206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Rocky Top Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 70 user reviews. Phone: (423) 323-2535
CGID2613

Rocky Top Campground

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   9   9   10   10   7   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We stayed here overnight on our way to Maine. A very good place to make an overnight stop. The owners were friendly and very helpful. Sites were level, but not paved. Everything was clean and worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
A beautiful, well maintained campground. Paved roads to nice, gravel sites with mowed grass buffers with trees. This was a very pleasant surprise as it is well protected from the road. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Easy access to the interstates. Both pull thru and back in sites available. I will be back soon and again in the future. This is a keeper for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
What a gem! Lovely, small park. Hosts were super helpful and friendly. Escorted us to our pull through site, helped us get in, and stayed to make sure everything was working correctly. Site was beautifully manicured, level, and long. Nice dog walk. Paved roadways, all interior lights were working - just overall extremely nice. When we left the next morning, the host checked the exit roadway to make sure no traffic was coming around the corner. Five-star service in my opinion. Only negative (if it's a negative) was that the campground is on a hill, so if you're out for a walk, you will have to go uphill some. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Very nice campground. Price reflects a Good Sam discount. Quiet even with some more permanent residents. Not a lot for kids. More adult campers. You are shown to your site. Very nice, friendly staff/owners. Dog pen is small, but nice to let your furry friend off leash. Well maintained campground and easy in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
This campground was great find! We only stopped here overnight on our way to Nashville but found a diamond in the rough! The owners are delightful and go beyond to make sure you feel welcome and comfortable. The sites a level and long and have privacy bushes and trees between them. We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
This is the best park we have camped at in this part of Tennessee. The owners are campers that know what campers need, & they are very helpful from the time you get there until you leave, even helping you set up when you get there & pack up when you are leaving. I just wish we were there more often. We will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Great park. Best shower ever with lots of strong hot water and very clean bathrooms. The nice couple that owns it try to make your stay a great one. Will return many times as park is only 1 hour from our daughter and only 2+ hours from our house. Kingsport is a nice town will lots of stuff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
A nice RV park locate just off the interstate, but far enough that there is no highway noise. The owners do a nice job of keeping this park attractive and well kept. Shaded and cool, doubtful that any of the sites would allow for satellite TV, but they have a decent selection of cable channels available. Full hook-ups / utilities worked well. Access to and in the park was pretty good for our larger RV, they reserved a pull through site for us and blocked off a site on the other end prior to our arrival to allow easy access, and had someone escort us to our site, explained all hook-ups, and provide any needed help with setting up: a nice touch. Super nice owner in the office provided us with a nice bag with our receipt, snacks, a few pieces of candy after we finished our check-in. This park was nice but was pricey for the amenities provided (no pool). Walked to the nearby KOA and if in this area I would clearly stay at Rocky Top again rather than the KOA which looked run down and half occupied by seasonals with older units. This park is targeted to adult travellers without children (tiny playground / swingset). Very nicely kept rec room at office building. We used this park as an overnight stop and would be comfortable doing so again, but for the price paid we would be pretty tempted to consider someplace cheaper along the way. I may have rated the park another point higher had I not encountered an off leash dog that enjoyed jumping up at me while I walked the perimeter of the park in the evening. Pet friendly is one thing, allowing dogs to run loose off leash in the park is another. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
The new owners of this campground go the extra mile to make sure your needs are taken care of. Not only do they escort you to the site, they help you setup. When we were pulling out to leave, one of the owners came out and made sure we could pull safely out onto the road. Now that is service and shows how they care about their customers. This will be the only campground we will stay at when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
We stayed here for the Thunder Valley drag races in Bristol. This is a first class RV park; the owners are very helpful with any of our need, even down to helping me get set up & leveling my trailer. We will be back We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Stayed 1 night. Would like to have stayed longer. Friendly owners, clean park, escort to site. Nice pull through site with shade. Would stay again. Found in campground directory under Kingsport, TN. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Very friendly, helpful staff. Long, level pull-through sites available with plenty of shade. Wi-Fi is excellent. Located well off of I-81 so that there is no traffic noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
Overnight stop but really very nice park. It is obviously well managed. Short drive from the interstate, nice long level gravel pull throughs with double sewer hookups (nice for those of us with 2 tanks) Very friendly staff, escorted us to the site, and even had a Sunday paper and snack bag on our arrival. Blazing WI-Fi included. There is a nice modern, laundry, and great cable. Highly recommend. I would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
