220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp America Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 57 user reviews. Phone: (605) 425-9085
CGID2601

Camp America Campground

Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   7   9   10   2   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$31
We spent 1 night at Camp America Campground on an extended trip. Easy access 1 mile off of !-90. Park is well maintained, with level sites. Will stop again when traveling in area. Rate was Good Sam, full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$29
Country campground. A couple of miles north of interstate. Nice and quiet, good shade, level gravel sites with lots of grass. We didn't even have to unhitch or level up. No amenities at interstate exit, must go further north about 2 miles for gas, propane, some groceries. Campground did have ice for sale. Nice quiet overnight stop or even for a few days to just rest. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Lovely campground in the middle of the corn and bean fields of Salem, SD. Just a short way off the interstate, but far enough not to get that traffic noise. The highway it is on is busy, but we weren't bothered by the noise. They have multiple really lovely shelters for gatherings/picnics and nice benches throughout the park. Our Jeep battery died and they were very helpful with where to get a new one (we were able to jump start it one more time to get to town about 3 miles away!). We stayed here three days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Clean, quiet. Long level pull through sites available. Pool was clean. A little off the beaten path - 2 miles off I90 but great overnight. Not too many restaurants in the neighboring towns. Fire pits.Very nice staff. Bathroom and showers a little old but very clean. Shower was 25 cents for 6 minutes. Laundry room. Camp store. Price reflects GS discount. Not too much to do here except enjoy your family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
This park was easy to find from the freeway. Pull-through was level and long enough but not overly wide. Wi-Fi was an issue. The clerk said it was fine, but I couldn't connect and called her. She went to reboot it, but I never could connect. No cable either. Lots of shade in our section, so that was welcome. The campground is very rural, but somewhat scenic and peaceful. OK for an overnight but not a destination. Even without Wi-Fi and cable, this campground was better than the franchises. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
Really nice and well-kept park. Great for overnight stays. Level sites with picnic tables and plenty of grass and trees. Friendly check-in. This park does recycle. Rate reflects GS discount. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
We stayed in 10 different campgrounds from San Diego to Illinois and back to South Dakota on this trip. This campground was the best campground of the 10 places we stayed. Wi-Fi was the best we experienced. Long, level pull-throughs. Nice grass between sites, and trees provided lots of shade. This will become a regular stopover on our yearly travels to Illinois and back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
This was an overnight stop in the middle of nowhere. No restaurants except two bars with no windows, which I quit going to many years back. Nothing that resembled a grocery store except a quick stop gas/grocery. Now to the campground itself. They advertise Wi-Fi, yes, but only after midnight and before 6am. When checking in, they gave us a free fly swatter because the flies were awful. They even warned us about the water pressure, which would be good one minute and a dribble the next. Water went out in the middle of my morning shower. They blamed it on the water lines being cut last year between them and town. I don't know about the campground showers as they were pay-showers and I did not use their bathrooms. A sad state of affairs for a campground. The roads and grounds were neat and sites were long. Those two things were the only good points about this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is one of the nicest parks in South Dakota. It is super clean with very level sites. Staff is great. Only 1 1/2 miles from 1-90 so no noise. Will absolutely stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
A very clean, well run park located 1.5 miles North of I-90. Big rig friendly with room for privacy and slide-outs. Surrounded by farmland with trees in most of park. If you need satellite, ask for a site when checking in. No TV, but I got 6 digital channels on antenna. Electric and water good with steady Wi-Fi throughout park. Restrooms are spotless. Showers cost 25 cents for 6 minutes. Clean pool, small playground, miniature golf. Little nightime road noise. Level gravel pull through and backin sites. Highly Recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$29
This is a nice, neat, quiet campground just off the interstate. If you need satellite, be sure to say so when you make your reservation as there are a lot of trees. Our pull through site was long and level. Water pressure wasn’t too bad but then the campground was almost empty. There did seem to be a lot of Clorox (?) in the water based on smell and taste. They offer recycling with five different categories. The gravel road next to the campground could generate a lot of dust; with a south wind. It all came into the campground. Verizon and Sprint worked fine. The staff was friendly. No problem with staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
I loved this campground. Nice layout, friendly staff. Very clean. We met people who return to this campground every year. Attractive. Very quiet at night. Most sites are shaded, but a few sites are open enough to have good satellite TV reception (as was ours). The office/store is interesting - antiques are sold here, as well as supplies. I would definitely return to this campground if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
