223382 User submitted reviews online!!
Lazy J RV Park & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (605) 342-2751
CGID2599

Lazy J RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
128
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   4   6   7   3   1   3   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Very pleasant management. Nice city night light view. Good location. Good amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
I was quite unsatisfied. The staff was unfriendly. The Wi-Fi was so bad (either not even possible to log on or very sluggish if you were lucky enough to got connected), it was one of those occasion when it'd been better to not have Wi-Fi at all. Given that the park advertises Wi-Fi as one of its amenities in big letters on their sign, this seems like a bad joke. When I mentioned the difficulties to the staff, they didn't seem to care and tried to tell me some nonsense about certain devices that wouldn't connect. The bathrooms/restrooms are ok and were clean, however when I was taking a shower, the water got cold at the end of my "washing cycle". Both of these issues, the not working Wi-Fi and insufficient supply of warm water, give you the impression that the management tries to maximize the profit by packing as much campers/RVers in the park as possible without making the necessary enhancements in the parks infrastructure to meet the demands of an increased amount of guests. This is a pity since the park itself is ok, has nice views and is considerably quiet. Could be a good park, but the way it is managed right now I wouldn't stay here again but look for some place else (which I actually did the two consecutive nights). We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
The park is OK and not hard to get in and around the park. The pool was OK and the Wi-Fi was OK. It was in a good location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
We reserved a pull-through and when we got here we were told the we could have a pull- through, but it wasn't wide enough for our slides! Additionally, the 50 amp service that we reserved really was a 'weak' 50 amps and it blew out several times. Additionally, the roads are in disrepair and need a lot of work. The "terracing" causes issues in trying to park. We will never stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$58
I felt like I was stacked like cordwood. Our windows faced the next guy's wheels and on up the hill. I've stayed in "tiered" parks, but this was a mountainside. Each kid was extra too. Come on! People camp here in motorhomes, there is not going to be excessive water or sewer use! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
We have stayed at this campground numerous times and have enjoyed the spot. Nice view and owners and staff are especially nice. Older park and could use some street maintenance, but restrooms have been completely remodeled and very nice and clean. Good exercise to get to the pool if you park on lower part, but I need the exercise so it was good. We are in a smaller RV which makes it easy, but I see people with large ones and large 5th wheels get in even though it looks difficult. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$56
Stayed here 3 nights. One night would have been enough. Interior roads in poor shape. Camp sites small and tight. Little to no grass and overall visual impression very poor. Staff were friendly and helpful (almost as if to overcome the poor ambiance of the facilities). Bathrooms were exceptionally clean..impressive. Grossly overpriced, even considering it was Sturgis motorcycle rally week. Would not plan a visit here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$58
We will never reserve a space here again! Customer service was just terrible & we go south each winter, so we spend a lot of time in RV camps. I've never seen a more filthy and run-down place since we started RVing 2 years ago. The pool is empty (broken - a "broken pool"?? Right beside highway so you hear all the traffic 24/7. When we checked our bank account, they had charged us Rally Week rates - the Rally isn't for another 5 days. We came to have the first of my cataracts removed. Everyone else was charged thirty some dollars a night until the 8th. I'm sure they didn't think we'd notice. Just think how much money they could make by charging each camper $10-$20 more than advertised. That would be a lot of money for their dishonest office staff. This is a LOSER park - I'm doing you a favor telling you about it. There's even trash spread around the inner roads - beer cans, squashed paper drink cups, etc and the Rally doesn't start for another week. I cannot imagine trying to "relax & get away from it all" here. No, this is where you'll want to get away from! Sincerely! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We camped here for three nights straight. The security light in our campsite was out, the ground is very uneven. On the first night we heard a great deal of noise from the highway right next to us and drunks were tripping over our wires at 2:30AM due to no lighting. Night two the water in our site was turned off "by mistake as they claim" and the shower had no hot water. After two complaints still no security light. Couple next to was fighting - took management 40 minutes to evict them. After night 3 we couldn't wait to leave this place. There are a ton of places to park within miles of this place. Access around the spots are extremely tight and the roads are garbage. Wi-Fi is extremely hit or miss. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
