206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Adventure Bound Camping Resort Gatlinuburg was rated 7 out of 10 based on 48 user reviews. Phone: (865) 436-4434
CGID2632

Adventure Bound Camping Resort Gatlinuburg

Camp Information
Sites
220
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   10   9   8   7   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$46
We stayed in site 6. Most of the sites are not level, and the pictures you see where the road is paved is partially true, but more than half of the campground is gravel, and all of the sites are gravel. Most of the campground is on a hillside, so when it rains, be prepared for water running down hill. They do have a fair bit of trees, and it really feels like a campground. No seasonal trailers here, just a few newer campers that the campground rents out. They have good cable (68 channels), AT&T wireless is almost nonexistent, and Verizon has 4G LTE with 1-2 bars. The best sites are the electric / water / no sewer sites: so if you have a tote, bring it and dump your water as needed at the dump stations. It is worth it to hear the running water all night outside your camper. Most of the full hookup sites are not near the water. Could not connect to the WiFi, and the front desk staff is of no help. They have no tech support (1-800 #) to help with the WiFi. You either get it or you don't. I never could connect. The waterslide, and bounce houses are closed on Wednesday and open at noon every other day. Pool is pretty big, but the pool deck gets dirty quick with all of the gravel and mud being brought in from people’s shoes. I guess I had higher expectations for the campground, than what I actually got. Probably would not return as this campground is a good 20-30 minute drive to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Would probably find a closer campground and skip the waterslide and bounce houses, as we hardly spent any time at the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$60
We camped here in a 40 foot Toy Hauler. Getting through the campground was challenging. The roads are rather narrow. Our site was a back in site in the back which was great and creek side. The pull through sites are in the front and there is a fair amount of road noise since it is off a rather main road. There is Wireless internet (if it works) only at the arcade in the front. We stayed a week and it only worked about 2 days. The water side is a lot of fun. The staff was friendly. Would probably stay here again. Since there is a lot of tent campers, the showers get dirty rather quick. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$60
This campground does not observe quiet time. Someone also thought they were the parks personal DJ: with their music so loud the whole campground could hear it from sun up until sundown. I think it must have been corrected the next day, because it was not quite as loud. We will give this campground another chance, but if it is still like this again, we will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$49
Wow! What a great park to bring your kids and have a GREAT time. From the time we checked in till leaving every part of our stay was perfect. The manager was amazing and came by the campsite after we got set-up just checking to see if we needed anything. Kids loved the water slide (ADULTS TOO) and fishing in pond was a blast. We didn't use any of bathrooms so can't comment about them. This was our first time at this park and will be returning SOON. Rate reflects holiday weekend rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
Beautiful site. Would have rated it a 10 except we were early in the season and ground was soft and the site was new so utilities didn't work right to begin with. Stayed 3 weeks and all was working by time we pulled out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$125
The kids loved the water slide here. The cabin was nice, could have used a little more cleaning. Roads are very narrow. We would come back again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Nice campground very friendly workers the complaint I have is the pool was very cold if the pool was heated I would have given them a 10. I will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Campground is older but it was clean, especially bathrooms. Our tent site was level and staff came by to ensure we had gotten set up okay. Fishing Pond looked in bad shape but Jack Tales were greatly enjoyed by the kids. Site has bike rentals and a paint your own pottery station in the store. The store had a good selection of products and the pool was sparkling clean. The waterslide was a huge draw even though it is a bit older. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
This was our second visit to Adventure Bound. We camped here with two other families. Our kids enjoyed the water slide and pool. We loved our site on the stream with a deck. A great campground for families with kids. The sites are a little tight. The power was good and Donna in the office was a dream to deal with. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$99
Beautiful park, lovely cabin. Deck on the water. Very refreshing. Will definitely come back. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Prior to our arrival at ABC (Crazy Horse)I contacted the management to see if they were addressing the condition of the restrooms and showers that had been given poor ratings in previous comments by other campers. I was assured that they were addressing the comments and that the staff tried very hard each day to keep the restrooms clean for all guests. I was even offered an upgrade to a full hook up site that turned out to be too small for my 36' trailer, so we stayed in a "stream side" W/E site for 7 days. Our stream turned out to be the feeder "creek" for the algae filled fishing pond that bore no catch-able trout. The staff is friendly enough, if you discount the tyrant who unhappily operates the $9/day water slide. If you weigh more than 100lbs, keep you @$$ off the water slide or your @$$ will be hanging off the side rubbing against the 150 grit concrete sand paper they lined the side of the slide with. (Worth the $9, per site, for the kids to tire themselves of endless energy. Now to the facilities... I'm sure that 15 years ago this was a nice campground. Whomever the owner is currently needs to reinvest on the infrastructure of the park. The restrooms/showers need a major overhaul