214868 User submitted reviews online!!
Tower Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (605) 336-7110
CGID2603

Tower Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   8   8   1   10   9   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
This park has nice paved roads and pads with grass and a picnic table. The pad was level and fairly wide. I was told quite curtly that the only pull-throughs they had were in the old section and I could have that if I wanted dirt and tight trees. With a large 5th wheel we had a difficult time backing into the site that was shared with another right behind us--about 7 feet. The road was very narrow. We had no choice but to un-hitch as the space was too short. Parking was provided next to the pad. Most of the sites have permanent residents and at 7 AM all the trucks start up and people leave for work. There are few overnight sites available. Call ahead! The laundry is nice and clean but not all machines work all the time. Management is aware of the problem but have not fixed it. I did not use the restrooms. We followed the directions on the web site, which tell you to make a U-turn but we were too big and had to go around the block, so access is not easy. The park is located right next to the noisy freeway which makes being outdoors very unpleasant. Utilities worked well and the Internet worked occasionally. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Great campground in the city. Highway noise didn't bother us at all. Modern and clean bathrooms. Paved sites, and the best cable TV we have ever had. Staff was friendly and helpful, and after the hail storm was out in force cleaning up the campgrounds. We will be back, next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
Very conveniently located to Alternative Resources, for those of you becoming SD residence. The owner is a great guy, helpful and friendly. There is a caveat though if you are traveling North or South on I-29, you have to make a U turn on a city street to come back to the RV park. Call ahead and the owner will tell you how to do it. We we are 43', he told us how to do it. We will return to this very nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
We liked this park and will certainly return. Nice large grassy site, pad is gravel, level, park is very clean. We did use not toilets nor showers. All connectors at the site are in good working condition. Park is well maintained, managers very helpful & friendly. There is 50 amp, good Wi-Fi, play area for kids. As for location, the park has excellent proximity to the city. Did hear some road noise (to be expected as the I-29 is right next to the park). There is no dedicated dog area, but lots of grass. There’s an excellent off-leash dog park near by (Spencer park at 3501 South Cliff Ave.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$214
Since the long term managers are not returning in 2014 we will not be back. They took the park from trailer trash to luxury RVing as only RVers could do. The new managers, on the other hand have really ruined the place. If you want customer service I recommend the KOA or Walmart over this campground. The Wifi is horrendous on a good day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$31
The campgrounds was very easy to find, right off I-29. We were given explicit directions regarding turning at the light and going around the block since we were coming in from a direction which put us on the opposite side of the road medium. The office was closed when we arrived but the managers were on site and met us in less than 5 minutes. The managers were friendly, informative and presented good 'people' skills. We stayed 2 nights. The park was clean and well maintained. We did not notice a lot of traffic noise. The location was great and we were provided with great directions and area map. They are pet friendly and clean in this aspect. We plan to return in warmer weather. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
This campground has been improving every single year. Beginning as a very small RV park and trailer park, it is now a lovely RV Park. The new area is well spaced, has asphalt pads and paged roads. It is very conveniently located and the managers are wonderful. I am happy to recommend this park as the best choice in Sioux Falls. When they add their dog park, I'll be happy to make them a "10." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
This campground would be a marvelous campground were it not so close to the interstate. The noise was constant and made it difficult to talk with someone outside. However, it is close to everything: shopping, Falls Park, and museums. Other than that, it was a clean, neat, well-maintained campground. The laundries were very clean as were the showers and bathrooms. Our asphalt pad was new and level, the hook-ups were convenient and cable was provided. We would return but would bring ear plugs next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
They have made many improvements to this campground this year. New restroom and shower house in part of the park, landscaping improved, new grass planted. They are working to improve the wifi as well. There is an older part of the park that has mostly long term campers and a few park models. The newer part of the park is the short term area where we stayed. The management is always available and very responsive. The location of the park, close to the exit on I29, is very convenient to the rest of Sioux Falls but does provide a little traffic noise from the Interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
