218071 User submitted reviews online!!
The Oaks at Point South was rated 6 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (843) 726-5728
CGID2549

The Oaks at Point South

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   5   4   3   1   5   3   7   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$1
Rate reflects Thousand Trails member rate. A older campground in need of some TLC not bad for a overnight stay. We were for 3 nights and went and toured Beaufort and Charleston. Sites were level and bath houses very clean even if they looked old from the outside. A very nice couple comes in on Friday to provide a nice BBQ dinner($) and I thought very good. Will stay here again when heading up or down I-95 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$3
Rate reflects Thousand Trails rate. Gets pretty muddy when it rains but otherwise not bad. Its a little dated but a overall nice park. Not too many "permanent" residents. Nice nature trail around a lake. GPS will turn you into a Visitors Information center that does not have a road leading to the campground. Make sure you visit the center for information on the area. There are several unknown local sites they can lead you to. We will come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$38
Not easy to find, but once you do, this is an OK place to stop over for a night if you are traveling on the I-95 corridor. The campground is old, but the laundry, bathrooms, and club house are clean. There is a widescreen TV in the club house and plenty of tables for game playing or Wi-Fi. There is a small pool, but it was not open at the time we were there because of the winter season. Staff was friendly. Quaint town of Beaufort is about 25 miles away. It is close to restaurants. Propane is not available at this campground but can be purchased at a KOA campground close to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2013
$26
Rate is Passport America. Arrived after dark. Right off I-95, but lots of twists and turns to get way back in the woods. Site was level and was long enough for our 40 foot MH and toad. Very rustic feel and the exterior of the bathrooms look like they date to its founding date--1980. Adequate for a night's stay but not somewhere I would want to vacation. There's another RV park just up the road and closer to the interstate. Had made a reservation but the check-in staff did not know we were coming and had to check her computer. This is an Encore park and to get any discount, one has to book and pay in advance for 1 night on their 800 number. The park was just OK for a night's rest. They do charge for cable hookup, but we were leaving early and tired so we did not opt to pay more. Would probably look for a different park when we came this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
First you have to find this place before you can stay at this creepy campground. I saw signs as I was exiting I-95N but then nothing. I drove around for a half-hour asking a local for directions. It turns out, it is off Yemasee Road next to "Waffle House" - then make a left at the end. Keep driving until you hit a swampy area, and you are there. We tried calling their office for directions, and it kept going to message. When I explained this when arriving, the manager said, "Well, I had the phone with me the whole time". She ended up giving us CATV for free for our troubles. She also was excited that she could give us a site with no water puddles! Oh joy! This campground has water puddles all over the place. It seems to me that they spend nothing on maintenance and upkeep. When we woke up then next morning, the sun light didn't break into the swamp area until 10:30. I don't think we'll come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$10
This place is run down. The staff was friendly, but the pool is still out of service, and I was told it's been months. There is a pond, but full of gators, and other than that there is nothing to do here. The showers are old but clean, and I guess if you just need a place with hookups it works, but I cannot see how this would ever be a destination, let alone a travel trailer park. RPI used to have some good parks in the book, but as the years have gone on, I notice the better ones drop, and these places are left. I registered just to comment on this park, and as a newer full timer, I use this site to learn about parks before I book, so I will start posting more as I continue back across the states. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
This rate is based on having Passport America. We arrived two days after tropical storm Andrea had passed through and the campground was very muddy and the potholes in the roads were full of water. The sites are narrow and were at one time graveled. Now they are mostly dirt with a smattering of gravel. There was no room on our site to set up chairs. The pool was closed as some trees had fallen into it during the storm. The staff was very pleasant and the bathrooms, although older, were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$1
We stayed here traveling between Florida and Virginia. As thousand trails members this campground is in our network. It is by far the worst we have ever utilized. Office staff not very friendly, pool filled with green dank water, and many tall trees giving the park a dark musty atmosphere. Had to purchase the cable TV offered since we could not get our satellite to work. It rained one day and the park held water for the balance of our visit. We would not ever utilize this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$10
