214919 User submitted reviews online!!
Whistler Gulch RV Park & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 50 user reviews. Phone: (605) 578-2092
CGID2573

Whistler Gulch RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
127
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   5   6   7   10   7   9   2   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$65
Nice location! Bus stops at the campground and runs regularly into downtown, which is great. Sites were a little small but adequate. Staff in the office were very friendly. Would definitely recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$51
Best feature is closeness to casinos etc in town and on trolley route ($1). Interior roads paved. Sites are paved or gravel with working utilities. Sat reception from the roof was good. Verizon reception good. Kept getting kicked off WiFi. Owner is very helpful. Grocery store in lead (approx 4 mi). Pretty location in small narrow gulch. Room to walk dog including dirt road at upper end of park. Garbage pick up each morning at site. Dump station. We had no problem with 39' RV with tow. Room for slides on both sides but narrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
We came to this park when the one we had reserved in the hills was still wet and muddy when we arrived. This was definitely not one of our favorites. The PROS: The owner and office help were very friendly, it was close to the town of Deadwood, and it was a stop on the local shuttle bus. The CONS: Everything was close and tight. The roads were narrow, the sites were narrow and short (our truck would not fit and if the park was full there would be no place to put it), there was no cable TV, and there was really very little place for the dogs to do their business. There are a couple of so-named "dog walk" areas, but they are very narrow strips of dirt/grass, and one of them had trucks parked on it. In addition, the only facilities (bath & laundry) are up at the front of the park, so those parked toward the back of this very long and narrow set-up would probably want to drive up to them, but there is very little extra parking anywhere. I would probably look for another park if we were to stay in this area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
We stayed here for 4 days over the Labor Day Weekend. The park was not full: maybe abit more than half full. We had a level, FHU, pull-through site in the lower third of the park. There is no cable TV but most, but not all sites, are satellite friendly. The WiFi worked OK for us with only one disconnection in 4 days. There are about 35 PT sites which are narrow but a decent length. Bigger rigs will have to unhook. The rest of the RV sites are back-ins which vary in length from maybe 25' to over 40'. The roads are asphalt and the sites are gravel. The space between sites is a mixture of gravel/dirt/grass. The office/laundry building, the bathroom/shower facilities, the pool and play area, and the trolley stop are all at the front of the park. This can be a long, steep walk from many of the sites. We have been here numerous times over the years and this was the first time our visit was marred by other customers. We have never been here when there were so many ATVs and motorcycles. Every morning and evening there was a constant parade of loud and often speeding vehicles passing our site. This was both annoying and dangerous (due to the speeding well over the 5 mph limit). Where was management? I saw no reason to complain to the 70 year old female camp worker in the office and the owner is not around on weekends. I would stay again as long as I can be fairly close to the facilities and hope the noisy types aren't there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
This park is located in a narrow valley between to steep hillsides. The access is paved and the sites are gravel. What we liked: Friendly staff, very accommodating. There was trolley service every hour to downtown Deadwood for a $1 per person which was very convenient. The laundry was nice, but a little pricey at $2 per load for wash or dry. The overall condition of the facility is pretty decent. The Wi-Fi worked well, as did our satellite. No cable. What we didn't like: the pull thru sites were very close together. We had about 6' or 7' from our slide to our neighbors slide. The pull through sites are very short. Our 40' MH had only about one foot to spare from the paved road in front and in back of our coach. We had to park our toad along an access road by a dumpster. We had a fire ring, but would never use it because the RV's were only about 5 feet from the fire ring. Bottom line - we would stay here again as a base camp to visit the area points of interest, but would not stay here as a place to relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
I found nothing wrong with park, easy in and out, Wi-Fi good, clean park. Trolley picks you up at the park to go into town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Paved roads, gravel sites that are on a hillside. Sites take some work to get level and situated well into the site. Wi-Fi good, water, electric, sewer all good. No cable and TV has only two channels. Trolley comes to lodge for transportation to town twice an hour or you can walk. Great place to visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
