219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Badlands / White River KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 92 user reviews. Phone: (605) 433-5337
CGID2580

Badlands / White River KOA

Camp Information
Sites
139
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   7   10   8   8   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Rate is with KOA 10% discount. An oasis in the Badlands. The KOA is approximately 5 miles from the entrance to Badlands National Park. Our site (#15) was well shaded from afternoon sun. All services worked well. Ordered Indian tacos and pulled pork sandwiches from the Kook Shack and enjoyed both. We stayed for 3 nights while touring the Badlands. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
Nice campground. Plenty of room. Nice pool, clean washrooms, friendly staff. Good cheap breakfast. Close to Badlands loop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
In the past I have not had very good experiences with KOA campgrounds but this location is Excellent. Staff very nice, facilities are spotless, plenty of activities at the campground - swimming pool, miniature golf, volleyball and of course the Badlands are nearby to explore. My site was level with a nice grassy area to enjoy the picnic table. There is plenty of space to walk the dog and they have an off leash park for the four paws to play. I usually fix my meals in my RV, but I decided to try the Indian Taco for dinner and it was delicious. They have a nice little cafe offering quick meals for breakfast and dinner at reasonable price and plenty of food. Picked up dinner after finishing the laundry and had a nice relaxing evening. I would stay at this campground again and would make it a destination park, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$43
This park is located about 4 miles south of the Badlands National Park main entrance off Highway 44. If you access the park via I-90 exit 131 you will pass through the National Park. If you advise that you are just passing through they will allow you to pass no charge. There are very few RV campground choices in this area and this park rate reflects that. This is a typical KOA, with gravel roads and sites. WiFi almost worked some of the time. Be aware that there is no cell service within this campground, though there is one working pay phone within the park. Cell service is available within much of the National Park. The park cable TV consists of 13 analog channels. A few of the sites may provide satellite access and if needed specify by phone to the camp ground well before your arrival. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
This KOA park is one of the most beautiful we have ever stayed in. It is located in a wooded area along the White River on the edge of the Badlands. The sites are gravel, long, and have a nice grassy area around each one. There are a variety of sites including full hook up with pull-throughs, cable and Wi-Fi. The grounds are immaculate and there are lot of amenities including a pool, playground and pet area. Finding a shaded spot in the Badlands is quite a bonus and you are only 4 miles from the entrance to the national park. The staff is quite helpful. We had a problem with our cable hook-up and two maintenance men came to our site within minutes to help us fix the problem. We only stayed here for one night due to commitments elsewhere, but we would definitely return again and plan to extend our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Rate is based on KOA discount. Our park rating is based on a "destination" location. The park offers excellent hookups, adequate spacing (far better than most KOAs), level gravel pads, beautiful cottonwood shade, and good 12 channel cable. The park offers some cooked meals at the office, but we didn't try them. The pool looked very nice and a nice size. Wi-Fi was good, but our Verizon cell reception did not exist for phone calls. There was just enough signal so we could text if we wanted. The park is conveniently located 4 1/2 miles from the south entrance to the Badlands National Park. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
We stayed here in May, drove through the campground to our spot and were happy to see the campground virtually empty. Only a handful of RVs were parked. Our campground was perfect and right across the driveway from the huge dog park and not far from the playground. The campground owners and workampers were very friendly and helpful. We had two packages delivered during our stay and both times the owner of the KOA was very friendly. We had full hookups during our stay. The spots are tight together but you get enough grass to play outside. There was a newish picnic table and the whole KOA is well shaded. There is a large tent camping area in the back. There is no cable TV, but who cares, right? Would I recommend this park? Yes. Would we come back? Yes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
This campground is situated in an open grove on a flat along the White River a couple of miles east of the town of Interior, SD. The gravel spaces are level, with surrounding grassy areas . The staff were friendly and helpful; the restrooms were fine. The campground is quiet. I did not try the Wi-Fi. Cell phone reception is very poor; you may need to go up to the road to make calls. We stayed in an Aliner popup on September 13th, 2013 and were planning on staying the 14th ( which would have been a free night), but had another commitment come up, so we only stayed one night. The rate was $26 for the one night with a KOA card. We would definitely stay there again when we return to the Badlands area in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We spent three nights in this very nice clean KOA. The location is prefect for a visit to the badlands. Sites are a bit short, but that seems to be typical of KOA's in general. Good power and services. Very good Wi-Fi. This is a professional, well run operation. Grounds spotless, so we assume the restrooms were as well. Great fried dough with ice cream served in the cook shack! Don't know if it is the season or the area, but there sure were lots of flies and mosquitoes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
