214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Barn RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (605) 368-2268
CGID2607

Red Barn RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   6   7   6   8   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
We stayed here for a few months. It was a quiet site, and after seeing the other options in Sioux Falls we were glad we chose this. Bathroom facilities were a little dated and shower head was low, but worked. Laundry area was nice and clean. We didn't use the pool but it was there. Sites are very close and lots of dirt and gravel but overall we would choose to stay here again if in Sioux Falls We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Showers old but functional. Toilet across the aisle wouldn't shut off. Old bathroom sinks. Sites very narrow. Fire rings around the park broken down from units running over them because of very tight turns. Unlevel and site area had many tree roots. Unfortunately, there are few campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Unlevel, too close; won't stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
The only downside to this park is the dust. They need more gravel on the interior roads. Staff was excellent and eager to please. We were there at the beginning of summer and the mosquitoes were brutal. You are allowed to have campfires. It's a quite park with plenty of shade trees. Laundry room was clean - did not use the showers or restrooms. Good Verizon access. Tea is very small, but does have a grocery store, post office and a couple of pizza places. Major shopping only 10 minutes away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
OK park, lots of trees, very narrow roads, tight turns, difficult for Big Rigs. Be sure to follow directions to the park, turn left where it says "Airport". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Nice level, grassy site. Plenty of room. Good area to walk the dog. Very shady, but so many trees that there was no satellite reception. Camp was not well marked on roads leading in. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
I'll admit to a little sentimental value on this campground. When we first started camping 9 years ago, this was our first stop. It was our last stop on our return home after a month on the road. The sites a very close together. To conserve space they have put the utilities together so campers face each other (and are very close to each other). It's far enough away from I-29 that the road noise isn't bad. It's a decent enough campground for an overnight stop. The Falls Park is well worth a visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
Rate based upon week stay. Pros: Proximity to town 5 minutes, pool was well kept and sizable, nearby RV repair options, restrooms were spotless, laundry an affordable $1 wash/dry. The shadiest park we have been in 3 months, a huge plus in July. Has nice “treats” in the office and is priced cheaply. Cons: Half of park is companion sites, the internet was a challenge at best, fine if in front of office. TIPS: 271st St/Hwy 106 exit better option than 273rd St, which forces you onto a dirt road for 1mile. Also, this park fills up fast Fri/Sat/Sun, so reservations are prudent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
We enjoyed our stay at this RV park. The staff was friendly, had a pool, playground and lots of sites. Wi-fi available on sites near the office. We used 50 amp electric, water, and sewer. Sites were level, gravel/crushed rock and easy to get in/out. Showers and restrooms and laundry were clean and adequate. Small pets welcome. We stayed here before and will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
I think Red Barn is a good choice in the Sioux Falls area as the other 2 campgrounds we saw were both in-town right next to the interstate system. Red Barn is in the country, maybe a half-mile away from I-29. You can still hear the freeway noise in the distance at night, but the campground was very quiet. It looked like the majority of the population at Red Barn are seasonal campers, there for a month or the whole summer. Like a previous reviewer stated, most were kept up nicely, with flowers and outdoors lights. The owner does seem to have a real interest in old cars (particularity Mustangs). There are quite a few old cars stored and just sitting around the back part of the grounds by their barn, which may be what some reviewers thought made the place look trashy, but the rest of the main campground was clean and neatly trimmed. The people that run the place were friendly. The majority of the spots are shady and graveled. Our site was definitely not at all level, tested the limits of our jacks to even-out our RV. Red Barns restrooms and showers may be the cleanest I've ever come across. Each shower had it's own large curtained changing room area with a seat, a shelf and 2 hooks. Large shower stalls with lots of hot water and great shower heads. Restrooms and sinks were equally as spotless. Our utilities worked OK but water pressure did seem to fluctuate with the time of day. Wi-Fi signal was not the strongest but did work. Has a decent sized pool and playground for kids. There is a good sized Sunshine Foods grocery store on the southeast side of Tea for supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Nice park, out of the way on gravel road. Quiet, restrooms average, but clean. Good place for a longer stay, if you didn't want cable. Lots of