This is simply a delightful little campground, and I'm giving it the highest rating I have bestowed yet. We loved it and plan to become repeat customers! The owners obviously have pride of ownership and it shows throughout. The place is immaculately manicured and maintained, and has the cleanest and most uniquely decorated bathhouse we have encountered in the short year we have been RVing. It's the little touches that separate the best from the rest, and this campground has plenty of those on display. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Excellent for a couple. As good as another nearby park a bit further down the road (we've stayed at both) but not as "institutional" and full of kids. Owner took my reservation without credit card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Very relaxing park once you get there, not an EZ on, EZ off park and barely big rig friendly. The pull through sites are ample and the hookups are good. The cable is great and the staff is most helpful. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Neat little place! Great location off the freeway. Tight fit but the owners were great about getting us in. Very quiet! Super clean with friendly people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
Very friendly staff and super clean and neat small park. Cleanest restrooms and showers I've been in. Dog park and lots of clean up bags and cans around park. Only regret is that it rained and we could not stay longer. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
We anticipated arriving by 6 pm, but hit a lot of traffic in Knoxville. Called and told them the situation and we probably would not arrive until 7:30-8:00. We arrived in the dark, were met by the owner and she led us to our site with a flash light. The site was close to the front and long enough for our 35' coach + 16' trailer. The owners also helped us hook up and told us that we could register once we were settled. To our surprise we were given a basket of goodies so we didn't have to cook as we had been on the road for 11 hours. They also have a fantastic dog enclosure so our 3 beagles could stretch they legs. The showers were very clean. We did not stay long enough to see the campgrounds but we would absolutely stay here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
This park is located just far enough off the interstate so that traffic noise is not a problem, yet close enough to allow easy access. The park was clean and neat and the staff was very helpful. It's the only park I've ever been in where the staff levels your RV for you. If you are looking for privacy, however, this not the place for you. The pull-thru sites are incredibly narrow and close together. They do have a fenced area for dogs, which we liked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$37
This is a great campground, owner on grounds, very friendly, very clean campground and sites were level. Wi-Fi worked great, not far from Interstate. Nice store with most items you would need. Would return here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
Very clean well maintained campground. Owners very friendly and helpful. Sites are level gravel and include a concrete patio and fire ring. Interior roads are paved. Although there is a steep hill to climb when entering the park, it was no problem. Very good access for big rigs and close to Interstate 81. We noted how well lit the entrance was which made it easy for our late night arrival. Wi-Fi was at times unreliable. Part of the time it worked fine, other times it seemed stuck or overloaded. There was some vehicle noise from a nearby roadway, but it wasn't too much of a problem. Verizon cell phone worked well on the Verizon extended network. I thought the price was a bit high, but it seems in line with other campgrounds in the area. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Excellent friendly service! Third time we stayed here and always treated great! Escorts to site and helped level the time I needed it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
Except for the strict rules about having to supervise children under 18, this is a very nice park. It's not really a destination park, but it was very convenient for an overnight stay. Utilities were good, including electricity. Our pull thru site was level and long enough that we didn't have to unhook. Wi-Fi was strong and the kids enjoyed the game room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
We cannot say enough good things about this RV park. It can be used as an example of what RV parks should be. We didn't have a reservation, arrived late afternoon. The owner escorted us to our site which was spotless. Cable TV, WiFi, and cleanliness of the site and the rest of the park made it one of the most enjoyable stays in our 2 months travel so far this summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Owner on site, could not have been more helpful. Park is small, but beautifully landscaped. All staff willing to do whatever to make your stay enjoyable. Park is centrally located for Kingsport, Bristol and Johnson City. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
Really great place to stay. Has very helpful, friendly personnel. Very clean, great tiered sites, WiFi, a really great sauna, nice clean laundromat. Well marked. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
We stayed here in April of 2010 and had stayed here about 4 years ago. They have made a number of improvements: tree planting, site improvements. It is still a small campground, but a nice campground. The owner's are always helpful, but was told they are splitting up. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$29
