215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Defeated Creek Park COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (615) 774-3141
CGID2617

Defeated Creek Park COE

Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   10   10   10   9   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
We've stayed in this campground several times since getting our rig and love the overall area. It is kept clean and well maintained (including the beach area) with the rules given to each camper Followed to your site if you need help. The camp hosts are most friendly and visible. This campground is best used by fishermen, boaters, and canoe users alike because it is located on a peninsula. Wildlife abounds. A wonderful place to relax and unwind. The camp managers are generous and lovely people. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
This is a beautiful campground with many sites overlooking the water. Some have sewer hookups, but many do not. Sites are spacious and well-maintained. I would have given a score of 10 except for 2 things. We stayed on the first loop, which has a bath house that is closed except on 3-day weekends. The loop was very full the weekend I was there, but since it was not a 3-day holiday weekend, the bath house was closed and we had to walk 5 minutes to the nearest open bath house. With the campground full, we sometimes had to wait for an available shower and sometimes there was no hot water. The other criticism is that there is only one dump station for this large campground & there was a long line at check-out time. There needs to be at least one additional dump station. Except for those 2 issues, this is an exceptionally beautiful campground with great facilities and views. We saw numerous deer grazing just outside the campsites and roaming around at night. Many people were fishing from the bank and catching good-sized fish. The location is great for kayaking and canoeing. I would stay there again, but hope to get a site more convenient to a bath house that is open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$12
This COE park comes close to perfection. Sites are well arranged and most have some shade. Utilities are located properly and function well. Many sites have 50 amp and sewer connection. Water pressure was great. There are two beaches, boat ramp, and a marina and cafe adjacent to the entrance. We were amazed to see more than a dozen deer grazing near the road we were walking. A deduction in rating was made because the shower facilities are old and not immaculate, although acceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
This is a great Corp Park. Very well maintained. Many water front sites. We stayed in site 21 which is a pull thru right on the water. This is our second time to stay here and we will stay again when in the Nashville area. Its about an hour drive to the city. Perfect for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
Have camped at many COE campgrounds in the middle Tennessee area. Defeated Creek Park is one of the nicest. Many of the sites are full hook-up. Bathrooms and grounds are very well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This is one of the nicest parks we have stayed in. Many lakefront sites with plenty of room. Cordell Hull is a pretty lake. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
This is a fantastic Corps of Engineer park. It's well kept with beautiful views surrounded by Cordell Hull lake. Regular rates range from $15 to $25 depending on whether you choose an interior site or one next to the lake. Not all sites have sewer. Those that do charge $1 more. They honor the federal Senior Pass that offers camping at half off. If you have a lakeside site, you can pull your boat up to the shore, right by your camper. The views are just phenomenal. Being a fed park, there is no cable or Wi-Fi. Over the air TV signal is good and Verizon data service works satisfactorily. Good campground Wi-Fi would make this a 10+ rating. This is not a "stop over" site, it's a vacation destination. Do not follow GPS directions to get to the campground. Instead, take 80 and 85 out of Carthage to the campground. GPSs want to take you down some really narrow mountain roads. Great place for families. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Excellent COE Campground on a beautiful lake. People were friendly, sites were level and spacious. Marina close by. Deer everywhere in the evening. Off the beaten path and very quiet. Bought tomatoes and cabbage at a farm close by that were great. Even without cable or Wi-Fi, it is still a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
We've stayed here a couple of times and had two completely different experiences. During our first stay we had gorgeous weather and a spacious, level site with 50 amp and full hook-ups and a view of the lake. This time, we had a very sloped site away from the lake and only water and 30 amp electric. Our AT&T cell service was practically non-existent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
A very nice park with many nice sites. The entire park is on a peninsula surrounded by Defeated Creek and the Cordell Hull Reservoir. Our site, #75, was a large pull through facing the water. It was a beautiful site and just across the street from the playground. Most of the sites are spacious; however, many of the full hookup sites are rather close together with little or no vegetation between them. Nearly all of the campground is populated with old growth shade trees, but unlike typical COE parks, the only ground cover is mowed grass. It's a nice touch and gives the families plenty of open spaces to use. There are two different playgrounds in the campground itself with another one in a nearby picnic area. The bath house in our loop was dated and not cleaned all too well. We arrived during a busy weekend and noticed cleaning crews there on the following Monday morning but didn't see them again before we left on Friday. The floors were wet literally for a couple of days as though they were cleaned with a garden hose rather than a mop. I don't mean to give the impression that the bathrooms were filthy because they were NOT, I'm just saying that they could have been cleaned better. On