215077 User submitted reviews online!!
Spearfish City Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 51 user reviews. Phone: (605) 642-1340
CGID2604

Spearfish City Campground

Camp Information
Sites
357
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   4   8   9   8   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
Beautiful campground in a great location. Across the street from a historic fish hatchery and on a creek with a walking and biking trail next to it. The sites are gravel with lots of good grass. Quiet location. Some 'premium' sites available directly on the creek. Some grassy sites along a smaller creek with no hook-ups. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We liked this campground a lot except that the sites are pretty tight. I bet it's pretty crowded in the middle of the summer. It's close enough to downtown to walk or bike. There are walking/biking trails following the creek throughout town. We saw deer running thru the campground numerous times. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
The park is very nice as far as appearance is concerned. There is a nice stream running along the park. There is a nice walking path adjacent to the park. The sites are shaded and offer full hook-up. There are six premium sites offered at an additional charge of $5 per night. These sites offer a longer site and more room between sites. We camped in a premium site and the nightly rate reflects the additional charge. I was disappointed in the site as it was not even close to being level. After many attempts to move the trailer around the site to find the best level, I finally achieved a spot that only required 2 1/4" of boards on one side. So, if you choose a premium site and don't have jacks, bring some lumber. In addition, there is only one Wi-Fi antenna and it is at the office. So if you are not parked next to or very near the office, your signal will be poor if you are able to receive a signal at all. If you plan to use the Wi-Fi, my advice would be to get a site near the office and avoid the premium sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Nice large sites. Easy in easy out. Located downtown within easy walking distant. Quiet and dark in the night hours. WI-FI worked great. Cable TV with all the channels. Would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
What a wonderful park. The trees, the streams, the fish hatchery. All close to downtown Spearfish. Nice sites, good roads, great walking. Would have stayed longer, but they were booked solid. Stayed 7 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
This a great city park adjacent to a wonderful, historic park area with nice walking/bike paths. Our spot was a bit snug with little room to park our car, but the setting was worth it. Lots of grassy areas and nice foliage. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
This is a gem, right in the center of town! Lush, green, trees, a creek running through it (tent & premium sites) that you can hear running. Really a sweet place that a fellow camper had told us about or we would never have known about it! We would have stayed longer except we were lucky to slip in there for the two days before the holiday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
We stayed here overnight. Very clean park. Sites are a little close, but appropriate. Bathhouses were clean. Need to pay close attention to directions, as this park is in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
This is a beautiful and clean city park. It is next to the city park and the historical fish hatchery. All within walking distance. There is a creek with trout in it that runs through the park. There is a lot of good things to say about the park. Our Verizon phone gets 4G service. Park wi-fi and cable TV is good also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Beautiful park and well kept grounds. One of our favorite places to stay. Each site is shaded and some are by the creek close enough to listen to and sleep by it if weather permits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Nice campground in a real pretty park setting, with a nice creek that runs through the camp. Close to downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Wanted to see the Black Hills, Deadwood, etc. Stayed a week and made this our base for Mt.Rushmore, Custer State Park, Wall Drug, and Badlands NP. The campground was so pleasant with a stream running through it, beautiful trees, manicured grass, and a very safe feeling. The town of Spearfish was very cute, and had everything an RV'er would need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
What a great park. As some reviewers have said, the sites are close together. However, we stayed on a Tuesday in late August, nobody on either side of us, two neighbors near us in the back. Park is beautiful, lots of trees and a stream and recreation trail in the park. Showers were spotless. There is a nice fish hatchery to tour right at the park entrance and city park is just a short walk further the main entrance with nice toys for kids to play on at the park. Really happy with this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
This is a beautiful park. Nice shade trees, creek runs through the park. All sites are back-in. Sites are not very level, and most sites are very tight! Cable TV is only a few channels, and Wi-Fi is weak. Did I mention sites are tight? And some with trees IN the site! If you can get a site by the creek, those are wider, otherwise, you'll be on top of your neighbor! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
This is the second time we've camped here, and both times we've dry-camped. There were a lot of nice sites for primitive camping, and we chose one with a lot of shade and stream side, since the temps were in the 100s. We love the location of this campground - it's walking distance from the fish hatchery, Spearfish creek and city park, and there's lots of bike trails nearby, to downtown or Spearfish Canyon. Yes, there is quite a bit of traffic throughout the night and day, especially on the weekends. Restrooms and showers are well- maintained and clean. Ice and firewood are available at the office, and groceries nearby. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
