really like the park. We will probably visit again, but will do so when it is much cooler to avoid much of the boat and jet skis. If you like history, I would suggest checking out the Ninety Six National site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
Stayed two days to explore the area. Very nice park. Clean, well kept and friendly. Big rigs should find half the sites usable, a few pull through sites might be tricky. They are addressing some shoreline erosion with riprap so much of the natural shoreline is disappearing, but it will make the camp sites secure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
Wonderful views. Very quiet. Sites aren’t really big but big enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This state park has mostly back in sites, limited 50 amp, and no pool or cable or sewer. Close to bath house but baths and bathrooms are not regularly maintained. There is tissue for the bathroom and plenty of hot water for showers but wear flip flops and and your own shampoo/soap etc. I guess this is fairly typical of state parks and we've stayed here 3 times; back in April, again in July; and now October for several weeks. This is about the best accommodations in the area and most people come for the boating or fishing or swimming in the lake in the summer. The sites are paved and mostly back in but bring your own trimmers as sometimes limbs hang low. There are few spots to accommodate rigs over 40 feet. We stay here because it's close to where we need to conduct business and the staff in the office is nice. There is a fee for reserving through Reserve America; so this increases the daily cost. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Very scenic park on Lake Greenwood. Many sites have nice view of lake. Minimal activity for the kids (one trail, several play sets). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
This is a classic CCC-era State Park that is located on a beautiful lake. We saw bald eagles and ospreys over the lake. Unfortunately this park is falling victim to negligent management by the park rangers and administration. During my family's one week stay, we never saw a ranger at all, even when visiting the park office. The office was manned by a teenaged volunteer and the campground was managed by a volunteer host. There seems to be a policy of total anarchy, with the campers left to do as they wish. The lake was very nice and fairly clean, and the sites all have shade. In the campgrounds there is significant erosion everywhere, lots of litter blowing around, the bathrooms were only cleaned once a day and were somewhat run-down and in disrepair. Crowds of unsupervised young children and teenagers were roaming everywhere. There were loud motorcycles and vehicles with boom boxes. Fishheads on the beach in front of our campsite daily from the neighbors 4 sites up cleaning their fish and throwing the waste back into the lake. There were golf carts driving off-road all over the park and cruising around until late at night. There were loud radios and bright lights on all night, barking dogs in almost every campsite, grey water being dumped directly from trailers, fleets of pontoon boats parked directly in front of our campsite blocking our access to the lake, rowdy dangerous boaters towing skiers through kids and flocks of ducks in 3 feet of water next to the bank, jet skis blasting around in circles 15 hours a day in front of the campsites making conversation nearly impossible, boat trailers and vehicles parked on the grass blocking trails to restrooms, etc. All of this combined to make this a less than enjoyable visit. If this campground was managed by the US Corps of Engineers none of this would be tolerated. By the end of the week I was about ready to call the park rangers, the local sheriff, the game warden, animal control and the EPA! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Vehicles are allowed to park anywhere except on the road. As a result, the paths to the bath houses were blocked by cars, trucks and boat trailers. The rest rooms were mediocre at best. The men's bathhouse was very dirty. The guests were extremely lax about supervising their children. The guests who brought boats showed no regard for safety, often charging in out of the coves, at full speed, within feet of swimmers and non-motorized boaters. One camper/boater plowed over a flock of swimming ducks, including baby ducks. Virtually everyone had dogs who barked all night and were often allowed to run off leash. Campers left their tacky lights on all night. People walked through our campsite to get to other campsites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
The campground was clean and the staff straitens up each site after it has been used. The restrooms were decent, but nothing to brag about. There are 2 main loops in the camping area, I stayed on loop 2 where every site you can at least see the water. We were able to walk down to the water and get in, but its just a lake and the area we were at wasn't really meant for swimming (no lifeguards at all) the lake is huge and there are a lot of boats. The wildlife is prevalent. Some trails, there is a church service on Sundays. Lots of ticks, so be on the lookout. Lots of friendly people. There is Wi-Fi available at the main office that I did take advantage of. I would recommend this place based on the price and the beauty of the lake. Campsites were not that huge, but OK. I am not from the area, so I will most likely not be back. I was just testing out our new popup camper. There are playgrounds at the park that were OK, you can fish as well. Very relaxing place to camp. Have fun! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Great state park, quiet, park rangers keep it that way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$19
We thoroughly enjoyed a five night stay at this park. My husband had a good time fishing just a few feet from our camp site, and we saw deer and other wildlife on our evening strolls. A visit to the nearby Ninety Six National Historic Monument was a worthwhile side trip. We spent a lovely Sunday afternoon walking on their interpretative loop and then along one of their primitive trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
This is a beautiful park. The campsite we stayed on was a bit tricky to get into, but with the help of a good neighbor, we got in there. All the park staff were helpful and informative. There was plenty to do with the kids such as hiking, biking, fishing, swimming, and there was a playground on the other side of the park. We will definitely go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
The site we stayed on was a bit hard to level out the camper, but it was quiet and one site over from being lakefront. Our son had a ball fishing and roasting marshmallows in the provided firepit, but the playground is located on the other side of the park so we didn't get over there. (It rained.) The park rangers were friendly, and the sites were plenty shady. We had trouble weaving through trees to get to the site, having to back up and go forward several times, but the other campers had seen it all week and were eager to lend a hand. We will definitely return because it's as close to roughing it as it gets in a camper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
We camped there in a motor home. Maneuvering beyond a few sites near the entrance was very difficult with a 40 foot motor home and the first site they assigned us was not level enough. There was no sewer connections and the dump site was on a circle that the motor home would not have been able to get to. But its a very busy and pretty camp ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$19
Our second time here. We enjoy the lake and the peaceful mid-week off-season! Lots of roads to walk. We'd definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2004
$16
This is my second time camping here. Both experiences were positive. Supplies available in the town of Ninety Six. The park rangers were helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$16
Very nice Carolina park on Lake Greenwood. 914 acre park, lots of room for walking and biking. Good views of the lake from most sites. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com