What a great little campground. We arrived on Thanksgiving day and the owners quickly checked us in. They then lead you to your site and help you get in and level. They take great pride in their park and take very good care of the facilities. The bathrooms were spotless and very nice. The dog run was a big plus. They even had some toys which came in handy since I forgot to bring mine. The sites were a good size and level even though the entire park is on the side of a hill. The park was very quiet and the Wi-Fi worked great. We will definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
We were met at the gate and quickly registered by a friendly employee, and then escorted to our site by the owner, who directed us into our site and pulled out her level. She used two low blocks from her cart and put them behind our tires and helped level us. The site was fine before but when she was done it was perfect. The owners take great pride in their property and it shows. There is a two section fenced dog play area with balls and tug ropes and there are dog relief stations throughout the park. The bath and shower rooms here are among the nicest and cleanest we've seen anywhere. This is a place we'll visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
This is a great campground: we stayed here for a month. The owners are on site. They help you park. It is nice and quiet here. Would stay again if in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
This is an excellent campground. Very clean, neat and well kept. The staff and owners are very friendly. They do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
We were on our way to Pennsylvania and stopped here overnight. A very nice, clean campground. The owners/staff were very nice and helpful. A little noise from the road behind the CG, but not enough to keep you up all night. Take note for those of you with big rigs, from the check-in office, you do need a good running start to make it up the hill that's in front of you to make it to your site, it was interesting to say the least! Otherwise, the site was level. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
Very nice,excellent Wifi, owners very helpful and friendly. Only downside is some motorcoaches had a tight squeeze trying to leave. Quiet mostly w/ only a little road noise.Perfect CG for adults w/ only a minimal amount for kids to do. Perfect if you like peace and quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
One of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed. Extremely clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
We found this campground to be extremely well maintained. The restrooms were the best we've seen and the two women on staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The woman who led us to our site was great at finding us the most level position. We received a free newspaper each day and on arrival had received a nice welcome package which contained helpful maps, some crackers and a jar opener. The only negative was some road noise during the day. Nights were quiet. Overall, this was a wonderful camping experience. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
The owners and their workampers are just great people. What a wonderful team. The campground is the cleanest we've ever seen. The variety of landscaping, the groomed sites, and interesting artifacts around the store and game room makes this campground quaint and interesting. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
This was my second stay at this campground. The park is spotless and the staff is stellar in it's quality. They are friendly and solicitous. They always spoke when driving by and made sure that I was comfortable. The only reason I gave an 8 instead of a 10 on the score was due to the very small size of the site. I will stay here again when I return to Kingsport later this year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
What can I add that the other reviews haven't already said? This is a small and quaint campground but wow does it pack a punch! The owners are extremely pleasant even taking you to your site and helping you level up. Then the wife/owner stopped by not more than 5 min's later and ask if everything was to our satisfaction and offered us a free local newspaper. The landscaping is superb and as stated in a previous review the owners take pride in their campground and it certainly shows. It is dimly lit at night which is outstanding; no harsh lights shining in your RV all night. Their sign says they cater to adults which was very appealing to us. Very quiet at night. The RV next to us left at 6:00pm the evening we pulled in and within 10mins of their departure I believe it might have been the owner/husband was right there cleaning the site for the next camper, now that's impressive. Let me also mention, excellent cable with a large number of channels. The FREE Wi-Fi was superb and very high speed. JOB WELL DONE ROCKY TOP!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
We overnighted here on our way home and it was a welcome feeling to pull into such a gem. It's is absolutely beautiful and provided a much needed rest for the night. I fell in love with the ambiance--(quiet, peaceful, rustic, scenic)--so much that we are planning on returning for our 2 week vacation this year. The CG clearly reflects pride of ownership from the owners...who, by the way, are wonderful folks. I have never come across another campground where the owners have gone to this length to make us feel "at home". Good job, Sue & Company! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
Very nice and the hosts are wonderful !!! Bath house is the cleanest I have seen and the price is very affordable !!! Will camp there again !! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
Nice park in a convenient location for an overnight. Owners were very friendly; park was very clean and attractive. Pull through sites were a bit odd - nose to tail. Dog run has 2 areas with a gate in between which was nice if there were multiple dogs wanting to use the run. Interior roads are a bit tight, and exit could be a bit challenging if you have a long overhang behind the rear wheels. You might scrape a bit so take it carefully. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$33
