214623 User submitted reviews online!!
Hart Ranch Camping Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (605) 399-2582
CGID2596

Hart Ranch Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
485
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   10   8   9   10   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$60
Overall this is a great park. We've camped in many parks all over the country and there are hardly any parks that would compare to this one. However, in most of the parks that are comparable to this one, the WiFi is great. At Hart Ranch, it's terrible. They advertise WiFi, but the signal is weak to none at most sites. For a resort of this caliber, I shouldn't have to go to the lodge to a hot spot. The WiFi is really what is keeping this from being a 5 star resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
Overall a nice park. Easy access, wide interior streets. Some spaces need tree trimming but it was early in the season. Water sewer and electric are fine. WiFi is pretty bad but a 4G Verizon signal allowed internet connection. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$39
They have nice cabins and very nice spacious RV sites. I look forward to returning to this resort this summer to enjoy their summer activities and amenities that were not available being it is winter. This is a membership park but they allow non members to stay here. Although the membership cost seemed extremely reasonable for the caliber of resort this is. We will most likely buy a membership this summer and stay for a few months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$6
We visited Hart Ranch just before and during winter storm Atlas. In spite of being without power and snowed in for several days the staff and the restaurant made sure that everyone was taken care of and well fed during the emergency. If I ever have to be snowed in again I would hope it would be at Hart Ranch. They were wonderful to us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Nice park lots of kid friendly areas. Not enough bathrooms for the size of park. It's a long walk to do laundry and the machines take cards you put money on at the desk. You can only put on dollar amounts but the machines are $+cents so after doing a few loads there was 25 cents left on the card and they said they cannot get it off the card so they keep it...seems odd. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$3
Probably our favorite RV Resort, only reason they received a 9, was they close their pool and hot tub at the end of August (may be because the pool was drained and sandblasted). A lot of activities, store and gas station, nice off leash dog park and very, very clean. We are RPI members, thus the low rate for electricity. Great park we stayed here with 41 foot motorhome and two dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
This is a membership RV park. Very large with a huge amount of amenities. Very clean and the grounds are well maintained. A tad expensive for just traveling through since we didn't have time to utilize the amenities. Would certainly stay again. My only negative comment is that all the sites are back-in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
We came to Hart to have our washer dryer repaired by a technician that was staying there. The initial impression was a wonderland compared to where we had camped before. Membership was offered and we were able to buy out one of the original members at a bargain price, so now we will pay $5.00 a day for electric unless I get a Workamper slot which would be great! The access to a metro area without the traffic and noise of so many, easy access, professional staff and reliable services make this our escape destination when the temperature hits the triple digits in Wickenburg. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Well what can you say it's Hart Ranch. A private membership resort that allows RPI members ($21). We arrived and were met by friendly group of ladies (camp workers) who went out of there way to make us happy. Due to Labor Day we had to move once no biggie. This park is ran like a fine tuned watch, that being said there is a lot of do's and Don'ts. Which I can understand when you have over 400 campers. Security is friendly but quick to point out your flaws. Every thing worked great there's a store, game room, and laundry rooms on every corner, there are daily activities that run all day. The Restaurant is just ok great for a quick snack. We brought our motorcycle and took in all the Black Hill sites this was awesome. We stayed in a M/H and will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$5
Stayed here under Coast to Coast. Wonderful concrete level spaces. Restaurant has delicious food. Down side: I was waiting while my husband checked out park amenities. We do this at member parks since you never know if it is a membership opportunity. That would be a "no". While waiting; I was walking our dog in the "pet area" and was approached by Security to make sure I knew the "pet rules". Seriously, being an educator, I am fairly certain I can read. There is a sign at the front area that states no pets in this area. The other area has pet bags and a pet waste can so I assumed pets could be there. This park has a pet side and a non pet side. Who knew that you can't take your pet anywhere, but in the pet side. This happened within the first three hours that we were at the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
We are unsure of the nightly rate as we stayed as guests of friends here. Park had lots of green areas between sites and is divided into pet friendly and not pet friendly sections. Large concrete sites were well spaced, and the staff was very friendly. We ate breakfast and dinner at the restaurant. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