We loved this park, everything we need. Large city park with green grass, plenty of shade, a beautiful clear creek running through it, a bike/walking trail, the Historic Booth Fish Hatchery within walking distance, a nice town, with good shopping and restaurants. Our dogs loved it, so many places to walk. We were able to find a site that our satellite found a signal and had a little shade at the same time. Paved interior roads, all sites gravel and level. The weekends during the summer are very busy, and some of the sites can be close together, we stayed during the week and it really clears out, we didn't feel crowded at all. Some sites our bigger than others, so just be careful of the one you pick out. Close enough to drive into Deadwood and Lead. We really enjoyed it here. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We were disappointed in this park because of the small size of sites and the high volume of traffic driving through the park. They let people come in at all hours and we had two new neighbors come in after 11:00 and both left by 7:00 am. That is called free camping...or stealing. Sites were narrow and most had a neighbor backing up to within 7-8 feet of your RV rear. Don't get in the area next to the bike path as it is crowded with locals day and night. You will not have any privacy. We won't stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We were assigned site #11 with full hook-up. Looking at the online map of the campground, you can not tell how close the sites actually are to each other. We arrived when several sites around us were empty but by looking at the gravel pads we were a little concerned with how close they seemed to each other. We felt lucky in that our site was right by the creek and angled so we had a nice little grassy area with our picnic table and the kids could play in the creek. The place filled up by the weekend and it was close quarters. One person behind us backed up his 5th wheel so far that he was over the fire pit of the neighbor site behind him. Their camper was less than a foot from another camper. Given all that, the place is still great. In part I'm sure it's because of our location on the creek (and the city bike trail was directly in front of us, but was more entertainment and not a nuisance). The closeness is something to be aware of, though. There are sites that seemed much more spacious but overall the place had a cramped feel in the trailer area. The tent/non-hookup area was spacious and open. The bathroom/shower buildings were clean and showers worked well. The park itself has so much to offer, we were delighted with the whole experience. The firewood we bought from the office was delivered to our site. However it was wet and seemed to be cut pieces of old fence posts which we couldn't decided if was treated wood or not. Oddly (at least to us) the nice family that arrived on our last night and camped behind us used our campsite as public space they could walk through at anytime without a word. In reality we don't mind, but would prefer that they had simply asked or said excuse me first, and it wouldn't have seemed so odd. Not sure if this was just them or the campground in general. We made our reservation the first day it opened and I could tell people had already been busy before my call. My guess is that if you want a good site you need to call early - especially if it includes a weekend! We would definitely stay here again and would even pick our same site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Certainly one of the best city parks you'll find; grass, shade, well-managed by professional camp hosts, and to top it off, a stocked trout stream in your back yard. Adjacent to a paved walking/biking trail, the park is a short distance from playgrounds, an amphitheater where music is played during the summer, and across the street from the National Historic Fish Hatchery which is free and great fun. Sites are gravel and level, hookups are good, and there's ample shade. Located in the canyon, there's little wind. Convenient to shopping and the scenic Spearfish Canyon drive. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
This place is a hidden gem. Located stream side on the SW side of town away from the Interstate. Lots of grass, shade and space. The number of sites reflects the "primitive camping" locations. They claim up to 300 tents during Sturgis Week. This year the Sturgis Rally is Aug 8-14. This place will be full. Showers/restrooms well cared for. Regular police patrols. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a beautiful park, large trees and a river that meanders through to area. The sites are a bit close to each other, when our neighbors get their big trucks parked we have a problem with a parking place for our car. The office folks are friendly and helpful, even came to our site after we were parked to see it all was OK. We will diffidently be coming back here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This is a very nice campground. I did not give it a 10 for a couple of reasons. There was no laundry, you had to go 3 blocks to a dry cleaner and laundry on the same street. The bathrooms and showers were clean but a little old and there were no soap dispensers. Lastly the Wi-Fi was poor. Now for the up side. This place is absolutely beautiful. This is more of a city park than a RV park. There are bike and walking paths. Excepting the roads and sites it is all grass and absolutely lovely. All the RV and tent sites are shaded by mature trees, and the Spearfish creek runs through the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
We've been camping across five states so far on this trip, and the Spearfish City Campground has been our favorite. The grounds are gorgeous, it's tucked away from the city so it's really quiet and has a nice little river that runs through it. There are also city playgrounds for the kids and a nice paved pathway for bikers/runners that's just being completed. We also drove by the KOA in town, as we usually camp at their grounds, but it was right by the interstate and SUPER noisy. Plus, the place wasn't nearly as nice as any of the other KOAs we'd stayed at, and spots were super tight. I'm glad we went with Spearfish instead. The cable TV came through crystal clear, but Internet was non-existent, which was our only one big issue with this campground, as it promotes itself as having Wi-Fi. The girl in the office just told us to bring our computer to the front of the grounds and use it on a bench if we needed to connect, but who wants to do that?? If it weren't for the Internet (and the fact that the women's bathroom had clumps of hair stuck to all the sinks, eww), I would give this site a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This is an excellent campground, it has to be one of our favorites. Well maintained and very friendly people will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