We stayed here for 7 nights in space 54. Our DirecTV dish worked just fine. The sites are amongst tall trees...very woodsy. We made the reservation through RPI so that's how we got the $10/night rate. It's an older park and very rustic. The roads are narrow. We noticed that some of the bigger rigs had to be very cautious navigating to their sites. One actually scraped his rig on a tree. The pool looks nice but doesn't open until 5/1. The clubhouse needs updating. There were no activities. The laundry room is small (3 washers; 4 dryers) but in excellent condition (a biggy in my book). The staff is very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
This was our 3rd stay here. Was shocked at how this place has gone down hill. The building is in need of major repairs. The swimming pool was full of stale green water. Should had been covered or drained. It was a wet trip and the whole campground was covered like a lake. The drainage if any was terrible. The new owners need to really fix it up or close it down. Will not go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
This is the second time we've stayed here, but only as a one night stop over. An older park, but long sites that are pretty level (fit our 41' fifth wheel and tow vehicle). Must have recently joined Thousand Trails, so they were pushing pretty hard to join. We would stay here again if on our way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Actual price was $22.36 which was the Passport America rate. Includes "resort" fee of $3. I would not call this a resort, but a nice, no frills, inexpensive overnight stop, well off the Interstate. Clean restrooms with plenty of hot water. Gravel sites, but level and long pull-throughs. Wi-Fi and cable available at extra cost. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
VERY shady...helps keep the air conditioning from being overworked. Curvy narrow short lanes leading to rows of sites. The lanes are not big rig friendly but sites are plenty big themselves. They gave up on the pool, totally algae filled and not open. A couple of small fishing lakes at the back of the grounds with a resident alligator in the "lake", more like a pond. Poor AT & T cell phone signal, had to go outside all the time for calls. Good Verizon mi-fi coverage. People with satellite dishes had trouble getting channels. We paid for cable (15.00 week) in order to get channels on tv. Outside the park VERY economically depressed area. There is a KOA campground on the other side of the road coming into the TT Oaks at Point South Campground, they have a wine tasting bar and cafe and welcome visitors from the TT campground to the cafe and wine bar. We liked the park and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
This park may be good for an overnight stay but not much more. We did not venture far from the coach because of the heavy rains and standing water. The park flooded rather quickly and it was still flooded when we departed the following morning. There are way too many trees and we never got a clear TV channel during or after the storm. There appeared to be some long term residents which included some very old or abandoned RVs. Our rate was based on the PA discount which makes this park very overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$19
POSITIVES: Easy directions and markings to Campground. Sites are gravel packed, no mud after it rained. No highway noise, very quiet. Friendly and helpful staff. Pizza is good at a fair price. NEGATIVES: PPA rate is over priced for an a la carte campground. Wi-Fi was very poor at 11mps for $4.95 a day for a single connection (only one device connected at a time). $3. Resort fee because it's a Encore campground, this is no resort. TOO MANY TREES make navigation very difficult and almost impossible to get satellite. An additional $2.50 for cable TV. Roads are in poor condition and leaves appear to be the same as when we were here last year: never getting cleaned up. The grass is over grown. Some long term tenants RVs look broken down and abandoned. Ok, for an overnight stop, will stay again. This campground could be a jewel with a little work, and eliminate the a la carte scenario. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$10
We really like this pretty little park. Very homey, super nice owners and managers. Great laundry, and community rooms. Lovely sites with all the oaks you could ever want. Smack between Charleston and Savannah, with plenty more to see in Beaufort and surrounding areas. RPI rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$1
We didn't have any problem with the roads in our 40 ft motor home. Since we are Thousand Trails members our actual rate was $0. The campground is aptly named because it is loaded with oak trees. Even with it heavenly treed we were still able to get our satellite TV to work. Cable is available at an extra cost. Verizon 3G & 1X worked fine. The Wi-Fi is also a Verizon Wi-Fi hot spot. Although our level site (45) was a bit narrow, most of the sites we noticed were wider and like ours, with solid gravel, full hook-up with 50 amp service. The office staff went out of their way to be helpful. This facility is more rustic than we normally encounter in the Thousand Trails system it still is a nice campground and we look forward to a return visit in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$22
Certainly not an attractive campground, but it had shaded sites, was close to the interstate but quiet, long pull-throughs. Accepts Passport America. However, roads are very narrow and signage was terrible: both to get to the campground and to navigate their walking trails. Good for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$1