This is an older, but nice park. While it is well treed, the drive-through sites on the south side have good satellite reception (e.g., site 32). The park is surrounded by corn and soybean fields. Roads are gravel, but well maintained. Sites are level and covered with gravel. It is about 1.5 miles north of I-90. In the evening there were a lot of flies. Not a big deal and we would stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Great little campground! Loved the antiques! Though no fault of the campground, the flies were horrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
The owners do a fantastic job of keeping the grounds looking good, they're very friendly, and the park is simply a lovely park. We have a fifth wheel with a semi truck, making us about 70' long - and this park is truly a "big rig friendly" park (which is actually rather hard to find). We will definitely stay here again if in the area, and will recommend it to many of our "HDT" (heavy duty truck) friends. It's a nice quiet park that has lots of shady spots, but the trees are not such that us long and tall rigs can't move about. Very peaceful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
For an overnight stop, the price is right. Finding campgrounds open in October in South Dakota is dicey! Mixture of pull throughs and back ins. Fairly level. Sites are gravel with decent spacing of grass between sites, about what you would expect. Person on duty was very nice and pleasant. Wi-Fi worked great! A previous review said “no TV.” I managed to get six digital channels via antenna, no problem. Restrooms were clean, showers are coin operated. Great laundry room with a deep sink and even an ironing board and iron for you to use! Laundry room also includes a phone for local calls. There is a pool and min-golf that are used in summer time, but weren't open at the time I was here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Great spot. Camped here during the harvest season, so there is a great show across the street in the fields. Quiet, not too much road noise. Spotless showers and warm bathrooms. Friendly staff. Easy off I-90. Fast internet free. I would stay here again anytime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
An out in the country, out of the noise, beautiful little park. Easy access from I-90. Tree coverage over most of the park, no TV and limited sites with satellite sky access if that is important to you. Friendly, helpful staff. Easy long pull through site for my 38'MH and car. Level sites and while it has limited amenities, a great country overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
The tree shaded sites at this park are a welcome respite from the fields and prairie of eastern South Dakota. Level gravel sites for RVs, grassy sites for tent and very clean facilities show the care that the owners put into this operation. A swimming pool, putt-putt golf and playground provide diversions. Utilities are reliable though the Wi-Fi connection is slow at times. AT&T phone service in the area is weak. Flies were a nuisance at the time of our visit. The rate reflects weekly and cash discounts. We would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
Very friendly personnel and a very clean park. This is a small campground but all spaces are large and big rig friendly. We tripped our circuit breaker a couple of times but that was because we were using microwave and air conditioner at same time. The town of Salem does have a nice grocery store and gas if you need it. We would definitely stay here again. Our rating would have been perfect except laundry room only has 2 washing machines and there was a bright campground light fixture over our site which shown through the skylight in our rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We stayed here one night on our return from the Black Hills. What a nice little RV park. Obviously shows pride of ownership. The nice long pull throughs were roomy, level and nicely landscaped. Lots of shade which we like. Our site had a hedge between us and the next site. Close to the interstate yet far enough where noise was not an issue. The kids loved the pool and the miniature golf. Only downside was there were a lot of flying insects, but since this is farm country it goes with the territory. I would not hesitate to stay here again if our travel takes us out this way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Nice one night stay over. Clean and lots were good for big rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
This is a small, well kept park. Has lots of trees and is very peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$23
We've stayed here before for an overnight - although it would be a "great Family Gathering Place". We really like it, it's handy, nice and clean and very reasonably priced. Sites are nicely spaced, seemed level and mature trees and grass. We didn't have a need for the Restrooms or showers but by looking all around I have think they'd be clean. Swimming pool was open and being used but they were still cleaning it! Great place to stay and we'd stay again for sure! OH, Wi-Fi worked great, no cable but TV reception with antenna worked just fine, clear picture. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Considering this is an ‘overnight’ campground, it is really well kept. The owners take a lot of pride in their park. The interior roads and sites are on packed dirt. The sites are fairly leveled and each site had a picnic table and fire ring. The back-in sites are designed for smaller rigs (about 21 feet) and have water and electric only. The pull-through sites have 50/30/20 amp service with water and sewer. The electrical voltage was good. All of the utilities were centrally located. The bathroom/showers were clean and definitely usable. Showers cost 25 cents per 6 minutes. There are two washers ($2.00 each) and two dryers (75 cents each). There is also a clothes line available. There is a small miniature golf course, an unheated pool and a book exchange. Verizon air card had broadband with 4 bars. Verizon cell phone worked well. There is also free Wi-Fi. Overall, this is a nice park. The campground is 1½ miles away from the freeway. There is little road noise at night. I would definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
