206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Buffalo / I-40 KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (931) 296-1306
CGID2614

Buffalo / I-40 KOA

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   4   5   8   7   1   7   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Very nice KOA snuggled back in the trees in a little valley park. It was quiet even though it wasn't far from the interstate. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
I wanted to rate it higher because of the easy access and pull through sites, but the noise from the highway was deafening. If you don't mind that then this is a great overnight park. I'd be hesitant about anything bigger than 40' because as you exit the pull through site the ground drops off right away and puts the middle of the coach dangerously close to bottoming out. We are 40' and so were our neighbors, who I watched them pull out, and seeing how close they came really got my "pucker-factor" up. Double check it with the owners, they are very nice people. Overall, this is a nice park. I just couldn't reconcile the noise with the price charged. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
The owners were very nice and the park was very clean. In fact, they were such nice people that I hate to give the park such a low rating but $35 and No Sewer in a pull through sight was unreasonably high and the truth is the highway noise was the loudest I have ever heard at any park. We might of well just parked in the emergency lane of I-40 and spent the night. I have stayed in many KOA and highway and train noise is just to be expected but this was the worse. KOA must have laughed all the way to the bank when they sold these people this property. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
We didn't have reservation's and arrived in the night. Grounds very dark,sites very small unlevel and gravel, and the steady stream of rain Site markers we not visible. Staff was not pleasant the night of registration, hoping it was because of bad weather, but was not pleasant the next day either. No amenities were open when we where here except washrooms which were clean. It's an okay location for a quick sleep while traveling but that's about it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
The campground staff are very friendly and helpful. I arrived after dark and the site map was waiting for me. The grounds were clean, as were the bathrooms and showers. Highway noise was an issue in the tent area of the campground, but on the "plus" side, there is a nearby modern truck stop that stocks many items. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$34
This is an ok overnight stay. The campground was clean, and the management friendly. Excellent cable TV connections. It's on the side of a hill with I-40 close by so if you don't like highway noise, this isn't the one. There's another road right behind it, but it seemed quiet. It's easily accessible and good for an overnight stay. This is our second time staying here. We would stay here each time we pass through TN on I-40. Sites are a little short, but adequate with no extra space. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
We agree with the above reviews regarding interior roads being rough, and very little lighting. Very loud highway noise. The spaces were very tight (we have 4 slides), with dense trees. The staff were not friendly. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Got here late at night (around 11:45 pm) so the overall park is hard to describe. The hook-ups were good enough to get setup in the dark. Sites look a bit short. Trash picked up daily on site was a plus. Overall I would say: your average KOA, overpriced but good in a pinch for overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
I gave the rating based on the fact the manager was friendly and it appears as if they're trying to do the right thing, but this is not a nice campground at all. One side is practically in the shoulder of the highway, and the backside is a dirt road with no fence separating the locals speeding up and down the back roads. Lots of highway noise and we didn't feel safe at all without any separation from wanderers from outside the camp. It's located behind a truck stop which had more than their share of people holding cardboard signs at the exit. No campfires at our site so we had to travel to a tent site which was located even closer to the highway. There is a pool (which wasn't open) but I doubt we'll ever find out whether it enhances the experience. Bottom line not a nice area, not a nice camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$42
This is a very nice place. The managers were very, very friendly and accommodating. The parking was spacious and the grounds well-kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
The only positive is that the lady at check-in was very nice nice and helpful. Although our site is considered a pull-through, the back end of our towed car was sticking out into the camp road and cones were used so that no other vehicle could get past us. Scruffy, gravel sites that are undersized, narrow and not level. Although we had 50 amp, water, cable & Wi-Fi there was no sewer connections. The dump station was at the exit. Extremely noisy because of close proximity to the interstate. We were only here overnight but would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
This was a very nice campground. It was easy to find off the interstate. Our dog liked the "bark park". The restrooms and showers were very clean. The grounds were clean and with many flowers. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$42