This is a nice RV Park, but a couple comments are in order. First, this campground is in the flight pattern for the local airport. Second, this is in an urban area, so noise is a minor issue. The sites are level and some are on blacktop. We did arrive a little early at about 12:15, and check-in is supposed to be at 1:00. The man in the office was quick to point that out. That being said, he had a spot and showed us right to it. He could have omitted the comment and found better favor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Just stayed for an overnight. Park is clean and everything worked, good cable. Could not connect to the wifi and did not pursue a fix from the office (don't know if it is our computer or their wifi). Laundry room and washers were very clean and new. There are two sections to this park. One half appeared to have the more permanent residences and the other, which we stayed in, was more of a typical RV park setting. The sections are separated by a fence. There is some freeway noise from the highway. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This park is a great place to stop for a few days. It is a no frills park, but what they do, they do very well. The landscaping is very pretty. There is no pool, but they have full hook-ups and the best Wi-Fi we have ever had in three years of travelling. The location is very convenient. Unlike others, we were not bothered by road noise at all. There are a lot of interesting things to do in this town, so you will want to stay longer than you planned. We did! We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Good campground. We were told to exit I29, one exit before the campground so we wouldn't have to make the U turn other mention. All utilities worked. We used our Verizon hotspot as the CG Wi-Fi was poor. Rooftop dish had good access to sky. Lots of road noise, as this is an urban campground. Wide road made back-in easy. Price was with Alternative Resources discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
Nice owners. Well run. Close to the Interstate, so lots of traffic noise but perfectly fine for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
We enjoyed our time here. Please call the campground for directions to the park (you get off an exit south of the one that it is near to avoid making an impossible u-turn). They have recently paved the sites in the newer section of the park, so they had us park on piece of plywood (which they supplied) to avoid making holes in the asphalt. There is some highway noise due to the proximity to the interstate, but it was not bad. Sioux Falls is a wonderful city, with lots to see and do. We will definitely return, and highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Difficult to get to! The directions say to make a "protected left", but there is no way you can make a u turn in a big rig or travel trailer at that intersection. Something different needs to be figured out here. It is right off the interstate though. We booked pull through sites, but when we got there and they took us to our sites, we were told there is only one real pull through site and it is in the older part of the campground. We were traveling in a travel trailer and a motor home, so we had two sites. One of the sites opened up onto mounds of dirt. There was no grass at all, and the picnic table was in the fresh dirt. The other site backed up to a monthly efficiency rental type facility, with no fencing separating the campground. The restrooms were very clean and had nice, hot water. There was no electrical outlet near the sinks, however, which makes it impossible to use a hair dryer and curling iron in the bathroom. That may sound minor, but I don't think I have ever been where you couldn't see a mirror from the electrical outlet. The campground works for a quick overnight, but I would not recommend it for any longer. The staff was very friendly though, and that helped us feel a bit better about the stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Brand new bathrooms and showers as well as newly paved asphalt sites. The sites were plenty big enough and were pull through. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. The park was a little noisy due to the major highway right beside the park. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This park is a bit difficult to get into because it's located right in the middle of town. The spaces were recently resurfaced so we had to park on plywood. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All facilities were first rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$13
The nightly rate is calculated by having stayed at the superb campground for a month at a charge of $400 for the site fee. We also stay from time to time in a motorcycle pop-up trailer (Lee-sur-lite) for which the charge is $16 nightly before tax. Recent upgrades at the campground include new laundry facilities and restrooms, in addition to newly asphalted sites. You will find that the campground hosts will provide a yeoman effort in making your stay extremely comfortable and resolving any concerns that may arise during your visit. We highly recommend this campground, 2013. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Conscientious managers who live on-site and go above & beyond to make your stay enjoyable. The new camping sites are scheduled to be paved shortly, weather permitting. The new restrooms with showers and the new laundry are open with brand-new appliances. A new, second Wi-Fi repeater has greatly improved Wi-Fi reception for the campground as a whole. Kids playground is a work-in-progress with additional equipment coming. Weekly & Monthly rates available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$32
