219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Santee Lakes Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (803) 478-2262
CGID2553

Santee Lakes Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   9   1   7   8   7   7   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
Older campground with dirt roads and sites. We were told to take specific site only to find another RV there - office didn't know that they weren't leaving for another week? We had to drive around campground to come back down the narrow lane to get in to a different site. Lots of tall old trees make the sites feel even tighter. We had trouble finding our sewer connector - was under leaves and dirt. Bathroom / laundry facility is clean (considering it's in the middle of woods), but the drains of the showers needed attention - one had a pile of dirt or something around the drain. Road noise from I95 is noticeable outdoors, but inside our trailer wasn't bad. Wi-Fi was good. no TV though. Only 30 AMP service. Price of $35 is a Good Sam on a full hook-ups. Too much of a charge for what the campground offers. If really stuck I'd stay here again, but rather find something with better services for less $. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
Depressing run down park even for an overnighter. I never saw so many "vintage" campers. No cable or internet and we didn't even get sewer so I thought price per night was high. Only seasonal people there, who were very nice. I guess the lake is the reason they stay because the park is a dump. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
We stopped here to take a break while driving I-95. Very easy and convenient location. Sites were just long enough to leave a 40' 5th wheel hooked to our truck. Nice dock and beautiful view of the lake within walking distance of our site. Nice, quiet campground that we would definitely stay at again if we find ourselves heading south. the only reason I gave 9 stars instead of 10 is that there was heavy rain when we arrived and the site immediately flooded (about 6" water). However, as soon as the rain stopped the water receded into the sandy soil and all was well again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Horrible stay! Not kid friendly at all! Many permanent campers that complain over kids walking from the camper to the lake. The staff is rude and are not able to answer any questions about the campground. The "security guards" harass and bully anyone who is not permanent resident. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Nice shaded lots. Ground cover is dirt with gravel roads. Very quite when we were here in May. Probably 75% of campground is permanent sites with RV's and built around decks. Staff at front desk was very friendly and nice. We stayed for three nights and we will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Very nice place to stop off I-95! Close to highway but noise was minimal. Campground was nicely wooded, restrooms / bath houses clean. Would recommend this to travelers in the I-95 corridor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
Appears to be a former KOA (A Frame buildings). Nice lakeside campground. No cable TV and the trees make satellite difficult. Workers out doing spring cleaning and sprucing park up. No 50 amp service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$31
Rustic! If this were a state park I'd give it a high rating but as a commercial campground I can only say "Rustic". I guess in the middle of a hot summer the canopy of trees and the proximity of a lake would be a great draw, but during the off-season the best I can say is it's a convenient stopover, close to I-95. Very clean restrooms and showers, good wi-fi, no cable (or satellite), water and electric only (no sewer) in the overnight area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Our campsite was in a low place and it rained and water ran to us, other than that everything was good. We did not spend much time there as we were visiting family and we would stay again and ask for a site on higher ground. Office staff was helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Clean pool, clean yet dated restroom and showers. Beautiful setting on the lake. Very few garbage cans throughout campground. It seems they want you to walk all the way to the very corner of the park to the dumpster. The one can that was nearest us was spilled over with garbage. To be fair however, we did see it being emptied in the morning when we left. Some permanent sites where run down and others were quite charming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
Okay park for an overnight stay. Close to I-95. A lot of "permanent" trailers. Some were pretty trashy looking. Our site had a lot of cigarette butts and small trash on it. Park has a nice dock for fishing. Bath house was nice: freshly painted. The pool was nice. Would stay here again, but only for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$29
Older park with many permanent sites. Roads are rough: not paved. Pretty setting under big pines on a lake. Our sewer connection was broken. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Some sites overlook Lake Santee and most have shade. Sites are dirt or sparse gravel. Free WiFi with good signal and throughput (we were near an antenna). Many trees. Pleasant park with rough edges. Leaning electrical box for our site had unhinged cover that dropped to the ground. Nearest rest rooms were out of service. They advertise "TV Services." That was explained as a good signal if you have an antenna. (It's NOT cable!) Forget the laundry: the kind hostess explained that we'd be better off hanging clothes out to dry, as the dryers were poor performers. Park is largely populated by long-term residents. It served our needs for a one-night stopping point. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
I found the campground to be suitable for a one night's stay. Would have preferred a 50 amp service but did fine with 30 amp. A lot of the units are year round, but it didn't take away as most were clean and orderly. No problem for an overnight in any case. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
We stayed here one night. There's a lot of trees thus setting up satellite reception is a chore. They just had their cable TV removed from the whole park, but the Wineguard reception was acceptable. There's also a lot of permanent campers. All in all, the owners are extremely pleasant. We'd stay here just one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