This is one of the best campgrounds I have stayed at. We were greeted, taken to our site and assisted in locating our unit. The bath house is clean and fresh (the best ever). There is a store and game room. Family owned and operated. Great place to stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Great camp facilities. Warm welcome. Real nice people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$39
A beautiful site, built into the hills. Each site is level and tiered into the hillside. This puts the neighbor campers on a different level which adds to privacy. Very nicely landscaped. There is even a fenced area for pets with waste stations around the grounds (no need to take a grocery bag on dog walk). Restrooms are immaculate and attractive. Laundry has large, new machines with a good price. Clothes even come out dry after only one cycle! The Owners are very friendly and helpful, checking on new arrivals for first couple of days to offer help and friendship. The store is well stocked and affordable. Site is well lit and safe. There were no hidden or surprise charges. Good WiFi and cable. Tent Campers even have platforms to put their tent on, no wet lumpy ground here. This is my favorite camp site in the Eastern U.S. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
Last guy said everything. There are really great owners, and this is a great park. It is a l little hilly, but still a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$27
We are just finishing a week here at the weekly rate. This campground is outstanding. Everything is neat as a pin. Very well stocked store. Strong, fast Wi-Fi that was always available. Best campground Wi-Fi that I've ever experienced. Same for the cable TV. But, what really sets this campground apart from most others is the owners. From check-in till departure, they felt like good friends that couldn't do enough for us. Try it - you'll like it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
Came for overnight visit. Enjoyed the stay. Traveling with friends. Branches need cutting, hit the coach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
There may be campground managers as friendly, helpful, and dedicated to maintaining a clean, welcoming home as these owners do, but we cannot imagine managers possessing more of these qualities. The gravel sites have sufficient room and the landscaping around the sites provide shade, beauty, and a sense of personal space. The campground was small enough that the owners knew everyone by name and large enough that we were able to meet several people from different parts of the country. Their staff members are constantly on the move guiding people into sites, checking in with their “family” virtually every day, sweeping the driveways, maintaining the grounds, and emptying the ashes from the previous night’s grilling at any site. The communal bathrooms were immaculate – even the chrome shone. Our Verizon air card worked very well; hook-ups were very convenient. The camp store had a good number of food items and RV supplies (we found some light bulbs). Rocky Top is centrally located for trips to the Tri-Cities, Bays Mountain, Gray Fossil Site, Rocky Mountain, jam sessions, historic towns, and some fine barbecue restaurants. We stayed here for one month and will eagerly return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
We just pulled in and were greeted. Overall one of the best campgrounds we've been too. Nice store, clean, easy to get LP. Would definitely stay again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
We Stayed here for a month! Excellent place, quiet and a lot of privacy! The laundry was easy to get to, the bathrooms were really nice. The playground was kept up, and the dog run was spacious. The host were very friendly and helped us to our site, and even provided the leveling boards. We were very pleased and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
Very nice, private terraced spots. Staff very nice, friendly. The campground is watched closely, which can be a good thing. When I went to the game room with 3 young girls, who could have been loud if I was not with them, one of the owners checked to make sure an adult was with them. This watchful eye keeps order here. Easy to get to off the interstate. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Fantastic campground. Will be going back next week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
Meticulously groomed campground with beautiful trees. Very helpful owners and staff. Nice porch area with a welcoming atmosphere! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
Stayed one night this time, had stayed once before about 4 years ago. Under new managment and the people were great. As stated by others, the owner helps you to your site and either guides you in or backs you into you site. Very friendly. Adequate store and just a really well run campground. Cable was great, WiFi was fast and alway on. I will stay here again when passing thru. Real nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Good park with extremely friendly and helpful owners on site. Only park I've ever been to where the owner not only helped guide you backing into the site but also provided the necessary leveling boards. Had some difficulty with spotty Wi-Fi service with my computer when I was there but others seemed to access it fine. Nice shade trees. Some pull through sites for a quick over night but most are back ins up the side of a hill. However they are level, have adequate width, and the owner is an expert at helping you back in. Definitely a place to stay when in NE Tennessee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Rate based on week's stay. Excellent Wi-Fi and cable. Everything about this place is great. Upon entry you are guided to your site and directed while parking. Leveling blocks are provided, and you are ready to hook up. Staff is exceptional, as is the campground's appearance. Everything is neat and maintained daily. Very quiet, but still close to I-81. Easy in and out. Would stay here again anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
