215246 User submitted reviews online!!
Cumberland Mountain State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (931) 484-6138
CGID2627

Cumberland Mountain State Park

Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   7   8   7   9   8   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$17
We just stayed overnight and the campground was really nice. For one-nighters, it was a little far from I-40. Great for families. Sites were large and attractive. The roads and site pads were paved. The only drawback was that the roads were rather tight for a 38' RV towing a car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Very nice large older state park with great amenities. There's a restaurant, tennis courts, trails, cabins, ponds, rustic architecture, etc., spread out over a large forested area. Campsites are shady and paved. A few have full hookups, and the rate we paid represents that. Very good Verizon coverage. Quiet (except when the grass mower showed up), classic, and pleasant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
Have been staying here on and off for about 10 years and have seen the park slowly go down hill. The bath houses although clean are very dated and some of the equipment does not work. The grounds are being neglected making it difficult to get in and out without dragging tree limbs on the RV. I would stay here again hoping the state will update the park. There are very few 50 amp connections I am told they are there but I have never seen them. Sites are gravel with paved access roads. Very wooded with most sites shaded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
We spent two nights here based on the recommendations previously posted. Very nice state park with a wide variety of site options. Sites were fairly close together without much privacy. Good base of operations if you want to tour middle Tennessee. Restaurant continues to be very popular since many locals were driving in to eat there. This is a good option if you are looking for a one night stay off I-40 or are looking for a longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Previous reviews are accurate. Some added notes would be: a.) Women's shower had broken clasps to hold the shower head, so it was hold your own nozzle or have the water spray all over the floor. This leads to the "7" rating. Lack of maintenance in a critical area. b.) Park is rather small, and shaped like a horseshoe, placing it against neighborhoods. There is no wilderness feel. c.) A local main roadway actually runs through the park, and there are no security features in the campground, so there were a few local "cruisers." d.) There was an active schedule of activities for adults and youth, including hikes to nearby state natural areas and waterfalls, and there were evening programs on some days. Overall, a good experience and a great base location for exploring Crossville and environs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Nice state park. Staff helpful and nice, site was level with a concrete pad. No sewer at our site, but no big deal. The grounds were well maintained. The all you can eat buffet at the restaurant was excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
This is a great State Park, and I recommend it to anybody. The sites are the best I've seen at a State Park, pretty level asphalt pads with a fairly large graveled areas to set up your chairs etc. The restrooms/bathhouses were clean. There are a wide variety of sites, camping area 4 is very wooded giving you a real feel for being in the woods. Lots of trees in all the camping areas, providing shade in the warmer months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Absolutely loved this park. Came for 2 days and ended up staying for a week. Sites are large and level with a selection of full hook-up (loop#1) to electric (30Amp), water and primitive. Lots of selection from fully wooded to more open. Nice separation between the sites. Facilities were spotless and there's lots of hiking in the area. You're right next to Byrd Lake which has fishing and even a restaurant on-site. Also, you're only a few miles from Crossville which has everything you need. Really enjoyed our stay and would come back in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
Very friendly, courteous staff. The place is very clean and well-cared for. We stayed in campground #1, which is the only one with sewer at the sites and the only on open in winter (thank you TN State Parks for keeping this open year-round - we love this place in winter!). We did check out the other areas, though, and found they have some great sites up on a hilltop, and others nestled down in a heavily wooded area close to the lake shore, which would probably be very nice in hot weather. Tree cover throughout the park is excellent. The park and campgrounds are laid out very attractively to give a sense of being in the woods. Nice hiking trails are available, easily within walking distance. There's a lake with boats for rent, although it was frozen over during our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Great park! Roads can be a bit tight, but there are plenty of level sites. It is well maintained. We'll visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$11
We stayed her for 10 days in a 40' 5th wheel. Finding a level site that we fit in was difficult. Thankfully it was "off" season (they don't accept reservations - TOO BAD) and one was available. The hilltop sites were closed but were more open - they only offer water and electric and you have to make the trip down to the dump site which could be a pain. Pool was huge (but closed) but you are 1.6 miles from the Cumberland Mtn Bear Trace (Nicholas designed) golf course and it is spectacular. TN state retirees get a break at the CG and GC. Don't miss the park's restaurant. It's wonderful and reasonable and open every night. Be sure and bring a bike to ride around the park. We'd go back but probably "scope" out the sites to ensure we could fit into some space. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
