206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Santee State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (803) 854-2408
CGID2554

Santee State Park

Camp Information
Sites
188
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   5   7   8   8   7   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
I agree with the previous review in regards to rough roads and sites with tree roots. The sites are spaciously apart from each other in most cases. There is free & very good Wi-Fi at the store and ranger station. It does not reach the campground area. Our Verizon My-Fi and cell service was spotty. We didn't have sewer at our site (lake front). Water pressure was good and power was stable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
This is our second stay at this park. It is about 70 miles from home so it makes a weekend get-a-way easy. There are many other state parks that are much better than this one. The check in process is easy and staff is very nice. We stayed on the Cypress loop (small campground). The road in the campground is dirt and filled with potholes. It is very rough and dusty. Navigation is not difficult even for large rigs as the roads are wide enough. The sites are all dirt. Some are more level than others. The sites have a lot of tree roots making leveling of a coach difficult. When we arrived at our site, it was not very clean. I had to rake the site of limbs, pine cones, and leaves. AT&T cell service and 4G is good. Mi-Fi had great reception. Over the air TV has about 8-10 channels. Bath house was clean and well stocked each time I visited. The rangers made rounds through the campground every couple of hours. The nearest stores are about 5 miles from the campground. There is a lakefront store in the park. However, it is stocked more with T-shirts, etc. and only a few camping or food related items. Firewood and ice is available at lake front store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$19
Made reservations for 50amp site, but only site we found large enough and straight enough to back into was 30amp. Roads were very tight and rough. Feral cats in abundance, my dogs were not happy. It was OK for an overnight stop, but I'll try somewhere else next trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$21
Nice place in general. Location a bit remote. Trees provide shade on all sites, but also makes the reception of sat TV near impossible with a roof mounted dish. We did manage to find a small hole between trees on site #120. Verizon Internet reception was good. Bumpy road that are narrow in places for big rigs. Restrooms are old and not in good repair. No soap provided and no means for drying your hands. We never found any washing machine. The park would benefit from a general overhaul. Very nice golf courses nearby. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
Nice state park convenient to I95. We stayed overnight mid-week on way north. There are two camp areas and we stayed in the Cypress View (Lakefront B) area. Camp host very friendly and helpful. We arrived after hours without a reservation and were told to just pick an open site and pay at the office in the morning. Sites are in a wooded area with no undercover so lots of shade but little privacy. Spacing is OK but the camp was not full. Site descriptions state flat, slight slope, or moderate slope and these descriptions are not accurate. There are flat sites listed as sloped and some listed as flat but have a slope and require leveling. Some pull thru sites were heavily rutted and in need of grading. Site and road surfaces are sandy clay. Our site was missing its picnic table (borrowed by an adjacent camper before our arrival) but it re-appeared overnight. Great playground for kids. Nice lake views. Bugs not noticeable. Bath house was old and worn but serviceable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
The weather was cooler so not a lot of campers. The site we were on was one of the better sites and was lakefront. Most sites are not level. The campground is divided into two sections. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$19
A nice, clean, well maintained campground. We would camp here again and for more than one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
We stayed in Lake Shore part of the park. Our site #100 was approximately 100 ft from the lakes shoreline. There is a wonderful view of the lake from this site, but there are many more sites with lake views. I found the park a bit ran down. The Camp host RV and site is a mess. Sites have eroded and are mainly sand and clay. I would stay there again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
The campsites were decent sized. Lots of places for kids to ride bikes, and had a playground. Easy access to fishing. Would recommend this campsite very family friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
What a wonderful campground! Very kid friendly! Great boat ramps and wonderful staff! The check in process was very quick as they are very organized! The cabin was super clean! The park offers a small store with limited groceries that is good in a pinch. You are only minutes from the town of Santee where you can find anything you might need. The campground itself is beautifully maintained. There is an abundance of material in the campground office so that you can learn more about the lake. Park rangers patrol regularly and are more than willing to answer any questions. Also all of the cabins on land have a spot on the water in order for you to park you boat during your stay. Check out is also super easy. They ask that you strip the bed linens and leave them on the floor and turn your key in at the office. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$19
This campground is a few miles off I-95. Arrived in late February planning a one-nighter but stayed an extra day. Rangers are friendly and set me up with a great pull-through campsite right on beautiful Lake Marion. As I drove in to the site, I was greeted by a very friendly volunteer who helped me park and answered many questions. While it has electric and water, you have to go to a dump station for sewage. I enjoyed hiking and the waterfront is great, but even in February, there was a bug problem. If you have kids, ask for a site away from the shore because there's a big drop. The sites are dirt and uneven and leveling the trailer was not possible. There are playgrounds for the kids, but it is a short hike to get there. My only disappointment was the store on site. It is several miles to shopping and all it had was soda and snacks. If you are a fisherman, this is a perfect place. If not, it's a great weekend and layover campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$19.0