shade and lots of sites were pull through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Shady spots with FHU. Sewers are iffy, pull the lever too fast, it will overflow at the start (may explain the whiffs of sewage every once in a while). Water pressure weak. Did look in restrooms when in that area. Shower curtains for stall doors. Seemed clean though. Management nice and helpful, worked to get us into a site that would get us Wi-Fi for the 2 week stay. Wi-Fi will put you in misery, loading anything more than e-mail. Previous reviewer stated a lot of old RV's on site. Not really. A couple at most, but the place is large and you have to go out of your way to find them. A lot of seasonal, but, you can tell their sites by the flowers and upkeep. Area was very noisy late into the night with fireworks, for the week-end of the Fourth. You can hear the freeway noise at night, but the campground is usually quiet. The spaces are doable, not overly big. There is a 5 mph speed limit and we were given a big lecture about it, although we have no toad and once parked would not go until time to leave. However, parked in first row by entrance, the cars fly by, even when you are standing there with your dog. Rule does not seem to be enforced with the ones that really need it: the long-timers that know better. The mosquitos are ridiculous! Sat out one night, and that was it! Haven't sat out since, they will eat you alive. And campfires: forget leaving a window open at night. I love a nice wood fire, but, that is not what these people burn, smells like rubber for the most part. Other than that, easy to get to, lots of nice people and quiet. I would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Besides being too tight, my main problem with this campground is they assured me they had Wi-Fi and that it worked. In site 62, the only signal i could get was too weak to be usable. On the phone I told them that I needed Wi-Fi to conduct some business and asked them twice if they were sure they had usable Wi-Fi. Yes i was told, we have 3 different set ups. When we arrived the woman tells my husband -- you won't be able to get Wi-Fi at your site. What were we supposed to do at 7 pm on July 4? The main thing I liked about it was lots of trees although in such tight sites, they present a challenge for bigger rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
I can't understand all the great reviews about this park. Yes, it had shade, clean bathrooms and plenty of hot water the laundry facilities looked nice. The park was very quiet. Now for the bad: the seasonal folks are a mixture of 100k motorhomes and trashy trailers. 30/40 year old campers up in blocks surrounded by trash. We were first put in a miniscule pull through next to what can only be called hillbilly heaven. Their sewage was leaking. They had car parts everywhere. There were at least four vehicles crammed in the spot. We asked to move due to the smell. The next spot was better but again along side a dumpy camper on blocks surrounded by trash. There was constant freeway noise, but not so much you couldn't sleep. The camp store was merely a couple of shelves and a freezer. The sites were incredibly small. We would not stay again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Excellent place to camp. Daughter was in soccer tourney Sioux Falls. Campground about 7 interstate miles from soccer fields: very quick. Campground very clean, firepits a plus, showers/etc. clean as well. Lots of shade: every space had good shade. Nearly all are pull through sites. Unheated pool and nice playground for kids. Cheap firewood! Churches very close in Tea. Great place, will stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Nice place, people friendly. Our site was nice and level and all services worked. The WiFi was kind of iffy. We stayed several days. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
I would have given this park a higher rating but their Wi-Fi is terrible. We were unable to sign on unless we went into the room next to the office which is not handy. Even then it was very slow and not reliable. If you need internet access this is not the park to stay. The park is made up of many summer full time residents and they are not too friendly. It is a good place to spend a few nights, but, not for a long period. It is close to Sioux Falls via the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
Rate reflects AARP discount. Very nice staff. Called the office ahead of entry time and they told us the easiest way to get here. Would have been difficult to find without these directions, as signage is there but not very dynamic. Nice onsite laundry facility. Wonderful shady areas, many fulltime summer residents, some with older units but found other campers to be friendly. Very pet friendly. Had an occasion to utilize the services of the local veterinarian's office in Tea: was very delightful and reasonable. On the down side the mosquitoes were rampant and likely to carry you off despite bug spray. We stayed here in a 40 ft. toy hauler with three slides. Found it easy to maneuver through the park. We found a gym close by that was willing to give us a two week membership for a super good price and really got our monies worth. Tried the Tea Steak House and had a great steak dinner at a reasonable price and found the towns people of Tea to be very friendly. Overall the experience of our two week stay was good. We would recommend this as a nice quiet park but be sure to call for directions. There is MUCH road work going on in this area and lots of gravel roads. You can get to the park on paved roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