This park is excellent. The staff and owners are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The park is located 25 miles from Mt. Rushmore with shopping and dining very close. We stayed 2 weeks. Cable TV would have been nice, but we did not miss it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Attendant was very friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our site. Most sites are terraced into the hill. This is ok but the sites are narrow so it doesn't leave much room around the rig. We paid for a pull through site but the attendant cheerfully told us we would have to unhook! We were going to anyway but still. The interior roads are rough pavement, fine gravel covers the sites. Wi-Fi was advertised and the attendant told us there are three connections to try. All three are very weak. For the amount charged, we felt overcharged for this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
Good access: close to Mt. Rushmore sights and yet close to Rapid City for dining etc. I would call this more of an adult park though families were present. Nice pool and very clean restrooms. The park is kept clean and orderly. Concerns, if any, are promptly addressed. A bad storm came through on my last night and I needed a quick repair. They put me in touch with a repair man who was prompt, efficient and reasonable. The best thing about the Lazy J is the people who work here. From the owner on down, they are attuned to their guests ever courteous and smiling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
Great staff, accommodating for bigger rigs. Site are narrow, easy to get level, but do not leave much room for picnicking or walking around your rig due to terracing on a steep hill. Tent area looked especially nice. Laundry and rec room very good. Views over surrounding area great. Close to Rapid City. Rate was summer high, Good Sam discount. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
I will start with the positive point. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the park is close to town. The negative unfortunately outweighs the positive. They say they are big rig friendly, they are NOT. The sites are short and very close on a steep incline on the side of a steep hill. When you pull into your site it is very close not to tumble over the hill into the next site below. You can not walk around your rig since the hillside going up hill makes it difficult. There is no place to park your tow vehicle or towed car. The interior roads are in terrible shape. The trash dumpster was running over onto the surrounding ground and left for animals to make a mess. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
We stayed here for a month while getting things taken care of for our new domicile state. Since we were not here during tourist season, the park was pretty quiet, and empty except for a few short term people. The owners are the nicest people you want to meet though, greeted you by name. We made good friends with them. The park is terraced, with a nice view of Rapid City below from every site. They were working on the place while we were here, getting ready for tourist season, leveling the sites, painting, really working to make it nice. Not the parks fault, they had a problem with disease in some trees, and had to cut some down before it spread to others. Overall, we liked staying here, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Well maintained with a very friendly and helpful staff. We were a little put off by the lack of green space in the campground proper, but the excellent view overlooking the city and the other virtues of this establishment outweighed this issue. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
Campground is near the city but far from Rushmore and other monuments. Terraced into a steep hill, it is 45% crumbling asphalt, 50% worn gravel and 5% grass. We were promised site Wi-Fi access, even given a code, but later told it didn't reach that far. Pool on the highway was unoccupied. Sites were narrow, not enough room for toad/tower. Vehicles parked at top of hill blocked exit for big rigs; we had to back down to another route. Worst part: the $42 rate was a crowning insult. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Sites were very tight and not level. There was no grass and all sites were tiered, making walking difficult. WiFi did not reach our site. Staff was not very helpful, although we did have an escort to our site. On a positive note, the view was spectacular. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
The views from this campground are amazing! The sites are reasonably spaced (although do NOT get one on the end!) The check-in process was fast and efficient. No fires are allowed, however they have fire rings available for use. This is a good thing, and a bad thing as fire rings encourage late night gatherings which tend to be noisy. We were parked next to a group of 3 or 4 units who stayed up half the night having a grand time around the fire drinking and partying (it was the day after the Sturgis Bike Rally). A call to the office got them quieted down around 11pm. Other than that, all was fine. There are 2 ways to get to the park from I-90: exit 61 and exit 57. Exit 61 is longer, but far easier. Also, our GPS from exit 57 took us the "scenic" way via Skyline Road (the name says it all!) The park is very convenient to Mt. Rushmore, Chief Crazy Horse, and Custer State Park (all must-sees). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