The WiFi did not work for us. It is a nice clean campground and has easy access to Spearfish Canyon, a don't miss drive to and hiking place. Nearby is a fish hatchery with some monster trout, but most of it closes down after Labor Day. Our GPS directions were not real good to arrive here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
This park was great. We were in one of the premium sites that were beside the creek. Had lots of shade. People were friendly. We stayed a week and would have stayed longer. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Can you believe it? $20 a night for camping in a city park? Lots of grass, next to a trout stream and a historic old fish hatchery. The seasonal workers for the park are all in one row off to the side and very friendly. Lots of grass for your pet (clean up after it) and lots of paved bike paths/walkways. Very quiet at night. This place deserves several nights of staying to fully enjoy, sorry we couldn't. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Quiet, crowded park the week before Sturgis. Has fairly tight spaces, no road noise, and the WiFi spotty (best at office area). One of better spots we stayed during our last trip. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
What a gem of a place to stay! The people at the office couldn't have been nicer and more helpful, the spaces weren't too close together, had a firepit for a campfire, and our satellite and antenna worked great. We had no problem with the WiFi, although some of the people further away from the office did. This park is right next door to the nicest city parks I have ever seen. There is a fish hatchery that is incredible right next door as well. There is a stream/creek running along the edge of the property where tent campers can set up and there is a large stream running along the other side for larger RV's to back up to. This is one of the cleanest and nicest little towns and we just couldn't get over how beautifully maintained everything was. We look forward to staying here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
One of the nicest campgrounds we've stayed in. Grassy and park-like with level gravel sites and paved roads. Hookups are at the back so can be a stretch for the sewer on motorhomes. Lots of mature trees so satellite access can be tricky. There's a stream running around the campground and it is in walking distance to the main park with great playground, historic fish hatchery, and the river with wading and tubing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
This park is partially surrounded by Trailer parks, It has a nice view from the east end, Horses open fields, and a mountain, but the highway cuts through and is a little noisy. Some spots do not have fire pits and the roads are muddy when it rains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Best place we have stayed in 7 weeks. A great little town, close to Deadwood and other sightseeing things. Campground is spotless, with large sites, a beautiful city park. If you're coming through, don't miss it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a very nice, city park with great campground hosts. The park is in excellent condition and well maintained. The electric, water, cable TV and sewer facilities look like they were recently replaced or upgraded. Interior roads are paved, and the sites are gravel and mostly level. There are plenty of large shade trees. The sites are a little closer together than we are used to in municipal/state parks. They could change this very good park into a great park by eliminating about half the sites. There are miles of paved bike trails connecting the campground with downtown Spearfish and surrounding areas. Of all the campgrounds we have stayed, this is one of the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This is a city owned park, very nice and very pretty. Only draw back is that the sites are all back ins and some are difficult. Sites are level with tables and fire rings. Staff is very friendly, however do not escort you to your sites. We used this park as our base camp while we toured the Black hills and Mt. Rushmore. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Super city campground. Wish there were more like this, with cable tv , bike path, etc. Convenient yet quiet location; we rode bikes to the library and downtown every day. Bathrooms were clean but showers very popular and needed to be cleaned more than once a day...actually, they need more shower stalls. Campground was full every day- summer reservations a must. Sites get a bit tight, but there's grass around them, and so much to do elsewhere. Hookups are in the back, tough to do sewer so go to the dump station. Many families, some rowdy kids not considerate of RVers. September is a better time to be here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
The nicest campground I have ever visited. Some of the sites are a little close together but everything else is the best. There is a brand new bathhouse that was always spotless. The creek flows through the campground. The historic fish hatchery is right next door. The scenery around Spearfish is beautiful. We were very disappointed in the area surrounding Mt. Rushmore. It is very commercialized. We are very thankful we decided to stay in Spearfish after driving to Mt. Rushmore. We will return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
This is a very nice park. The previous reviewers had it right. The only complaint would be the wi-fi works only close to the check in building. Full hookups with cable TV. Nice setting, well maintained. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
So far, this is one of the best campground we've stayed in. Beautiful setting with stream running through the campground. Exceptionally clean. There is a paved bike path on the back side of the park. The campground is large so we never feel crowded even during the Sturgis week. The campground is right next to the city public park, which I think is a plus. Is like a two for one deal. You pay for one campground and get to enjoy the park next door as well. If you're camping here, bring the bikes. The only thing that I don't like is some sites are like a Y shape. You have to share the entrance with your neighbor and sites are a little close to each other. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Beautiful setting, like camping in a park. Mature trees, grassy sites with gravel pads, fire pits and tables at all sites. Walking/biking paths along the stream with easy access to the city park. 2 week limit. We extended our stay to 8 days. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