My 3rd year in a row to stay at this RV park. Pro's - location, location, location. Well worth the 'premium price you pay'. Within walking distance of downtown. For those that choose not to walk, the Deadwood trolley picks up in right front of the office/lodge. VERY clean. Paved roads throughout the park. Excellent electricial and sewer hook-ups. Trash was continously picked up during the day. We found the owner to be very friendly. Yes, he keeps a close watch on his property, but he is fair to all. Negatives - sites are very close and steep roads up the gulch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
For this much money, this place is bad. You can see where the profits aren't going to. The lodge has cable, but they didn't run it to the sites, and there aren't any over the air channels. WiFi is passable. Most sites are very unlevel. And the gravel and the sites are narrow, so you are living on a small strip of grass that has seen better days (mostly mud). I do like the paved streets though. If it was cheaper, like $25 for full hookups, I would have given it a higher score. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Other reviews of this park are accurate. This is a very clean park, very close to Deadwood. However, they are in the business of getting as many campers in this space as possible. If you understand this going in, you wont be surprised. If you are in the Deadwood area and want to enjoy the town (not the camping experience) this is the place to go. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
This was our first stay here in 2 years. Again we were here for the 3 day Labor Day weekend, but this time we were given a FHU, pull-through site as we desired. Back on the holiday weekend in 2010, the owner refused to give us a PT site based on the possibility of bigger rigs needing the PT site (it never happened). This year we were checked in by work campers and did not even see the owner until Sunday. For the reviewer who complained about her kids being yelled at for climbing the hillside: Try reading the rules concerning such things - such prohibited activity can accelerate erosion, possibly cause mini-rock and/or landslides, and be an insurance issue. During our 3 day stay, I don't think the park had more than 50 of 127 RV sites taken on any night. That fact made for less congestion in the park, and the WI-FI more accessible. There is no cable TV, but most sites are satellite friendly. There is a laundry, a small pool, and an OK bathroom. These, however, are at the foot (entrance of the RV park) of the gulch. Most of the RV sites are at least 100 yards away and uphill of these facilities, the office, and the trolley stop mentioned by most reviewers. If you can't walk or don't like to walk, this could be a problem for you. Others have also mentioned how narrow the sites are. We will certainly try to stay here again if we are able to make it back to the Black Hills once again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Very clean RV Park and friendly staff/workers. Shuttle service, for a dollar a ride, to downtown Deadwood is a very convenient service, especially during busy weekends. This is the closest Park to downtown Deadwood and well worth the cost, but beware that discounts such as Good Sam are not accepted during special event weekends. Call ahead to confirm discounts. Big Rig Sites are narrow and many are located on a hill. The actual parking spaces are level but picnic tables, etc. are all on a slope. Big Rigs will need to find a separate location for towed vehicles, in most cases. This was our second trip to Deadwood in two years. The first time we stayed at a different Park and drove into town. In the future, we will always try to make reservations at Whistler’s Gulch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Most of the sites are so narrow that your picnic table is sandwiched between your RV and your neighbors sewer connection. There are fire pit rings but you'd be so close to your neighbor's RV you'd set their rig on fire, so there's really no room for camp fires. There are very few trees so be prepared to bake. The property next door is a go-kart race park, so if you like the sounds of little race carts all day long this is the place for you. They advertize Good Sam but on site they won't give Good Sam discounts "during events". Whistler is a typical RV Park that attempts to squeeze every nickle out of their land at the expense of charm and atmosphere. It should be reworked to about 80 sites and a new management attitude. We camped here in a class A motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
This is okay for an overnight stay and there is convenient trolly service for $1.00 to Deadwood. It is easy in and out with good paved roads and fairly level gravel sites. Each site has a sewer hookup. However, the sites are very close together. We informed them we were Good Sam members when making the reservation, but not when we checked in. We did not get the discount. They would not give it retroactively and they were rude about it. We probably would not stay here again, but mostly because there are so many campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
We have stayed here before. The recent so-so reviews made me somewhat skeptical about staying again. We had NO PROBLEMS. The check in was very friendly, our gravel/level site was very nice with grass and its own fire pit and picnic table. The electric and water worked perfectly. The driveway entry is paved and well lit. The office/laundry/showers were very clean. This is the best located RV park in Deadwood. It is slightly more costly than the others, but when you take into consideration the location and that it's very big rig friendly, Whistler Gulch is well worth the difference. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