Good campground. Kind of a hidden gem. Great for overnight or a short extended stay. Hosts were very friendly. Host was in office until 9pm. Lead you to your site and help you get level. Explain where everything is. Very helpful when your tired and would like to get set up quickly. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$29
Simply put, this is a GREAT place. The information folder says "your friendly, clean, quiet RV park". I think they should add some superlatives. Like "extremely" friendly and "exceptionally" clean. I echo with all of the previous comments except for the road noise (It's winter and the windows are closed). We'll definitely come back if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$36
A Scale of 1-10 doesn't go high enough for this CG! Small and quiet, not much at all for children to do, and their ads say "we cater to adults", so it's a CG you'd go to to go somewhere else to do things, IMO. I stayed there 4 nights during the Nat'l Storytelling Festival. Great staff. They escorted me right into my back-in site, which was perpendicular to the main, wide, paved road, but both were quite wide enough to back into easily. They even had their own leveling boards, so I didn't need to stop and get mine out! And the bathrooms are absolutely the finest I have seen at any CG I've ever stayed at! Immaculately clean. The sides and doors to the stalls and showers are knotty pine paneling stained and varnished to a high gloss, put together with carpentry that'd look good in any home in America! The vestibule to each shower stall is 6' long with a seat, a shelf, and four (count 'em!) hooks for your "stuff"! Simply a wonderful, sedate, very picturesque hillside setting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Wonderful young couple that are new (1 year) owners. They have a few sites able to handle 40' motorhome. WiFi works great. Very clean and owners are on site. There is some road noise otherwise would have rated higher. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$31
This was an overnight stay for us on the way home. Rocky Top is a great RV campground and we would have liked to have stayed a few days just because the owners are so nice and helpful. It is easy to find, very quiet, clean, well run, almost the perfect campground. If you are in the area you would be hard pressed to find a nicer play to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Great campground, very joyful owners, happiness shines on them, showed us to site, assisted in leveling, had great cable and wifi was excellent, didn't have pool, but had a great game room with pool table, games, tv with videos and books. Well laid out sites, on incline, but each like your own area. Nice trees but didn't hinder driving big trailer. Paved roads, great for walking and biking. Nice store with snacks and gifts. Nice people, nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
We actually used this as a stop over point on a longer trip twice. The owners are nice and have a decent store that they try to maintain with what campers need. For being a small campground you do get all the services that a large CG offers like: Escort to site, cable, WiFi. Between the 2 visits we did prefer the back-in site which was much larger vs the pull though which was a little small. We will be back again on pass throughs this summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
We were very happy with our week-long visit at this park. Everything in the park was very well kept. The store stays open and attended and has a good variety of food and supplies. The sites are large and convenient. Our pets (and us) loved the small fenced pet area. The owners were very helpful from parking us to giving us names of pet sitters and RV repairmen. We will definitely be back when in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$34
The park is quaint and fairly small. It was very clean and the owners were very friendly. We camped in 34' motorhome and were next to a couple of large fifth wheels. The sites were level, not terribly wide but certainly wide enough. There were a lot of birds singing there, it was nice to hear them. Otherwise, the campground was rather quiet. We were transients so only stayed one night. We would stop again. The wi-fi was very good so we could catch up on some needed things while there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$31
A nice park, but very small. Many of the sites are suited for smaller trailers and would give a big rig a fit. Our site was okay for a big rig, easy pull-thru and no leveling required. The sites are spaced nicely and have all the features you would expect, including a fire ring, grill, concrete pad for the picnic table, and the table itself. All hookups worked fine, even in the middle of the winter (temperatures in the single digits). Their were lots of birds, which was odd, but we liked it. Even some species we had not seen before. The hosts were friendly and helpful. They have a camp store, but it is expensive ($6.40 for a gallon of milk). Easy access and very close to I-81. There is a small road next to the park, but not a lot of noise from it. Actually, one of the quieter places we have stayed (besides state parks). Only downside (besides cramped access roads) would be the constant activity of a golf cart and tractor by the staff. I assume they were doing work because of the off-season, but it was annoying at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$29
A young couple has purchased this campground and are quickly making improvements and remodeling. The wife directed us into our site which had a picnic table and fire ring. It is hilly, but the sites are level. Paved roads and gravel sites. Extremely friendly owners. This will become a first rate campground due to their efforts. It is very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Friendly newly renovated facilities very clean and well kept level sites, cement patio, have wireless, no pool, very quiet except if site is near road. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Beautiful campground with nice level sites. Would have rated higher except for some local road noise. Very nice management and exceptionally well kept grounds. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com