Location: 1292 Campground Road, Yemassee, SC 29945. About a mile off I-95. Site: Full hook up 50 amp electric, pull through level packed sand. Roads and sites can use some gravel and patching. Grass, what little there was, needs mowing and trimming. Trees can use trimming. What a little work this could be a much better park. Picnic table at site was in poor condition. 92 sites, most are pull throughs. There is a laundry, but we didn’t check it out. About 15 cable TV channels: $2.70 night extra. Wi-Fi: $4.95 night. Verizon has good service. Dog friendly: yes. Has lots of area to walk a dog. Amenities include a swimming pool (close), an over grown play area, and ponds for fishing. Summary: This could be a much better park with a little work . Good location right off interstate. Good location to visit Beauford SC. Big Rig Friendly: yes, but be careful of some tight turns. Our cost was $0.00 as part of Thousand Trails. They do take Passport America with reservations only. Also have a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
This is an OK stop for a few nights but not a destination. Price is Passport America and we met other RVrs in the park who were members of its club affiliate. All shady spots and the electric was very good. Sites were a bit unkempt but not too bad. Pool was dirty I would not use it. Looked in the bathrooms and they were "iffy". Nice pond walk nearby and close to a few restaurants and convenience stores/gas stations. KOA up the road was a lot more expensive, this is your best buy in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$3
Rate reflects Thousand Trails/Mid-Atlantic. Fee is for cable hookup. Park managers are super friendly and helpful. 30/50 is available but be sure to check the 50AMP before you get all set up since at some sites it doesn't work. Volts are good, water pressure is good, septic at each site. Wi-Fi is available if you can live with Tengonet. We use Clearwire and never have a problem connecting. Cable channels are limited but good. Interior roads are dirt and rough. The exit lane is pretty rugged before you get to the pavement. When approaching The Oaks beware of two big holes/bumps in the paved county road just after you pass the cemetery. They will rock your rig in a big way. We stayed here for two weeks and enjoyed the park. It is peaceful and pleasant. The Friday night Bar BQ was good, maybe a little $$ for what you get but a good time to socialize with neighbors. We did not use the showers but I did check and the shower stalls are moldy and dirty, but not the shower curtains. Putt-putt golf on the new course is fun, just don't panic when the squirrel tosses pine nuts at you from above. Walking trails are pleasant, just wear bug spray when you are outside and carry it with you when you travel for when you get out of the vehicle. Don't feed the resident alligator in the local pond. As you exit I-95 don't go past the Waffle House. Yemassee road is right there, just off the I. If you listen to GPS she will try to send you to the town, which is about 6 miles out of your way, or she may direct you to turn into the Low Country Visitor Center. There is enough room to turn around a big rig in the visitor center parking lot. When ELS decides to spend some cash on maintenance this park will rate much higher. We would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
Clean, quiet, older park. Low trees made entering and exiting a bit difficult. They said they plan to have them trimmed and they really need to. Long, level pull through spots so we did not have to unhook the toad. Couldn't get satellite service even though we paid the $2.00 fee. The problem may have been the trees. We also paid for internet service. OK for a night while traveling. We would stay here again unless we found something a little nicer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
Don't know where last person stayed, but was not here. My only complaint may have been pool was under repair both days we were here. Found no bugs and only normal flies, no problem. Saw several campers eating pizza but heard no comments. Grounds were clean, there were a couple of water filled holes in roadways, but nothing to complain about. Easy to hook up and site was level. Real nice common areas, book exchange, pool table, mini golf, did not try that. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Here we go. First check-in. Pretty smooth, signed up for the Zone package from Encore and choose this location since it was the closest to our current campground. The first site they gave us the 30 AMP service did not work. Found this our AFTER I had the slides out. UGG. They moved us over one site and in our two week stay; they tried putting other people on the faulty site as well. The showers are strong and great if you are less than 5' 10. If you are taller like me, you will get cramped up trying to get yourself washed from the neck up. Let's talk about the bugs and spiders in the bathrooms. I had killed a black spider about the size of a baby red bliss potato the first night I used the shower and there were always these little black bugs right outside the moldy shower curtain. There were other spiders IN the shower stall, ABOVE the shower stall and AROUND the bathroom. Now I know how Lady Gaga feels when all those eyes are on her. YUK! Now to the real report about this campground. The entire park is dirt and gravel and the limited pavement ends in a fatigued pothole mess as soon as you turn into the park like it just gave up on trying to resemble pavement. The horseflies seem to have has some sort of military training and they were fast and accurate in their attacks on us. There are three or four "retired" campers that have most likely seen their last days