206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Happy Holiday Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 57 user reviews. Phone: (605) 342-7365
CGID2595

Happy Holiday Resort

Camp Information
Sites
202
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   9   9   2   7   6   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
Low rating is due to overall up keep of the park. I realize this was out of season and after the snow storm. The laundry room was nasty, vents had not been cleaned out, not dusted and overall lack of cleanliness. The bathrooms had several stalls and showers out of service. Walls in stalls have not been wiped down. Spaces are very tight, there were long term people right up front that looked liked yard sales. Cable is an extra fee. I felt that with the off season and overall cleanliness of park the rate was too high. Only stayed so I could get my drivers license. Would not stay here again. If this park was full it would be extremely difficult to get in/out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
We were here for almost 2 weeks. The manager and work campers were all really friendly and very helpful. We ended up staying a week longer than planned due to needing a repair service. They were great about letting us move our food into the cooler in the office / gift shop while the fridge was being repaired. Our rate reflected the "friend and family" rate that the work campers could offer to friends. This is a nice, older park with lots of trees. Nice covered picnic tables between each site. Several other reviews mentioned issues with the trees. It's a little tight to maneuver with a large rig, but definitely do-able. I would not want to be here (or anywhere in the Black Hills ) during Sturgis Rally, but while we were here we didn't see any issues with people having trouble getting into or out of their sites. Again, the work campers were great at guiding people in and providing advice and help. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Really enjoyed our time here. Stayed 2 nights. Wi-Fi was excellent, laundry very good. Bathrooms a bit old but always clean and tidy. The sites are a little tight, yes, but each site has its own little side undercover area with picnic table which was great. Pool nice. The staff were friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We have been here about 2 months. It is an older park and some spaces are tight, but we had no problem parking our 38' MH. There are several workcampers who clean and police the area and park the vehicles. Our neighbors, as well as the staff, are friendly. They have a store that has many necessities. Many spaces have covered, open shelters with two picnic tables and fire pits. They have a game room, heated swimming pool and hot tub, showers, and laundry room. Also on the property they have cabins and a motel. We have enjoyed our stay here and will come back when we are in this area again. The park is very close to major attractions and there are shopping centers near by. Very convenient location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Our stay here left much to be desired. Upon arrival we waited 30 minutes to be shown to our site. When we pulled into a very narrow, unlevel site, there was significant mud where the entry door side is located. We asked if we could be moved across the road to a better site and were told all sites across the road were reserved. In three days, no one arrived on those sites. The bathrooms were dated and worse; dirty. On day two our electric cut off. In addition, the pool was so crowded it was impossible to swim. When we stated that we were leaving one day early, we were told "no refunds". Finally, the manager said he would return one day. This is yet to be done. Anyone who is planning to stay here, be forewarned there is little accountability. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Nice park with grass, trees, clean restrooms, and clean laundry. The sites and access are extremely tight and the resort guides you in. Big rigs here, but not a lot of room to maneuver. An incoming 5th wheel had it's awning damaged by a tree limb when attempting to turn into a spot. It's a challenge to get satellite but cable TV is available for an extra fee. Overall nice and quiet and convenient. If easier to navigate through, would've rated a 9 or 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
They advertise this as a big rig campground, but it is NOT. We saw three motorhomes and two fifth wheels get damaged while they were trying to get into their sites. Did I say this was a tight campground: very, very tight. It is NOT a big rig campground. The staff didn't know much about the area, but were courteous. There is absolutely no security. One night after ten, there were unruly people in the campground; going between rigs trying to open the doors to vehicles, drinking beer, and looking inside rigs. This was between 10 and midnight; campers could not get in touch with anyone in the office, so the sheriff was called: twice, before order was restored. Once you were in your site, the sites were level, but usually you could not open awnings or sometimes doors because of either a telephone pole or cabana in the way. Did I say the sites were tight? The laundry was clean and usable, albeit, many flies inside. Voltage was low on one leg on our 50 amp site. We will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
We stayed in this RV park for a week and were very happy with our stay. The sites are close, but we have a 40 ft. fifth wheel with 3 slides and they accommodated us nicely. Our site was next to the main road entering the campground and we had a covered picnic table. Their WI-FI is very slow most of the time, but considering that the park is surrounded by the Black Hills is a big part of the reason. They have a very nicely stocked store/office and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Cable TV is available for $14 a week and we had very good reception. Amenities include a swimming pool, basket ball courts, playground and a game room. Their laundry facility is okay, but July is the hottest month and it is not air conditioned. The door was propped open and there were a ton of flies inside, so we were not able to stay inside while doing our wash. There are a couple of benches outside the building. Inside the store/office is a small pub with a couple of slot machines. We would stay in this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
