224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Deadwood KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (605) 578-3830
CGID2572

Deadwood KOA

Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   9   10   8   5   5   5   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
The Good Points: Very close to Deadwood with easy access to both Deadwood and Lead. Located on a hillside, it is quiet at night. Each site has a tree with a paved area for picnic table. Bathrooms were clean. Sites were generally level. A nice perk is a shuttle that can run you into town in about 5 minutes. It runs every hour in July and every odd hour in August. The Bad Points: This campground is very tight, almost ridiculously so. You are so close to your neighbor that you feel like you could reach out and touch their RV. The sites are short and you must squeeze your car in almost diagonally in front of your trailer. I'm not sure why, when they weren't even half full, that they did not alternate sites as people registered. This would at least give you the feeling of a bit more space. Instead, they lined us up like sardines. The bad thing about this area is that you don't have a lot of choices in campgrounds close to Deadwood. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Typical KOA campground with plenty of amenities, but always lacking personal charm. The entrance to the park is a VERY steep incline but no impossible to navigate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
Nice campground set in the side of a hill just outside Deadwood. The sites are on multiple levels and in a motor coach it can be challenging. The sites are very tight but the hourly free shuttle to and from Deadwood (casinos, good food) made it bearable. The staff was very friendly. I will stay in Spearfish (8 miles away) only because 30 ft campers should be the size limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
Showers in lady's side are SHORT! There is a shuttle to downtown deadwood, free! New owner, very helpful, very nice! Staff very helpful also! Will definitely stay here again! On a mountainside out of the way. Beautiful scenery! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
We stayed here in a motorhome towing a trailer: about 50 feet. The staff was very friendly and were to able accommodate our unit. It is uphill to get into the campground and the sites are on hillside levels. We had no problem getting to our site, but if you are a wary driver and not very good at maneuvering your rig, you may want to find somewhere else to camp. The campground was not full when we were here and it was a great overnight stay, with a quick trip to Deadwood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
This park is very small, with extremely small spots. If you think it is uphill to get to the park, wait till you try to get to your spot! If you are staying here for Deadwood, it is a waist of time, nothing but tiny casinos. We went to see some of the History, but there is nothing left. The Hill Top KOA looked like a better spot, wish we had of stayed there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
It's a small park on many levels and the sites are so tight you could shake your neighbor's hand. While the shuttle is convenient, so is downtown with free parking, so unless your a have a few too many it's just as easy to drive. No shade trees so you bake in the sun. The biggest plus, was the staff was very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
If you have a big rig it is a trick to get parked because sites are so close together. Friendly staff and clean area. I wouldn't stay here again because I could open my door and touch the RV next to me and it was noisy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This was a normal KOA campground, nice but a little overpriced as all KOA's are. Staff was friendly. There was a shuttle that ran into Deadwood every couple of hours which was nice so you didn't need to run around Deadwood in an RV. We will probably stay here again if coming through the area as there doesn't seem to be much else to choose from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
One of the best KOA's we have ever visited. Much cheaper per night than anything else in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
We stayed here for 10 days. There were two things on the downside. The Wi-Fi was spotty, but was very fast when it worked. We were in site 39 way up the hill at the far end. It was a good site, but the climb up was beyond belief. Put er' in low gear and hold er' to the floor all the way up! Overall it is a nice campground, and we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
This is a very secluded KOA just 1 mile west of Deadwood. It had pool, hot tub, cable, wireless, picnic table, but no wood burning fires were allowed. The office staff was very friendly and they had a well stocked store for such a small campground. My biggest complaint was the narrowness of the campsites. We have slideouts, and it was difficult to find enough space to let them out, and we had an end-row site! The campground is also unusual in that it is terraced up a hill, so walking up and down to the office/pool/bathrooms is a bit of a chore. Overall a nice, affordable KOA, but I would probably not stay there again due to the narrow sites. We stayed one night and paid $37.98. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We stayed here two years ago and again this year. We would stay here again and again. This is a great location if you are going to spend several days in the Black Hills as it is pretty much in the center of Sundance, Devil's Tower, Mount Rushmore, and Badlands MP and one of the best locations if you are going to Sturgis!!! Now the spots are really tight if you have slide outs, etc., but that is part of the camping thing! Get to know your neighbors!!! The hot tub was great, the pool was heated. And they have shuttle that runs you into and out of Deadwood every hour. If you like to gamble it is perfect. And don't fret over the fact that the shuttle quits running at 10:00. Pretty much most of Deadwood shuts down at 10:00!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
