220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Park Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (605) 341-5320
CGID2598

Lake Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   8   2   10   9   7   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
We stayed two nights at this campground and found the experience to be highly satisfactory, despite the fact that it was cold, windy and rainy in Rapid City for most of our stay. The park itself is small and a wee bit on the "rustic" side, but generally well-maintained, and the manager was a very congenial and accommodating guy. Given that we were travelling with a large pit bull, we were glad to find a nice little park across the street from the campground where we could walk her. In fact, due to the weather, we had the park to ourselves most of the time, which afforded us the opportunity to walk our dog off-leash once or twice. Also, the park backs up to a wooded hillside that is inhabited by mule deer. As I was returning from the park's trash dump on our first day, I suddenly found myself virtually face-to-face with either a large fawn or a small doe, which was a pleasant surprise for a dumb ole country boy from Ft Lauderdale. My only "con" is that the pull-thru sites are on the small side for a big-rig pulling a toad. If my coach was longer than 40 feet, I probably would have had to unhook and park my Jeep off the site. Bottom line: we'd stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
The campground is a small RV park, inside of a cabin rental complex. The complex is on a small lake but the RV sites are not on the water. The park and grounds are well maintained and exceptionally clean. There is a small laundry, two washers and driers, one drier was not working. The sites are small and shady; the pads are gravel and level. It is a dog friendly park. The park provides 75 plus cable TV channels. Their internet was reasonably fast. Our Version cell signal was 4 bars (4G). The restrooms and showers are modern and well maintained. The park is located near major shopping and has easy access to downtown Rapid City and is about 30 minutes from MT Rushmore. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
How can you not love a park that has mule deer passing through in the morning? The sites are a bit on the small side, but very adequate. The staff is very friendly and work hard to make your stay memorable. We had a whole bunch of people check in with their enormous pushers and toy haulers (and multiple toys). In spite of all that, the park was quiet and peaceful after 10 PM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
This is a small campground in a very urban area but the sites are fairly decent size and provide full hookups. We had 50amp electricity. We lucked out and got the site right next to the laundry room, so we had a nice green grass lawn right out our door. It was an easy pull through site. The price reflects an additional $2. per night for cable but it was digital and had a lot of stations available. We really enjoyed the park, walking and bike trails next door to the campground! The owner was friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay here again. It's a 26 mile easy drive from the campground to Mount Rushmore. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
The campground has pull throughs which are very close together and about the same number of backins which are not long and quite difficult to access. We experienced noisy motorbikes late at night and people arriving next to us very late at night. The lake is well away from the campsite and the campground is close to the road. It's not a pace for long stays but might be alright for an overnight. In short: no ambience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$146
Stayed in one of their deluxe 2 bedroom cottages, since my sister and brother-in-law and I met up there. We stayed for a week. Beautiful clean cottage with absolutely all the amenities one would need. Kitchenware and utensils were complete in their well designed kitchen. Beds were extremely comfortable with extra bedding provided. Clean and well maintained bathroom. The outdoor grill was amazing; we had to use it a couple of times. Fireplace was wonderful when the day turned cool, but the heat and air conditioner was more than able to maintain comfortable conditions. This is the nicest cottage I have ever stayed at and would highly recommend it. Campground/cottage is located in a quiet area; even had some deer and rabbits around, although there was no evidence they had been there. This family owned place is absolutely wonderful! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
What a sweet little rv park! Close to fishing, golf and Canyon Lake Park. The pictures of the lake on the website are of Canyon Lake Park. Staff was courteous and helpful. Gravel, level sites, wifi worked, pet friendly. The only negative was that the sites are quite close to each other. Our neighbor was unable to fully extend his awning. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$47
This is an older park, the sites are gravel but level. We have a 38' 5th wheel and we fit in the site with room to park the truck and room to spare. The sites are close together. The staff was very friendly. The Wi-Fi was terrific but we were parked right next to the office. Our son was in a lodge about a block from the office and was able to connect to the Wi-Fi. The park was a block from a large city park which we made use of for our daily walks. We would stay here again if the occasion presents itself. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