These nice folks took us in at the last minute when we were turned out by another campground. This is an older property, laid out before the day of the big rigs, with some conventional pull-through sites and many side-by-side setups which are very, very difficult in which to park a big fifth wheel or motor home. Roads are rough and sites are level gravel. Laundry room was excellent, as is the Wi-Fi. Verizon coverage was good, but not T-Mobile. Staff is very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is a very nice and shady camp ground. the Rest rooms and showers were very clean. Wi-Fi was quite good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
The camp is old, but adequate. The spaces are well shaded, but close. There are lots of class A's in here, so it can be done. As stated before, this camp is showing its age, but it will do. Location is good with it being right across the road from Reptile Gardens, close to Rapid City and just 20 miles from Rushmore. We spent three nights here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
We pulled this campground up on the internet and saw the covered tables which looked really nice. We went after Labor Day so it would not be as busy. Plenty of sites available, but we were given one with out the cover table even though plenty were empty. We were under an apple tree that was dropping rotten apples and birds had been in the tree eating worms and our table was covered with bird waste and could not use it. Major disappointment - would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
This was a nice campground at one time but is declining. They have a very large laundry with two real large front loading commercial dryers along with regular size dryers. The rest rooms were out dated and were not the cleanest. They had pumps for gas but they were not sell gas or diesel products. They didn't really have adequate parking for cars pulled by longer RV's. The staff was very friendly. Their Wi-Fi was very iffy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We really liked the ambiance of this park. Lots of mature trees, pool, store, propane and great location to see the local sights. As others have commented, the sites are tight. We have a 39' fifth wheel and did not have any problems, but recommend parking in a site adjacent to the primary campground roads to ensure easy departure. Our truck was parked across the front of our trailer, like most others in this campground. Sites are not big enough to allow the truck to remain hooked up while parked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$62
Our $62 rate includes tax and was far too much for this park. Yes, the web site photos are misleading. They were taken X years ago when the park was new/refurbished. Now the trees are large and the place is a touch scruffy. The covered picnic tables were appreciated, but the park was difficult to get around with a big rig and the space between sites was limited. Cable selection was just fine, but Internet wasn't consistent. At one stage all power and cable went out. The laundry had adequate machines. The bathrooms were dated. This park is about 8 miles south of Rapid City so it is quite a drive to get food supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Way over priced for what you get, but you are in Rapid City. Not any places to walk to for food but an over-priced dirt floored chuck wagon across the 4 lane highway. Called and asked for a pool and they said they did then got there and it was closed for repair! Rather rude front lady, acts very pompous! Wasn't helpful in getting or helping us find food until escort guy suggested pizza then it was like pulling teeth for her to get us a number, she plopped the phone book and walked away...pizza hut delivers but not Rapid City's...the cable-$3/night and it didn't work...escort guy came down with his TV and surprisingly it worked but we got conned out of $3, everywhere we went before and after it worked perfectly! You also are on top of your neighbor...way too packed in and the park needs to reinvest some $ back into it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$39
The campground was OK but their advertising honesty leaves a lot to be desired. The heated pool and spa was still closed when we left, after the Memorial Day weekend. If the heated pool/sp is seasonal their ads should so state. They charge $3/night extra if you want cable. The WiFi is almost non-existent. You can sometimes make a connection and twice during our 4 days there the connection speeds were acceptable. The reminder of the time I connected using my phone. We paid $39.17 per night, including tax, with Goods Sam discount but without the $3/day fee for cable. We camped in a 40' class A. If the place was full it would be very tight getting in and out of the area where we were parked. On the positive. There was a nice grassy strip adjacent to the parking area and a shelter over the picnic table. If traveling with friends you could pull into adjacent sites from opposite ends and share the grassy area and shelter. Had their advertising stated that the heated pool/spa was seasonal and had it noted that they charged extra for cable, I would have rated them a 7 or 8. If the WiFi had worked I would have rated them at least an 8. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