This is a membership park. If you are a member, and you like big crowds (nearly 500 sites), you are going to love the many amenities (restaurant, store, pool, etc.) This is the place for you. If you are not a member, beware. We had made reservations for a full-hookup site and upon arrival, were told that we were being put out in a dirt road/dirt site overflow area in the back, with no sewer hookup. An uncharitable person would call that bait and switch. We tried five times to back our 38 foot fifth wheel into the narrow site assigned to us, from the narrow road, and were unsuccessful. They refunded our money and we left. To their credit, they held our mail (forwarded to them before we arrived) for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
This is an RPI Member rate. This is a beautiful private membership camping resort and shows it. It has all the amenities, even a gas station (They have a "promotion rate of 3 nights/4 days for $39.95" if you don't mind listening to their sales pitch). Because of the size, I think, they are a bit out of the town, and that is the only real down side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
Price is $10 Coast to Coast fee plus some additional charge that Hart Ranch had. At first I was a little annoyed to be put in "overflow" parking without sewer since I had made my reservation 60 days in advance, but realize that owners do get first preference. The ranch was totally full. As it turns out, we had better satellite access down there and the spaces were nicely laid out with room between sites, but no shade which was okay since the weather wasn't too hot. The showers were amazingly clean & dump station was easy to access. This property is truly an RV resort with a good restaurant, pool, activities, and helpful staff. Check in was efficient and staff was helpful. Location is good to get into Rapid City and also go further out to activities like Mt. Rushmore. Very relaxing with lots of amenities. Good Verizon cell service & air card access. Level sites and plenty of room to be able to back in our big rig. We've been here twice and would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$49
My husband and I are full time RVers. We have asked that Hart Ranch receive all packages being sent to us for weeks ahead. When we arrived, we received EVERY package, as requested. The manager is wonderfu to work with and so obliging when asked a favor. One thing we said when we arrived is the fact that there is SO much space between lots, and you are not bumping into your neighbor at all. The park is clean with MANY amenities which RVers really enjoy and makes it such a family experience. The lots all have cement pads too, so you can eat outside very easily, even with the RV parked on the pad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
This was one of the best parks we have ever been to. We used it as members of coast-to-coast so don't know what the nightly public rate is. Beautiful sites, concrete pads, concrete patios, all amenities are top notch. Gasoline station on site. Adult hot tub is really for adults ONLY. There are separate hot tubs for the kiddos under age 18. Recommend highly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
Nice park, level concrete pads. Took forever to check in because the staff was being trained and would not listen to answers and then have to ask again and again. If you plan on doing laundry be sure and purchase a card at the front desk. Laundry does not accept coins, only their cards. They do not tell you this at check in. Also adhere to the strictly enforced 10 mph speed limit if you do not want to be chastised at the security gate. Asked for brochure about Mt Rushmore at the information desk and was told they did not have any. Nice park but lots of rules and and not a very friendly feel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
Low rating because of where they put us. We were put next to three full timers with many kids with many many available spots that were unused. We checked in saying that we required a view of the southern sky and was given this spot that could not get TV reception. We were given a $5 discount to make up for their error. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
The good: Large level concrete spots. Very clean park and facilities. Quiet. The bad: Although the Wi-Fi signal was good it dropped us an average of 10 - 20 times per day. Sometimes just for a few seconds, sometimes for a few minutes. The convenience store and the restaurant were closed. The pool was closed, which is understandable for this time of year, but the hot tubs were also closed...we would have used them if they had been open. Laundry cards...you have to put a certain amount on them, even if you're not going to use it all...and there is no refund. We would stay here again, but would probably try out another park closer to Rapid City if given a choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
We stayed here for 9 nights. 7 were with Coast to Coast and 2 on our own ($30.50/night). This is a wonderful place to stay. The staff is very well trained with their product and very friendly. We arrived on the day the store, pool and fuel pumps were closing for the season which was unfortunate, but our stay was very nice. Highly recommend this RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$13
Rate reflects promotional package for three nights at $39.95 requiring listening to a sales presentation...(all of an hour). Absolutely beautiful grounds were well manicured. Office was closed upon 5:00 pm arrival but a late arrival packet was left with easy to follow directions to a back-in site. Site was large enough to park my TOAD alongside the unit. Lots were large enough to sit comfortably outside without encroaching upon neighbors. Paved streets, multiple trash receptacles, and nearby overflow parking made this one of the nicest parks during our travels. It is member only but for a reasonable one-time fee and nominal annual fees it would be enticing except for the prospect of harsh winters. Would have rated a ten however as the "season" was ending they closed many of the amenities like the restaurant and the pool. And the onsite gas station was out of everything but 85 octane fuel. Check-in and hosts were friendly and efficient the following morning and we would have extended our stay had we been able to keep our current site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Terrific resort, with experienced, informative and very friendly staff. Sites are double wide and paved. Restaurant, fuel, pool, bike rentals, and a lot more amenities. Membership park: we were here for 15 nights at a nightly rate of $30.50, but only because the resort manager took pity on us. We were on a site that was designed for a cabin. We pulled in to take advantage of an excellent view, requiring long runs for hook-ups. If you can get in here, this is a first-class park. Others have mentioned, "Too many rules." We thought the rules were certainly reasonable. When you're hosting close to 500 rigs and cabins, rules are truly a necessity. Wish it hadn't been so dry. the grass needed water, but the long hot, dry and windy 2012 made that impossible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