The only thing this campground has going for it seems to be the location in town. The "lake" they make a big deal of having access to is a walk across a muddy field, or you can take the sidewalk about half a mile around to the city park side. The bathrooms were clean, but the changing area of the stalls were very tiny and had some weird homemade bench contraption you had to release and lock up. Most troubling was the fact that it's May and they still didn't have water on to most of the sites. Apparently they turn it off for the winter and didn't seem to hurried to turn it back on. They also didn't have picnic tables at every site. A camper said they put them up for the winter, but it was May so, again, it seemed unusual not to have them out. They have trees over many of the sites, but it seems to be in a very windy area because we had several small to medium size branches fall on our roof. The owner overall seemed sort of disinterested in the happiness of the guests. The impression I got was that they knew they had a good location so were relying on that and were happy to neglect everything else. Based solely on the attitude, I'm not sure I would stay there again. It's definitely not the worst you could do, but I really didn't feel welcome. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
Pretty location, lots of mature trees, quiet, and handy to town. Laundry facilities are limited (two washers, four driers), but never seemed to be busy. Showers and washrooms well kept. Change area for showers a little tight, and would have benefited from better lighting, and having more than one hook for all your clothes and towel. Sites are pretty level, decent gravel, and grass. Internet was the best we've had in a year of traveling. Not only a very strong wireless signal, but also great bandwidth. We uploaded 10 pictures at a time to our journal in under two minutes. Kudos to Lake RV for recognizing the importance of this service, which so many parks have yet to catch onto. Water connection for our site was closer to the front of the site, and so required an extension hose. No big deal for those who travel prepared. We would certainly stop here again, and recommend it to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
We got off to a bad start. They charged us 2.00 for cable television but when we got to our site the cable didn't work. After all being set up we moved to a different site. You can walk down to the lake here but it is not that impressive. There is not a lot of room for the dogs to run around. The price was too high for what you get. I think next time through, I would pick a different RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
This is an older campground in Rapid City. The surrounding park is beautiful for walks and biking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
If you're looking for a big park with swimming pools and fancy facilities this may not be the place for you. However, it is in a beautiful location adjacent to a beautiful lake, yet you are virtually in the middle of Rapid City. All sites are surrounded by huge shade trees, yet it is very clean. We did hear that a new hotel will be built in the next year; so make sure to ask about construction noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$41
Shady, somewhat level sites. Sites are very close together so putting out an awning wasn't possible. Clean bathrooms, friendly staff. No pool or any entertainment aside from cable TV and wi-fi. We'll stay over on Hwy 16 somewhere when we come back this way. We stayed here thinking it'd be less crowded and it was. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$34
When making the reservation, I was told that the price for a pull-thru site was $34, but when we arrived, we were charged $36. Campground is okay if you just want a place to park your motorhome. We normally like to sit outside, relaxing and taking in the scenery, but the only view we had was the backside and trash bins of the hotel next door. Park has lots of trees, but they are mainly cottonwood, and the cottonwood was blowing so much, it looked like it was snowing. Only campground we have ever been to that they did not give you a flyer listing camp rules, location of trash, etc. It is on a lake, but you cannot see the water unless you walk around to the backside of the owner's home. Spaces are tight. The owner's home had a swingset in front of it, but as there was no sign or brochure, not sure if it is for the use of the guest's children or not. As stated before, it is okay if you do not plan to spend any time outside your motorhome, but if you like to sit outside, another park would be a better fit for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$26
The Campground is located on a lake, but for viewing only. You have to drive/walk to the other side of the lake for access. The sites are shady but extremely small and there was little grass on most sites. The laundry facilities were not available for the week we were there and we had to walk a block to a laundramat. The women's bathroom had only one sink working the entire week. The facilities and grounds were clean. The camp store had ice and beverages available, but little else. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com