I've stayed at this campground several times, and I've never had a problem, convenient to downtown casinos and restaurants. This year, I didn't make it out to Deadwood, but recommended this RV park to a friend of mine from West Virginia. He called me after checking in, and said that when he inquired about the "Good Sam" discount, he was told that the "Good Sam" discount was actually $4 more than the regular price, because "Good Sam charges us $4 when one of their members registers." I emailed the president of GS, to inquire about this, but haven't heard back. I read the comment from another reviewer that Deadwood was just a bunch of "small casinos", not very impressive. I've been going to Deadwood for years, and there is plenty to see and do. As for those "small casinos", that is the charm of the place, I enjoy playing blackjack at the No.10 Saloon, where Wild Bill Hickok was shot, and they still shoot the guy 2 or 3 times a day for the tourists, followed by a gunfight out on the street. Kevin Costner's casino is loaded with costumes and other items from all his movies, including "Dances with Wolves", and the steakhouse on the top floor is 5-Star. The new Vegas style casino "The Lodge", a mile or two out of town, should satisfy any casino regular, a first-class operation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
As far as we are concerned, about the only thing this park has going for it is the close proximity to Deadwood. The trolley stops right in front of the office twice an hour. The lady that checked us in was very rude and when we asked to change sites because the one they put us in was too narrow for our 40 ft 3 slide fifth wheel, she said she couldn't change us because they had a lot of "big rigs" coming in for the weekend and she was saving the pull-throughs for those. I commented that we had a 40 ft 3 slide unit and that is considered a "big rig", she got very indignant and gave us a pull-through. For the rest of the weekend there were 8 sites vacant from us to the next closest unit. No big rigs in those. The sites are not level and there is only about 6 feet between sites, no level ground to set chairs or tables on. We had to move the table next to us to hook up our sewer. The laundry is extremely expensive. Our Verizon air card worked well, but the AT&T cell phone service was spotty. The whole park is in a gulch and is uphill from the office to the end of the park. Both sides of the park are mountains. But it is quiet. If you want to be close to town, this is about your only choice as far as we saw. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$47
Typically we are not fans if private campgrounds but use this site to help us when state parks are not an option. We started this place out at a 10, but after backing in to site 106 sandwiched between 2 other campers we started to lower the rating. The place was barely full and many "better" back-in sites sat empty. We were told we had the best site, but sewer was so far forward and uphill we couldn't use it. 5 mph limit yet worker raced around regularly. Not sure what to say about kid friendliness. We got a couple free tickets to gulches of fun for our kids but then a worker yelled at them for walking down a short hill from our site to office so we could catch the trolley. She included the threat that she would make them leave the campground if they did it again. Bare in my mind that my husband had walked this hill himself several times. Aside from that our kids did think we had a great site because it overlooked gulches of fun amusement park. Why don't campgrounds ask what kind of site you would like? I guess in the end it worked for the short time we wanted to explore Deadwood, but the weird yelling at my kids will get NO recommendation from me. Thankfully we now have a full hard-sided camper as the park staff didn't enforce their own quiet hours. The first night we listened to one group party loudly until about 2:30 am. Alcohol in copious amounts seems to be popular in general for Deadwood. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Great park, fast internet, trolly to downtown, helpful host. Location was great for seeing the sights and casinos. We will definitely stay here again if we go back to Deadwood. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$90
We stayed here just prior to the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. There are some great spots that overlook the valley and the amusement park below. The owners are very friendly and accommodating of all of our needs. The Office is a stop on the local trolly route that goes downtown to the casinos. This is the cleanest and best laid out RV park in Deadwood, by far. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
Nice campground close to the amazing town of Deadwood. Great host, clean washrooms, nice swimming pool and deck. Internet was weak and camping spots were somewhat small. Great laundry area. Bus pickup to town and back. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
We enjoyed our stay at Whistlers. The "heated pool" was pretty cold when we jumped in at 7:30 PM on a hot day, but the kids loved it anyhow. The sites were okay...the bathrooms and showers were in excellent shape. Plenty of water pressure in the showers. Overall we enjoyed our one night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