The sites were so roomy and the price so reasonable, we were frankly surprised this was a KOA. About half the sites have mature trees. Clean bathrooms and showers. While Verizon voice and data are non-existent, we were impressed that they advised us of that up-front when we made our reservations (how unusually honest, huh?). Their Tengo Internet Wi-Fi, however, is excellent (we had trouble with it at first, and the owner offered suggestions; then it was screaming fast)! Both owners are delightful and helpful. There were too many flies and mosquitoes for us, but we hear this year was an anomaly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
This is a good KOA. Great staff, clean sites. Roads are gravel, but drain well. If you are seeing the Badlands, this is the place. It is about 25 minutes off the Interstate, but you are close to the badlands. If you come in from the east you actually drive through the Badlands. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Beautiful, shaded oasis next to the Badlands. Very clean. Nice large sites for a KOA. Large grounds and a wonderful enclosed "dog park". Would be a 10 except very poor cell service and poor wi-fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Flat gravel sites with shade. Very nice campground with usable Wi-Fi. There was NO voice or data cell service available for Verizon unless you had an external antenna and signal booster (like the Sleek). I would stay there again if in the area. Very friendly folks in the office. Rate is for a long, full service 50 amp site with cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Owners were very friendly and helpful. The sites are gravel, but level and large enough for big rigs. We always look for that as we are a 45 ft motor home. The weather was bad while we were here, so we did not use the pool. We saw them cleaning it in anticipation of the Memorial Day weekend coming up. They have all the amenities, but we did not get a chance to use them. Nice location for driving around the Badlands. We would stay here again, if in the area. The other campgrounds were rustic and quite muddy with all the rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
This is 2nd time we have used badlands KOA as home base to tour the sites. The new owners are friendly and working on the grounds constantly. There is a large dog park with a cool down tub. Wifi was excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
We camped here for two nights as a base camp while visiting the Badlands and the city of Wall. The entire state is in a drought and this was evident in the surroundings and the camp. The sight we had was somewhat hard to get into for a pull through but adequate. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful checking on us from time to time. Very quite and peaceful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
Large, well kept and mostly wooded park. Clean and staff was very nice. Understand this is their first season as owners and they are really trying to make it all right with everyone, I think. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
Just on the edges on the Badlands National Park, shady and flat, this is a lovely campground. The kids used the pool and the three-wheelers. The people were very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Rate was 30 amp E/W only site. Pplan on another $10 for 50 amp, full hookup & cable. KOA is south of Badlands N.P. so you have to pay Park admission first, but as others have noted, so well worth it and the pass is good for a week. Campground is located in a grove of trees, thus the shade. It's the only shaded campground in Badlands that we noticed. Almost every site is a pull through. Site types are mixed in some areas so we had a tent on one side of us. We were on a 30 amp and the next unit in line was 50 amp. They have pool and playground, laundry, dog run. It is a good size area, not a little Kamp K9 like many KOA's. Big dogs can enjoy this one). Kamp Kitchen offers breakfast or dinner (we didn't try), free Wi-Fi (very slow, but it was free). Campground store offers standard offerings. If you need to use your cellphone, you'll have to take a walk up the hill across the street or a drive towards town. Very quiet location, seems good for families. A lot of folks just came for 1 night: Badlands is so neat you should give yourself more time and do at least 2 nights in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
Very typical KOA with all expected amenities. Glad to have solid 50 amp service when temps are over 100F. Has good shade and very pet friendly. New management since our last visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
Our GPS led us through the Badlands State Park. At first we were remiss that we had to pay the 15.00 dollars to get to the campground, but it was well worth it. The scenery just outside the campground is breathtaking. The sites were large and the trees ( the only trees within 50 miles) made the campground that much more comfortable. The staff was very nice. We would camp here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