This RV park could be model for what a great RV park design. The interior roads are paved and wide with easy turns. The sites are large back-ins with large concrete pads and a lot of space around them. Everything is well taken care of. There are multiple game courts, playgrounds, exercise room, club house, large pool and hot tub, in park restaurant, store, and many activities. We found staff and local members to be friendly and helpful. There are nice areas for walking dogs, and a no pet side of the park is also available. There is a free Wi-Fi that we found to be available at times at our site, but we mostly used our Verizon air card which received a strong signal. There is free cable TV with about 15 channels that came in well; we only used for local channels as we mostly used our satellite dome. Although there are some trees for shade most are open for satellite. All sites have 20, 30, and 50 amps. Except for a small are without sewer hookups, the sites are all full hookup. The rate above is the RPI rate. We stayed for 2 weeks and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
I am just going to say it. This place is sterile. It is laid out fine and the paved streets are wide. It is just like how a committee would design a campground. The place lacks flavor and charm. There are rules against everything and the fines are posted for various things you can do wrong. For example, if your router interferes with their router, it will cost you $25. The "shade" trees never throw shade on the campsites, On the positive side, the campground has everything most campers would want from meals to fuel. A golf course is not far away. Just follow the rules and you will be fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
Membership park. Excellent facilities. This is more of a resort than camping. Sites are back ins but level and shaded. Sites are on concrete pads with picnic tables. Lots of attractions in area but grocery stores and shopping are about 10 miles away. There is a small store and gas station on the property. Wi-Fi access is OK and good Verizon signal. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$13
We camped here on a special rate to review the resort. This is a member owned resort. We used the pools and spas and they were great. I walked in and checked the restrooms and showers, they were clean and looked well maintained. All sites were concrete and level with good grass next to them. All sites were spacious. Not for sure if we will be back, but if you like to go to a resort style place and never leave this would be the place! Very kid friendly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
This is just an easy park to be in, from the very welcoming and helpful greeters at the gate, to the lodge staff, etc - everyone knows their job and there are no problems. Our rate reflects RPI affiliation. We were in the "Meadows", no trees, but wild turkeys came through at night! Good location to see all the tourist activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$13
I will recommend this resort very highly to anyone visiting the Rapid City area. All points of Interest are easily accessible from there. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and all amenities are excellent. Very big rig friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
Fantastic physical facilities with concrete pads and lots of grass between sites. Older sites have tree shade. This is a resort CG with lots of sites. Apparently always full with members during high tourist season in Black Hills. Great folks servicing the campground, central to tourist attractions, ten minutes to upscale Rapid City, large dog park and friendly patrons. We enjoyed every minute there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$13
Price reflects RPI rate. The park has a number of facilities; unfortunately all have already been closed for the winter. Our site was very adequate, but they should have a no bird feeding rule. The party next to us was feeding birds and they messed our car so bad we had to take it to an in town car wash. ( Car/rig washing not allowed in park). I did ask them to remove the feeders until we left and they did. There is a nice dog run which we only used once as it is quite a distance from our site. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
Our Rate was only $10.00 per night through Coast to Coast with a max of 7 nights but since we were put in an area with no sewer hook ups that was to long. The Restrooms were closed for way to long for cleaning about 9 - 10 am, seemed like a nice park up on the hill but not where we were. The worst thing was the lawn mower ran over and chewed up our dogs cable which they said they'd replace but never did. A recipe was presented to the manager and we are out the 20 bucks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$10
If you are member of Coast-to-Coast, you get stuck in their "meadow". Dust bowl is more like it. It is pit which means it gets HOT, power isn't good, WiFi is non existent except at 2:00 am and people are not friendly when you register. You make their life difficult and they really don't want to deal with you. We will never come here again. They lost a possible membership sell to us because of their attitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Very nice park with paved sites. More than 40' to the next row of coaches. Had good separation. Nice little restaurant by the pool. So much to do from here. First time stay with this very low rate, you have a 45 minute sales pitch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$13