We stayed in this campground overnight in a 5th wheel. We selected this campground because it was close the Mt Rushmore and offered Wi-Fi and Cable (optional) for a somewhat reasonable price. The folks we met were very nice but were surprised to see so many permanent RV’s. The place was clean, our spot somewhat level, but the access lanes very narrow – would not attempt with a large motor home or big rig. They guided us into our spot and helped spot the unit. It was a tight fit. We did not check the restrooms, etc., but we saw a lot of people using them so we guess it was okay. The Wi-Fi was okay and they offer 20 Direct TV channels. The campground was quiet which we appreciated. Did not see any kids but they did offer a pool, game room, playground, dog area – and its own gas/diesel refueling station. Prices were a little high but not worth the $3.00 I would save buying gas in town. We have nothing bad to say about the park other than narrow roads and charging for cable TV. With this said, we give it a good 7 rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Nice campground. Easy in and out of sites. Only 1/4 full when we were here. Access to sites may be more difficult when they are full. Nice dog walk area. Staff friendly and helpful. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Well situated location for exploring the Black Hills and Mount Rushmore. Campground is spacious, with level sites, some with little shelters for the picnic table. The restrooms are clean as are the showers and the laundry. It was very quiet at our location near the back of the park. The owners live at the park, and they were very friendly. Before we left a helper came by to make sure we were happy with the experience. Those little things really make a big difference. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$16
The daily rate reflects a monthly rate prior to the beginning of the season. Owner and staff were friendly. Site was level but could have been a little tight if other rigs were by us. Great location to go sight seeing in the area. Laundry was clean, all machines working, and priced reasonably. Open area to run the dog next to the park. Shopping is from 5 to 10 miles from the park; however, a Walmart is currently under construction just a few miles from the park. If we came back to the area we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
This was a nice campground. Staff was good and the grounds were clean. This is a good location for Mt. Rushmore and Custer SP. The sites and the roads are tight, as I had trouble maneuvering my 27' trailer around some of the motorhomes that were sticking out on the road. I would stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
We loved this campground. The staff from the manager to the workers were friendly, outgoing, and helpful. The sites are level and long. Each site has a shelter which added to the enjoyment. The campground is near everything: from Mt. Rushmore to Crazy Horse to Custer State Park. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
This was a clean park with helpful and friendly employees. Older park that needed updates and sites not big enough to open our awning. Small sites for large rigs but OK . Lots of things to do close by. Very accommodating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
After reading very few reviews on this campground, we were very skeptical about camping at the Happy Holiday Resort. About 1/2 the reviews were negative. We had an amazing time here. There is plenty of shade, extremely friendly staff and guests, clean bathrooms and showers. Even though this resort is older, they keep it up very well. I would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$41
Stopped for an overnight. Pull-through sites convenient, but parking lot campus is a real bummer. Not much to maintain on campus, since everything is gravel. Not much of a view, either. Appears to be connected to a mobile home park. Children's playground consists of a small jungle-Jim. Staff consists of "work-campers" and their attentiveness and demeanor reflects as much. Won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
This park is technically in Rapid City, but it's not really in town so you have to be prepared for a bit of a drive. I'd guess maybe 8 to 10 miles. The park is a little older and the spots are a little small, and has the parking lot feel to it. But overall the staff was nice and were fairly accommodating. Really, the location is our only complaint since we wanted to be in Rapid City proper. It is a little closer to Mount Rushmore, so if you're here for that it would be a good compromise between being near town and easy access to Rushmore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
Located in the city. Close to all the attractions. The park is old, but kept in pretty good condition, sites are dirt and gravel, not very level. During the rain you have to contend with mud. The showers are only fair and if you are over 200 pounds it is impossible to change in the tiny space. For $42.00 there are much better parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
We stayed at this park one night while traveling through the state of SD. We had the great misfortune of traveling through the week of the big "Sturgis" biker rally. The staff seemed annoyed that we wanted to stay here. (Not much of a choice because of the rally.) The park increased its rate to $50.50 (plus an additional $6 for our children) and did not accept any club discounts. The place was packed, sites were small. The internet did not work. The showers didn't drain, and flooded that portion of the bathroom. People were smoking in the bathrooms. It was not a pleasant experience. In all, we wish we had kept on driving to look for another place to stay. With all the bikes, it was very noisy most of the evening. (We aren't bike-haters, actually have our own HD as well) but it just wasn't worth what we paid. If we ever traveled through again, it would not be the week of Sturgis, and I think we would look for a different place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
They charge $3 a day for cable, we have traveled 6,000 miles and this is a first. If you like fear mongering Fox News, they have that but not CNN. It is from satellite and last night it continually dropped off and did a lot of stuttering. Internet is terrible, have to log on constantly. Small pool services the motel and the campground, so it is full of children all the time. Laundry $2.00 load. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$52