Sites were not level mainly grass and or gravel. The water pressure was not good. Nice friendly staff. There are not enough RV parks in the area to support the volume of RV-ers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
Nice park. The entrance was so overgrown that it was impossible to get into the park without having both sides of the rig scraped by brush and the office was poorly marked. It is also heavily treed so that satellite TV was difficult in many sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Nice park for the most part. Some sites are nicer than others, but those seem to be taken by seasonals, which left the so-so sites for those just traveling thru. It served the purpose, and we would stay there again. Compared to the prices of some of the other parks in Sioux Falls, this place is great for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
This is a quiet campground. Check-in clerk was not friendly. Most of the sites are seasonals. There is an extra charge for your kids. We were charged an extra $3 a piece per night. This is an acceptable overnight stop; wouldn't stay longer though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Nice park for a short stay but not sure about longer. We opted for the least desirable site since the most desirable site was soft and questionable even for our 35 ft MHA. In fairness the entire area (IA, NE, SD, etc) experienced weeks of unbelievable rain so everywhere was (and still is) more than a bit soggy. The price, trees and quiet make this a great alternative to the big chains in Sioux Falls (well worth a visit). A suggestion, ignore the book directions and take I29 to exit 73 and approach the CG from the north - all paved road except for the last 50 ft. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$34
Helpful staff. Clean place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
I found this park on the Internet and it was a great park to stay at. Big sites, very clean restrooms and Sioux Falls was about 5 miles away. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
What a great little campground! Drive a mile down a dirt road (within sight of the interstate) and you'll find yourself in a shady oasis. We were just traveling through, but I could have definitely stayed here a few days. The laundry facility was large, the bathrooms very clean, and the camp kittens are playful. And even though you can see the Interstate traffic, you can't hear it due to the dense trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
We have stayed here numerous times and will again. A bit tight but I have a 37ft and managed quite well. Close to Sioux Falls and interstate, but very little noise. A few timers there, but a nice campground and owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
After driving 1 mile down a dirty dusty road to get here, our first impression was a good one. Lots of shade trees. The park looked a little tight but doable in a big rig. The office staff was very friendly. They where full for the weekend when we pulled in but she found a site that the people didnt show so she gave it to us. The interior roads are dirty gravel and the sites are grass. The sites are level and clean with a fire ring and table at each one. They have a central area with pool, volley ball, horse shoes, shuffle board, and a playground. They also have a laundry and limited supplies in the office. This park is nice and quiet at night. It is a few miles from the Interstate and you can hear the trucks but it isnt too annoying. The biting flies were annoying and a few mosquitoes. We stayed here 4 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$19
Campground is just south of Sioux Falls, a mile drive on a dirt road, parallel to I-29. Lots of trees for shade, but cannot receive satellite in most sites. 30 amp only, however good voltage. Good water pressure also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Red Barn is located in Tea, a small town, very near Sioux Falls so you can find the camp without running into heavy traffic. Some RV parks are fancier in the area, but this one is reasonable. Well kept up buildings. Owner is very nice and accommodating. Park has some summer contactors that stay and work in Sioux Falls, but is home to mostly tourists. We stay here when ever we are in the area and have for a number of years. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$22
We reserved and were promised a 50 amp site but weren't given one .. located adjacent to a swampy area which yielded absolutely the worst misquito infestation that could be imagined, this made any sort of outside activities (including using the pool) were very difficult ... construction workers on numerous sites camping in old busses and such ...gravel road leading to the campground was extremely rough ... cannot recommend this campground during the summer or for more than a single night stop-over ... stayed there two times for a single night in 2003, above statements are true of both visits ... have no plans to stay there again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$15
We really liked this park, lots of shade trees, and was quiet at night. They also have lots of grass around the sites, what more could you want for $15 a night. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com