This is our first KOA. We were extremely pleased with the friendly staff and managers. We had site 2 which was an adequate pull through for 35' travel trailer and pickup. Plenty of shade. This a very family friendly park with lots for the kids to do. We didn't use the cable TV or Wi-Fi all that much as we spent the time touring the Badlands and Wall Drug. The location is a little off the beaten path, we drove through the Badlands to finally arrive at the CG, but once we were there we decided to stay an extra 2 nights. It would have been very peaceful except for a thunderstorm with hail and high winds (no fault of the CG). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Great area in the badlands. Close to park and badlands but nestled in an quiet pretty setting. Friendly helpful hosts with adequate grocery and gift store. Skip the breakfast. Not very good and cold coffee! But otherwise great stay and would stay here again. Cell phones do not work in campground, but can get reception if you hike up to road. Also Internet reception intermittent. Nice pool, laundry, playground, and pet areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
This park was OK; not great, not horrible. The cable was our biggest disappointment. There were only 12 channels, and I think we paid extra for it (but I could be wrong). The Wi-Fi was rather weak at our site. The pool was full of cottonwood seeds, but our grandson enjoyed it anyway. The park is further back than we anticipated, but no problem. We enjoyed the area very much. We thought this park was way overpriced for what we got. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Nice park at good location to see the Badlands. We had a nice quiet spot and no problems while we visited. The new owners were really nice and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$46
This was a great campground. The folks were nice and escorted us to our site. It also had a dog run as well as nice facilities. It had many trees which made for a pretty campground and lots of shade. It was a good campground for visiting the Badlands which is about 5 miles down the road. We would use this campsite again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Nice park, well maintained, helpful staff, gravel sites but level, nice dog walk, clean overall park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Nice RV park with shade available. Friendly campground staff. Pool was nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Very nice KOA facility. All was fine until I noticed unauthorized charges appearing on my credit card. The lady in charge was very mean and nasty when I requested that the erroneous charges be removed. The charges were removed, but I was asked to leave the park in a very mean and rude fashion. I must caution all to watch for unauthorized charges on the credit card given this facility. When questioned as to the basis for asking me to leave, I was told they could ask me to leave for no reason or if they just didn't like me. The management at this park is in severe need of customer service training. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$77
Very nice campground. Would definitely stay there again. Very clean bathroom facilities. Great fenced in dog area with a dog wash. Easy to get in and out of. Nicely shaded pull throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
This was our second stay here in a year. This is a very well maintained campground with lots of much appreciated shade trees. The kids enjoyed the pool, bike rentals and the play ground. The Indian tacos for dinner were a hit again this time. We would definitely stay here again when travelling through the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
Rate reflects 50 amp site and tax. This is a nice campground, for sure, but KOA's are always more expensive than most. The Wi-Fi was generally good, but bogged down in the evening. There were about 13 cable channels provided with our site (#76) and we had shade which was nice. Our kids are grown, but this would be a great place to bring kids with so many activities in the park. I asked a guy about the laundry room and he said it was fine, but really hot in there, so I decided not to do laundry. Also, there are MAJOR mosquitoes here due to the proximity to the river, I assume. It was very quiet and all of the big cottonwood trees provide a lot of shade. The 50 amp sites are along the back of the park and close to the dog run and laundry. Our ATT phones did not really work and our Verizon MiFi didn't either. However, once you get near Rapid City, they both worked very well. Probably the nicest and most quiet park in the area with shade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$46
We stayed just one night, but enjoyed it. Nicely kept place, lots of shade. Nice folks with an inexpensive pancake breakfast deal in the AM. Good idea, cause it's a long way to restaurants/stores. 1st week in June it was still chilly at night and no bug problems. We would definitely stop again. Badlands NP is cool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
From the beautiful landscaping and greeting by our hosts we were pleased with out choice, nice that they lead you to your site. Quiet area, sites are decent size but bring plenty of bug spray. I assumed we would be on the river, however we had a berm between us so that was disappointing. Great place to stay when you want to tour the Bad Lands. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
People are very friendly and guide you to your site. Sites are level and we had a nice pull through. The pancake breakfast and Indian taco suppers are excellent. Nice and quiet. Well maintained. Good walking. The only negative is that the roads are not paved. This is on the outskirts of the Badlands so you won't find restaurants close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
We're not big KOA fans generally, but this is a really fine campground. Huge sites, two nice bath/shower facilities, large campground with lots of room, breakfast and dinner specials, mini golf, and just a little way to the beautiful Badlands NP. Also very friendly folks. We'd definitely return here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Friendly people run this KOA. Sites are comfortable, shaded, pleasant. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
