206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Wateree State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (803) 482-6401
CGID2562

Lake Wateree State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   3   10   9   8   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Arrived at 5:00pm for check-in, which was easy. Check-in is at lakefront store. On arrival at site, it needed to be cleaned from leaves, pinestraw and debris. Fire ring was full of ashes from previous campers. From the appearance, it had been a while since it was cleaned. It was ok as we were still able to build our fire. Later in the evening they did bring a tractor around blowing road and empty sites. Problem, it was at a time we were cooking/eating outside. Site is good with good spacing to other sites. Park has no Wi-Fi. MiFi (AT&T) would not work from site. Cell service spotty with one bar and often searching for signal from site but near store/lake service gets better. Store is nice with basic items. Firewood $4.95/bundle. TV gets 4 channels with antenna. New looking play area for kids near store. Most lakefront sites are view only as you are up on a hill with a steep drop off at waters edge. There is a area set aside for swimming next to the store. This park was built in 1984 so it is one of the newest. Why they did not put in sewer at the time, who knows. Overall, this is a great place to stay and we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$19
This is my favorite State Park. All sites are deep, completely shaded, and have excellent space between sites. It is well maintained and mostly quiet except a few kids on weekends/holiday. Noisy parties are stopped and evicted. Large lake for fish/boating with ramp and trailer parking. Bathhouse is heated with hot/cold water and kept clean. Camp store for ice and other incidentals. Pads are level and clean. It is about 8 miles from I-77 and 15 miles from nearest town of Winnsboro. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Nice campground overall. The staff was very friendly. This is a boaters park, most of the guests had some form of water craft with them. One nice hiking trail. The bathrooms were clean when we used them. Most of the pull through sites were easily entered, especially the internal ones. Getting into some of the sites could be a challenge if the park is running full like the weekend we were there. Many vehicles in most sites. It appeared most sites needed some leveling help as our took a three block set. We would camp here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
We did not like this campground very much at all. It is specialized only and I will be specific who will like this and who will not. If you are a boater and do not care about loud boats right next to your site (we heard some at 5 AM!) you will love it. If you do not care, nor do not like swimming in the big lake next to your site, you will love it since all the boats make tremendous wakes and drive very fast EXTREMELY close to shore. If you don't mind climbing to the water down a fairly steep hill, you will love it. Of course that's good because swimming is out of the question. If you like NO privacy and want other campsites being able to see right into yours and people walking through your site to get to the awful steep hill to climb down to the noisy lake, you will LOVE this place. If you love the sound of other people's screaming kids being the only thing louder than the boat traffic, you will adore this place. We had a 4 day reservation and left after the first night. It was pathetic and a waste of time. I am sick of these jammed-in, lakefront, racket infested lodgings calling themselves CAMPgrounds. The only reason for the 3 stars was the nighttime had a wonderful view of the lake from our site (#21) and the dump station was well equipped. Otherwise, leave this one to the locals who think this is camping. That's what we get for taking a chance and booking 4 days at an untested CG from the reviews only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$19
Beautiful camping area. Definitely worth the drive. There are some waterfront sites at lake level, most on a small cliff above the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Lake Wateree is awesome! Has nice level sites, all the roads and sites are paved everywhere, and has a lot of trees providing nice shade. The CG sites are huge! Get your groceries and supplies before you come here. We went swimming all weekend at the designated swim area by the store/tackle shop. The water is nice and the bottom is sandy from the shore to about 12-14 feet out. After that, the bottom gets a little murky. I took my dog swimming for the first time. Some sites have a nice little beach right there. Sites 9 and 11 are the best. We are coming back Labor Day weekend. Can't wait. This place and Huntington Beach are my two favorite SC state parks so far. Make your reservations about a month or more before coming. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
Great place to camp! We camped during the summer and it was very busy, but reasonably quiet considering all sites were full. We did not stay lakefront and I'm glad. It seemed that there isn't much privacy because campers walk through your site to get to the lake. Many boats were parked lakeside. All sites are paved, which is great for a state park and they have a tackle shop nearby with ice and goodies to buy for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
Great state recreation area on Lake Wateree. Most of the waterfront sites sit on a bluff above the water. We stayed six nights on the site with level access to a sandy beach, and so had a lot of other campers crossing our site to get to the public beach. Even on this site, our RV sat well back from the water under shade trees, so this was not a big problem. Hiking trail is a 1.5 mile loop that is completely level. Great fishing, concrete boat ramp, floating dock and good store on site. Campground loop and sites are paved and level. Summer weekends need to be reserved in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$19
This campground has it lots. Nice campsites, fishing, boating, and quiet campground are appealing. We enjoyed our weekend although we didn't catch anything while fishing. We have made reservations to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