Best campground so far. Beautiful lake Marion! Quiet. Wi-Fi available in/near store. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Overall the park is great. Staff and Hosts were helpful and friendly. Only negative comment are the restrooms and showers. They were reasonably clean but run down. There was also no hand soap or towels in the restrooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
The park was alright; nothing that jumped out that was wrong. We had a spot on the water if you call it that. There is a 15' steep drop and you couldn't really see the lake from the site; very wooded. The bathrooms were great the first day but no service on weekends?? The lady at the guest services station was really clueless. God bless her though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
So-so campground. Per previous review, interior roads very bad for larger rigs. Sites were poorly defined, we pointed back down the wrong way to get to the hookups in a 35' MH. Site basically level, but lots of surface roots. There are some very nice sites if you know which ones they are. Went to wash my hands in the bathroom, no soap dispenser in it??? Could not see where it might have been, no sign of where it could have been broken off the wall. The park itself is very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
Two campgrounds are available here, we stay near the marina. Has mostly shaded areas with some larger sites near water or within view. There are good hiking trails and bike paths. It's a short trip to town and shopping; 50 miles to Charleston for day trip. There are fishing areas nearby, walking or a short ride to the dock. This is a good park to stay at to check out the area and Charleston nearby. It's in the top 10 parks we have stayed at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$14
A nice State Park but the campground needs work. The interior roads are full of holes and the sand needs grading! Thirty amp and water with a dump station. Lots to do here too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
We spent the weekend in Santee and enjoyed it. The bathrooms were as clean as they could be, but I wouldn't use the shower without shoes on or something to stand on. The toilet part was ok and had even been recently mopped when I went in on Saturday. Our site was in the larger Lake Shore area, and was very peaceful and quiet. You'd never believe I-95 is just a little ways up. There was plenty of beach since the water is low, but the steps to get down there were rickety and broken and could be dangerous. Also, every once in a while, we caught wind of a sewer smell even though we were no where near the dump station, still not sure where that was coming from. The campers, camp host and employees were all friendly and most importantly, our antennae picked up the TV station I needed to watch my football game. There was lots of dead wood on the ground to burn and even though you don't feel like you're near town, Santee is just down the road with shopping, groceries and dining if you need it. One warning though, even if you're only staying a couple of days, go ahead and put up your screen tent or porch because the black flies were horrible. Nothing we did got rid of them and they were everywhere. They weren't the biting kind but they were disgusting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$21
We camped in the Lakeshore Campground. This is a very nice campground with very large sites. There were 2 drawbacks: The "swimming hole" has been closed because of alligators and the restrooms did NOT have "No Smoking" signs anywhere. I actually was taking a shower when a woman in the next shower stall started smoking IN the shower! It has always amazed me that people who want to be near nature by camping would so pollute the restrooms by smoking in them. Please smoke outside and put the butts in the trash. A lot of people bring boats here as there is great fishing in the lake and to ski. We do not boat but thoroughly enjoyed the view. Up I-95 at exit 102 is Santee National Wildlife refuge, which had a 3000 year old Indian Mound, which was cool. The first night we were here a racoon came into our screen room at dusk while we were right there and the lights and TV were on and started rummaging through our food box so make sure your food is locked up at all times, even while you are there. The second night an awesome wind/rain storm blew from across the lake, causing havoc with people's awnings and tents so make sure everything is well-staked and awnings are properly tilted down if you leave your site. There was a small "beach" near our site which many children waded into the lake from. This is definitely a great place to camp and get away. We did not even use our A/C as the temps were so pleasant--good to know if you tent. There are boat ramps near both campgrounds (Lakeshore and Cypress View). Cypress View is also near the park office and boat rentals. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$16
This is a wonderful park located right on the Santee Lakes. Plenty of hiking and biking trails and great out of the way places to just go off and find your own private fishing or swimming hole. The Rangers are very helpful and easy to deal with We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$19
We stayed in the Cypress View campground at Santee State Park. Cypress View was more convienient to the park office, store, etc. but seemed a bit busier than the Lakeshore campground, which was more secluded. Some sites were set up at strange angles to the road. I suggest contacting the park office about any sites they recommend for your type rig before making a reservation. There was a nice mountain bike trail that was on the easy side, however the singletrack section could be a moderate level if taken quickly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$17
This State Park was very well run. Lots were all large, giving lots of room between campers. The staff was extremely friendly. Be prepared for lots of sand! The park actually has two seperate sites, and has boat ramp access. Santee Park provides a nice and quiet atmosphere to bring your family to. There isn't a pool, or many other fancy trapping. However, it's a clean and friendly park away from the noise of the interstate. This makes a nice weekend getaway, or stopover. We plan on returning many times. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$16
There are two campgrounds in the park. We stayed in the smaller Cypress View. It was very shady, and many sites have a beautiful view of the lake. Bug spray,citronella candles, etc are definite musts as it is exceptionally 'buggy'! Quiet, but lots of fishermen and hunters so they were stirring early in the morning. Not a lot for kids to do but they enjoyed the stay anyway. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com