We stayed two nights while visiting friends. They recommended this campground and we agree with them. Sites are back in,level concrete and driveways are asphalt. Some trees close to the road that you need to keep an eye on when traveling to your site. Bathrooms/showers clean. There was WiFi, but it worked best (for us) when we were next to the office. Campground is close to everything you might need. The only negative is it is next to the city park. The local "teen agers" like to park at the entrance to the campground and do their "drinking and smoking". They did stay out of the campground and did not cause us any problems. We will camp here again, when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Great park with a convenient location. Make sure you visit the Historic Fish Hatchery across the street. It's really enjoyable. The only thing keeping it from being a "10" is that some sites limit the ability to back a larger trailer into. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
We chose this park to stay in during our 2007 Black Hills fall vacation, to some extent based upon the reviews on this site. This park is beautifully located in Spearfish, with lots of shade trees and nice concrete walks along Spearfish Creek. The sites seemed cramped, with campers 'butting up' to each other without a lot of space between sites. The electric, water, and sewer hookups are located at the end of the site, requiring long sewer and electric hoses. The "killer" for us was the fact that the roads are narrow with very close shade trees, which were not trimmed very well. The site assigned to us had trees framing the entrance, and maneuvering the coach into the spot was a challenge. The trees also were so low as to hit the roof of the coach. The staff was very nice, and tried to find us a spot that was less crowded and less treed, but all the more open ones were already taken. It appeared that there were some paved spots right next to the creek, which would have worked well for us, but they also were not available (even though one of them was empty) - we ASSUME these are "long timer" spots, judging by the 'gardens' etc around the rigs parked there. While this is a very nice park, with very nice and helpful staff, the number of "big rig friendly" spots is very limited. In the end, we received a full refund and stayed at Elkhorn Ridge instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
I agree this is a great place, especially for a city campground. Wonderful, huge shade trees and grass throughout the park, plus a bike path to Spearfish Canyon or into town, and with a City Park with playground and fish hatchery. I came here based on this website reviews' and wasn't disappointed. Only negatives are the sewer and hookups are all way back and hard to reach. And the showers were in a separate building from the bathrooms, and not always clean. My site was close enough to the office that the free WiFi worked. This park is nicer than a lot of private places, and the rate is fair ($26 plus tax). Cable TV is outstanding. Decent space between sites, and all are level gravel,with a picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
This is a special find for travellers passing through or on the way to Spearfish Canyon. A very attractive campground in a quiet setting with a small river/stream running through it. Clean, well kept and attractive. The only drawback are that some of the sites are rather hard to back in to for larger rigs. However, every site we saw was almost perfectly level. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
This was a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely want to camp here again. There is plenty of shade and the walkway along the stream was both picturesque and functional. Very reasonable rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
A really great park. The wifi is only available near the office but they provide a picnic table or you can park your car there and use it. The sites have the utilities at the back of the site so you might need long hoses and a long sewer hose. Some sites are rather short if you have a long rig and a toad. It's a great place to camp while you see all of the Black Hills. Sanford's Grub and Pub is very close to the park and has great food and nightly drink specials. The park host told us that they are considering adding wifi repeaters throughout the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
This campground is the best kept secret in the northern Black Hills. We stayed for a week. There were deer roaming through the campground every morning and evening. It is very clean and well maintained. This is the best campground in the northern hills, bar none. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
This was by far the best campground we've stayed at in our travels through Montana, Wyoming and into South Dakota. Nicely paved interior roads, gravel sites and nice lawns(manual sprinklers Not automatic ones trying to make your motorhome grow)The staff was polite and helpful and the area was great. Just make sure to avoid Sturgis rally time(first two weeks of August) unless of course you love the motorcycles. What a breath of fresh air, A city campground that knows how to do it right! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$23
This is a beautiful park, located at the end of Spearfish Canyon on the river. It's beautifully maintained and the rates are quite reasonable. The sites are spacious, there's a nice biking/walking trail through the park and the main part of town is nearby. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2004
$21
A well kept park by the town of Spearfish. The location is convenient for overnight or for a week. The staff is friendly. We will come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$21
Very convenient access to the attractions in Spearfish. Rates cover 7th day free after paying for 6. Very friendly folks running the campground. Great walking/jogging/biking trail runs through the campground and the whole city. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com