The grounds and all buildings were clean. The dog exercise area is large with several dog agility obstacles. The manager was friendly and helpful. The campgrounds are a short drive from Badlands National Park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
Nice park with friendly staff. A little off the usual trip route, but worth it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Friendly and helpful managers. Flat campsites. Although in the middle of nowhere - it's only 4 miles from the Badlands. Appealing campground - this campground could be a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$44
This is an older KOA which has won a lot of awards and has newer infrastructure (power pedestals, sewer connections, water lines) but appears a bit outdated in terms of layout. Interior roads and sites are all gravel and fairly narrow, with close spacing and lots of tree branches that could use trimming. There are very few spots that are satellite-friendly. It's popular with vacationers touring the nearby Badlands National Park, and there were relatively few perma-rigs present. The pool is large and popular. Given the hot weather, we did have some issues with power voltage drops; we were not able to run all of our A/C units at the same time on 50A power. Park Wi-Fi was reasonably stable although not particularly speedy. Verizon service was non-existent in the Park (staff warned us about this at check-in) but OK about 1/2 mile away. The rate noted reflects the 10% "KOA Kard" discount. This was a reasonable place to stay for visiting the Badlands, and KOAs are a known quantity so it was a good choice for a first visit to the area, but not the best value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
This is a very nice park. It has everything you could want with the exception water front sites. The power, water, Wi-Fi, etc all work well. There is lots of shade and the staff is friendly. The only things that keeps this park from being a 10 to me are paved pads and screening between sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
This is a very nice campground: what you would expect from a well run KOA. Great Wi-Fi and limited cable TV. It was really hot here and we had to be careful while the A/C was running as the voltage (30 amp) was close to the red line. The park is not far from the Badlands park but be sure that you have all the groceries/supplies that you might need as there isn't much around here. Diesel was very high when compared to other areas off of I-90. 2 days in 100 degree heat here was enough. I think that a previous low review wasn't for this park as the owner has been here for over 7 years and he seems to be a very nice person and everyone who works here, lives on-site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$44
This park is nice and shaded, the Wi-Fi works great, the pool was clean, food was good, and the spots were large. I liked it here: a lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
This is a very nice campground. We had a nice end spot pull through. Was very quiet, well maintained and no bugs. The staff was very friendly. Close to the Badlands. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Stayed just one night as an overnight stop. Friendly staff. Nice level site with shade trees. They offer an Indian taco dinner for $6.25, which is a nice idea but the wait time was quite long considering everyone pre-orders. Also, they are very skimpy on the meat, you couldn't even taste it. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Nice KOA with the standard features. Everything was clean. We had a pull through site with plenty of room. Good shade and helpful people working there. Be sure to check out the bridge over the White River since there are hundreds of swallow nests under the bridge. Oh, lots of mosquitoes so be prepared. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
We stayed here one night on our way to the Black Hills. It's a very nice oasis in the middle of the Badlands. It was 100 degrees the day we pulled and our site was completely shaded. Park is in great shape and the bathrooms/showers were clean and modern. Sites are a little tight but not nearly as tight as some we've encountered. We had the Indian Tacos for dinner and everyone enjoyed them. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Very good for families with children (pools, playground, bikes, mini-golf), All gravel roads and sites. Great pancake breakfast and Indian Taco suppers offered daily at a modest cost. Our rig is a 40 ft fifth wheel and they provided a good site with no problems getting in and out. Unfortunately there are no good restaurants within 20 - 30 miles. Only issue we had was that we arrived early and the office staff wasn't all that accommodating in knowing where we could park until our site was ready. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
We had a pull-through end site with full hook-ups. Shaded and okay space between sites. Lots of motorhomes and trailers in the campground. There was a separate area for tents. Very friendly/helpful hosts who took pride in their camgground. Very clean bathrooms/showers. A nice good-size pool. Close to the national park. Overall good value for the rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
Wonderful, shady oasis in the Badlands. Roads are good for big rigs; sites are long. The pool was nice. Played mini golf. Staff responded quickly to branches that were rubbing on the coach. Enjoyed the easy access to the Badlands from here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