Stayed here twice in a week. We live in Ohio and were traveling to Texas and back. Due to timing and driving, this CG seemed to be at the right time in our journey to stop. Pulled in really late and had to do the nightime check-in. Found a site and was up and out really early. Thought it was decent, but never really left the MH. On the way home we stopped again and then realized that it leaves a lot to be desired. We arrived just as the office was closing. The clerk/owner told us that we could only have a certain site number due to people coming in on reservations. There were 3 other units in the entire CG. The site he assigned us was EXTREMELY unlevel and without sewer. Bathrooms were clean, but they could use some work. Really, really dated. When you charge top dollar for a site, you should keep your stuff updated IMHO. I think they realize they have a captive audience. No other campgrounds within 90 minutes, so if you are road tired, it is either this or Loretta Lynn's place. It is not that the place is really bad, it is just that it is no where up to a $40.00/night standard, even for KOA. We have stayed at other KOA's and for the $40/night fee, they are usually MUCH better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$29
As fulltimers with a heavy 40' fifth wheel, we aren't real fond of "campgrounds" vs. RV parks. This campground is friendly and well kept, but the traffic noise from I-40 is horrendous. No water pressure to speak of. Dirty, unlevel sort of gravel very tight sites. Only three 50 amp full hookup sites. The further you are from the office the less chance you have of getting Wi-Fi. Can't use TV antenna or satellite (they have free cable). The rates are typical KOA ridiculous (rate reflects KOA 10% discount) and they take no other discounts. Pet friendly with bark park. Owners live on property. Trash pick up, propane available, and lots of shade. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Good overnight KOA with level sites. The restrooms and showers are very clean. The WiFi was spotty and did not always work. The owners are very friendly. There is an excellent country restaurant at the bottom of the hill call The Log Cabin. When in the area, we will use this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This was an overnight stop. The lots are level and long enough. Wi-Fi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
We stayed here for one night only. Has good gravel roads and sites with heavy tree cover. Easy turns. They made a long pull-through site for me by blocking the road behind me allowing my toad to remain in the camp road. Adequate electric, water, and cable TV. Very close to I-40. I can't imagine how tent campers could sleep here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
Overall, a nice park but even right next to the office the Wi-Fi was a joke. So slow that I just gave up on it. Clean pool area. Men's bathroom could use a little TLC. We expected the road noise so that did not bother us. Very easy on/off I 40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Previous reviews did not give us much hope for this campground. We found the owners very friendly and helpful. We were in one of the spaces closest to the office, so our WiFi was great. The pool was excellent and well maintained. The road noise was somewhat loud, but tolerable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2010
$33
This is a typical KOA campground. The sites are tiny and the cost is higher than similar non-KOA campgrounds. Even though there were few sites occupied, we could not get a pull through with a sewer hookup. We picked the campground because of the Wi-Fi, but even though we were parked very close to the office, it didn't work. We could receive the signal, but couldn't connect. We had the proper code, but our computer could not recognize the wireless network. The highway noise is extremely loud because the campground is located right next to the interstate. The tent sites are within feet from I-40. There is a restaurant within walking distance (1/2 mile) which we enjoyed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$31
This campground is close to the highway so there is a constant roar of traffic. It wasn't bothersome inside our rig. Sites are gravel and fairly level. It was raining when we arrived and had been raining for several days but the sites were well drained and there weren't many puddles. The manager was very accommodating. The laundry, restrooms and showers were clean. The TV reception is terrible, but they were upfront about this so it wasn't a disappointment. The Wi-Fi was great near the office area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Sites are typical KOA, fairly narrow and close together. Our site was not close enough to the office to use the Wi-Fi. Would be acceptable as an overnight except for the road noise, which was probably the loudest we have ever experienced. We were able to drown it out for the most part using the A/C in the bedroom, but there is no way I would stay here in a pop-up or tent, or try to sleep with the windows open. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
We won't be back to this park ever. Upon arrival we were informed there were only 2 sites available. They were water/electric only, not a problem. However, they neglected to tell us they were also the most unlevel ones in the park! That night I counted at least 5 available sites and they were still empty the next morning. Furthermore, the lady that waited on us was rude to start with. I would rather drive further than return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
No TV and Wi-Fi was hit and miss. No sewer with our 50 amp site. Okay for one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Not even a good overnight park. No television reception, WiFi only if close to the office. Dog park is nice but gate won't keep small pets in. Overnight sights aren't close to being level. We like our creature comforts but this just didn't measure up. Most other KOA's have been okay but this didn't come up to par, especially for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Good owners. Decent Wi-Fi if you're close to the office. Good water. Narrow sites. Easy to get to from I-40. Some road noise, but that's to be expected. We've been here before - we'll be here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
It is very convenient to the interstate but you'll definitely get some noise as a result. It is a good overnight spot, tows can stay attached in many sites but may be sticking out in the road (with a cone behind). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