Great place to stay while exploring the many attractions in the area. My only problem is the extensive list of add on charges. Extra people are $3 per day including any child over 5. The cable TV will cost another $3 per day and has so few channels it is useless. Many say the sites are tight and hard to get into, but I had no problem with my 36 footer pulling a car. Avoid the whole area during the Sturgis Rally weeks. There are so many little scooters darting all around, and all the campgrounds double or triple their rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This was a very nice campground. Staff was great. The grounds where very clean. You have everything you need with these guys. I will stay again when we return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Nice park, centrally located for exploring the Black Hills. Check in staff was accommodating, however they could be better organized. We were led to the site by a work camper on a golf cart, and he helped align the fiver in the site. As previously stated, it is tight. Sites are close together, we shared a shelter with another site, no need for the awning. Campground is very clean, showers were clean, laundry was clean, and pool area was clean. This campground served its purpose as a great base location for exploring the Black Hills and Badlands region. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
We stayed here five nights. The spaces are very close and we were not able to put out our awning due to a nearby tree. The park has some sites with a little grass, most were a combination of weeds and rocks. The rest rooms and showers were clean. The grounds were clean and with ample places to walk our dog. The lady in the office and gentleman who showed us our site were pleasant. There is an extra charge for pets and for cable television. I observed two RVs having a difficult time parking and leaving. One struck an electrical service box the other struck a tree. We have stayed in much nicer parks for less money with no extra charges for cable or our pet. I probably will not stay here again if I have another option. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Restrooms were clean, and front desk help was friendly. Otherwise, the park was very crowded, cable TV didn't work on either visit, sites were narrow and hard to access, there was not much room for tow vehicle, and the pool always crowded and unclean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
This was a neat, clean little campsite. It was off of a busy state highway just outside of Rapid City. The staff was extremely nice. The showers, toilets and pool were very clean. The spots were a bit tight and rather interesting. The one we stayed at had a little roofed pavilion next to it. My wife and I thought that was interesting. If we are ever able to get out West again, we would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Nice sites but the park is very crowded. Not much room between neighbors and maneuvering rigs in this park is a challenge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
Spent three of the worst nights of our trip here. Kids running around screaming and yelling until midnight even after complaints made to management. A bit pricey at $37 a night and an extra $3 for a limited number of television channels. We crossed this one off for a return visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Very friendly & helpful staff. Escorted us to our site. Campsite is laid out very orderly with mostly pull-thrus and shared shelters for the picnic tables. Full hookups with free Wi-Fi. Some difficulty with connections. Cable TV was $3 per day. In my opinion not worth it, limited channels. Washrooms are large and presentable, laundry was under renovations. Games room, some supplies, meeting area, basketball court & gas pumps that were shut down. A good facility. We stayed for 4 days and would stay there again. Good Sam rate $34. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
We had a great sight and they were great since we had to change our reservations from Lazy J as all reservations were canceled on Oct 31 when the park changed ownership. The place was crowded due to Sturgis. The quite times were enforced and the employees were always trying to help you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
We liked the larger trees with lots of shade. The covered patios are great. They have RV parking on both sides of the covered patio. Both campers share the patio. We were there with family that was in another camper so we shared the covered patio and it worked out great. if the park is full you may have another RV'er sharing the patio with you. That could be a little awkward. This is an older facility and the parking spots are smaller and a little tricky to get into. The staff is great and the park is clean. They have a little store that has some groceries. The park is centrally located to all of the tourist sites We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
We were here during off season rates. The park was very clean, very easy access from the interstate, and centrally located to all the sites in the area. We had a back in site that was easy to access and long enough to stay hooked to the tow, but I agree that the pull through sites are a little tight for a 40 ft fifth wheel. Smaller rigs would do much better in the pull throughs. The office help was extremely friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
Nice, clean park with friendly work kampers. Sites had covered patios. Sites were difficult to get into due to cramped space. A good centralized location for touring the Black Hills. We stayed here for a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
They say big rigs are welcome - and I made it in with the help of a man guiding me. What I did not realize is that I scraped a tree and dented my awning and roof. At one point the guy waved for me to stop and said back up and swing wider so I could make the turn. I asked him if I hit anything and he said no. 2 days later I noticed the damage - but of course it was to late to complain. There really isn't a lot of room and if the guide doesn't do a good job - well you get the picture - and he won't tell you he caused you to damage your rig - so be very - very careful in this place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