We have camped here numerous times and we love it. The sites are spacious and the park is beautiful. The bathrooms could use some updating, but are generally clean. There is not a bad site in the campground. The lake sites are nice, but the sites in the back along the woods are great too. Be sure to reserve ahead of time. It is pretty full every weekend in the summer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
This was the first campground we visited after purchasing a travel trailer. We really loved the campground and are ready to go back. We hope to be able to get a waterfront campsite the next time. We had a little bit of a problem getting into our site (back in) because we were new. Immediately someone came to help us out. We had been there only two hours and a group of campers invited us out on their boat. It seemed that because we were recognized as "newbies", people were coming from everywhere to help us out and offer their assistance if we needed it. There were some very large campsites on the backside. Sites were level. Some of the sites allowed you to dock your boat right there at your site. People on the waterfront were able to fish from their site. There was a nice lake front area to walk around, a boat ramp and a well stocked store. The people working there were very friendly and helpful. We will be back soon!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$16
Beautiful state park and campground. All sites are paved and very large and will accommodate everything, including big rigs. Lake Wateree is beautiful and makes for a nice backdrop. Only negatives are older, some what dirty bathhouses and main road has quite a few low hanging branches that tend to scrape the sides of the bigger rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
This has been the hardest campground for me to rate. The park itself is very nice. The sites are paved, very spacious, mostly level and clean. The staff was friendly and helped if you asked. It seemed very family oriented and we had very little noise after dark. The campground gets very dark at night. The downside to this campground is the following. The bath houses were dirty and stayed that way. The campground was full and that I'm sure contributed to the problem but it could have been kept cleaner. The nearest Grocery was about twelve miles away. Our biggest issue was the lack of swimming area. This is a lake front campground with water front sites but no designated swimming area. We only saw two places that you could actually get into the water to swim and they were Rocky and somewhat unsafe. If you had one of the several waterfront sites and you had a boat; only one was conducive to pulling it up to the shore and that was where a lot of the campers went swimming. If they had a swimming area and clean bath houses this park would be a ten for us. We plan to go back in the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
This park is beautiful. Large paved sites and paved interior roads. Lots of room between campsites. We used it as an overnight stop but would recommend it for longer stays too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$14
Great place surrounded by fish filled lake. Even better if you bring a boat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$18
No sewer connection at individual sites. Water and electric only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$15
Rating based on what it is, a state park. Wow! Paved roads and paved sites - long enough for the biggest rig with room to spare! Camped here with a group of about 15 families. Loved it! Bathhouses were clean with plenty of hot water for showers. Lake full of fish (even if our group couldn't catch anything but a cold!). Fishing license required that could be purchased at the ranger station. Rangers were friendly and available throughout the weekend. Gate was locked early but registered campers given the combination upon registration so no problem there. Dump station was large and easy to access (unlike some other state parks in SC). No playground for kids but that was no problem - plenty for them to do! Great place for rollerblading, bike riding, scooters, etc. and the lake - it's beautiful and big. Several places to easily launch a boat and some tied them up to areas right in front of their lakefront sites! Only negative - and it's not the park's fault - TV reception was lousy! Those who had dish said no problem for them, which surprised as the campground is heavily wooded. Have already made reservations to return ASAP. A beautiful park. Make sure you bring everything you need - closest groceries are more than 10 miles away. You really are in the woods! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
This was a great campground. The sites were huge to say the least. We stayed in spot 59 and barely even saw our neighbors. It rained most of the weekend so we weren't able to explore most of the park but were very happy spending time in our secluded spot. A few of the spots were fairly small (even numbered spots in the middle of the loop) but much larger than what we're used to. The bathrooms were old but maintained and the grounds were very clean. We will stay here again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$16
There's really not a bad site, 72 total, in the whole campground. Odd numbered sites between 9-27 are on the water. Access to the lake is limited on many sites due to a steep drop off. Sites are paved and well maintained with adequate space between. Excellent boat launch facilities with small store. Sites on the outside of the loop in the 40-60 range offer a nice woodsy feel. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
This is a beautiful park. It is very quiet and full of trees. Sites are huge and private with level asphalt drives and picnic tables. Bathrooms were cleaned regularly and ranger was very nice. Only downside is not much activity for kids. Playground is not in the campground area. There was a boat ramp and dock and hiking trail. Would be great if you had a boat. Great for a quiet, layed-back weekend. Next time we will get a water-front site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$16
Camped here May 14-16. I really enjoyed the quaintness of the park. This park was off the beaten path, but that just made it better. Our campsite was a pull-through and we really enjoyed it. It was also very shaded. I really liked this park for a weekend getaway. We camped here with the CTTC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$16
Very nice state park on Lake Wateree. Small but very enjoyable. Walking and bike trails, lots of bass fishing. Most sites are well shaded. Good views of the lake. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com