We stayed here with two grand children so the price was higher. All of the hookups were very good. The staff was very helpful. The "all you can eat" pancake breakfast was super for $4. The park is close enough to the Badlands National Park to make travel through it easy. There is no cell phone service here but the WiFi service in the park kept us in communication with family members. We would stay here again except we thought the cost was pretty high, so we might stay in the National Park campground instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
This is a comfortable, clean, and friendly park very convenient to the Badlands road. We were all alone in the early AM on our drive out, it was very nice. We were parked on the end, and facing opposite all the other trailers on the row. The 30A plug was being used by our neighbor and the owners lent us a 50/30 adaptor without hesitation. Pool was nice and clean, staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Great campground with very friendly people. Sites were level and clean. My only complaint was a bass CD on continuous loop in the restrooms. Cannot wait to go back!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
Very nice KOA with friendly owners, however they did not escort us to our sites. Sites are large with concrete slabs. Good internet, wide roads. We have a 40 ft motor home and had plenty of room for slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Very friendly and helpful staff. Moved us to a more open site which had more room. Good location for the Badlands Park but some of the sites are quite close together and we had a neighbor running a generator for a few hours one evening which was very noisy. Overall the site was well maintained and good with every service provided, including pancake breakfast and cooked suppers, which we didn't have. As with most KOA Campgrounds this is expensive. Wi-Fi ok but a bit slow when campground is busy. Showers and Restrooms clean but could do with updating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
We stayed here for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. We had a nice, shady pull-through site with plenty of room on both sides so as not to feel cramped. A golf cart escort to the site was nice. Be aware that this campground requires you to drive part way through the Badlands National Park if you are coming via I-90. There are well located services including wi-fi at the office. It is a very pleasant campground. All sites were level and well-graveled. Be sure to visit the Wall Drugstore as part of your experience here. I would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is our favorite KOA. We love the badlands, but what makes this campground unique is the grove of trees it has to offer. Having shade in the badlands is a luxury, and this campground has it. Wonderful, large shady sites, clean pool, friendly staff, clean bathhouses. We even saw some very nice facilities for tent campers. Why stay in the National Park with no shade and exposed to the winds when you have a place like this? WOW! Love it, this was a second stay and we'll be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Excellent, convenient campground close to Badlands National Park. Kids enjoyed the clean pool and playground. Wi-Fi worked well from both the pool side and our site. However, we had poor Verizon cel phone coverage in the area. We stayed here two nights while sightseeing in Badlands: perfect! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
The campground was clean, big, a nice place for evening walks. There are friendly people, and a nice swimming pool. They let our grandson ride an ATV very slowly around the park and he loved that. The area has nothing in it but the Badlands National Park, but that is what we came to do and see, so from this site we did the park twice and we did venture to Wall and the famous drugstore there. We stayed 2 nights, there wasn't enough in the area to keep us there any longer than that. The population of Interior SD is 67! It is tiny. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
This is a really nice KOA located very close to the Badlands National Park. We enjoyed lots of shade and plenty of space for our camper and vehicle, friendly staff, swimming and mini golf. The sites are level and easy to get in and out of. The showers and restrooms were clean. This is actually our 2nd time here in 6 years. The family enjoyed the pancake breakfast available for purchase. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Lots of shade, flat sites, friendly hosts. Food available in the morning and evening. Decently sized pool. Wi-fi was not the best, non-existent sometimes, fast others. It's about a 5 minute drive to the national park entrance. Bathrooms are above average for a KOA. Quite a value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is a nice shady campground with reasonably sized pull through sites. The Badlands is a wonderful place to visit for a day or two. It can get HOT and the shade is nice. We would stay here again if we revisit the Badlands. There are two ways to get to Interior from I90. I suggest that the Eastern most route is easier with only one big hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Overall the KOA was OK. Only issue for me was the bathroom/showers. Grab bars don't make wheelchair accessible. Although, the door to the bathroom was wide enough, neither the toilet stall or the shower stall was. The sinks were built over cabinets, so no leg room. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
Large KOA. Roads and site are gravel. Site level and good for satellite. Wireless works. Good location to tour the Badlands. Campground needs some attention. Grass needed to be cut and was loaded with dandelions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$41