Nice campground. Convenient to most everything in the area. There are campgrounds that are prettier and more centrally located, but we wanted to stay near the interstate. Across the street from Reptile Gardens and close to Bear Country USA. Very nice people and easy to work with. If the campground was full, it would be difficult for the big rigs to get around and there is a mobile home park on the side and back of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
Park would have been extremely tight with our 37' fifth wheel had it been full, but it late September is was only 1/4 full so we had adequate maneuvering room and it was actually quite pleasant. Our Verizon cell phones had just one bar of signal but did work within the park. No problem finding our satellite between the trees with our tripod-mounted internet system. Staff was courteous. Would stay here again but only in off-season with our size rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$36
Nice park with a great covered patio. Very close to Mt. Rushmore and Custer state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Big park with small park feel. Camped with friends and were given two sites beside each other with picnic shelter between the two with concrete slab. Playground and pool for kids. Clean bathrooms and showers - free. Full hookups and cable and good wi-fi. Just outside of town on way to Mt. Rushmore. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
A large park with a small park feel. Close to lots of area attractions, but far enough away so as to not feel "in the middle of everything". Less than 10 miles to Rapid City & travel to places like Deadwood, Sturgis & Hot Springs were less than an hour. Also close enough to Devils Tower to make a day trip. If you are going to do Rushmore, this is the place to stay!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2005
$23
Pull thrus are way too tight as has been stated. The only other negative is that we could not get cell reception with Verizon. We also were given two sites for the price of one as they were not very busy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Also renting a car was very easy and it was delivered to our door. If the two negatives could be corrected, it would be an excellent campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
We stayed four nights. Sorry, but this is not a big rig access campground. Very tight as the others say. Won't want to be here when it's busy. They gave us two sites for the price of one. One for our 35 ft trailer and the other for our 25 ft truck and 8 ft motorcycles. We didn't pay the $2 dollars a day for Cable TV. Later a staff member came by and said we could use it for free. I'm glad we didn't pay for it could only get 8 channels and only 2 came in clear. Wi-Fi works great. No road noise. Does have speed bumps but they are very small. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$25
Very friendly and helpful owner and staff. Campground is in a valley about 19 miles from Mt. Rushmore and south of Rapid City. Cell phone service is almost non-existent until going about a mile in either direction, after cresting a hill. Sites have sheltered patios. We were allowed to park our tow car in an empty site next to us; as there is not room for a big rig and a tow vehicle on a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
This park has the nicest staff of anyplace we've every stayed and the modem arrangements are superb. Two connections and two nice places to sit. Only problem with this park is that it is too darned tight. They need to reconfigure and take out some spaces so that it won't be so difficult to navigate with a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Would recommend this park if, and only if, your rig is not to large, or if you have reservation and know you are on road. This place has a great idea, small patios covered between rigs with electric provided in them that come in quite handy, especially if you are with another rig. Trying to get in or out though is a treat. We had a 35ft fifth wheeler, and had to wait until the people across from us came back, to allow us to leave. (They had to back up their motorhome!) Staff was friendly and helpful. We were there over 4th of July this year, and never wanted for something to do in area. Price was competitive for Mt. Rushmore, Blackhills area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Spaces are too close together, ingress and egress is poor. Place is simply too tight. They charge you for everything--a pet fee, a cable TV fee, a RV wash fee, and so forth. Not worth the money and would stay elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
This campground would be excellent if they were to reconfigure it and reduce the number of spaces. It is too tight and spaces are too small. They charge a pet fee and charge for cable TV. Management and staff of the park are very nice and helpful, however. Your cell phone will not work at this park. The modem facilities in the office are the best I've ever seen in a park--very comfortable and convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$29
Sites are really really small. They have covered patios at some sites but they have to shared with the rv next to you. Gravel sites not enough room between you and other rvs to get outside no where to walk at all. They have a really nice store and place for modem hook up. The hot tub is big enough for 4 people thats all. They rent motel rooms here too, so pool and hot tub is not big enough for all the people. No security . No paved sites . Real nice laundry. The Staff friendly and helpful. Charge 1.00 extra for pets, dog walk outside of park near the hwy. 2.00 extra per night for cable tv. No service for cell phone, have to drive out on top of hill to use it. We paid for 8 days when we came in and after 4 days wanted to leave and ask them for a refund, they would not refund our money said NO REFUNDS. No we will not come to this park again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com