Great park. They are remodeling the bathrooms so the showers were closed. They park management gave several options for guests to take showers. Thank you. They had water available, with heat tapes. Staff helpful and friendly. Level sites, easy access. If you have a big rig, DO NOT go exit 79, there is an impossible u-turn at 12th and Marion. Take exit 78, go to Marion Rd, then turn onto 12th. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
Although the owners/managers are very nice, the campground at the time of our stay was less than desirable. The new section is being totally renovated, so we were put in the older section. The site was level, but backed right up to Route 29, so was very noisy. Wi-Fi was very spotty. There are a lot of old RVs sitting in sites that look unoccupied as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Hard Park to Rate. In the middle of rebuilding RV Sites. Brand New Restroom/showers. Lots of dirt/gravel sites. Can't pave because of lack of rain, afraid spots will sink. Cable TV strong, Verizon card good. WIFI VERY POOR. Close to Freeway and and shopping. Dog Friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Not very impressed. As previous reviewers have stated, most of the small sites are full time families/workers with many in construction. It is 50 yards from I-29 in a business area. Very dusty site, hardly any grass, and after it rains there are huge puddles and muddy conditions. The few pull throughs are tight with hardly any space between sites. The couple who run it are friendly. But without a discount for Passport America, the $36 fee seems way too high. But what do I know, they were nearly full! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
Good spot for an overnight, however, during a long term stay the noise from I-29 could get annoying. We stayed over Labor Day weekend so we did not experience normal business day traffic noise. Manager and staff very friendly and helpful, easy in and out of the pull-through site and park. Only drawback was that the Wi-Fi was very slow, perhaps due to the park being completely full. We would stay here again but not for more than one night at a time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
This was not an RV park; it was a construction work camp. Very small spaces, and the campground was clogged with parked cars/trucks. We looked it over, and we left. Right on a main street in town. Street noise and right in the middle of a business district. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This is a crowded nasty park. People do not pick up after their dogs, trash everywhere, very cramped spaces and the internet was terrible - could not use it. Owners would never respond to anything. This is a old mobile home park turned RV. I would never repeat my stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Part of the RV park is an old trailer park that is being converted to RV spots. We are in the part that is being converted. The site we are in is mostly dirt due to construction of the site. Water is hard and rusty. Use a filter. We put our softener on too as we will be here two weeks. The owners and workampers are trying hard to make it nice. It will be awhile, but when done could be very nice. Lots of road noise as we are next to I-29. We would not stay here again in the near future, but may after all the work is done. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Very few pull through sites, had to unhook towed to back in. Nice paved roads and gravel pads, lots of shade. Noisy street in front of campground, and a lot of interstate noise. Difficult park access. Quick Stop within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Dirt sites, mostly shaded, still under construction. Shower house brand new. Very noisy area next to the freeway in an industrial area. No place to walk dogs or ride bikes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
Much construction going on in the park to add additional sites. Construction should go on for the rest of the year. New pads made from gravel, ours was just done the day we arrived. New restrooms/showers with enlarged laundry. If entering the park from the interstate you must pass the park, on the left, and go to the next intersection to make a "U" turn and come back, there is a road divider between the lanes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$21
Our rate was based on being a customer of AR mail forwarding in Sioux Falls ($150/wk). We stayed here to register our vehicles, get drivers license, register to vote. Location was close to downtown area, maybe 15 minutes from the falls in town and 5 minutes from where the big mall is and all the stores surrounding it. Highway traffic noise did not bother us that much. They just built a brand new bathroom. Campground is really in 3 parts. 1 part is for seasonals, 1 part for regular camping and 1 part with efficiency apartments (looks like a motel). Managers were super friendly, and lived in their RV during the week. Big rigs are no problem. We would stay here again if in the Sioux Falls area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Very clean park with nice hosts. Reserved site one month in advance, only to be placed on brand new site (that afternoon) with wet cemented stone and ungraded muddy aprons to the rv pad. Very noisy with flight path overhead to local airport, and adjacent freeway entrance. Our site was adjacent to rental property with no separation from same - security concern. Doubtful if a second stay will be made. Note to owners: If you do not have completed sites available, just say so, rather than expecting user to deal with the mess. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
