220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Sweetwater Lake Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (803) 874-3547
CGID2547

Sweetwater Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   1   1   10   7   10   8   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Very pretty lake in a quiet area. Rate reflects dropping $20 into a lockbox. In the off season, you can park parallel to the lake, which is why some folks say this CG has pull-through sites (they don't, actually). Swimming in the lake isn't permitted but all other water activities are OK. Bathhouse/restrooms are pretty sad; think old church campground level of service. Sites are pretty level. Excellent 1 or 2 day campground, but not a destination CG. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
This is a good place for an overnight stop on the way to somewhere else. The younger generation of owners are working on cleaning it up and it looks much better than it did. There may not be a manager here when you check in. Put your money in an envelope and pick a back in W/E site. (There are no sewer hookups, but a dump station.) I actually pulled in backward so my picture window faced the lake. No problem. Wide grass sites are level side to side, but DO slope toward the lake. Some motor homes might have trouble getting level front to rear. We will stay here again as it is a good "first night" distance from home. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We didn't actually stay there. When we got there no one was home. The electrical pole didn't look safe and the grass was high and bugs were biting us. No one was camped there and on one was at the house. All we saw was a nice looking lake but nothing else. No pool, no picnic table, nothing that looked like a campground except a few hook-ups. I was afraid to stay so we went back to interstate and found another place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
The park is in a nice setting near a lake. The layout is a little strange but it works, if you can find a power pole that works. You do have to drive in, and then turn around to get out, or to get to your site. There was room to pull around the clubhouse (?) at the end. There is water and electric only at the parking sites. For those that have read the previous reviews, the burro is still here. Seeing the burro basically ruined our stay at this park. The front hoofs on this poor animal have been left to grow out so much the animal is basically a cripple. For the owner of this park to allow this to happen to an animal that is part of this park, is nothing but neglect and animal cruelty. We will not return to a park where the owner could care less about his animals, or the park facilities. This same attitude seems to have been around for several years since the 2009 reviews talk about the poor rest rooms. Nothing has been done to them since 2009, so they have continued to decline. I would not recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
This was a great place to stop for us. All we needed was electric and water. The setting is beautiful...a small lake with the lovey autumn trees reflected in a mirror image. I was thinking it would be a good place for a writer, painter, or photographer to spend some time. There's a fence with a cute little burro ( but he was a quiet one, except when we entered he said, "hello"). The staff was very pleasant. If you've got kids, there's really nothing for them to do, but lots of space to run around. Definitely recommend for a day or so, especially if one needs some quiet time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This was a comfortable overnight stop close to I-26 in South Carolina. It is located within 3 miles of the interstate. It is not much more than a field with good power and electric for $20. There is a dump site near the bath houses. There was a separate bath house for men & women, but it is outdated and worn out, nearly unusable. Don't plan on using these facilities, use your rig. The owner lives at end of lane. It is quiet, relatively level, and not congested. The sign near the bath house mentions that this is only to be used by out-of staters, for what that is worth. It is a nice short stay stopover. There is gas and fast food off of the exit. We would stay here again. And by the way, the burro is still there, in the pasture behind the camp sites with a few calves for company! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
We pulled in, 2 motorhomes of weary travelers, needing a place to set up to eat and sleep. It was perfect for us all. We wished we had the time to stay here for a few days. If you need activities and conveniences, etc., this is not the place for you. But if you like quiet and relaxed, this would be the place I would head. We will be returning one day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
We were in a massive traffic jam on I26 and made a quick exit at exit 136 and found this park listed in an old Exit Authority off exit 139. This park is not listed in the RV campground books like Trailer Life. We drove a couple miles to it and had no clue what we were getting into. All we knew was it had rained all day and the last thing we wanted to do was sit in stand-still traffic. Well, imagine our delight when we turned into a campground with a beautiful lake and 30 exceptionally large/level/clean parallel grassy sites. It was very quiet and well lit. We were able to get local stations on our TV. The view was beautiful. No amenities and no owner - we put our money in the drop box. It cost $20 and was worth every penny. The pasture next to us had a darling burrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$22
This was a perfect spot to stop over for the night on our trip from WV to FL. The campground was quiet. We arrived around 10:00 pm, put our money in the drop box and parked and slept. Nothing fancy and would not recommend for an extended stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$15
This is a stay-over park for out-of-state guests. Fee is honor system drop box. I looked at restrooms, small w/leaves from outside that had blown in. Located next to pasture with cows and donkey that grandkids love. This is a quiet location for a good night's rest, not a destination location unless you have business in Orangeburg or Swansea area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Very nice quiet stop over off of I-26. Self service is nice. We were greeted by a nice dog named "Sweetwater Crazy". Beautiful country setting and a lovely lake. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2000
$13
I do not recommend unless you are desperate for a place to camp overnight. The showers were filthy, and the rating system I was disapointed in. The owners have their house on the lake where the swimming area is, and closed it to the campers because they had a private party. They were very rude, and their private activities interfered with campers. Please review this site. In making reservations I was not greeted properly, and was not sure my reservations were kept. No persons on duty, and you had to go to their house to pay, and it was uncomfortable while they were having a party. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PARK. I was camping with four kids, visiting the area attending a NRA rocket launch in Orangeburg, we left and stayed in a hotel. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com