Except for I40 traffic (especially the truckers using their jake-brakes on the incline), this campground was very quiet. In fact, we were the ONLY campers in the facility. We only stayed for one night in transit but the value was acceptable. I would stay here again if in the area either in transit or staying for a while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
The campground was a little older and a bit noisy (directly off the interstate). For an overnight stay it was fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although the sites were a little small they were laid out well for easy access with plenty of pull-throughs. We would stay here again when traveling through middle Tennessee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
I agree with previous reviews, so there's no need to repeat their points. I asked about their Wi-Fi when I checked in, so she put me fairly close to the office. Even so, I have just two of five bars. But it worked fine. A decent overnight stop - north of exit 143 off I-40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
They are small sites. My neighbor's awning was about 4' from our camper. I was worried that our sewer line would be crushed just by them walking around. There were so many empty sites and they put someone next to me. It just made it tight for both of us. I'll use Loretta Lynn's campground next time through. It looked really nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
It was clean and pleasing. The staff was courteous. I did have to level somewhat and yes there was noise from the interstate. However, when you go to a park that is within one mile of the interstate, one should expect this. It was easy to manuever and there were several big rigs in the park. Swimming pool was clean and the store was nice. I definitely would recommend this park to anyone going up and down I-40 in central Tennessee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$29
Very neat, well-kept park with friendly management. Sites are level and well-stoned. While I can see where people staying in a pop-up or tent would be bothered by the noise, we simply turned on the air conditioning fan of our motorhome and heard no noise whatsoever. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
It's more of an over-nighter with clean shower & bathroom. The facility was very old and need some renovation to charge $30 a night. However, the staff is very nice and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$31
Nice overnight rV park if your rig is insulated like a vault. The roar of the I-40 was continuous. I finally fell asleep with a pillow over my head. You couldn't ask for a more accommodating, and friendly staff. We didn't have any problems getting in or out of our space. We're 35' and towing and had no problems maneuvering around the park. We were able to level our rig easily. Water pressure was very good and the power was fine. Plenty of room for our slides. Cell phone and aircard (Verizon) reception was good. Couldn't get reception on our portable satellite dish. We were tired and just glad to get off the road. Would we stay there again? Only if we had to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
The park was too close to the highway. Road traffic doesn't usually bother us, but this park was too close to I 40. The spot was short and on a hill. The entry to the spot was very steep with a tight turn. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
Convenient place for an overnight stop between Nashville and Memphis. Typical KOA. Tight spaces, but everything works. Very friendly staff. WiFi works in space 41, but I doubt it will reach any further into the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
Nice, overnight park close to I 40. Bathrooms were clean and climate controlled. Friendly staff. Pull throughs fairly level, but without sewer connections. Easy ingress and egress, even in large motor homes. Close to Loretta Lynn's Ranch, but much more reasonable. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$32
This CG is RIGHT on I40. This is a major truck interstate. It was very loud in a pup. I slept with ear plugs, and it was still loud. You would probably do ok in a hardside with your windows closed, unless freeway noise does not bother you. The showers were small. There were not fire rings. If you check in after hours, they required cash. I talked to the very nice owner the next day, and he is considering alternatives to this. The sites were ok otherwise. Their electric hook-ups were nice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
Clean campsite, clean, climate controlled bathrooms. Noise from the interstae was significant. We camped in a VW van. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
Clean well kept campground. Friendly staff. Nice overnight stop, however sites are hilly, and narrow. A bit hard to maneuver a large vehicle around the trees. Once around the trees, it's hard to position for slides, but can be done with patience. Interstate 40 traffic noise not horrible, but it is near highway. No cable TV, so it's a bit pricy for what you get. Had asphalt road close by with Quads, and other 4 wheel bikes riding up and down. That's more annoying than the highway noise, but I'm sure it doesn't last all night. Campgrounds are limited between Nashville, and Memphis, so we would stay here again if we needed an over night stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2006
$26
Friendly staff and convenient for an overnight stop. Sewer wasn't available if you had large Motorhome and a towed vehicle unless you wanted to unhook, but dump station is convenient on the way out. Although TV reception is limited, and cable is not available, pull through sites are satellite friendly. Would stay here again, overnight, if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$29
Nice Park. Cloase to interstate but AC covers noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$27
Good customer service, noise from the interstate but a good overnight stop, a bit pricey like most KOA's We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$20
A fair stop over but not much else. Tiny sites, older hook-ups and extremely poor TV reception. Friendly staff though. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com