214264 User submitted reviews online!!
Belvidere East / Exit 170 KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (605) 344-2247
CGID2564

Belvidere East / Exit 170 KOA

Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   8   9   10   8   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
This is the second year in a row we have stopped here. See my 7/13 review for details of the park's facilities and amenities. We stayed one week day night in mid-July. Our site was a FHU, pull-through with cable TV. The site was gravel, level, and fairly wide. We got good 802.11 network reception in the RV. This time, weather allowed us to enjoy the nice pool. I changed the "waterfront" classification above to "NO" because none of the sites is "waterfront". The only recycling I saw was a trash can for aluminum cans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
This is a gem! Great little KOA on 1-90 just off of Exit 170. About a mile up the road thus, fairly quiet and in a country setting. The owners are really nice people. They guided us to our big rig site #16 which was very spacious with lots of room, level with a nice grassy area and table. Very clean and well taken care of. It's about a mile to the 1880 Town which was well worth the visit. We have been to a lot of C.G.'s in South Dakota and although this is one that might get passed by, it's worth a visit. We came here to see the 1880 Town and stayed 2 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$63
One of the few 10's I've given. The hosts were exceptionally friendly. Very clean campground with well stocked store and a nice pool. Beautiful views both day and night. Same exit as 1880's Town attraction. Would absolutely stay here again. Price reflects a Kampers Cabin with KOA membership discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
We stayed here on a Sunday night in mid-July. I changed the number of sites to 94 which is what is shown on their handout map. There are also several group tenting areas and 5 camping cabins. The park was less than half full. We had a FHU, pull-through site with 24 channel cable and excellent (best of the trip) in RV WiFi included in the nightly fee. This appears to define most of the sites with the exception about a dozen sites being back-ins. The roads and RV pads are gravel. Our site was level. I can't speak for every site but my visual inspection leads me to believe most sites are fairly level. The reasonably priced laundry shared a building with some arcade games and a pool table. The bathrooms were older but very clean. We encountered our first cool (upper 60s) day of this trip so we didn't use the pool. It was smallish but looked very clean. Their cafe served good food at a reasonable price. We would definitely stay here again if it fit our travel schedule. The owners were very nice and seemed intent on providing a customers with good service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
This is a very nice KOA. It is very clean. Very well maintained and the staff is terrific. They have a small restaurant in the office. We ate dinner there and the food was very good. Our space was level and the amenities were good. This is mostly a spend a night place because there is not much around there. It is not far from the Badlands; however, and right next to the 1880's town, which was fun. The owner is very nice and keeps his KOA above average. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Beautiful, large, well maintained grassy sites. Great little restaurant on site. Very friendly and helpful staff. A 1/4 mile walk to the 1880 Town. Nice enclosed "dog park". The lake and prairie setting are very peaceful and relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Rate reflects KOA disc. Very friendly owners and staff, easy in/out, long pull-thrus, quiet. Small older pool but clean. They have a little diner in the camp store that serves all meals. Breakfast was fine, and was $10 for two of us! We didn't get satellite but the next RV did (maybe our HD satellite is more fussy than regular satellite), so we used the cable. The one attraction in town is an 1880s "town" but we didn't go see it. It's close to the campground. We would stay here again for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
This is a clean, beautiful, quiet park. The owner is very pleasant and helpful. We parked on a cement slab with a new picnic table and brick fire ring. There is a really cool pet playground. An on site restaurant in the office building serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Great WiFi and cable. Finding directions with MapQuest, etc. got confusing. Just take I-90 to Exit 170 and go right half a mile. There are plenty of signs. We wish all campgrounds were like this. It was only $2 more than the last place and that was nowhere near as nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
After staying at a couple of average parks, we were thrilled upon entering this park. Easy on/off access from I-90. Beautiful prairie views and the park is immaculate. We were escorted to our long, paved site by the owner. Owners have done a good job with the landscaping. Park has all the amenities you could ask for including a swimming pool, nice laundry, restaurant, store, picnic tables, fire ring and dog park. Excellent Wi-Fi. We ate at the restaurant and had a great buffalo steak and hamburger. The 1880 town is a half mile down the road and is a very interesting place to visit. If we come this way again, we will make it a point to visit this wonderful campground. Kudos to the owners for working hard and taking obvious pride. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
If you want to find out what it is like to live on the South Dakota plains, this is the place to be. The campground has all the amenities, and we enjoyed are stay here. The owners work very hard, and are very friendly. The campground includes a small restaurant where breakfast and dinner are served. It was a good way to meet other campers and even a few locals. 1880 Boomtown, just down the road, is a very interesting and educational attraction that shows what it was like to live on the plains in the 1880's. We would most definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