The owners were so helpful and friendly. This park was quiet at night and was a nice facility. We really enjoyed it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
Sites are jammed together, and there is little grass if any, in most sites. Shade is from your neighbor, as there are few trees. But the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The park served its purpose for our trip, but doubt we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
Sites are narrow: our picnic table leaned to the side because it was falling off our "terraced" site. Hookups were good, restrooms very clean. No grass, only asphalt. WiFi worked, but was slow. Check-in staff was friendly and efficient. They brag about the terraced sites, giving each unit a view. Our view was right into the neighbor's living room. I think it is spin to explain the hills in the campground. We would try another park next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Although this hilltop, terraced campground appears to be well over 20 years old, it is generally well maintained. Only about a quarter of the campsites have a lawn, the rest are asphalt and gravel. The main bath house has been recently remodeled with upscale fixtures and was spotlessly clean. There was excellent water pressure and a strong Wi-Fi signal, although the internet connection seemed to fade out occasionally. There is a small pool and a small play area. The office staff was friendly and accommodating. Although the campground’s relatively high price reflects its proximity to Mount Rushmore, about 25 miles to the south, it is still a better value than the very expensive Rapid City KOA. There is an excellent off-leash dog park about two and one-half miles away in downtown Rapid City, along the north bank of Rapid Creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
We stayed here 5 nights, the owner is very knowledgeable of the area. She gave us suggestions as what is worth visiting and not. We enjoyed our stay. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
Good campground, though the sites were mostly a bit short for long rigs. Laundry was OK and we had a good satellite shot. We would stay again, though the price is a bit high. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
Overall the park was nice. The spot we had was right by the front near the highway. Our a/c's took away any highway noise. There was a tree in the way so we could not go forward to leave, we had to back out. We have a 40 ft motorhome. The people in the office were very nice and friendly. They led us to our spot upon arriving. Each site is gravel and asphalt mix. There are very few trees throughout the park if you are looking for shade. The entrance is backwards - you go in on your left (northside) and go out on your left (southside). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
Schizophrenic review follows: On the plus side, location is great, beautiful views, not too much hwy noise, staff is mostly helpful, price is right. On the minus side, the "prior owners" have had over a year to fix the damage allegedly caused by the interim owners and have not. Showers have only one control--ON or OFF. The water pressure and temperature are chose for you. A toilet tank lid is broken with sharp edges facing user. Huge holes in the walls. They "fixed" the men's room stoppage by turning the water off and walking away, until someone asked them to please repair the toilet. (There may be better facilities in other areas of the park, but sometimes you need a toilet that isn't a big hike away.) Park needs owners who are good with facilities as well as good with people. We would not stay here again, even with the great price and great views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
Terraced park & we were on the top level which had excellent view of Rapid City. Some road noise if you're close to the road (US16) but bearable, water pressure (and taste) not the best. Bathrooms closed for remodeling/updating. Very clean laundry room & rec room. Very friendly & helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
This park was repossessed in June by former owner and family. They have not had time to fix up the neglect by foreclosed-on buyer, but they will work on it. Park was quiet, has view of Rapid City, and a beautiful pool. Owners are very nice and we would stay again. Only downside is baths are older and need freshening: but were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
This is an older park, but well worth the stay. Prior owners have taken the park back over. They are extremely friendly and helpful. The view is outstanding. You overlook the whole city. Don't let the first look at the road down into the campground scare you. It is okay for even big motorhomes. It is centrally located which is perfect. The trees are nice and there are some lots with grass and the two layers down are grassy and great for tents. We had plenty of room for slides and awnings. We were able to get our tv dish receptions and the owners were willing to move us if we were not able to, but we had no problems. Not much for children to do, but for us it was a nice quiet stop after a long days ride. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a 24 ft van with a tow and were in a pull thru, so did not have to unhook to get into our spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Some aspects of this park were nice i.e.: view, pool, game room. But because it sits on a hill side spaces are terraced and not very wide. Some spots are hard to maneuver into. Thought management were a little unfriendly! Will not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