This is a good park with wonderful managers. But it has some issues. It has two areas and the overnight/short stay area is superb, but the long stay area, especially the pull-through row, is cramped. If you are a full-time RVer and use Alternative Resources as your mail forwarding company, you can get a discount. But the P.A. discount is limited to off season. Be sure to make a reservation as they do not have much drive-in spots available. Wi-Fi tends to be sporadic. I stayed here in intense heat and a drought for a month and it became quite dusty. There was a weekend when power was erratic, but the problem was resolved on the first weekday after. You are close to food, shopping and many local attractions, the best of which is Falls Park, which has a light-laser show during the summer season. In summary, it is, for its location, as good as it can be, especially with a super staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
This is a difficult park to review, the pros and cons are many. Pros: great location to access downtown Sioux Falls, bike path. We had a large, level, shaded back in site with good utilities. Each site had a picnic table, but no fire ring. The owners are friendly, and working hard to enlarge and improve the campground. The cons: noise, noise, and more noise. I guess the heat was a blessing, as we ran our A/C with windows closed and blocked out some of the trains, planes, and automobile racket. The Wi-Fi is virtually worthless, so if Internet is important to you, bring your own access. Our weekly rate with tax was $160, very reasonable. We will use this campground again when we need to do our Sioux Falls business. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Rate is with Good Sam Discount. Great location in Sioux Falls and not far from the bike path that loops around downtown. We got one of the new sites: we were the first people to stay on the site. Level site with some trees, there are several shady spots but we didn't make reservations in time to get the shadier ones. Verizon air card worked well, their Internet was spotty: sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. This is one campground where you want a backin instead of a pull through. Only saw one pull through in the new section, and you don't want to be in the older section. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
We stayed here a week while going through the routine of becoming South Dakota residents. Weekly rate is $150+tax on referral from Alternative Resources. They just built a brand new bath house with showers. Did not look like it was even used yet. They are working on expanding the campground by adding more sites. There is an old section where you would be crowded in, the new section is more spacious. You need to ask for the new section when making a reservation. We liked the location being right in town. Close to the downtown area and Empire Mall, just off I-29. We will come back, in fact plan another stop here after seeing the Black Hills. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
We stayed here one night in a 5th wheel on our way home from the East Coast. We chose it because it was close to the freeway and low cost. It is an older RV park with permanent residents in the existing portion a new park under construction – the site was an old trailer park that they are converting to a RV park. They had 10 spaces available. The office is in an old garage building, I think. If you have a very large rig, you may have some problems managing some of their narrow roads but we did see some big motorhomes but in back-in sites. We really didn’t like the campground and would not recommend for a long term stay as the noise is bad, no Wi-Fi, new spaces are laid out poorly, but the owners are nice. An overnighter is okay as the price was good. There is a KOA here but the price is $41 a night and always full. With this said, the best we can give this campground is a 3. Maybe when the campground is finished… We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
Managers and staff were very nice and helpful. Campground was nice and peaceful. Wi-Fi service is poor. Overall, good experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$27
We stayed here for almost two weeks. We were never bothered with "noise" from the street. Perhaps we are immune or deaf? It seemed to be a nice quiet setting. The couple in charge are just great and try very hard to meet your every need. Construction work is being done on the property but we hardly noticed. Bike trails are handy to the Park as are many other amenities in Sioux Falls. Sioux Falls is a lovely City. Falls Park is a gem. The bike trails are super. If only someone could halt the winds. My one and only disappointment in this Park was the extremely poor WiFi Signal. Thus the "5" rating rather than a 8 or 10. Terrible signal and frustratingly erratic. Spoke to the owners but there was no attempt to fix it, or, if there was, it didn't work. We would not return because we have great need of WiFi for our banking and to keep in touch with family in Canada. Too bad that, right in the center of Sioux Falls, they couldn't fix the WiFi Signal. Seems there might just be a lack of will? Everything else in this Park was just fine. Including a very clean and well appointed laundry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
