214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Lewis and Clark Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (605) 668-2985
CGID2611

Lewis and Clark Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
374
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   8   8   6   8   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
Nice state park campground. Very quiet, nice campsite, facilities were clean. Had to beat for the price. Hope to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Another excellent South Dakota State run campground on the Lewis and Clark Lake. We stayed here in a 40' motorhome with toad on site 125. This is a large campground with several loops. There is quite a bit of green space between campsites and our site was facing the lake with a huge amount of green space to the rear of our motorhome. Verizon cell and MIFI worked well, but could not get satellite signal because of trees. Interior roads were asphalt and plenty wide to get around; pads were asphalt, as well. Electric and water were strong. We would definitely come back to this one again. Yankton was about 7 miles away and you can get all your supplies and several good eating places in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
This is a very nice state park that accommodated our 45' motorhome by unhooking our tow vehicle. We stayed in the Pierson Ranch area. Roads are paved and most trees were trimmed above the 13 foot level of our coach. All sites are back ins and paved. Electric hookups include both 50 amp and 30 amp power. No water or sewer. Sites are very well spaced and include a table and fire ring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
We stayed for a few days in our favorite site while visiting family. The drinking fountains along the paved trail already had the water shutoff. Several of the bathrooms and the camping loops were closed for the season. The sites seem to be 30 amp electricity. Most sites have a slope. Ours needed four inches of boards on the curbside to get level. This is a well-maintained park with “prime” sites that have great water views. If you have made your reservation online, be sure to stop at the office on your way in to pick up the tag for your pole. You will also need a park sticker for you vehicles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
I like Yankton, South Dakota and I loved this park but I was there in late September when all the tourist were gone and prime sites were available. That is a big factor to consider. Being new to this campground I found the entrance difficult to locate and finally called them from the Marina nearby and asked for directions. None of the literature I had downloaded prior to my visit mentioned that there is no water hookup at any of these sites and I just took it for granted that there was. Fortunately I always carry about a half a tank (35 gallons) of fresh water and it really came in handy here. The site had a 50 amp hookup but that was it. There is nothing else at these sites. But I was looking for peace and quiet for a few days near some water and this place has it. The views are magnificent, the lake only a moments walk away and clearly visible out my windows. The sites are shaded and the park has large, clean bathrooms and showers and dump stations with non-potable as well as drinking water nearby. Just remember to utilize them before you back into your site and set up camp. My biggest complaint came when I had to back into my campsite near the water. There are so many trees that some sites, like mine, were a challenge to get a large fifth wheel and tow vehicle into. There was also a man-made post in the ground at each site where you are to hang your visitors receipt on so the campground rangers know when you are dated to leave. This post made access and exiting very restricted and I was actually angry that someone would put a post right there in the way. I wasn't even sure I could exit without possibly hitting a tree. But when I went to leave after spending nearly a week in this heavenly park, I realized that the post simply lifted out of the ground! If I had only known that upon arrival as well as the fact that there was no water hookup this would have been a perfect visit. This is not your typical RV park but if you want a beautiful campground experience and like the water, this is the place for you. And the morning I left, I drove by 7 deer and one bald eagle in a tree. Beat that at your next stop. I loved this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
We were here on a Sunday night in late August. Not at all crowded. Really nice grounds and well maintained facilities. HOWEVER, the "bug problem" described by several people in the reviews below was significant. Thousands of mayflies came out, mainly in the evening, swarming lights, swarming the bathhouse, flying in your face, sticking to your skin. We could not swim in the lake -- there were too many dead mayflies. We trying using the bike paths in the day, and again hit swarms of these things. They don't sting or bite, but it was horrible. We will never go back to this campground. I really hope this is just a late August phenomenon,. I recommend that you call the park before traveling, to make sure that these bugs are not present during your visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
This is a beautifully maintained park; I'm sure having the annual sticker helps with the cost of maintenance. We usually stay in the Midway section. Our favorite site is advertised as 50amp service but we had only 30amp this time. Plus the pavement is sinking causing us to have to raise our curb-side several inches. It is very busy on the weekends but during the week it gets quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Plenty of trees, grass and beautiful river sites. Staff was friendly. Plenty of room for a 38 footer with slideouts in each site. Conveniences were close by in Yankton. Has an area for horses if you are traveling with them. Plenty to see and do in the area for all ages. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
It was a nice place but a bit commercial for us. The bath houses were not very close to a lot of sites (ours included). I think this was due to the large size of the sites and the number of them, making the ratio correct but putting a lot of distance between them. Over all, a very nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
Absolutely beautiful and immaculately maintained park and campground. The sites are wooded, level, and the surrounding green space is immaculately maintained. We have never seen such a beautifully landscaped and maintained state park. There are miles and miles of level, paved bike trails both along the lake and in the woods. The park "rangers" were all friendly and helpful, as was every other park service person. The park is very heavily used on the weekends, as when we arrived on Sunday afternoon there was a constant stream of campers and boaters exiting the park. But during our stay during the week, we felt we had almost the whole park to ourselves. Be aware though that the waterfront sites are absolutely covered with huge bugs at this time of year. Screened canopies for sitting outside of your camper are an absolute must at a site near the water unless you don't mind being eaten up. We camped at an interior loop away from the water, and had no problems with insects. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
An excellent park! Sites are large and level. Bathrooms are clean. Take a bike to use on the many bike paths. Very convenient to Yankton, a town of 14K. If you use a satellite dish there are many sites with visibility. Boating and fishing opportunities abound. I was disappointed that the park has very limited trash recepticals for walkers and no recycle bins for plastics or aluminium cans. Another disappointment was that about 2/3's of the park's camping is made available to just reservations. Not the greatest thing if you don't live by a schedule. Great if you do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
It is WONDERFUL! We spent a week there enjoying the area. The park has beautiful spacious sites where you are not crammed in together. A bery Friendly town. There is a great Scrapbooking store on 3rd street. We are voing back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
This is by far one of the nicest state parks that we have ever stayed in. The park sits along the shore of Lewis and Clark Lake. The sites are large with a lots of space between you and your neighbor. Most of the sites are shaded with large mature trees. Maintained grass is between sites with large open areas. There are several miles of bike/walking trails. Boat ramps are available along with parking for boat trailers. The restrooms and shower were some of the cleanest we've seen. About 60% of the sites can be reserved, but one whole section is first come, first serve. There is a $5.00 a day charge for access to the park and $2.00 for a lake front site, for a total of $21.00. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$16
It's really a nice large well-kept park right on Lewis & Clark Lake. It should be a 10, but there is no water or sewer at the campsites - you have to drive up to the dump station and fill up your tanks there. This can be aggravating if you go through a lot of water. Satellite tv worked okay even under a lot of shade trees, but there was no wifi or modem connections. It is a great place if you have a boat or want to fish. The park has hice hiking and biking - a big long trail right along the lake edge. It's only about 3 miles into Yankton for supplies and services. I would go back there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$16
This is our favorite park in the whole country. Great sites, miles of hiking/biking paved paths. Hard to get into on summer weekends. Great for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$15
Although we only stayed one night I got the impression from driving through that this campground that this would easily be a perfect place to spend an entire vacation. We stopped here as a half-way point coming back from the Black Hills, but I plan on coming back again to stay for a few. This boasts immaculate showers/bathrooms, huge campsites, playgrounds and beach area, green grassy areas to just "run around", friendly staff. I would have rated higher than an 8 if there were also water hook-ups, and if would have stayed longer to get a more accurate review (but it really "felt" like a 10). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com