Nice park...winds up the gulch...many pull-throughs, not real wide sites, but adequate. Friendly check in staff. Good 50 amp power. Strong water. AT&T cell strong, Verizon air card strong. DirectTV no problem. Decent fiberglass pool, too cool for me, but many were swimming. Large laundry. Sites were level. Very close to town..maybe a mile or so. We chose to drive in and park instead of taking trolley which does leave right from the park office ($1.00 each trip). Great location for visiting sites of Deadwood and surrounding area. We arrived in mid July without a reservation..no problem getting in. Definitely would return if we came back to this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
Beautiful campground set in a gulch. Nice long gravel pull-thru sites. Staff very friendly and helpful. The town trolly stops at the campground office and will take you to downtown Deadwood for $1 per person -- very nice feature if you do not want to unhook and parking in downtown Deadwood is extremely limited. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
We loved our stay at this RV park. It was beautiful and well maintained. The owner was kind and attentive. He was always busy and checked in with us every day to make sure we were doing okay. I would highly recommend this RV park to anyone visiting Deadwood and the surrounding area. The owner was also very knowledgeable of the history of Deadwood and told us many stories. We will definitely come here again. We were here for a six day Vietnam reunion, and the owner took care of our every need. There were four couples, and the owner kept the park open till our reunion was over. Again, I would highly recommend this beautiful RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
We hadn't expected to stay here twice during our summer travels, but ended up back in the Black Hills for the Labor Day Weekend. Because of this site's 90 day rule, I couldn't review this park again until now since I had reviewed it in July. For our July stay we were checked in by a young lady who gave us a pull through site about 1/3 of the way up the gulch. This time, an older gentleman who is either the owner or manager would not give us a pull through site. He said he didn't want to waste a PT site on a 32' RV without a toad. We were given a back in site which was against the hillside and we barely fit. My rear bumper was a foot from the hillside and the front bumper was only 2' off the road. The park had dozens of pull through sites available all weekend. I did not appreciate the manager's way of assigning sites. I've always enjoyed this park in the past, but this incident was a big negative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Wi-Fi not available at campsites due to weak/no signal. No cable TV but we were able to get a few TV channels using our antenna. Sites are well spaced but short. Gravel pads with grass between sites. Water pressure was very low causing us to use our water pump when additional pressure was needed. Campground was clean and the staff friendly. Would use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
We have stayed at this park several times and always enjoy it. The pull-through site we were assigned was long enough for motorhome and toad and was pretty level. The sites are gravel, but the roads within the park are paved. All the pull-through sites in this park are narrow, but there is adequate room for slides and awning. There was a caravan here during our stay, but the park was quiet. The park is on a hill, so it's quite a hike from the office to the upper sites in the park. All utilities and the Wi-Fi worked well. There is no cable TV and digital TV was iffy. We will stay at this park again when in the area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
I made a reservation here nearly a year ago because I knew we would be here over the Labor Day holiday. When we arrived, we found that the park had lost our reservation. Luckily, they were not anywhere near as busy as we thought. They initially placed us in a site that was just barely long enough for our 38 foot rig. Parking our towed car would have been very tricky. The site they placed us in had been reported a week earlier for power problems. Apparently no one bothered to fix the problems or check it. It could have burned out our appliances if we had not had a surge guard. The office staff was very nice about it and allowed us to move to another site. The best 50 amp sites were not available to us because a large group was coming in during our stay and wanted these sites - this after we made our reservation a year in advance! The site we ended up in was extremely narrow and not at all level, but we managed to get settled. The park says their water pressure exceeds 60 psi, but we are only getting about 20 psi in this site (234). Also, the Wi-Fi did not work at all. The further away from the main building you are, the worse it gets. The site we ended up in is waaaay up the canyon and around a corner from the office. We would not have rated this park as high as we did if it had not been for the scenery. We do have a great view down the steep little canyon. We will not be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
