214551 User submitted reviews online!!
Mystery Mountain Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (605) 342-5368
CGID2600

Mystery Mountain Resort

Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   10   2   3   8   7   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Nice campground, lots of tall pine trees. Makes it a little tight driving to the camp site but not bad. Campsite is gravel and has picnic table and fire ring. Site was almost level but had strange hook ups. Water and power on one side, sewer on the other side. Gave it a 8 would have been a 9 with cable. We were able to pull in many air TV stations. Wi-Fi was strong at our site (E-7). Did not check out pool, showers or laundry. Office staff was friendly and had a small but good selection of gifts and basic food supplies. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
The most disappointing place of our 4,700 mile, 10 state trip. Definitely not for big rigs and we didn't even have one. Seemed over priced. Tight turns and poor, steep roads with ruts. It's a trade off of rocky, uneven treed sites for more level ones closer to road where trucks use exhaust brakes starting about 6 a.m. Park is heading down hill. Would not recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
It was our first time visiting the Black Hills and our first time camping in a motorhome. Our family cannot speak highly enough of our wonderful experience at this resort. The sites are tucked among beautiful pines which provide shade. The staff are the best asset of this park--and the amenities they offer are not far behind. Staff are pleasant, helpful, and ready to assist with any concerns. The premises are immaculate, The WiFi for site E5 was exceptional, and the extra activities provided by the pool and mini golf were a lot of fun for our boys. The convenience of the resort's pancake breakfast can't be beat. We found the pancakes delicious! Our strongest impression was that the owners are interested in providing the best service possible for an excellent value so that their satisfied guests will want to return. We will definitely stay here again when we visit the Black Hills. We cannot believe the wonderful vacation we had here at such a great price. We give Mystery Mountain Resort a 10 out of 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Treacherous trying to get into campsite due to steep gravel "lanes" inside campground. Dirt and rock campsites. Just dirty overall. Would not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Entry and access roads were very narrow and washed out in many places causing our rig to tip excessively. Sites are very narrow as well and are very hard to pull or back into with rigs longer than 32ft. After three attempts on a long pull through and minor damage to our trailer we left for another RV park. This park/resort would be fine for travel trailers and popups with lengths less than 25ft. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
We stayed here for 5 nights, close to all the attractions, so great base camp. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of area. Roads are gravel and rained hard one night but were quick to fix ruts. Restrooms were well taken care of. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Friendly staff, close to everything but streets inside park were very narrow, hard to maneuver motor home many hills and ruts. Sites are large but with all the lodge pole pines and terribly unlevel site we had a hard time getting set up. We had to move forward or backward a couple of times to get level and open out slides. Once settled we were very happy there. We loved the wind in the pines. Not a place to go if you want to use your patio, dirt/mud rocks and as I said nothing is level but they have a pool area to sit around if that's your thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
Not much grass between sites. Sites are terraced and very close together and many near the busy highway. The wifi, an important thing for me, is weak. Good Verizon phone coverage, so I used the tethering option. Handy to Mount Rushmore and other spots. Very clean and new restrooms and showers. Recycling bins for cans and such, which is a rarity. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
One of the best parks I have ever stayed in. Clean everything. Clean showers, big too. Clean laundry room, clean pool, hot tub, and sauna. Did I mention this place was clean? Only complaint would be noise from the road but we just ran our fans all night to drown it out. The rate I listed was for 6 people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
We stayed here for two nights on our recent Black Hills trip. Overall a nice campground and a very convenient location. Lots of shade and fairly roomy. Nice newer bathrooms, a good pool, and playground. On the downside was the constant traffic noise. Lots of trucks at wide open throttle chugging up the grade. This place would be awesome if it was a mile or two off the highway. Also, our concrete pad (which looked fairly new) was way out of level. Not a huge deal, but it was a surprise. We liked it, but the traffic noise was considerable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