the plus side, our bath house had hand soap. There was also a much newer bath house in another loop that couldn't have been more than a couple of years old, so I suspect that the park will be replacing all of them in due time. There is no camp store, but firewood can be purchased just outside the park for a reasonable price, and the nearby town of Carthage has a Super WalMart in addition to another grocery store and a few restaurants. There is also a marina just outside the campground gate that rents pontoon and other boats for a fair price. The folks that own the marina are a nice family and worked hard to earn our money. Our AT&T signal was adequate but was an "off-network" tower so data usage was very limited, and in fact, was turned off by AT&T for my iPhone after I exceeded 100mb in usage. TV signal for over the air was decent; we received approximately 10 channels. We saw a large herd of deer every evening in and around the campground. No racoons though! We would definitely camp here again and would not hesitate to recommend this place to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
Absolutely beautiful setting, spacious grassy areas. It really does look like a golf course! Lovely lake. Friendly people. Sites with sewer are fairly close together. Non-sewer sites are very large, and some are even huge. We camped in site 8, on the water, and site 22, a bit farther from the lake, but still a waterfront site. We actually didn't see any bad sites. Good hiking on the Bearwaller Trail along a bluff above the lake. Good Verizon signal for both phone and Internet modem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$19
This is absolutely the best campground ever. Very large with plenty of places for kids to have fun. Fairly level all over so even the little ones can enjoy their bikes. Beautiful lake and all the sites are very large. We would recommend this campground to any and all ages!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This is a beautifully maintained campground on a lake perfect for fishing or kayaking. Our site was right on the water and we enjoyed the breezes off the water. We saw a lot of deer after dark. I would have given this campground a 10 out of 10 except for one complaint. The bath house shown closest to our site on the map was closed. It was quite a long walk uphill to the nearest bath house. Except for that, it was ideal and we look forward to camping here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$10
Excellent experience. Beautiful park, off the beaten path, but worth the drive. Restroom near our site appears new, and was spotless. Grass had just been cut and the place looked like a golf course, without the greens. Lots of deer in the area. Apparently a destination for locals on weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
I wish this place was closer to home as it would be my new home base. We were on the point, which are water front sites. These were approx 50 yards back from waters edge, which made it seem like our own private back yard up to the lake. With beautiful views of Cordell Hull lake, large and level sites, there is not much else you can ask for in a COE Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$12
This is a pretty campground with gorgeous bathrooms and showers. Our site on the lake with water, electric and sewer is $25 a night, with 50% off for senior card. You can't beat it! All sites are level with fire rings, picnic table, and patio area and the sites are spacious enough for two rigs. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This is a wonderful park. The sites are nice and shady. It is plenty big enough for big rigs. There were a lot of people there when we were there and it was nice and quiet. No loud rowdy people. We parked at a lakeside site with a view of the lake out our back window. Each site has a nice picnic area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
What a great park. Clean and everything works. 50amps electricity. Nice level sites. Shade trees. Waterfront lots. Everything you want in a RV park. The staff keeps the park clean and neat. Highly recommend this park. But if you want to camp here you must make reservations early as it fills up quick. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Very nice campground. Well run, well maintained facility, and extremely clean. They are currently redoing some of the campsites making the entrances wider, pouring concrete curbs for the campsites and putting in new crushed limestone parking surfaces. Many sites are lake front and most have a view of the lake. The only drawback to this campground is the road leading to the campground. It is narrow and in some places rough. While we were there we were told that the road was to be redone this summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is one of the most beautiful campgrounds we have stayed in so far. There are a lot of sites here, but it was all still scenic. We had a lakeview site and it was level, roomy and clean. The sites off the lake were level and shady. There are lantern poles, a fire pit, and picnic table. This campground was maxxed out and we took a chance and went by on Labor Day weekend and as we pulled up someone else was leaving early. What luck! Even though it was full, it was quiet for a holiday weekend. We saw a sheriff's deputy car come through once. Everyone was super friendly! They are serious about the rules: pets included which we appreciated. Bath house was the cleanest we have ever seen: even on this holiday. We will definitely go back: but with reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