This is a great campground. The owner is great in person (a little short on the phone). We called ahead, as we were on the road looking for a place to stay while traveling and he stayed up to help us check in. He provided us with an upgrade in the site for free and drove us to our site personally. Our site had a concrete pad and a light on top of the hookup box. This was a very nice addition, especially since we got there late. The hookups were easy to use. Each site had a grass area and a fire pit. The fire pit was not very deep, but it did the job. The sites were a little close, but you had enough room to extend everything and still have walking around room. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Had a rainstorm so there were puddles, and some problems with mud where grass met gravel. Nice little dog park. Some pull throughs with sewer have concrete pads. Clean restrooms. Good food at the campground cafe. Pretty area, next to a pond which has been kept in a natural wetland with cat tails. Wi-Fi worked, had to keep entering the code with my iPhone. Didn't stay long enough to check it out on the computer. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Check in was friendly, and we were escorted to our site. It was level and long enough not to unhook our 37' fifth wheel. There are sewers, but we got W/E just for the night. Cable is 24 channels, wi-fi was slow, and Verizon signal strong. The restrooms were clean. Showers had a bench and hook for clothing. We did not check out the laundry or game room. The pool was closed, and it will be a few years before the trees will shade. This is a good overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is a nicely maintained park, decent sites. Unfortunately, it is located on a swamp and bugs are everywhere at night. Owners are nice, pool is warm and showers are pretty good. Definite smell of swamp everywhere. This one is hard to rate, and it's a different park at night if you are outside. If you stay in air conditioning and don't come out after dark, this is a great park. Otherwise, get ready to flush out the water bugs and mosquitoes. They are very, very thick. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
This is a decent park with gravel/dirt roads and lots of grass. We paid for a premium site witch provides a concrete pad just big enough for the motor home or trailer to sit on. The rest of the driveway is dirt/gravel. It also included a picnic table with a metal and wood shade cover (site 26). There is a surprising lack of mosquitoes here due to the abundance of dragon flies in the area. Many of the trees are still young so there is not much shade. The park is about a mile from the main road so there is no noise from cars all night long. There is not a lot to do in the immediate area though, so it is a bit of a drive to get to the area attractions (Bad Lands Park). I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Nice campground had what we needed for an overnight stay. For us it was nothing extra but was clean, no shade. We would stay again if we needed a campground in that location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
This is a very pretty & family friendly RV park. It has everything you would need. Lots of grassy areas. New trees have been planted for future shade. The hosts are great and very helpful. Quiet location just off the highway. Large level sites. We would definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
Nice spots but bare. Very clean restrooms and showers. The Wi-Fi was the best we had on a 3 week trip. It has good pet areas, helpful, friendly staff and an okay cafe. The lights at each campsite are a bit bright and little shade. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
We thought this park was a great overnight or 2 night stay. We had full hookups, easy in and out for big rigs, and an escort to your site. The pool was well used as it was very hot that day. We would stay there again when traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
This park is a gem. We had been traveling for hours and the RV was starting to get hot from the heat. I usually do not like KOAs because of the price they charge, but this one was reasonably priced. It could be because it is in the middle of no where, or it could be because they do not have sewer hook ups. They do have a dump station though so sewer hook ups did not matter to me. The camp site was well kept and it had a pretty lake to look at. The air was clean, the sky was clear and it was an enjoyable stay. The staff was also very friendly and the caffe was yummy to eat at too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Easy on/off highway. Short bike ride to the fun 1880's Town. No complaints at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Park has very friendly staff. Level, spacious sites and OK cable TV. It’s a ways from anywhere, a good stop over site but not a destination, no TV signal, didn’t seem to be any planned activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Nice for a quick overnight. No shade, and pool and playground in rough shape if you have kids. Nice store and friendly people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
Park is very well kept with spotless bathrooms. Has strong power and reliable/fast free Wi-Fi. The level sites were lacking shade. Has friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
A wonderful place to relax for a single night or several. Our dogs truly enjoy their awesome dog park, which is kept in outstanding condition. There is country peace and quiet in this campground. We will definitely return when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Nice, clean campground; great break for an overnight stop or to relax for a few days. Far enough off the road that you don't get much road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
This was an unexpected surprise. Up to now, our stays at the KOA's have been less than perfect. This KOA was different: clean, good pads, spacious and friendly staff. We had a very nice pull-through for our 5th wheel on a cement pad. Wow: no mud to tend with! Also had a supper at their small restaurant, the buffalo burger was excellent. This was a quick stop over for us, and I would recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Older park, well maintained with dirt/gravel roadways and pull-thru RV spaces. Easy access off I-90. Very friendly and helpful owner, who escorted us to our site. They also serve a short menu of breakfast and dinner. We were here for an overnight stop, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