Very nice park easy in and out...planes overhead but earplugs took care of that ...very very friendly hosts! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This is our home when we are in Sioux Falls. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The hosts are so friendly and work so hard to make this a great place to stay. We love seeing the progress they are making at converting this from a trailer park to a classy RV Resort! They are making it happen. This park is convenient to everything, and the price is right. Easy access as it's right off the freeway. You should ask to stay on the tree side (it's like a park) and make reservations -- always. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
We stopped here for an overnight stay on our way to Madison, SD. We planned on staying near Madison to complete our full timing residency. We liked it so much here that we decided to stay for a month. The price reflects the monthly charge. As others have stated, it is noisy here but the noise is so constant that it becomes a "white noise". You get used to it and it didn't bother us at all. The hosts were very attentive and friendly. They would often stop by to chat at night when we were sitting outside. This is a favorite campground for people getting long term treatments at the local hospital because it was so convenient. There is a convenience store across the street and a fast food restaurant next to the store. The other campers are friendly and we still write to a couple of them. We will stop here whenever we go through Sioux Falls. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Very friendly and helpful office staff. Had the option of a pull-thru parking-lot type site or a shaded back in site; chose the much nicer shaded area to the left of the cg entrance. There was a fair amount of noise from the interstate, planes flying close overhead and an occasional train, but we ran fans and our A/C and it did not bother us at night. A good campground for a night or two stay, not sure I'd make a vacation out of it. We would stay here again when passing through the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
The managers were very patient with us - we had to change our arrival multiple times while we were waiting for a replacement a/c west of there. The frequent changes had to have wreaked havoc with their reservations but they were very gracious, friendly, and helpful when we finally arrived. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Park claims to be "big rig" friendly. It is not friendly to class A motorhomes larger than 30' and having slides. The pull through's are approximately 12' wide with trees on each side. The branches hang too low for good clearance. We now have new scratches from the branches to remember this park! Also, located in the flight plan for the airport (noisy) and much road noise. No amenities and you cannot even sit next to your rig due to the narrowness of the sites for the larger coaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Right off the I-29 a couple blocks, a great overnight spot to stop. Do yourself a favor and stay a extra day and visit Sioux Falls. This was supposed to be an overnight, but we stayed over just because it was a pretty nice town, easy to get around in, and they campground was great. Very helpful and friendly staff, level gravel sites. Good power and water, we had a back in, but there's plenty of room to maneuver in the on the first shot. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
We camped in what I gather is the "new" section of the park. The sites are large and shaded with mature trees. The price reflects a weekly rate. We couldn't get satellite reception but there is an excellent, free HD cable system. There is free Wi-Fi but the Verizon signal is 4G and was excellent and too good to give up. The owners are extremely nice and accompany you to your site. One unique aspect is that trash is collected at your site in a large outside trashcan that you keep where it is convenient for you. No walking to the the dumpster. Airplane noise can be a bit loud if they are landing in the right direction, but the good news is that there aren't a lot of flights to Sioux Falls! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
This is a no frills campground close to freeway and town. Full hook-ups with cable TV and free WiFi- note if you have an older TV the office will provide you with a small box that attaches to your TV to pick up all the cable stations. Our site was a gravel pull through with shade trees. The spots are very tight with no room for a table. The bathroom and grounds were clean. Cost reflects passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We are so impressed with the improvements that are ongoing in this park. They have lovely big trees and lots of grass in one section. It looks like a park. The older part is not as green but it is still very good. The Campground is just off HWY 29 which makes it very convenient. The hosts are just wonderful. This is our second stay and we are happy to recommend this Campground. Just remember to make reservations as they do fill up most nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