We stopped at this campground for only one night, while they advertise Big Rig sites there really aren't any. We had to drive through a maze of big trees and campsites to get to one that we felt we had a chance of being able to get out of; fortunately we were the only RV in the treed camping area. We had a Toad and with it connected we blocked the roadway behind us. When we left I had to walk my way around the camping area to figure out the best way out so I wouldn't be trapped into a situation that required me to disconnect the Toad. Basic problem is too many large trees and short campsites not suitable for a 40' RV with a Toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
It is a bit run down, and there are too many seasonal "shacks" that have seen better days. The place would be spectacular with a little maintenance. It's right on Lake Marion. We would have been better off at the state park for half the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This park could be really nice. The staff and guests were very friendly, the pool was great, and the lake is lovely. Internet is fast, with three towers to insure a connection, and a 192/80 speed. However, there are ants. Lots of ants, which would keep me from staying here again. I felt that it should be the campground's responsibility to spray for them, not the guest's. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Okay, we did not really camp here. But: here's what happened. We were heading home from vacation and needed an overnight. I had two guidebooks, both which rated this as an "above average" campground. So, it was getting late, and we pulled into this campground. I go into the office, check in, and suddenly see a sign, which says, "We have ants, please spray." Okay, it is somewhat late, and we happen to have bug spray, so we'll stay. I pay the young lady, get into the RV. We drive a few feet and enter a scene right out of the movie Deliverence, or the show Twilight Zone. Take your pick and no, I am not kidding: this was one scary place. I think people actually live here year round, in rusted, ready to fall down shacks. This place looked like a third world country. Okay, maybe the overnight section is better. But, as we continue to drive (another ten feet) these huge bugs swarm onto the outside of our RV. I am talking hundreds of them. My husband and I look at each other, drive back to the office, I run in, ask for our money back. Not a bit of a problem, and we continue on our way. I would have rather slept in a parking lot than in this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
If you want cable TV, you better keep on riding. If the cable works at all, you still can't use it. The driveway has some huge holes and your RV might drag the ground. There are a lot of rundown permament RV's. Sites and lanes are not marked well enough to see after dark. The Wi-Fi is good and the staff is nice. The problems seem to be managment problems. An overnight stay maybe, but extended stay: NO. There are not a lot of attractions in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
This is a campground that before you check in, you should take a drive through. We checked in for one night and chose an area with a lake view. We were told there were many open sites in that area and to pick one. Out of about 30 open sites, we found one that was level enough we only needed to use boards on one side. The view is nice and there is a small dock you can walk out on and fish. The area near the lake I would term as almost a "low rent district". The rv's are old, really old and a lot appear to be weekend getaways for people. The nearest camper to us was two rows away and had two small dogs that did nothing but jump and bark on their leashes all afternoon, till dark when they were put in the camper and barked inside (at least we didn't have to hear them all night). I would not stay at this campground again. We were given very detailed directions on the telephone how to get into this park to avoid us stopping at another park next door. We should have did a drive through, then went to the one we saw as we drove in. Another lesson on camping! Also, I almost forgot to mention on the countertop as we checked in there is a sign that says WATCH OUT FOR ANTS. The desk person said that sign was there all year round and that she hadn't seen many because it was not "hot" yet. If you stay there when it's "hot", watch out for ants. Would I stay there again, No... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$30
Since this campground is only a couple of minutes off of I-95, we've used it a couple of times to overnight. There are a lot of run-down looking seasonals, but overall it's a good campground in a nice location. Bathrooms are old, but clean. Same for the laundry room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Free wifi is a big plus in my book. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
This is a campground not a RV park. It is back off I-95 so the traffic is not a big problem. The staff in the office were very nice. There are a lot of junky resident rv's in the park. Some of the sites are not level and some of the streets are rough. They are not paved. The restrooms are a disaster. Water backs up in the showers and some of the comodes do not flush properly. About half the machines in the laundry work. Lots of campers had trouble finding their assigned site because of poor marking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$29
A former KOA. Easy to get in and out of. Lots of trees, a boat ramp and jetty. Bathrooms were not well kept, trash piled up at sites as pick-up was not frequent enough. Sewer connection backed up on our site. Lots of seasonals and trailers up on blocks gave the park a run down apperance. Don't think I'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Yes, ants, ants, ants. We stayed for one night. Rain = standing water in low areas. A big muddy mess. Many seasonal trailers mixed with open sites. More of a trailer park feel, not a resort feel. Playground was over run with ant hills and wasp nest. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$23
This is a fish camp also and there were a lot of seasonals and fishing people. We just overnighted and it was OK for that. Pull thrus are not very level and muddy. Would probably overnight there again. Heard of an Ant problem but didn't have any problem just overnight. Lots of ants though. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2000
$23
Ants! We had thousands inside when we woke up and so did many others. A lot of permanent campers, they must know something we didn't. Some sites overlook Lake Marion. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com