214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Wylie Park & Storybook Land was rated 9 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (605) 626-7015
CGID2563

Wylie Park & Storybook Land

Camp Information
Sites
143
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   8   8   9   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Highly recommend this park if you have kids. Storybook land is in Wylie Park and full of fun activities (some free). We stayed in the newer North campground. South campground has closer together camper spots and has shaded areas; more established trees. Nice sunny, grassy, large sites with a mowed grass area across the paved road to play Frisbee and catch. Playground within walking distance. The only downfall was the water temp in the showers. Only 3 showers in the restroom in this North area and the water wasn't really warm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
Nice park. Pretty typical spaces for commercial park. Grassy area between sites. We camped in a pull-through space. Because it was late in the season we asked to not have neighbors. The staff were very helpful and accommodated our request. We didn't have children with us and spent only one night so we didn't visit the Storybook Land. The park is large and sounded very interesting. We would have checked it out if we'd had more time to explore. There's also a bike/hike trail that we would have liked to ride. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Wonderful kid's park with lots of activities. This is kid heaven. Sites are paved, many with shade. On a bike trail. Dog and biker friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
We liked this park. Everything is clean, and the staff are friendly. They have a lot of activities for children. They have a swimming beach, bike rentals, storybook land, zoo, and more. On the 4th of July we were able to watch the fireworks from our site and listen to a marching band. We had two major complaints. First of all, this campground is extremely crowded. Sites are very close together. Secondly, despite a rule allowing no more than two cars per site, many sites seemed to have a lot more and, on July 4th, both sides of the roads in campground were filled with cars. Rules are not enforced. So this is a nice, clean campground with amazing activities for children, but do not come here if you want peace and quiet. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Best family location in Aberdeen. Adjacent or right next to basketball courts, volleyball, bike trails, Storybookland, playgrounds, mini-golf, nice lake for swimming and fishing (under 16). No swimming pool, but lake was very nice with a pretty good beach. Go-Karts, climbing wall and acrobat trampoline setup were all extras that were fun. Did not use the Internet so don't know how that works or if there's a cost. It is a city run campground so some things are not setup quite the same as a private campground, but very good overall. 8 rating due to no cable TV, no shade where we were in the new section and no swimming pool. Sites were easy to get in and out and were pretty good size. Campfires are allowed. Paved sites were nice, but not real level like you'd expect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
We love this place. Clean and Family Friendly. We stayed at site 67 for a short week and really couldn't ask for more. We went to Storybook Land, saw a water ski show, played on the beach, rented some bicycles, had campfires every night and slept in. What a great vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Roomy sites with picnic tables. Fire pits located in the large green space between rows. Asphalt parking pads with grass lawns. Some spots are off level but ours was fine. Lovely bike/hike paths leading around the lake and to Storybook Land. The whole complex has lovely landscaping, flowers, many newer playgrounds and benches to enjoy the views. The north campground and bathhouses are brand new this season. Downsides: Bathrooms and showers nearest us were acceptable, though they had no ventilation and were wet. Noise problems, etc., are between you and police department, as camp staff is off duty after 10 PM. Lastly, interior roads were narrow and people park their cars right along both sides of it. Long rigs have an easier time if arriving ahead of the busy weekend crowd, and if not in a hurry to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
There are many activities available at this park including a small wildlife zoo, petting zoo, storybook land, playgrounds, mini golf, go carts, a lake for swimming/fishing, bike/walking trails. The sites in the original area have narrow roadways, often with cars protruding into the space available. Sites in "new" section seem to be built for bigger rigs...but since it is new, the sites are still growing their grass. Aberdeen sprays for Mosquitoes, which helps to keep it more comfortable. Laundry is a bit pricey- $2/wash & $1.25 for 25 minutes of dryer time. Reservations suggested as this seems to be a destination for many South Dakota residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
This was a really nice experience. The camp sites were nice, the people were nice, and there were things to do there, even for adults. We would have given a 10 except the showers left a person exposed to others walking through. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
This is about the nicest municipal park and campground anywhere. There are so many things to do here. This is the perfect campground for a long weekend because the kids never get bored. Park activities include: bike and surrey rental, swim beach, five playgrounds, mini golf, bumper boats, go-karts, paved trails, small zoo and Story Book Land. The campground office is very nice. The camping cabins back up against a small duck pond. Story Book Land is free! The grounds are immaculate. The restrooms are clean. There are two restrooms, both situated in the middle of the campground, so they're not too far from any of the campsites. Tip: If you want mature trees on your campsite, select a site on the south end. The other sites do have trees which provide some shade, but they're not as big. The campsites are also fairly close together, so choose an end site if you want more privacy. All in all, this was by far and away the best family campground we went to this summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This was a good sized park with tons of things to do if you are a kid or a family (zoo, story book land, mini-golf, land of oz, miniature train, rental bikes and pedicabs). Very nice park, very clean facilities, very helpful staff. The sites are mostly pull thrus with ample room to negotiate and not too close to each other. We did laundry in the very clean facilities and accessed the internet on the office provided computer. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Great place for kids (yes, I had fun too). Very tight roads for a big rig. They are planning on expanding their campground so hopefully they will have a plan to accommodate large toy haulers. Would visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
We stayed at this park cause we wanted to see the Story Book Land. We really liked this campground. The people there were very nice, and we were right next to the bathrooms, which was nice. We thought the bathroom facilities were very clean. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a campground in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
We only stayed here one night and it worked well for us. However, be aware that the directions in your GPS may send you in the opposite direction of the park. The roads are a bit narrow, other than that it was perfect. This would be a great destination park to meet up with family (kids or grand-kids) as it is really geared for the younger crowd. We would stay again and stay longer if we had family to visit with here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
If you have kids (which we don't) this is a great place! For us full-timers, it is still really good: reasonable price, good facilities, working Wi-Fi, some satellite access, etc. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
This is a superb city-run campground. There is now "free" limited wi-fi available in the campground for two hours per day offered by the town of Aberdeen. There are paved bike trails, a free storybook land, play equipment galore, a "zoo" of buffalo,elk, etc. The park roads are narrow but passable. There is both a shady side of the campground and sunny side. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Playing it by ear and just traveling with vague plans in mind we decided to end the day very early and stop here. No reservations, and we snagged the very last available site. The site was water/electric only so I took the time to dump tanks prior to occupying the site. Let the kids go off and enjoy the park while I hooked up. This has got to be one of the best places for kids I have ever been to, especially considering costs. Yes there are many activities that require a fee but there are many that do not. We really enjoyed our brief stay here and have more good memories of this place than many others on the trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Great family park with lots to do. We stayed for 5 days. Nice size sites, some with full hookups. Laundry was pricey but there are options in Aberdeen. Wind does blow quite a bit. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
One of the best parks we've found. No wifi, only thing missing and that's not a problem for us. Have stayed here long term, at 4months, and also for a day or two. Really an enjoyable place to stay. Would recommend it to anyone with or with out children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$18
I agree with all the prior post said. The down side was the expensive laundry facilities [$2.00 for a washer]. There isn't really a modem at the office. They supply a computer for your use. Its a nice setup but I am not comfortable putting my info in someone else's machine. It would be nice if they had a phone jack there also. The weekend was very busy but it emptied out come sunday. Its a very nice park and we enjoyed it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$21
Very nice park with large paved pads, concrete patio and picnic table, grassy areas between sites, some trees. Full hook-ups were available. Easy access for big rig. Two lakes on site, one for swimming and other activities. Storybook Land children's park on-site, as well as mini-golf under construction. The whole package is a beautiful setting for family camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com