peppered throughout the campground. They are very easy to spot. They are the ones covered in grime and draped with a tarp most likely to signify their demise. The playground consists of a plastic playhouse that has a nation of spiders planning their attack on the human race, the swing set swings have no rubber bushings on the top of the chain so children will most likely pass out trying to get any type of speed or height on them. The slide has joined forces with the horseflies and devised a way not to be used. Once a small bottom skin exposed or covered in cloth starts down the slide it allows about 28" of sliding time before it decides to stop you in mid-slide. Not very enjoyable for the children who sit halfway down trying to scoots themselves down the remainder to get a small bit of enjoyment. That is definitely a “one slide” ride. The teeter-totters make more noise than two cats tied together by their tails and unlike the KOA down the street (I suggest going there). The Oaks pool was NOT opened so we could have a safe haven from the onslaught of the military horseflies and mosquitoes. The "pond" was decent but the thought of one of our family members being eaten (dog included) by one of the multitude of alligators, we have visited as our last resort. There is no place to take a decent bike ride unless you try the service road (drivers @ 60 mph) or the abandoned stores near the park entrance that are strewn with broken glass. Walking is not possible since you are stuck being attacked by the horseflies OR hiding in your camper until evening. That is when the night shift takes over and the mosquitoes manage the assault for our blood while the horseflies have a little R&R. The "put-put" golf was more fun playing off the course through the trees since the course was pathetic. It was not maintained and anything that was an object or obstacle on the course made of wood was rotted. Hitting the balls around the trees with my daughter gave more enjoyment than trying to manipulate through this ancient rotting artifact! I suggest not trying the pizza and going to the KOA for it instead. You can grab a beer there too. The pizza was edible but there was not enjoyment from it. Toppings were sparse and lacked any real cheese. The food sold in the "store" looks like they were left behind at a flea market. Below is a letter I wrote to the equitylifestyle.com owners about the food they sell at the campground. It has been over a week and we never got a call or an apology. Yes my daughter did not get sick thankfully but they could not even reply to us. Shame on them! Bottom line, don't bother coming to “The Oaks” at Point South unless you are so ready to end you life after being attacked by either the horseflies, mosquitoes, out of date food or a possible alligator attack! I would like to make a complaint of a medical nature. Your property in SC has a “general store” that sold my 9 year old daughter a moon pie that was a 1.4 years (year and 4 months) PAST the expiration date the date that this should have been removed from the shelves. The packaging shows expiration date of 01/15/10. that is around the time you created your Facebook page. This is not a week, or two, it is a more than a year! After eating a small portion she asked me if these were supposed to taste this way. I took a bite and was overwhelmed with the taste of mold. Now my wife, my daughter and I are in a panic since my daughter has eaten and swallowed this very old piece of moldy food sold by your property. We appreciate and like the manager, but cannot allow this possible medical issue to be brushed aside. I immediately went to the main office, the woman who was at the front desk just said to get something else without a care to the possibility of my daughter getting sick. She did not offer me a refund and I speculate that she has failed to remove the remainder of the box that was there in the store. I ask how you are going to rectify this situation since we just purchased a zone package through you and this is our first location we visited. I pray that my daughter does not get sick but in the event that it does happen, I have kept the moon pie and the packaging showing the date for proof. I request an immediate reply and compensation for this major oversight in allowing moldy food to be sold at one of your properties and the poor response by your employee in light of this discovery. I am sure this is not how you expect to manage your properties and I hope that you make this right so we can continue to RV in your parks. I will also be checking the store for other items being sold past their expiration date and pray that none have been eaten by other travelers. I do not want this to directly affect the managers since they are sweet people, but the possibility of my daughter getting sick supersedes everything. We do not recommend this campground unless you are trying to commit suicide, knowingly want to cause harm to one of your family members or have an odd sense of thrill seeking (which you must seek immediate help for). This dirt hole is run down, cannot get any decent cell service, internet (Tango is offered but futile) or satellite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$19
My wife and I stayed here one night, but if we had not been traveling we would have stayed more. The campground is about 1 mile from I-95 nestled in the woods with all pull through sites. 30 and 50 amp service available . The only thing they need to do is place a larger sign near the road. When you get off I-95 you will see the Waffle House, that is where you need to turn. We will camp here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$19