This KOA has won numerous President's Awards for good reason. It is a well managed park with outstanding amenities. The shaded sites are well laid out with plenty of room between them. The current managers are former owners of the CG and have the pride of ownership in how they maintain the park and treat their customers. In the hot summer months you will appreciate the shade - something other area CGs don't have. If you are planning your stay June - September book well in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Nice park very close to the beautiful Badlands but there isn't much else around. The sites are nice sized and all are quite level and well shaded. Great dog run and exercise area, probably the best we've seen and staff is very friendly. Would camp here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$41
This is the best campground in the area. It has all the amenities and is very well maintained. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
A very well maintained park, and Joe, the owner does a great job of customer service. We used the park to explore the Badlands. The only drawback during this visit was the White River, which runs right next to the park had water in it. That provided a bumper crop of mosquitos. So much in fact that we left earlier than planned. I would stay here again at a different time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This was a clean and well kept campground in the middle of no where, but close to the Badlands with plenty of shade trees. We reserved a pull through site so that we would not have to disconnect our car as we were only staying one night. However, the sewer connection was so far away from the water and electric connection that we had to disconnect our car in order to accommodate all hookups, that was the only negative. They served a Native Taco for dinner that was not only delicious, but huge. We would stay here again, even with the funny hookup situation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
For only staying one night, this campgrounds was more than acceptable. Standard KOA features. Everything we saw was clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
Signage to campground good. Wide entrance to campground. Area to park and register. Owners friendly and efficient. Escort to site. Access road wide and well maintained. Wide gravel and grass sites with some trees. Hook-ups well located. Excellent dog run. Wi-Fi worked well. Location miles from anywhere but close to Badlands National Park. Quiet location next to White River. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Very nice; quiet this time of year. Friendly and well kept. Two small negatives: because of the fire rings and ample supply of wood, nearly every night there was wood smoke from someone's campfire. If you're allergic or simply don't like strong smoke smell, this could be a problem. Second, the laundry facilities are limited, although clean. Very family friendly, with lots of children -- an advantage or disadvantage, depending on whether you travel with children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$43
Nice campground, helpful owner and staff. Exactly what we expected. The views of the badlands were limited, but not really expected. Nice layout of campground, many trees in a desert like area. Good shade and spacious sites. We didn't try the food they make, only because we didn't get a chance, was nice they provide something in such a desolate region. We had originally made a reservation for 5 days, but had seen and done everything within 3 days, and they graciously refunded us for our early departure. Badland are very unique and the campground suited the area well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
I have been here several times in the past and spent a weekend here in mid-July. As expected the park was full both nights, but had an enjoyable stay in spite of the crowd - probably 400 customers in the park. Good facilities - full hook-ups, pool, cable a bit limited, and WIFI. Best park to use as a base for the Badlands if you are going to spend a couple days exploring the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
Wonderful campground. Very clean with a great pool. Large sites with trees. Very friendly staff. My daughter was having trouble with her braces and they got right online to try and find a local orthodontist. We did not use the showers or laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This was a very well run RV Park and the people were very friendly. I would highly recommend this park. The Badlands is an excellent place to spend a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
One of the nicest campgrounds we've been to. Quite a surprise to find such a shady spot in the Badlands. In a grove of mature cottonwoods, so every site has lots of shade. This is very welcomed in the summer. Very spacious park and even the non-premium sites had plenty of room. Huge fenced in pet area is great. There is a knowledgable and friendly staff and the location is just a few miles outside the national park gate. The town of Interior has a population of 67 and not much in the way of groceries, so stock up before you arrive. Our only real negative was that it was a bit pricey, but we don't mind that so much when we get a nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
Nice park. In a valley out of the wind. Nestled in the trees. The pride of the hosts shows. Everything is neat and clean. The WiFi is quite good. The only thing we could not do is use our cell phones. The camp has received the KOA President's award for four years. Definitely not the usual crowded KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$43
Tight (even for KOA's) and remote-- but shady. As usual at KOA sewer is extra, TV is extra, WIFI (when available extra)etc; I thought our rate was a bit pricy even for KOA though, without sewer or TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