What a difference new owners make! There is already a huge improvement in this campground. Trashy trailers and the old house have all been removed, and the grounds have been cleaned up. Very accommodating owners for those in Sioux Falls to take care of residency business. If approaching the campground from the interstate, there is a barrier on US 42/12th Street that prevents a left turn into the campground driveway. Go pass the campground and turn left at the next traffic light. Go around the block by turning left at the first named street, left at the T, and then right at stop to be on the correct side of the Tower Campground entrance. The campground office is in the large white building on your left as you enter. It does not look like what you might expect for a campground office. Sioux Falls is the home of the 114th Fighter Wing of the Air National Guard and depending on weather conditions, the fighter jets' take-off may fly over the campground which is very loud. Frankly, makes you want to stand up and salute! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
First, you could not ask to meet nicer people with respect to the owners. The campground is extremely clean, and it is easy to maneuver within the campground. The front of the campground is the older section, and the spots are tight. Not much more room than having the picnic table between you and other RVs. The front section is more like a parking lot with nice trees within it. This is where we were told the "construction" people stay. I take it this is for the folks working on the Interstate, which runs behind the campground. There is a newer section to the campground that has mature trees. The neighborhood surrounding the campground on two sides is "sketchy." There are mobile homes, apartment buildings and businesses around you. I observed some people walking through that did not appear to belong in the campground. As I mentioned, the campground does back up to the Interstate, but also you enter from another main well traveled road. I am sensitive to road noise, so to others, this may not be a bother, but I do think it is higher because of exposure on two sides. But, it appears other campgrounds close to Tower are also on the interstate: KOA & Yogi Bear's Jellystone Camp. If you have business in Minnehaha county, the campground selection is slim unfortunately. In spite of the owners, we won't be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
I would not stay at this campground unless you cannot find anywhere else to stay in this area. It was like parking in a truck garage parking lot with an extremely noisy freeway running along one sides of the park. There was loud traffic noise all night. The older section is nothing but pavement with the sites very close together (no grass at all). They have a newer section that does have some grass and trees that looked OK but there are very few sites in that part of the park and they were full (and there was a lot of traffic noise there also). In addition to the traffic noise it was near an airport and there was loud planes taking off and landing. There was no where to walk our dog except in the newer section along some roads (fortunately a residential area with little traffic). I would not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
We stayed here while getting our South Dakota licenses etc. They have a rate of $25 per night for folks dealing with Alternative Resources for mail forwarding etc. We had heard bad things about the campground from some friends but knew we would be there only two nights. The management has changed and they are expanding the campground into part of the mobile home park. As the lease is up on the mobile home sites the mobile homes are being moved and campsites built. It is still in the building stages but in a couple of years it will be a nice park. We will definitely stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$27
This park is part of a mobile home park in town. New owners are working hard to remodel/upgrade this park. As full-timers, we stopped here to renew our SD drivers licenses. Stayed an extra 2 days to rest from fighting the wind across the prairie. Very friendly staff. Had a large and very shady lot, but were still able to get excellent satellite reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
We loved this park. We stayed here in a very large motorhome. The managers are very nice people. I think that makes or breaks most RV parks right there. They were very hospitable, and went out of there way to accommodate us. We were on a end pull through slot. It fit our rig just fine, with no issues. The park is spacious, so you don't feel cramped. Manoeuvrings was no problem (except at one place where you have to make a turn, but the manager said that is getting changed this summer). Really, I liked this RV park. I understand it used to be pretty sloppy, but I think these new managers have done a great job, with the place. I hear that they have plans to further update the park. The only thing that we could see others not liking as much, is some of the noise. We were right next to the street, but our rig is well insulated. The noise didn't bother us, but it might some other rig, I don't know. It is also near an airport, so you can hear planes during the day. That was actually a plus for us, because we love seeing the planes. However, even if noise bothers you, simply tell the managers. They working on making more RV sites that are set back quite a ways from the road. The bottom line? We will stay here again in a heartbeat. They were friendly people, and the RV park was a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Rate shows Alternative Resources discount. Office is very helpful. Park is easy to use and central to city. It is in no sense a destination but it is a good one to three day stay. They also, while I was there, allowed washing of your rig which was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