This campground was very well maintained. Not as quiet as I would have liked due to all of the children but... Campsite was very clean. Would definitely stay here again. I camped here in a motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Wonderful place to stay. Park was very clean. The sites are large and can well accommodate larger rigs. Pay close attention to the pets by-laws. They seem ridiculous and are enforced. Not sure what changed from last year but they seem to be a little more strict. Bummer for the animals to be on a lease no more than 6 feet? Oh well, still enjoyed the stay. BTW: the bathroom were very disappointing since our last stay. We found ourselves regularly recommending Defeated Creek, but will have a hard time after this weeks stay. Maybe they need a new cleaning crew. Have another trip planned in the fall: hopefully things will have changed. BTW: love the combo 30/50 amp slots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This is a beautiful COE campground. It is huge and is surrounded by water, and loaded with trees. We found out that it is usually booked solid on all weekends, so reservations are recommended. The only downside to this campground is that it is not only crowded on weekends, but over crowded. Some sites had as many as 5 vehicles at them, which is a lot of people at a site. We also found that there are a LOT of dogs. So at times this may not be a peaceful/quiet environment. I had one run in with a small dog as I was walking along the lake. Apparently some people think a 20 ft plus leash on a dog is fine, and a dirty muddy small dog ran up and jumped on me. I was not happy to have mud all over me and the owner just said "oh...did he get you?" Obviously he gets a lot of people. It is also a bit difficult to walk the campground when it is so busy. It seems like the cars never stop coming and going. During the week when most people cleared out it was much nicer. The hosts were nice and helpful. Some of the sites are so huge you could park several large motorhomes on them. I have never seen such large sites. Bath houses are older, but they were cleaned a lot. If this campground did not get so crowded I would give it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Great park with great views. The bathrooms could use updating but were clean. Site are well spaced apart. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Fantastic park. We visit it 2-3 times per year. Huge sites. Like camping on a golf course. Well maintained and manicured. Great play equipment. Great beach. Probably our favorite destination for weekend trips. Sites for the best waterside sites book up nearly a year in advance. Staff very friendly unless you're late checking out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Almost every spot here is great. Plenty of spots on the water. We had a buddy spot (although it was not marked as such on the web page) and there was more than enough room for our coach and their unit. It's your standard Army COE camp, very pretty, nice big lots. There is a swimming section marked off in the lake. Almost everyone on the water had a jet ski. Lots of families, lots of kids, but surprisingly very quiet in the evening. They could improve this facility with more sewer and 50 amp sites but 30 amp worked good in our motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
Well maintained, friendly staff. The grounds are big rig friendly. Biggest drawback camping there is that they don't have enough 50 amp and sewer hook-up sites. However, the beauty and quietness more than make up for the shortcomings. There is a marina with restaurant that is connected to the grounds and well worth visiting. A quiet cove has a swimming area that is roped from the lake. There is a hiker trail trail (tough) that goes to an overlook above Cordell Hull Dam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$18
Absolutely love this park and go there frequently. Perfect pure boating lake and park. Sites are beautiful. Boat is virtually on your site, right on the shore not all sites have sewers, so check of that's important. Very reasonable policies, and park is well kept. Bring a portable sat. dish as not all sites will "clear". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This is a very well maintained and very quiet campground. If you are in to a lively and active campground, you probably will not like this campground. It is great for a quiet getaway with great view of the lake and lake swimming. When we pulled in we found someone had parked a car on our campsite and the staff immediately assigned us a new campsite that was actually an upgrade from the original campsite. Would recommend this camppground to anyone who is looking for a nice quiet place to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
Great family campground. Excellent waterfront sites with exceptional views of the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
East of the Mississippi, absolutely my favorite campground. Love Sites 73 (pull thru, W&E), 71 (back-in WSE), 65 (back-in WSE). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$26
This is a great campground, especially for families with children. Lakefront sites are really nice on weekends. Folks next to us fished off the bank and actually caught several decent size fish. Beach area is also nice and cg is walking-friendly. Sewer sites are smaller; non-sewer sites are generally very large. On weekdays, you could easily camp in less-expensive non-lakefront sites and walk across the road to use the lake. The non-lakefront sites are especially large. Nothing in the area, however, including limited routine shopping access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
What a beautiful cg off the beaten path. Well worth a week or a weekend. They have large, level sites on the water. The swimming area is nice, with a sandy bottom. They also have tennis court, nice playground, and volley ball. Flat roads, nice for biking. The easiest check-in I have ever seen. You don't even have to get out of your car. Very quiet at night. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
The park was golf course beautiful. Sites were large and well planned for all types of RVs. Be sure to make reservations. This park fills up every weekend. Wonderful bike and hike trails. Try the local eatery OVERALLS in Carthage. The only reason - for the 9 rating is because there is no sewer hookup and most sites are gravel but level. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Defeated Creek is on the TVA system of lakes. What a clean, quiet, beautiful site. We will be back again and again. On top of that my Grandson caught his first fish in the lake! Close to I40 and the town of Carthage with Walmart and some restaurants. This place is a winner We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com