Convenient trolley to town but one can walk it because it only takes 15 minutes. Very nice park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is our first time at this park in at least 4 years and stayed 3 days. We had been staying at the KOA the last couple times we were in Deadwood because they have cable TV and this park does not. They do have full hookups and Wi-Fi and most sites are satellite friendly. As many have mentioned, the further you are up the gulch, the tougher the climb up to your site from the office and facilities (pool, laundry, bathrooms, trolley stop, etc.). If you are one of those folks who doesn't like to have to walk more than 50' to anything in a "flat" RV park, this is not the park for you. The gravel sites are decent but a bit on the narrow side - you won't be far from your neighbor. Slides and awnings make things even tighter. Now that I have satellite TV, this park is better for me because it is a closer and safer walk to town than from the KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Only two campgrounds near Deadwood, this one and a KOA. The KOA was full and we had a terrible time getting up the hill to it and back down. We came here and the check-in was slow. Tried to wait on three of us at the same time. Shuttle to town but it's a long walk to get to the office to catch it. Lot was gravel. Nothing special but best you can get for Deadwood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
Great park in a wonderful location. We paid the Escapee's discount rate and enjoyed our stay very much. We walked to Deadwood (downhill!) and took the trolley back to the park ($1.00 per trip and they run all day) into Deadwood. Friendly staff and easy in and out make it complete. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
Super friendly people at this park. You can walk to a couple of casinos down the hill. Shuttle to town runs like clock work. Will definitely be back. WiFi is fast, sites are a good size. Has manicured grass. They appreciate your business and it shows. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$41
We paid the rate of $41 per night for 6 nights and got the 7th night free. Although the sites were short, they provided an additional parking area for the truck. It's very convenient to Deadwood which explains the high camping fee. It is also across from the Mickelson Trail that is several miles long and is a good place to take a dog for a walk if you have one - or just go yourself. Management was friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
We stayed here for a few days in July 2009, and were very pleased. The camp was neat and clean, and the lady at the front desk was very charming. Our "Good Sam Club" membership saved us a few bucks from the normal rate, and being so close to downtown Deadwood was well worth the price. A shuttle came by every 30 minutes for a $1 ride downtown to invest substantially more at the gaming tables. Good WiFi if you park behind the lodge and swimming pool. We first parked up on the hill, but the signal from the internet antenna was blocked there by the main lodge building. No complaints, we're staying here again in 2010 and looking forward to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
It is in a central location to town. It is definitely overpriced as other 2009 review stated. Our $33 was the daily rate for a week. The sites were small but adequate with grass in between. We would probably consider a revisit except for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$46
Campground was nice, but overpriced. TV antenna reception was poor. We attempted unsuccessfully to make reservations by phone for two hours, by calling the only number listed in their ads in two different well-known campground directories. We always received their answering machine message, which had no option to leave a message for a return call. Finally we got a reservation (at an additional cost) by using a number on their website which turned out to be a booking service. Would not stay there again. Editor note: I just called the above listed number (605 578-2092) and got a live person who was making reservatons. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
We were assigned an upper level FHU. Very short, very NOISY, NO WiFi signal. Shuttle will not come out this far after 12pm, if you like to play cards until the wee hours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$49
Way overpriced ($49). We are in a campervan, and only using a full service site because our propane fridge has gone on the fritz. Our site is tiny, so small that they put the firepit on the hillside behind us at a 30 degree slope. It has a grill on it, but I dare you to try to use it. Worse, the campground is nearly empty, and there are much better sites vacant. We arrived at a few minutes after closing and the "host" couldn't wait to get rid of us. Unfortunately, we booked for 2 nights, (which our "host" went out of her way to pont out was non refundable) so we will let them soak us yet again tomorrow. As the saying goes, "Fool me once, shame on you." I do not know what the rest of the campgrounds are like in the vicinity, but I cannot imagine this is the best value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
The sites are a little small. Each site has a picnic table on a small patch of grass between the sites. The sites are pretty level. The wi-fi is good, and you’re within walking distance to downtown Deadwood which is about a mile away, or you can take the trolley car system that has a stop right at the park's clubhouse. It's $1 to ride into town if you don't want to walk, and it comes once an hour in the morning and twice an hour in the afternoons and evenings up until midnight. There is no cable TV in the park and because of the surrounding hills your antenna is almost worthless. They have high water pressure in the park, 60lbs and higher so make sure you have a water regulator. The laundry room was clean and more than enough washers and dryers to go around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$45