This is a very large park. It is big rig friendly. I stay as a RPI member and was disappointed to be charged $2.50 per night for utilities. You do get cable TV: 27 channels. The pool is somewhat crowded but the temperature was 95, so everyone was in the pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
This is a very nice park if you have the money to buy into their package. We stayed here on a 3 night 4 day special Internet deal if you listened to their promotion. The park is very well run, very clean, but because it is a resort type of park, the tenants tend to be stand-offish and not friendly to newcomers. The volunteer staff is very friendly and welcoming, but, the regular campers are cool. We have found this attitude in other parks that are resorts or private run establishments. We do like the fact that there are no fire rings - nothing worse than a bunch of stinking fires at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$13
The park itself was nice but there were way too many rules. The local members were not friendly at all. RPI members were treated like outsiders and if you were not in the members click, they would not even say hello. The park is odd with a no pet side and some of the staff members were rude. Do not expect full hookups if you are not a local member. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$13
We stayed here for 4 nights and the campground is absolutely excellent. As other reviewers have said, this is truly a resort campground. We made reservations 2 months ahead of time as Coast To Coast members. When we arrived, we were put in "The Meadows" and found there were no sewer hook-up. We asked to be moved since we were going to be there 5 nights but we were told there were no full hook-up sites available. The lady said that as Coast To Coast members,(or RPI, Thousand Trails) we shouldn't expect full hook-ups but to check back to see if they had any cancellations. We checked nightly, and also counted and logged the empty sites. At the end of the fourth day, there were an average of 38 empty sites, 11 of them were empty the entire time we were there. We have pets, and only counted the empty sites in the "Pet Side" of the property. I felt that they were being untruthful as I had logged all available sites for four days, and we left one day early since we had to pack up to dump any way. Really nice place, but the attitude towards C2C was unacceptable. We will NOT stay here again, unless we do the $39.95 for 3 nights/4 days and sit through their sales pitch. I bet those people get sewer hook-ups! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$13
This price is for the 3 night/$39.95 special, if you take the tour of this membership park. It is a very nice park with all the amenities. It would be a great place to stay again, but we were not interested in being a member: too expensive. We would stay again if we could though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$02
This is a member park, but does have promotional sites available to the public for $39 for 2 nights. This is our all-time favorite park anywhere. Large sites, decent space between, well maintained. Great pool, wonderful variety of amenities. Reservations are necessary, especially during the summer months. The $2.50 nightly fee is for energy usage, instead of raising maintenance fees for members, those who use it pay the small fee. Friendly staff, comfort stations all around the park. Paved roads and sites, some sites are "expanded", offering double width paved. Excellent facility! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
The price reflects the RPI rate. This place was great. Sites were paved and level, campground was clean and meticulously maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only reason for not giving it a higher rating is that for the entire 3 days we were here, the WiFi didn't work. The manager kept saying that they would reset the servers, but the staff wished us good luck, that they had been having problems all year. Usually not a problem, but it is also a dead zone for AT&T. Having said that, we will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$12
Finally, a "Resort" !! We stayed here on RPI membership and this is a 5 ++ star CG. Everything you can think of is available. Some "full timer live-in's" but very well maintained. They have a Pet-Side and No-Pet side of CG. We visited Mt Rushmore and the Badlands, etc. If we lived closer we would join their full membership and would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
We stayed at this RV resort as guests of members. It was our first visit but will not be our last. This park has all of the amenities you could want, including large spaces, green grass, open areas, scattered small laundry facilities, restaurant, small store and pool. During the summer, there is a weekly craft and rummage sale on Saturdays. There are many planned activities, of which we did not take advantage of. This is their 25th anniversary celebration year. All staff are friendly and glad to have you as guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$13
We were here on the 3 night promotional deal too, and it rained hard each afternoon. Didn't get to use facilities very much, but this is a beautiful place. Worth coming to check it out, but still rather expensive to just join the ranch unless you can come often and get your money's worth. Watch out for the long-winded,self-absorbed sales guy. Also, be sure to check Gas Buddy for area prices. It was actually 15cents a gallon cheaper for gas in Rapid City, not at the park. The RV sites in our section were not level, but at least you have plenty of grass around you- and lots of screaming kids on the weekend. Private bathrooms are great; too bad they are closed 2 hours for cleaning. Very small laundry in each pod. Still, a super resort, the real deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$13