What an effort these owners are making to have an excellent park. Old Trailers are leaving and being replaced by new RV spots. Huge trees and plenty of space between. Satellite worked, as did cell phone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Many new upgrades. The new section is beautiful, with park-like grounds and huge sites!!! HUGE!! The manager is excellent and very helpful! Stayed an extra day because it was so close to easy shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Agree with all the preceding reviews. The owner or manager was extremely courteous and helpful. The only thing I would add is that one of two showers is combined with the only toilet. Also expect some airplane and traffic noise. Would return. There is a rate discount if doing business with Alternative Resources. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
My wife and I were in the process of renewing our drivers license and we needed a RV Park Campground or Motel receipt for the DMV. We stayed at Tower Campground for 7 days. The new managers were very helpful and friendly. Our space had full hookups including cable TV. Everything, including the cable, worked great. It is evident the managers are working hard to improve this campground. Our space was under trees so our motorhome was well shaded. This was a clean, nice place to park our home on wheels. When we picked up our mail at Alternative Resources, the lady told us that a New Car Dealer has bought this block of an apartment building, a mobile home park, and the campground. They have removed the old junk trailers out of the mobile home park and are putting in large clean RV sites. The campground is next door and looks to be getting cleaned up also. We were very happy with the space and the service provided. We would stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We stayed in a part of the park recently developed. Sites are wide and road paved. Site is on grass and dirt. Lots of places to walk the dog. I used the laundry and it was clean with machines that seemed well kept. The current managers have gone very far to correct some past issues. They are very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Stayed here to meet the South Dakota residency requirements, apply for a driver's license, and register our motorhome. Park was clean and well shaded. Sites were large. Had both cable TV (300 channels) and WiFi. Although the restrooms and showers were old, they were very clean. Great place to stop on your way through Sioux Falls. Not a place for the family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2008
$36
When I visited this campground I parked late in the evening. I tried to connect cable as my wife and I were going to be staying for a few days due to an incoming snow storm. The cable hookup didn't work. When I asked the attendant/mgr. She told me that she had no idea and wasn't interested in helping either. A kind gentleman staying in the park walking his dog loaned me a 50' cable and connected it to the next outlet over. In the morning when I needed help finding sewer hookups I was told by same manager to dig until I found it. This same gentleman helped me get that all set up. The residents of this year round campground seem helpful and friendly but the staff is lazy and unconcerned. Campgrounds were messy. Laundry room and restrooms were locked up. This guy with the dog told me about the facilities under the mgrs house that were available. No Wi-Fi, Cable Reception bad. We will never stay there again. I saw the man with the dog pick up after his dogs mess, but I saw several other dog owners letting dogs loose to do whatever with no attention. Was told by another resident that the Westwick Motel and Campgrounds was same price and a better serviced campground and just down the street. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
We stayed here while establishing our South Dakota residency. There appeared to be one row of pull-through shaded sites for travelers. All the other sites were seasonal and were, for the most part, in various states of disrepair. The laundry room was closed while we were there. The campground was unkempt with no grass, very little gravel, and a lot of dirt. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
This campground is very overpriced. The brochures put in the visitor centers have, in my opinion, false advertising. They have the Good Sam's logo on the front of the brocheres, but in the Trailer Life Directory it is not a Good Sam's Campground. There is no pool, the play area had the frame work, but no swings hanging from it. The play area was also right next to a VERY busy main street. Campers were VERY close to each other. It had 8 pull throughs for big-rigs and you would be lucky to be able to open your awnings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Way over priced..False advertised, says heated pool, never seen one, and seen no place to put one..Lot of older permanent trailers there..There were about 7 spots assigned to those of us who seemed to be there to conduct business, so a overnight stay..But expensive.. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com