This is a very nice place. The owners were very friendly and helpful. There are many trees, but they are arranged so they do not bother RV's. Site was nice and level. Easy access from I-90. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
This is a very attractive clean campground with lots of trees and grass and nice pull through sites. Only negative was the abundance of flying insects (biting flies and mosquitos). We were here during rainy season so don't know if that was the reason but it was extremely annoying and the only reason I could not rate this higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
This place is a keeper. Very friendly owner, level sites, trees (might interfere with satellite TV), very well kept up. They even have flower pots scattered around the grounds. There is a bit of noise from the road but not enough to be real annoying. The sites are a little close together so the fire rings are fairly close to neighbors. Could be uncomfortable. WiFi was very good, even in the back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Very clean park. Sites are reasonably level, shaded, long and neat. Not much for children. Town nearby, but it is a drive to anywhere else. Hosts very helpful. See the camp store, it is very unusual. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
I would drive the extra miles to stay here! We only stayed a night passing through, but would definitely stay here again. Everything was great. TV reception (clearest picture we had all week including satellite/cable), wi-fi worked great, clean restrooms & showers, nice level sites and plenty of room for privacy and slide outs, dark at night too for sleeping and no trains! It was located only about 1-1/2 miles north off of I-90, about 30 miles/minutes past Mitchell heading East. It was a nice find! ! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
We chose Camp America because it advertised it was far from the freeway. Unfortunately the road it's on has lots of truck traffic which interfered with our sleep. Otherwise it was a very nice place with all the best in facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
Nice drive through site with full hookups. Some shade trees. Small pool and mini-putt for the kids. Clean facilities although coin operated showers. Would stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Very nice park. Clean. Good cell, satellite, level sites, and good WiFi. The roads are easily navigable. The end sites have a lot of space. We were in #32. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Meticulous maintenance and small artistic touches make this a very welcoming park. The owners are friendly and helpful. Trees and shrubs offer plenty of shade and some privacy between sites. The bathrooms and laundry room are very clean. A pool and small playground are available. Wi-Fi was good most of the time and outages appeared to be due to storms rather than park resources. Utilities were good. AT&T cell phone service was weak. Our price was based on the weekly rate. We look forward to staying again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Very nice grounds, well maintained park. Staff was very helpful. Has nice shady sites as well as some open sites for those with satellite dishes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
The roads and sites are gravel. Wi-fi was good. It was below freezing when we arrived and so water was turned off. Others said it had been off since the day before and so they couldn't fill their tanks. We just needed an overnight, so it was fine for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
This park is an island of shade in a vast sea of corn and milo. Lots of neatly maintained grass, tables, and level gravel sites. Long-termers do not have a lot of clutter around their homes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This has to be the cleanest park we've ever been to! Friendly staff, serene settings, beautiful campfire rings throughout. Spacious and level spots. We will make this a "keeper". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Campground sits surrounded by farmland. Quiet, far enough away from I-90. Much evidence of care, with gravel roads and sites that are level, clean and good for the satellite. Wireless works. Close to the Corn Palace in Mitchell, SD. Pool under repair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Adequate, but remote location. Stay in Mitchell if you are looking for things to do and here if you just want a good night sleep. Site 35 and others on the back row have good satellite. Way over rated by TL. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
CG is clean with well manicured sites. Clean restrooms and showers. Owner friendly. Quiet and in the country. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Very nice campground with long, very level gravel sites. The interior roads are a little tight for big rigs but not a big problem. Sites are wide with plenty of room for slideouts. Many of their sites are in the trees so satellite reception is an issue but the owners try to put you in an open site if you request it. Very pet-friendly and the grounds are spotless. Probably the only negative is that it is not close to any stores or restaurants but it is also not close to trains, planes or highways so it is very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$46