This park was nice because it was shaded by mature trees and had more of a camping feel than a lot of the RV "parking lots" I have stayed in before. The bathrooms and showers were not that clean, and most of the time the stalls were out of toilet paper. The $1.00 pancake breakfast was a nice touch, and the wi-fi worked well, though we were right up front in a pull through. The pad for our site was not level at all, and it was short and narrow. The staff is friendly and was helpful when we asked questions about things to do in the area. I'm giving it a 7 because the cable was limited to only a few channels and none of them worked well and because of the poor shape the pad was in. For the money I expected more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Very convenient location for Black Hills attractions (1/4 mile to Bear Country). Campground seems to be geared mostly to tents, pop-ups and travel trailers. Very limited number of Big Rig sites and most of those face a heavily traveled, major highway. Very hilly location with uneven sites. Good food at complimentary pancake breakfast each morning. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
This is an all-terrain RV park. Bring your 4x4 vehicles! A couple of the roads in the park were so steep that I had to put my truck in 4WD to keep from sliding down the hill. To say that the spaces were "tight" is a gross understatement. The sites are heavily shaded and the trees make it a real challenge to get into the sites. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
An excellent balance of a state/national park campground feeling and the amenities of a RV Park/resort. Beautiful wooded facility, very shaded and peaceful feeling. Well maintained bathrooms, walking trails and wifi! Although, you have to be pretty close to the office to pick it up. Our cellphones though Verizon and T Mobile also had decent signal. The staff is super friendly too. During our stay in early October 2007, we were virtually the only ones there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
This campground was convenient to everything in the Rapid City area. It was just down the street from a good RV repair shop and Bear Country USA. We did go into Keystone and take the 1880 Train Ride to Hill City. Our recommendation is don't do this attraction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Mystery Mountain was a great RV site. We had a blast! The pool was clean, the bathrooms were excellent, there is a nice hiking trail right in the campground. The host was very knowledgable and seemed to like to give good information on what attractions were worth the money and the ones that were possibly a waste of money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Exceptionally clean and modern campground. The $24 rate was for off season and we stayed almost 2 weeks. The sites are diverse with lots of pine trees. We shall return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
We spent 5 nights here in the off season and pretty much had the place to ourselves - I think there were 7 or 8 other campers. Anyway, the facilities are very well maintained and almost look new. I commented on that to the owner and he said they were older but that they work on everything during the off season. We loved this place because it is really wooded, unlike a lot of campgrounds in the area. However, it should be noted that the roads through the campground are very narrow and I can't imagine how large rigs make it to the back areas of the park- we were in a pop-up camper and still found it tight. Nonetheless, the densely wooded aspect of this campground is what I like. They have a small store that has a reasonable selection of supplies and there is a full service RV dealership just about a mile away. This place is conveniently located in between Rapid City and Mount Rushmore. They have wireless Internet access but it's really only accessible by driving up to the front office area. There is a small park and mini golf course in the front of the campground. We plan on staying here again in 'season' when there's more to do. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$48
Nice large campground with diverse types of sites - from relatively secluded tent sites in the back to level, pull-through concrete pads with full hookups up toward the front. Wooded and nice even though it's right off the highway. Pancake breakfasts were cheap and delicious. Staff was flexible and accommodating and allowed us to use an open, alternate site one afternoon while we had emergency repairs performed on our coach. Lots of road within the campground for biking - the kids loved it. Loved the Black Hills area; we would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
We only stayed overnight but it looks like this would be a fun place for families with kids. Pretty, rustic mountain setting. Drawbacks: 1) Access by big rigs, while possible, is pretty tight; 2) If you're in a site near the highway, the noise is very bad most all night long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$32
Free pancakes in AM. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$30
Easy access sites are near the road. The rest of the campground is under beautiful tall pine trees. The sites are decent size. The campground is on the side of a mountain and the roads are dirt so they weren't the easiest to drive on. Unless you have a truck or 4 wheel drive, stick to the sites near the front. The pool and hot tub were nice, camp store very reasonable. Campground very quiet at night even though it's on Mt. Rushmore Highway. Good pancake breakfasts. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com