This was our first big stop after 4 days on the road. It was great! We needed to have a place to relax and shake the road dust off and this was the place to do it. We used the pool, showers and the laundry, all were in very good shape and clean. The staff is very nice and were very visible and hard working. Our site was a double, which gave us plenty of elbow room. Great quiet location 5 miles from the Badlands National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Nice park with good shade spots. A little off the beaten path but if you want quiet that's OK. Good WiFi reception if you're close to the main building. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
WONDERFUL!!Check-in a breeze and received a beautiful pull-through site with shade. Only different thing was sewer on 1 side & rest of hookups on other but it worked. WiFi superb. They have dinner and breakfast and we had the dinner (Native American tacos) with dessert for $18 and it was delicious. I would suggest this KOA to anyone who wants to tour the Badlands for several days. Only drawback is it is not near shopping to restock on food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
This KOA proved to be better than expected given it's in the rather remote heart of the Badlands. Gravel access roads and sites. In the KOA tradition, the sites are narrower than I would like. Our pull-through site was only about 45' feet long and I had to park our towed vehicle in an adjacent site. This would not have been an option in high season. People were nice and cable TV was included free as I am a KOA Club Member. 50 AMP power was welcome and rock solid. We stayed one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$23
This is by far the best campground in the area. Large campground with good variety of sites, from tent sites with no utilities to full hookups, plus quite a few cabins. Nice shade from cottonwoods & other medium-sized trees, and sites are reasonably wide for a private campground of this type. Bathrooms very clean, laundry also (and not terribly expensive). Owners live on site and are friendly and helpful. Playground equipment old but kept up, and during the season some limited food service available. The only drawback is the long distance to other services (true of everything in/near the Badlands, however). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Beautiful park with easy access to wonderful Badlands National Park. Also easy to enter park/sites with a big rig. Parking/distance/privacy from neighboring campers was just perfect. They provided wonderful internet access free in their office. Very helpful/friendly customer service! We will definitely stay here on our next trip out west We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
Good base campground to see the sights of the Badlands. There is a dog corral. The owners keep the campground very clean. For the area, this is the best place to park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
Excellent campground and very nice operators. This is absolutely the best campground in the Badlands area. Facilities are top notch. Only one TV station can be received at present (PBS), but the coaxial cable is already in place for cable channels. This campground is secluded, so don't expect a fast-food restaurant just around the corner. That may be its greatest asset. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$29
This is a great campground. It's 15 miles off I90, but worth the drive. To get to the campground you pass through the Badlands National Park. The scenery is beautiful. The campground is well shaded and very quiet. When we were there the White River was up due to rain, and it is white. This campground has new owners as of two years ago. All of the facilities seemed in good condition. We don't have pets but I noticed a huge dogwalk that was fenced in. The only sites that are right on the river are tent sites and a few cabins. They sell a pancake breakfast each morning, it was cheaper than a restaurant but a bit more than I expected to pay for a campground breakfast, but it was still good. This is an ideal spot to decompress if you are returning from the tourist trap that is the Black Hills, but it's also a worthy destination in it's own right. I have to commend the owners on helping me when I had a blowout on the camper - I called them from the interstate and they looked up a wrecker service for me, very nice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2004
$25
This is by far the nicest campground near the Badlands. The park was very clean and well maintained. It is few miles off I-90 but to us that was a plus. The park was very quite and the staff was very friendly. The park only has 30 amp. service but we were only there three days and it was not real hot. The only draw back to this park would be grocery shopping. It is not near any cities. Our recommendation is to definitely stay here, but shop before you arrive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$21
I stayed here for the annual Sturgis rally and I really enjoyed it. It was a little out of the way, but we made reservations a month before hand, so I did not mind. If ever there was a peaceful, relaxed, quiet, out-of-the-way campground, this is it. The white river was little more than a mud-hole, so that was a little deceptive (but not at the fault of the campground). Other than that, the area was beautiful. The showers and bathrooms were very clean. Our cabin looked brand-new. The general store was more than adequate. The pancake breakfast was great. The staff/owners were very very friendly. I would and will stay here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabins.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Probably the best campground in the Badlands. Lots of trees, bugs, kids. Busy place with nice pool, bike rentals, mini golf. If you're stopping at the Badlands and need a place to stay, this will do. Very buggy in June! Friendly & helpful owners. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com