For a "membership" park this one was OK. Lots of trees so very hard to get satellite. For a daily fee could get cable and/or WiFi. Good Verizon cell/data. Very nice people in park and office. Good for an overnight stay. Rough roads coming in and leaving. They wanted to give a presentation but we declined and they were good with that. Price is PPA. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
The park has been taken over by Encore. It is very run down with dirt roads and sites. It had rained the day we stayed so there was standing water and mud everywhere. However, the sites are full hookup pull-throughs, so it is not bad for an overnight stop off I-95 at the PA rate. Any more that $22 would be painful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Friendly staff. Rate is for Passport America plus cable TV. All sites are pull thru. We had full hook up with 50 amp. Site was level. Lots of shade. Nice small trail to a small lake. Pool is now open. About 1 mile off I-95, but no noise. Park needs some updating, like gravel on sites and roads. Otherwise its a great stop over if using I-95. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
This is a good overnight stop while traveling on I-95. It is not far off the interstate, but there is no road noise. It is an older campground and is a little worse for wear, but the rest rooms and bath house are clean and neat. The pool is currently under repair and was out of service. The office staff was very helpful. Wi-Fi and cable TV are available for an extra charge. the rate reflects a PPA rate, but they are members of every club possible, so I doubt many people pay rack rate. The gravel on the sites is about gone, but our site was pretty level. Would stay here again if I was in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
The park offers flat pull-through sites with plenty of shade trees. The staff was friendly and helpful. Pizza is available in the office. A short nature trail leads to a nice pond in the surrounding forest. Complimentary miniature golf is available. Park access is easy and noise is not a problem. Some park maintenance is very overdue, and the pool (closed "indefinitely") is a mess, but I would stay overnight here again. Our rate was the Passport America rate including an extra charge for cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Easy access to campground from I-95, all pull throughs and gravel sites. Was no mud at site after major rain storm the day before. Facility is dated but clean, pizza is good and staff very helpful. $2.50 extra for cable TV and $4.50 for WiFi. There were too many trees for satellite to work but still less cost over other nearby campgrounds. Great over night stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
Don't trust a GPS to get you here, apparently address within most GPS's is for something else and takes you well out of the way. Supposedly all sites are pull through; our's I had to back out due to trees, but wasn't an issue. Lots of mature trees. Obviously has been here for a while; dirt and gravel drive ways and sites. Fine for an overnight stay. Would probably stay at the KOA on same street if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$19
Very good over night stopping point. Easy access from I-95. Paid $19.00 PA rate If I used my TT the rate would have been 29.00. As stated in another review our sites sewer was at the rear of site hard to reach without extension on hose. Site were level. Office staff very friendly. Would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$19
Level clean park. Packed gravel roads and most sites. Overshadowed by big oak trees (thus the name) but no low branches in the park. Some park models available. A destination park for members of their club. Though there is a Good Sam's logo on the building and a Resort Parks International (RPI) sign on the building, they give a 10% discount for most clubs. The $19 rate is reserved for Passport America, Thousand Trails and their own private club members. Cable is $2.50 and Tengo Net Wi-Fi is $4.50 but seems to have a strong signal. The KOA at this exit is just behind this campground on another road. Some highway noise but I have had worse. Most sites are bigger pull-throughs but many have the sewer connection at the rear making for a long hose run if you have a mid-rig sewer fitting. The price and location make this a definite place for us to use in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
We were here in the rain for 2 nights. Some puddling but drained pretty well. This is not a resort, it is just camping and club gatherings. Roads were rugged but sights were level with gravel. All sites are in the trees and spacious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
When I read the reviews here about this park, I knew that we needed a park centrally located between Savannah and Charleston. Obviously, it fit the bill. We also were able to get a reduced rate through Thousand Trails, which is reflected in the stated cost. When we checked in, we were given a site next to a “permanent”, when there were plenty of other unoccupied sites. Since we would have been required to share a water spigot, we asked to move to another site. Because of the trees in this park, we knew that getting a satellite signal would be difficult. However, we actually managed to get our rooftop satellite signal, which surprised us. As for Wi-Fi, I was told that their system was “down” and had been for a while. In another post here, someone said that it was “free”. I don’t think that it is true, because they are on the Tengo system. Fortunately, we did get a signal with our HughesNet. Now, as for an overall observation for this park, it was just OK. Yes, the sites are large, but they are really muddy when it rains. The roads within the park are really bad. And, when Wi-Fi is advertised, most RV travelers prefer that it be in working order. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