A bit pricey but these folks obviously love their campground/property/business. We have seldom seen the level of manicured landscaping present here. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the site was level, clean and more than adequate. Too bad we only stayed one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Very nice, clean. Friendly owner. It was very windy and cold during our one night stay. Office was also a "junk store" and found a very nice piece of glassware! Laundry small but inexpensive; $1.50 to wash; .75 to dry! Great for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
We changed our residency to South Dakota and needed to get our drivers licences. This campground was close to Madison, SD and it had the internet connection we wanted. It's a very clean and well kept campground. It's an easy off/on the highway. The sites are large with shade. We will stay here again if we need to go back to Madison, SD. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$23
We are camped in this RV park as I type. We selected it based on the other reviews but we did not like the park nearly as much as the other reviewers. We arrived after some rain and the gravel roads were soft and muddy. We requested a site which would allow us to use our satellite dome but the site we were given had trees around and no usable satellite signal could be received. We could not access the wifi network in spite of repeated attempts to do so. There must be a feed lot or other farming operation nearby as there was a strong odor in the air which required us to keep the windows closed and air conditioning turned on. Flies were everywhere in great numbers due likely to the nearby animal farming operation. The entry door could not be left open for even a few seconds without lots of flies entering the coach. On the plus side, the park is quiet but located not far from the interstate. We would not stay here again, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Very nice campground. Well maintained roads and sites. They are gravel but are level. Nice shade trees. Due to weather we didn't use the pool. Central campground for the Sioux Falls/Mitchell area. Very friendly owners. Roomy pull throughs with fire rings. Only downside is number of flies from neighboring ranch. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
While my 10 rating may not be others, this campground had everything we wanted. We came for 3 days and stayed 11 days. The park is an oasis with lots of shade trees, nice, long, level sites with owners that went way out of their way to make your stay prefect. It's close enough to all the things we want to see so we just parked the trailer and took several day trips. There is also a very nice golf course a couple miles away in Salem. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
Very nice campground and a great staff. The campground was very clean and well maintained. Free Wifi. Would have given it a 10 except it had pay showers. The sites were large and easy in and out. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Clean and well maintained. Free Wi-Fi, better signal at some sites than others. Pool, level sites, shady sites with long pull thru's. 50A available, far enough from I90 so no freeway noise. Very clean restrooms, and owners are very amiable. We've been here before, and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$41
Very nice CG. The staff were very friendly. Roads are gravel and well taken care of. The sites are wide with trees and tables and fire pits. Made for a enjoyable stop on the way to Yellowstone. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
Very nice campground, about 1.5 miles north of I-90, and about 35 miles east of the Corn Palace & Cabela's in Mitchell, SD. Camp America has level sites, good power & water pressure, and is much nicer than the campgrounds in Mitchell. Owner/operators are very helpful and friendly. Pull-throughs are long enough for a big-rig with tow attached. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$21
We stayed one night on our way home from the Black Hills. Great quiet campground except for lots of mosquitoes, and a few ticks, so bring lots of bug spray. Our site was level and the campground clean. We would return again if in the area. Our boys loved the $1 mini golf. It had been rainy so we couldn't use the playground and the pool wasn't yet open, but this is a quaint country campground and we liked it a lot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$19
This is a great little campground just off of I-90 in Salem, SD. We spent two nights here (going and return trip) and would not hesitate to stay again. It was not crowded at all, the sites were large, the pool was very nice and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The only thing that keeps this from being a 10 is that when we stayed in August there were an awful lot of flies around until about dusk. The full hook up rate was $19.00 with the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Very friendly staff. Neat and clean and close to the interstate. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$17
Overall a very nice campground- clean and quiet. Very nice sites, shaded and level. Saw all types of campers, from tents to the big Class A's. The hosts were wonderful- friendly and accommodating! Rates were very reasonable, especially when rates doubled just down the road in Sioux Falls, SD. There was some noise from the road (Hwy. 81), which didn't bother us at all, but bothered the other members in our party (who were in a pop-up camper). Campground was just a short drive from I-90, great location. Would recommend this campground and would stay there again! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$22
Clean, quiet, very pleasant campground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com