A nice campground 1/2 mile off I-90, but the road noise was barely audible. A Good place for an overnight, but not close to anything. Stock up before you arrive, it is 20 miles to a grocery. Friendly staff in the office escorted us to the site. Concrete parking pads (on some sites) made our setup easy. The gravel sites appeared pretty level as well. There is good water pressure and the quality was fine. The gravel roads within the campground were well maintained with no dips or holes. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
This was an outstanding KOA. Even though the park was not officially open until May 1st, the owners allowed us to stay on site. The sites were level, had good water/electric/cable, and the area was quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Nice KOA! In the middle of nowhere but still nice. We used this campground as a stopover on the way to Mount Rushmore. Staff was friendly and showed us to our site. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Owner has been making improvements; many pull thru sites have concrete pads or patios. Great pet walk area (looks like a doggies obedience course!) Some tent sites are alongside a small lake (somewhat swampy, not especially scenic.) Cafe in the office serves limited menu for dinner - the Indian tacos were delicious! The campground is far enough off the interstate to reduce road noise, and despite the lack of shade, has some trees and small wildlife (birds, rabbits, etc.) Would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
Easy on/off highway. Very friendly, helpful owner. Priced in the usual KOA fashion (high). Long pull thru, fairly level but very close sites. There is a "lake" here - not sure what its function is, perhaps just beauty but it is very low, mucky and a breeding ground for flying biting critters. There isn't much beauty in it anymore. This campground is very dog friendly with several "pet walk" areas, complete with bags and scoops! There is also a good sized fenced area for dogs complete with "agility" stations. We would return to this campground but only as a last option because of the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$37
The rate includes KOA discount. This park is not located near any stores except one gas station with a mini-mart, one restaurant in the 1880 Town 50s Diner Train (for breakfast and lunch), and no other stores. The KOA does offer a continental breakfast and some light fare for lunch. The campground was well-maintained, but the laundry area is in a steel building with few or no windows and a library. The area is quiet and peaceful and overlooks a small lake. There are lots of bunnies running around the campground, which was entertaining. The owners are very friendly and helpful and seem like they would go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. We did not check out the showers or bathrooms. The Wi-Fi worked well, but if you have 2 computers, be sure to get 2 pass codes. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
I would agree with the previous reviews. We've stayed in Wall before and I would HIGHLY recommend staying in Belvidere rather than either of the campgrounds in Wall. It's a cleaner and more relaxed atmosphere. We have two large dogs and they had PLENTY of room to exercise. The owners are dog friendly. The facilities were clean in the evening and morning. We will definitely be back when we travel through SD again. The lake was also low when we arrived, but I saw plenty of children playing in the pool, playground, and riding bicycles around the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
These people deserve a 10 for being the only campground in the middle of nowhere. Great people (owners & staff) and a very nice park. Lake is low,but that is not their fault. Good wifi. Restful location and the 1850 town is nice. But this truly six miles from the end of the earth. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Nice KOA park. Friendly staff and clean restrooms. Easy on/off from interstate. Good WiFi reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
This is a pretty nice KOA with access to the Badlands, The 1890's Town and Wall's Drug Store. The owners were very attentive and just plain nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
What a pleasure to find this excellent park: great, fenced dog run with agility equipment; large pull-through sites; terrific Wifi we could access easily from our site; clean campground and welcoming hosts; and easy access from I-90. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
Nice facilities, staff very accommodating and helpful, wifi works like a well oiled machine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$21
This KOA was spectacular. There was a huge lake with a beautiful view. There are not one, but two docks to use. Not only do they have a pet walk, it is complete with fire hydrants! The lounge is open twenty four hours . The laundromat was very clean at all times. This campground has all pull thru sites for RV's up to ninety feet and even sites near the water for tents. One of the best playgrounds that we have seen for the kids. They loved all the different playground equipment. The all you can eat pancake breakfast is one of a kind as is all the meals that we had at this campground. We would recommend this site to everyone, especially with a family. There is so much to do and enjoy here . We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Road going into this campground was dirt and muddy needed gravel really bad. Sites are real close together and grass be in mud if it rains. No TV reception at all. Modem hook up is at pay telephone outside was so windy and cold no way you could have used this. Pool was in bad shape needed work really bad. T/L advertized that this park has shade trees and lake I sure didnt see none. I would not return to this park. Worse KOA I have been into yet. $28 per night? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com