A nice clean park set in what I'd call a vertical valley. Not a level spot in the CG except for the sites themselves which are like a giant stairway making it's way up the hill between two mountains. Deadwood is a great town IF you like casinos. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
Nice park, and the closest campground to the town of Deadwood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
We were pleasantly surprised by this campground. The online pictures do not represent it well. The sites are not large, but large enough to sit outside and not feel too cramped. The views are lovely. The campground is nestled in a valley. We had plenty of space to walk our dogs. The SD trail system is right across the street from the campground. Deadwood is a mile down the road and you can catch a trolley that runs until midnight if you don't want to walk. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
This is a very nice campground. Deadwood is a city consisting of just casinos! There is very little else to do here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This is a good staging area site where the sites are adequate. Not a lot of campground amenities but convenient to Deadwood, Mount Rushmore and Hill City for the train ride. Showers nice and adequate, Laundry costs high. Over priced for what you get but I would stay here again if I come to Deadwood. Sites narrow. Staff helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
I gave this place an 8, not as much for the amenities - but because we didn't have ANY problems whatsoever. The sites were pretty level so we didn't spend much time getting situated. We were in Site #4. We had GREAT WiFi reception - faster than our cable modem at home even. We were able to get satellite without problems. I think that $33/night is a little high (that is with our AAA discount but it was Memorial weekend). However, it was the only RV park that was actually IN the town of Deadwood. All of the other parks we saw, even though they say that they're in Deadwood, are well outside of the length I am willing to travel to get to where I want to be - IN Deadwood. We have a motorhome and a motorcycle as our means of transportation. When the weather is bad, the last thing I want to do is ride on the bike or drag everything in to take the motorhome. Deadwood has a trolley car system (read: bus) that has a stop right at the park's clubhouse. It's $1 to ride into town if you don't want to walk and it comes once an hour in the morning and twice an hour in the afternoons and evenings up until midnight. The park is between 2 hillsides, a gulch. The sites ARE pretty tight as some other reviewers mentioned, however, we were here for 4 nights and the office seems to try to put rigs in every other site if possible. The small grassy area we had was at a decline so the picnic table that they provide was off kilter unless we put it on the gravel on the site next to us. There are fire rings - but we wouldn't have used it if there was someone in the next site because of the tight confines. One other thing that I found refreshing about this place is that there were no "RV Park Cops" - meaning, that there wasn't anyone walking around looking for something to gripe about. We have a small dog that is very well behaved and stays within the confines of our own site - but I hate putting her on a leash and there wasn't anyone yelling at me to tie her up. This park is also ATV friendly and there were several ADULT ATVers. Many RV parks won't even let you ride your ATV to the laundry room or just use the road to get outside of the park to play on your ATV. The park isn't all that scenic, but it's better than the "gravel park" types like some KOAs. The laundry room was clean and there were enough machines to go around. Again, the best thing I found about this park was the location, and no "RV Park cops" during our 4 night stay. Yes, I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2004
$18
Ok park. No trees to speak of. Nice people. Stayed two days just to see Deadwood and area. Typical resort blacktop park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Small sites we were in a 36 ft 5th wheel the first site they gave us we could not get into had to move to another.The campground is on hill side so no good for walking around.This park is a Enjoy America park but will only give you 1 night at 1/2 price and req you to stay 2 nights so it still costed us right around 50.00 for 2 nights after tax and all.The pool is really small but it is a good location to visit Deadwood which is a great place .Staff was not very friendly.I guess if i wonted to go back to Deadwood i would stay in this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$32
Nice, scenic CG, situated well above the local area. Nicely kept up and clean. Some sites are a tad smaller than what RVer's consider normal, so you have to be aware of slides when you position your rig, but not really a problem. Walking distance to downtown Deadwood (1 mile.) Shuttle service also. We have stayed here four times since 1997, and we'll be back! Hint: Don't take a site that has a manhole cover! (There are just a few.) Too odiforous! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com