If I could give them an 11, I would. The rate shown is there marketing rate. If you are not a member of hart Ranch or C2C or RPI this is the only way you can stay here. 3 nights for $39. You have to attend a marketing presentation, but it is very low key and takes less than an hour. As the other reviews have said this place has everything. Pool, hot tub, putt-putt, play grounds, bike rentals, and on and on. On site cafe and rec room. On site tire service and propane. Oh, by the way, gas is 2 cents a gal cheaper than town. Very nice place. If it was not 2000 miles from my home, I would join in a minute. Why can't there be more places like this? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$13
Very nice gated private membership resort with on-site roving security, large swimming pool, jetted hot tubs, store, fuel and propane, restaurant, put put golf, rental items, pool tables, tennis courts, dog walk area, etc. Rate I show is $10 day RPI/C2C, $2.50 day utility fee, & tax. Two sides to park: pet and no-pets. 10 MPH enforced and also highly advisable due to kids on bikes and many walkers. I recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
Rate reflects C-C membership price. Was truly a resort with a lot of amenities. We were their too early for a lot of activities and not much was open but can see that when it is in full operation it is a first class resort. There was the cheapest gas in the area available and even a shop that does oil changes on grounds. Sites were very far apart and open, surrounded by grass and a couple of small trees. Views in area are great!! you park your rig and your vehicle on a double sized level concrete pad. All the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Would for sure stay here again!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$12
Very nice membership park near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse & other national parks and monuments. WiFi a little weak at site 235. Rate for stay is RPI rate. Pets only allowed on south portion of park. Lots of walking trails. Sites are paved concrete and lots of grassy areas. Would stay again when passing thru Rapid City. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$2
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$14
We stayed on a promotional rate, but the park is worth every penny of the "walkup" rate! Facilities and maintenance are great. Folks are friendly and helpful - both employees and fellow campers. We will stay here whenever our itinerary allows! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
We had made reservations 60 days in advance and had a confirmation number for a 7-day stay here. Upon arrival, we were told that our reservations had been canceled. When we asked who had canceled the reservation, who they had talked to, and when were the reservations canceled, she said she didn't know. She would not honor our reservation and could only accommodate us for one night. We overheard her talking to her coworker asking for verification that RPI reservations had in fact been canceled. We got the impression that because of the upcoming July 4th weekend and that Hart was completely booked, they had been canceling RPI reservations to make room for their "members." She specifically told us that their first and only priority was to their members. Fortunately, we were able to move to the nearby Ellsworth AFB FamCamp. The camp host there told us that in the last two days she had been contacted by three other RPI members who had the same thing happen to them by the Hart campground. Hart Ranch should not be listed as an RPI campground if this is how guests are treated. The staff was courteous, but uncaring. A weekend manager was not on duty to sort out this problem which seemed strange for a 5-star resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
This is a membership park in a beautiful setting in a valley between Hwy 16 & Hwy 79. The park is close to all the tourist attractions and plenty of things to do in the park if you elect not to travel once there. The park is divided into different sections, one for pet lovers and non-pet lovers. The only drawback this time of the year is the afternoon thunderstorms which can be quite exciting. We stayed here for a week under our RPI membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
An excellent place to spend sometime if you are visiting the Black Hills area of South Dakota. Well kept, clean, neat with lots of amenities. There is a fuel station, store, and restaurant. It is outside of town and easy to get to. I recommend this one. (800) 605-4278 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$17
We stayed on a marketing stay, $39.95 for 3 nights. Looked like a very nice place, and memberships didn't seem to be very expensive. You are obligated to a sales presentation / tour of the facilities, but it was quick and easy. Super nice playground, several pools, and hot tubs. They also had sports courts and a tennis court, all paved roads, and concrete sites with patio. W-iFi was good most of the time, and seemed very fast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$8
This is a beautiful park with concrete pads and patios. I did get the wifi to work, but it was so weak that it came and went - they need to work on that. The park sits in a valley and we did not have cell coverage while there, tho we did have it in surrounding areas. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$8
R.P.I. Park. Also has their own members who tend to ignore non-members which didn't bother us but might bother others. Site was large and everything worked. We toured the area sights and enjoyed having a nice secure area to stay in. If in the area we would look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$10
