206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Montgomery Bell State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (615) 797-9052
CGID2615

Montgomery Bell State Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   5   8   7   9   7   9   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
Don't expect peace and quiet here. Everyone is packed in cheek to jowl, dogs barking, music blaring, kids screaming, everyone having fun. I hit it on a weekend, and it could be a whole different scene during the weekdays. All sites are shady and nice but close together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
This was 'Fall Break' in TN. Campground is completely full and sites are narrow and you must disconnect. I would not recommend this for a large rig and would never have come if I knew this was 'Fall Break'. Beautiful park, just too crowded and too tight. Our 23' trailer fit well, but was difficult maneuvering. The park seems well maintained and all sites have 30/50A w/ water and for 10 more dollars you can buy a site with sewer if available. The host seems congenial just harassed with the crowd. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Due to wheel bearing problems, we ended up spending 3 nights in this park: Friday through Sunday. On Friday and Saturday, the park was full, with hoards of kids yelling, screaming, fighting, tearing around on bikes, etc. This went on all day and into the night, well after Quiet Hours were supposedly in effect. Finally, my wife got up at 11:30 p.m., put on her robe, and went out to ask them to quiet down: this while many of their parents stood by and watched. Where was the park staff while all of this was going on after hours? We had kids buzzing through our site on scooters. The 5'er was hit by a football 3 times. By Sunday afternoon, the place was nearly empty, quiet and peaceful. It's a pretty park, with nice trees and a meandering stream. So if you want a park where your kids or grandchildren can run wild, come on the weekend. If you want tranquility and a pretty setting, try Sunday through Thursday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
Our price reflects disabled vet/military. Relatively nice park, although somewhat off the beaten path if you are just "over-nighting it" (like we were). Park is about 10 miles off I-65. Paved roads once you turn into the park, however, turns are a little tight if you are towing a big rig (40' fifth wheel). Once inside park, sites themselves are nice, some paved, water and electric is easily accessible. Handicap sites are not shaded but are long and relatively level. Be aware the "Camper Check In" hut at entrance to camping area DOES NOT take credit cards. Appeared to have kid stuff (playground, bike riding etc.). Would stay again if spending a few days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Older Park with lots of trees. We couldn't find a site where our satellite would work. Our Verizon cell and MiFi worked OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$16
We landed here on a busy week just before Easter. Staff will not tell you (or simply do not know) about any availability in the campground. Visitor Center is pretty tight, but we parked and asked to unhook to scout for a site. The Ranger told us to just follow him on his regular route, and he would lead us through the campground. His information the we would not need to unhook our vehicle was totally wrong. We entered the campground OK, but quickly got jammed in a tight turn and had to unhook on VERY un-level ground. Ah, well. That accomplished, we maneuvered very well, and finally located a rather tight back-in site that we could squeeze into. If it had been a less popular weekend, we would have had many nice sites to choose from, some with full hookups. As it was, we had a clear overhead and thus, satellite service for the TV. There are two fantastic handicapped sites that went empty, nice restrooms, fire rings and a few BBQ stands. Most sites have picnic tables. Wi-Fi and cell service for Verizon is weak and spotty. The park is lovely, with lakes for fishing and a terrific Conference Center with a buffet style restaurant. Beautifully maintained grounds, good roads, easy drive into Nashville. Lots of play equipment for kids, a stream to play in or get wet and lots of walking trails. Our 40' motor home w/ 1 slide had plenty of room. good dump station. Our rate reflects Military/Disabled rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
Great park. However, trying to get into a back-in site is dicey if you drive a big rig. The road is narrow and when you get ready to back up, you have to be careful you don't hit a tree with your front end. Sites are spaced apart fairly decent. Sites appeared to be fairly level, at least my site was. I got here around 3:30 PM and the office was closed to do inventory (month end) and I was told I could pay with a credit card in the morning. A ranger stopped by later and verified that I could do that. There are abundant trash cans, it seems there was a trash can every other site. Restrooms were OK, not the cleanest, but not bad, either. At this time of year it was pretty quiet. I was told in the office that if you have a Water and Electric only it's $20 as opposed to $25 for full hookup. However, I was also told that if you are in a full hookup site and only use the Water and electric, you can specify so and just pay the $20. Guess it's OK to do that at this time of year. No TV reception via antenna. Verizon Cellular modem (4G) worked well. Verizon Cell Phone and Wireless Landline both worked, although the Wireless Landline struggled to keep a signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This is a very clean park with room to maneuver larger rigs. These are all shaded sites with gravel pads. Although the sites are fairly close, the grounds make up for it. For the money it cannot be beat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