I wish we had called ahead to get directions because we were driving south towards this campground. There is a steep grade leaving Rapid City on hwy16 that I would have preferred to avoid. Campground was a nice park with good amenities. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Sites were tiny though and the entire park is terraced asphalt. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
We stayed a month in a site overlooking Rapid City. Although there is almost no grass in the park the view more than makes up for the asphalt atmosphere. Owners very helpful and are working hard to upgrade the facility. Most sites are large enough but somewhat close together. Wi Fi is excellent except in the lower section of the campground. We don't spend much time in the campgrounds when traveling so this park was great for touring the Black Hills and Rapid City. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Older park. Excellent WIFI. Owner told us he had reached a deal to SELL this fall (2007). Call ahead to make sure they are still open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$58
Very tight spaces. No grass. We happened to come in the middle of Sturgis event. I think we are the only ones without a motorcycle! Good WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$13
I rented by the month at $400. a month. Older park that needs some work on the plumbing and water lines. I stayed 2 months. Great centrally located park, near the city but out far enough to enjoy attractions that are within a 50 mile radius. I enjoyed those parked near and around me. Several campers stayed several months. Either working or just came to visit the area. Site was fairly level. Park is on a slight hill. Sites are close but I was comfortable. Each site had a picnic table. Water is hard water. I would not drink the water. Leaves white spots on clothes and dishes. Some trees for shade in the lower half. I would revisit this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$34
Sites are tight - our rig is 32' and there was barely enough space for the toad. Bigger rigs had to park toads or tow vehicles at park entrance. Sites not completely level, but doable. No grass, some trees. Wi-fi was solid, laundry clean and fast. We parked near the highway, so road noise was noticable. Everybody very friendly. TV is off antenna, and is limited but good reception. Cell phone signals excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2006
$33
The sites here were terrible, all gravel, too small, not even room for a picnic table, dirty, dusty, when you steeped out of your motorhome, you have to hold on to someone or something or you would fall down the uneven grade. This park needs to close! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$32
The park is located right off Hwy 16 just outside of Rapid City at the top of a hill. The sites are very narrow, with barely enough room for a picnic table in some spaces. There is good WiFi access here and a view of the valley, but I wouldn't want to stay here for a lengthy visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$37
During our Yellowstone National Park trip, we arrived pretty late in the evening in Rapid City, South Dakota. After a full day of driving and hiking the family was pretty tired. We had no reservations, no idea what the campground was like. We pulled in and were greeted by some very nice and friendly folks. We pull 29 foot Travel Trailer with a Chevy Suburban and had no problems navigating and pulling into the pull through sites. The kids enjoyed the recreation room, the wife thought the laundry facilities were clean and the restrooms and showers were also clean. We thought the pool was a little worn and showed its age. My family absolutely loved the view of the city from our campsite. Overall, we were pleased with the campground, however, I might have had a different opinion if the campground had been full. The sites were very close together. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
This was a nice park with an excellent view of the city as it was on a hill. All the pull-through sites that we could see where paved and pretty level. The wireless internet access was nice and fairly reliable. They had a pool but when we were there, it was not filled (late spring and it had snowed two weeks before we got there). The laundry facilities were nice as well. There is a little playground for kids. TV reception was excellent off the antenna as the park is about a mile or so from the transmission towers. Plenty of trees as well, but they were spitting sap when we were there. We stayed here in late spring '04. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Park is very nice and clean. Park also sits on a hill over looking Rapid City. Some road noise off Hwy. 16. WiFi worked well. We would return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com