We arrived on the Friday of Labor day weekend with RPI reservations. Park was busy but didn't feel overly crowded. Nice level site with all hookups & cable. WiFi never worked at our site for the whole 2 weeks we were here ( site 103 ) After the long weekend the park pretty much emptied out and they closed down the pool, spa, restaurant, snack shack and the clubhouse hours were shortened. All planned activities also ended - potlucks, cards games, etc. Our neighbors were all Hart Ranch 'members' and we found them not friendly at all - didn't return our hellos or waves. (non-members are given a very bright green car pass - members have a decal attached to the windshield.) We used the park as a home base for sightseeing in the area - most sights are about an hour away ( Deadwood, Sturgis, Spearfish, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Rushmore and Hot Springs ) I think most people come here for the activities and resort type amenities not for sightseeing. Because we are RPI members we will probably stay here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$12
This is a membership campground, we stayed a guests of Escapees for that price. No sales pitch given to us, but our stay was during Sturgis Bike Rally, very busy. Park was very well kept and the activities were plenty. We would like to stay again if possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$10
The resort lay out is great. Very well maintained, each site has paved pad and patio plus lots of grass. Staff at check in desk not well trained but definitely can say the word no. We will try the resort again and hope for friendlier atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$10
Coast-to-Coast rate plus $2/day for utilities. This is just our 2nd year motorhoming, but Hart Ranch is the first "resort" we've encountered that we'd consider spending a whole season in (but not winter). It's reasonably quiet, everybody's friendly, and there are families of all ages and sizes. Like a small town. Close enough to Rapid City and the tourist stuff, isolated enough if that's not your style. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$8
One of the best resorts we have stayed in. We will definitely visit here again. Well kept, friendly folks, nice large level sites. We were even allowed to wash our rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$1
Started staying here as RPI member. We have since purchased a Hart Ranch membership. There is a $1.00 per day utility charge for everyone, member or not. There is a pet and non pets side. Cabins are available for an additional charge and are quite nice. The staff is very friendly and competent. There are shade trees in some parts of the park. Reservations can be made 60 days in advance. Reservations are needed, as this is a very busy resort. This is the best park in the RPI-C2C system. We will stay at Hart Ranch often. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
I believe that this was the best park that I have ever stayed in. The staff was very friendly and the park was very clean and pretty. Although there were not a lot of trees, I loved the openness of the surroundings. On my next trip to Rapid City, SD, I will definitely stay here. This park gives Coast to Coast a very good name. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$26
This is a membership park. We stayed under RPI. We will return often and probably buy a membership. There are a lot of activities going on in the summer. The park is close to all the Black Hills attractions. It is very clean, quiet and pet friendly. There is a separate section for pets and non-pet. The office staff is very friendly and competent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$8
Visited park with RPI membership and will definitely return to this clean, attractive and well-managed campground! The only item that is a "near miss" is the RV pads are a bit tight for Big Rigs when observing the "2-foot" overhang rule (ie: you cannot back in more than 2 feet over grassy area). There is plenty of room to enlarge the rear concrete pads in this Membership campground resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$9
This is an RPI/Coast2Coast resort. The normal RPI rate is $8, but they squeeze an extra buck out by charging extra for 50amp. The wifi comes and goes like most free ones do. But the RULES...oh my! They make sure you don't get past the guard gate w/out knowing the rules. You are greeted with a listing of them, along with a "enjoy your stay". Security travels around 24/7 with RADAR DETECTORS to enforce the 10mph speed limit. Just to be a rebel, I once went 11mph. I don't think you can get a state-enforced ticket, but I don't want to find out. One of the positives is that activities are open to everyone, not just park members like in other RPI parks I've visited. It's not 4-5 miles from Rapid City, it's more like 12, so there's no "running to the store" unless you need "gas station food". The pool is huge and nice. The 3 hot tubs are residential sized and kept at: 92, 98 and 102 degrees and marked, "12 & under", "13 & older" and "18 & older" If you're a member, you can store your RV here and they'll bring it out and park it for you in a spot when you're coming in. You don't even need a tow vehicle if you have a fifth wheel or travel trailer. Not a bad place to be a member if you can live w/the rules and are from the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Very overated. We reserved ahead and thought we would find a nice campground up in the trees, were shocked upon what we found. The campground is set up like a trailer court, very small trees, no shade. Wind blows down through the canyon at night blowing things over. More rules then any campground we have ever visited. Very unfriendly place. This is a membership campground and if you are not a member be ready for a long sales pitch. You might as well park in a parking lot and save your money. We will never stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$35
South East of Rapid City 4-5 miles, with nice clubhouse and convenience store. Large swimming pool with two hot tubs, small restaurant next to pool area. All paved roads and the 10 mph speed limit is enforced, website has lots more info. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com