I am not sure why this park gets rated so highly. We assumed it is mostly used by locals in the area. If you want to be close to your neighbor than this is your type of camping. This was our first experience in TN and from the woman on the phone when I called for info, to the young man who took our money who was clueless about the sites, it was not a great experience. Would bypass this park in my opinion. However it looks like this is a very family oriented park and very well used. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
This state park is beautiful! The campground is first come first served so I don't think I would try to get in during the summer. It got quite full this week and it's October! The sites are very large for the most part, some on a lovely creek. My unit is 39 feet so I had fewer sites to choose from with all the trees and narrow roads. But I will definitely return. I also got a handicapped reduced rate, very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Nice state park. Full hookups and some local TV. We were evacuated after 5 days because the creek overflowed our site but it wasn't a problem, we could move to higher ground. You can get WiFi at the conference center and they have a nice lake and some hiking trails. Has super bike trails of all levels. Bathhouse was clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Nice, clean and well maintained. All of the park rangers were polite and helpful. The park hosts have been there almost 4 years and friendly. The bathrooms were cleaned everyday Monday.-.Sunday and the site trash cans were emptied daily. We stayed 7 days with our 4 yr. old and 16 yr. old. Plan on going back many more times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
One of my favorite state parks here in Tenn. The sewer hook-ups only added to the rating of the park. Some changes are in store for the new year with different entrance area but i totally agree with the need to make improvements that add to the safety of campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
A very nice campground, but visitors should be aware of three things: bathhouses are not cleaned during the weekend (when the campground is crowded), bathhouses are small for the amount of sites, and some sites are extremely close together. We highly recommend the Inn's buffet. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Great park. Sewer has recently been added to several sites. Sites are gravel but level and clean. Road leading to sites is asphalt and looks new. Good golf course on site. Inn available for guests. Had breakfast and night buffet and both were very good. Would give it a 10 but there was no cable. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
A great park, and nice campground! There are some larger sites that will accommodate larger rigs, however, most are small. This park does not take reservations so get in early. There are two good bath houses and one old, and not heated unit. The park is in the process of installing sewer in about half of the sites. This should be done in time for the spring season to start. Great hiking, and mountain bike riding! There is lots to do and see too! It is a bit far from downtown Nashville, but a lot less expensive than the campgrounds in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
A great state park campground that makes me glad to live in Tennessee. Neat and clean because of the great staff and the extra mile they go in order to keep it that way. We will be back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
We camped here this weekend. We came in on Thursday and it was great. Alot of shade and we parked along the creek. It was great. But on Friday, everyone else came in and it was over crowded. Tents were parked in the campers spots instead of using the tent area. It was overbooked. People were everywhere. It was noisy, even past 11 p.m. on both Friday and Saturday nights. By late morning on Sunday, everyone was leaving. It was great again. I am not sure if I will come back here in the summer time. It is close to home, but if it is this way every weekend, it is not camping. It is a party. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
Of the state parks that we have stayed at this one was the most well maintained as far as the campsites were concerned. Although some sites were closer together, all were very level and clean. This campground had more of a park feel than others which have more of a primitive camping feel. There were plenty of activities throughout the day and the park ranger was regularly on hand for assistance and education while they showed you some of the wildlife they have. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$9
sites were level the park was clean sights were large staff was friendly We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$19
Camping sites are very close to each other. There was about 10 ft. between me and the folks next door. My greatest gripe is the Tennessee State Parks web site. It doesn't have maps showing how to get to the various parks. You can download a pdf brochure but it only contains a very small crude map. When I tried to call the park at around 5:00 PM, I got an answering machine that said they closed at 4:00. So, I couldn't even ask them how to get to the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Sites are tight packed (for a state park), but room is adequate at each site. Bathrooms and showers VERY clean. Well planned facility even had dishwashing facilities for tenters like us. Park has many wooded areas, but is mainly a resort park with sports, conference centers, family reunion pavillion, etc. Slight highway noise in background from US 70. Coyote howling, hooting owls, mooing cows makes it sound more wild or rural than it is. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com