Nice park with nice roomy, level sites and friendly staff. Well treed, so there was lots of shade, but no satellite access. Stayed here overnight on our way north. Would stay here again without hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$10
This is a nice, quiet campground with level sites that are all pull through. There is a "lake" that is more like a small pond at the rear of the campground. There were alligators in the water, but they were timid, probably because people are taking the advice of the owners and not feeding them. The sites are gravel, so expect some dust if the weather is dry and mud if it rains. We didn't spend much time here during the day because the camp is located between Charleston and Savannah, which are both nice day trips. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$24
Very nice older park. Interior roads twisty and some are narrow, but most sites can hold a good sized rig, some can't. Management is on site and very helpful. Would stop here again. Very quiet and close to interstate. Central to both Savannah and Charleston. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2009
$38
New owners, the ELS Group (TT/Encore/etc.) have jacked the rates for this marginal park. Trees entering park have not been trimmed, dragging on roof. Muddy interior roads, after only short rain. We have stayed here many years visiting friends close by, not again!! Resort prices for about a "2 of 10" campground. Oh yeah the wifi is "free". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$34
We arrived on Thanksgiving, were warmly welcomed and invited to a feast. Since we had no food to contribute, we insisted on giving a donation, which we were told would be used toward the Christmas dinner. Owners were very helpful with directions. We were very glad we stopped here and will return! Location is conveniently close to I-95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$36
Very nice park, clean and friendly. I recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$14
This campground is very old, it looks like an old KOA. Resort Parks International rate was $13.90 including tax, per night. It is a really long drive into the campground. The interior roads are more dust than stone, as is the sites. The sites are fairly wide, about 25 feet with lots of tall pine trees for shade. The office help were sort of friendly, building is old but clean. The bathroom was the same, old but clean. The laundry had 3 washers and 4 dryers, very small room, with a little table for folding your cloths, but kind of dirty. There are full hookups with cable, WIFI was free, but office said its free for now. The water pressure was good, and the water tasted good too. This campground is between Savannah GA and Charleston, SC, right off of I-95. We would use it again for a stop over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$11
RPI Rate. Lots of trees. Ground could get soft when it rains but no problem driving to and from the sites. Laundry room was small, 3 washers and 4 dryers. Biggest problem was not having wifi--otherwise would have stayed longer. Lots to do in the area--Beaufort is 20 minutes--Paris Island and Port Royal another 10 minutes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$8
Rate is RPI. If you want satellite, this is not a park for you. The park name says it all - fully wooded. Other than that, very friendly staff, water, electric & sewer all work, and the on-site lake does have a gator or two. Spaces are all pull-thrus, and generously spaced, but the interior roads are pretty tight. Some highway and railroad noise, but nothing major. Quiet time is 9pm-9am - never seen such an early curfew before. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Nice campground, 2nd time there. Very friendly staff. Roads are tight but sites are a good size. Very quiet and a good walk to see the gator, lots of wildlife! A definite do again for our trips north to south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
We stayed here several times on the way to and from Florida. The park is a good value for the money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2006
$23
Spent the winter here and watched a nice transformation with the arrival of new management. Witnessed a major clean up of the park along with clean-up, paint-up, fix-up of park buildings and facilities. Seems to be a lot of I-95 north/south one nighters but also nice for a long term visit with climate comparable to north Florida. Friendly and helpful staff. Weekly pot luck gatherings, bingo and table games. Park visitors would welcome CATV at sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$19
Nice and clean. Spaces fairly large. Lots of trees so Sat dish wouldn't work except in fall when leaves are gone. Very pleasant staff. I didn't see any "fulltime" or "park and leave it" type campers. It was very quiet. We actually saw a good size deer run across the road not more than 100 yards from the entrance to the campground. No trains or airplanes were heard. Nice area to hike in. Restaurants within 1 mile. This is located approximatly halway between Savanah and Charleston right near the intersection of I 95 and US 17. This is one of the few campgrounds that we have stayed at that actually include a evaluation and comment sheet in your registration packet. Price was very reasonable. C2C and RPI members welcome. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com