Tucked in a canyon about a mile west of town, with lots of trees but none that get in the way. Some of the sites are kind of small and the road up into the campground is a bit narrow. Bathrooms are outstanding, with individual toilet-sink-shower rooms that even have hair dryers. The shuttle into town leaves once an hour until 10 p.m.; it's free but they have a tip jar, kind of tacky. Lots of cable channels, fast wi-fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
This was our first visit here in 2 years, and found that not much has changed. The park has full hook-ups, 60+ cable, WIFI and a pool. As previously mentioned the sites are very small and close together. Definitely not a park for big rigs or people who want a roomy site. We stayed over the Labor Day weekend and were somewhat surprised that it was nowhere near full. As a result, we asked if we could get any additional discount for extending our stay a day. The answer was a curt "N0!". I don't understand their rationale. We've already paid $105 for 3 nights, it is the end of the summer vacation season, and the park will be 80% empty Monday night (just about everyone around us left before us on Monday morning). By dropping the price by $10 for our 4th night, the could have made at least $20 in profit. I must be missing something in their logic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
We camped here for two nights and it was intended as just a place to sleep as we toured the area. The sites are way too small. Both nights we had a fifth wheel on our door side and their pop-out overlapped our pad where the picnic table was to the point we could not use the table. The sewer drop for their site was right next to our table area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Stayed here for about 8 days over a 2 week period after the bike week crowd was long gone. In season (July and August), when this park is usually fairly full, it is a VERY tight squeeze for any RV over 30'. The sites are terraced and they have maximized the number of sites. You will be lucky to get out all slides and your awning if you have neighbors on both sides. Other than the site size, the park is well run, has good cable TV and WIFI, and has a nice pool. An earlier review mentioned that you can walk to Deadwood. I did it almost every every day but it is not an easy or safe walk. The park is maybe 500' higher than the town and the first half mile is walking just off the road surface of a winding mountain road with several blind curves. The few times I used the shuttle, the wait was over half an hour. If you don't want/need cable, Whistler's Gulch has roomier sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$50
Although this was bike week, we felt this was a little overpriced for what it had to offer for bigger rigs. We had a toy hauler that just would not fit in the space they reserved for us. When we left out, the campers in a motor home had to move over so we could get out. Very poor parking and very nerve-wracking. ON a positive note: They did offer a free shuttle service to Deadwood (not Sturgis) which was convenient for part-time gamblers in nearby casino town! Customer service was fair - gave me a used postcard stamp when I purchased a new one - I know, I know, very trivial, but ... we will not be using these facilities again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$23
The sites are very small, in fact my slide-outs overlaped the site next too me. (Good thing nobody was in it) Big rig access is a little tough but not impossible. The campground is built into a hillside and the access ramp is narrow with tight turns into the sites, but managable even for me in my 40' Class A. While being small with small sites, the campground is perfect for those that want to visit Deadwood. The restrooms were among the best I have ever seen in a campground. They have individual stalls, heat, showers etc. Campground Cabins looked nice from the outside. Owner and staff super friendly, good laundry room, nicly stocked store. It is walking distance to Deadwood (about 1mile) or there is a free shuttle you can take. WiFi worked fine. There is really nothing in the campground except a small pool, and then a challenging (not for kids) nature hike thru the hills. It mostly is a stayover lot for those visiting Deadwood, not for those wanting to camp as there is little to do in the campground itself. If I go back to Deadwood, I'll stay here again. Spring 2004 in a RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2002
$27
Very narrow sites; considerably more narrow than Woodalls says. Some sites, the table is next to your neighbors sewer connection. Tight for 5th wheelers, too. Very dusty. Will not ever stay at this KOA again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com