One of our favorites! Very nice camping area with many large wooded sites to choose from. Camping area is clean and well kept. They don't take reservations so can be difficult to get in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
This was our 3rd time visiting this state park. Each time I enjoy it more and more. The site (136) was almost completely level. It sat up on a small hill and overlooked the sunrise each morning. The bathhouse was very clean and in good repair. The grounds were mowed and despite the lack of rain looked green. This park offers limited full hookups. Most of the sites only offer electricity and water. There is no cable (we do not use it) throughout the park. The cost of this park combined with the beauty of it makes it a jewel. We plan on returning here as often as we can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Not a bad state park, we were early in the year so it was quiet. We had a nice paved back-in site. There is also one of the Bear Trace golf courses at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
We stayed one night in 2006 and 3 nights in 2007. Big sites with privacy. Wish you could make a reservation but understand the policy. We used their shower facilities because they were huge and clean. Fun to walk the dog. Quiet, but we were not there on a weekend. The Bear Trace golf course is only 10 minutes away and very reasonable prices. We will definitely be returning this year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
This is a nice park. The sites are easy to get to and many are shaded and private. There are several trails and a pool, although not at the campground but very close by. Great place to spend a few relaxing days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$19
This state park is one of the best in my opinion. The campground is laid out nice and most sites were fairly level. The one we had was neatly mowed, clean (no mud), and somewhat private. The restaurant was excellent. Security was ok to good We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2006
$14
This was the noisiest campground we have stayed in! Only 28 sites were available due to winter season, so the place was packed. Sites in that area were close together--neighbors could watch everything you did and some did just that! We love kids, but the ones at this place were rude, noisy and totally left on their own. Using flashlights they played tag and lights were shined right in the RVs! Bikes were being ridden right thru our sites. We saw this the whole time were were there. (of course that is not the parks fault--just the parents). Yelling and screaming late into the night and later several cars or trucks left the lights on shining right in the RVs. The closed area was very pretty with bigger sites. Looked like there was storm damage as several large trees were tipped over and being cut up. If it wasn't for the rude campers this would have gotten a better rating, but the camp host sure did not enforce any of the common sense rules! We would check it out before ever staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful state park. The hosts were very friendly and seemed concerned to know if we had what we needed while staying there . We stayed in section one since it was still early in the season and thought the mature trees were lovely (even without leaves). There could be some improvement with the fire rings at each site. We look forward to staying at Cumberland Mountain State Park again in the summer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
A very nice campground for families. The sites are large and most are well shaded. A few are unlevel to the point of being difficult to use for a camper or RV. Sewer hookups are only available in loop 1 of the campground. All sites have water and electric. This campground seems to fill up fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
Large camping area. I went here and camped and worked at the same time. Had a good trip on both ends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$20
This is a great State Park. We camped here over Labor Day Weekend (2004) and had a great time. The roads are paved and each campsite is paved with a gravel area off to the side for the picnic table, fire ring, and grill (or for tent camping). I walked through the whole campground and almost all sites were level (we stayed in Loop 3, site 81 and all we had to do was back in. No side to side leveling). There were sites that offered plenty of shade or there were sites with no shade. Just take your pick. The bathrooms and showers were clean and each shower (at least in the men's bathroom) had a private area off the shower for changing, etc. The roads around the campground are fairly flat for easy biking or walking. My only 2 complaints are they need a better playground in campground area (they only have swings) and only a few of the sites have sewer hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$14
We camp at this park often. Campground hosts who live in the campground keep the restrooms and showers nice and clean. The older camping areas are better - lots of shade, most spaces are plenty roomy, but some aren't level. The renovated areas are nice and level, but they've cut down a lot of the shade trees to do it. We've rarely had any bad experiences here - you almost never run into rude neighbors. Rangers have always been friendly. There are many activities - fishing, pool, paddleboating, hiking - and the town of Crossville has a large flea market on Saturdays, movie theater, Walmart and other shopping, Cumberland Co. Playhouse(a really good Theater), many places to eat. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com