and the water system needs a pump boost to get you any pressure at the faucet head. My water system barely had enough pressure to wash your hands, let alone a shower in your own trailer, unless you used your own water pump. No need for a pressure regulator here. Not to fault the management or staff, but there seemed to be at least one occupant of the campground every night who needed to defecate in a pasture instead of a toilet. This individual or individuals need to learn a little common courtesy for the other campers as well as those who have to clean up behind them. During our stay, I only found one toilet out of 6 (each day) that was usable before 9am (when the staff cleaned and removed the bovine fecal matter from the available receptacles). So, is the staff working on the restroom issue? Yes, but it only appears they do so once a day and nothing is being done to proactively make the park better for future campers. Unfortunately for the majority of the friendly staff, we will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Stayed here for two nights and was glad to get out after a two night stay. We camped in the back the site was level and clean. The issue was the bathroom in the rear. There was no hot water and it appeared its been like that for some time. They had nice printed signs stating the hot water did not work to go and use the restroom on the other end of the campground. Then the sun went down, there was out of control children every place, with no supervision. They were going around in packs and they turned on all of the vacant sites water. No water pressure in the park for two hours! Staff was clueless and not very friendly. Will not be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
We camped here 8 years ago and now this park is in need of maintenance. Sewer line below us overflowed, bathhouse closest to us had hot water 1 day out of 5. Laundry facilities listed 3 but only 1 with 5 washer and dryers for entire campground use and dryers took forever. Sites are supposed to be for big rigs but we barely got our 34' fifth wheel in ours. If neighbor had been in a site, no way could we have gotten in. Sites very unlevel. We will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
We camped over the July 4th holiday and the campground was almost full. They do have a great deal of activities for the kids; fishing pond, playground, day camp just to name a few. The bathhouses were in need of SERIOUS attention! They were filthy, smelly and looked as if they had not been cleaned in months. I was in the bathroom while a staff woman was cleaning (I use that term loosely) and she was emptying the trash and refilling the toilet paper and paper towels and cleaning the mirrors and sinks with Windex and that was it. I never saw the toilets or floors being cleaned. The showers were full of hair and and soap remains. To top it all off this very large campground has 3 bathhouses but each of these only has 3 toilets and 3-5 showers. While we were there only 2 toilets were working and 2 showers were shut down and they lost hot water for one day. If you choose to stay here do what I did, take your own bleach cleaner every time you visit the bathhouse! Both the men and women restrooms smelled foul and and were disgusting! Also, if you choose to use the bathhouse located at the pool use extreme caution as the tile floors are very slick. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
This was a great park. We had a spacious site with a small stream behind us that the kids and dog really seemed to enjoy playing in. The bathrooms were convenient, but not quite as clean as I would like them. The staff, with one exception, were incredibly friendly and I feel that they went out of their way for us. They met us when we arrived (after hours) and helped back us in, delivered wood right to the campsite, were constantly making rounds to pick up garbage from the sites throughout the day and couldn't have been more helpful when my van broke down. My only complaints are the cleanliness of the bathrooms (they could also use an update) and I feel that they could have done a better job of getting information out to us (kids activities, how to get Wi-Fi, daily events, etc.). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
Great location for exploring the Great Smokey Mountains National Park. It is 15 minutes east of Gatlinburg, so it is close enough to explore the town and the Sugarlands visitor center, but you really feel that you are out in the woods. We were in a large wooded site near the creek, which felt more like a park campground than the typical RV parking lot. The staff was very friendly. There is a convenience store and laundry on site and there is a large grocery store on the way to Gatlinburg. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Super kid friendly campground. Lots of fun for the young ones such as a 500' long slide, nice size pool, great game room, lake, pedal cars, etc. Friendly staff. Paved and gravel roads. Gravel sites. We got free access to the slide since they were running a special deal for the weekend (otherwise $9 per person) Nice camp store sorted with everything. Clean bathrooms, nice dish washing room, and W-iFi available. About 15-20 minutes from downtown Gatlinburg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
This was our second visit to Adventure Bound. We camped here with two other families. Our kids enjoyed the waterslide and pool. We loved our site on the stream with a deck. A great campground for families. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
We camped here during the week and the place was empty. The pool was great and the waterslide may not look like much, but it is fast and fun. They just don't advertise on their webpage that there is a daily charge for it. We paid an extra $5 per night for a stream-side site, but it isn't worth it. The only bad thing is that the campground is a little far from town. It is only 12 miles from downtown Gatlinburg, but the drive seems long after a day of sightseeing. I wouldn't mind camping here again, but I might look at something a little closer to town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Great experience, we were helped from the start and set up, including removing some limbs because our camper is so tall. We opted for the stream side and boy was it nice, slept great. The campground is about 25 miles from Dollywood, but it was good because there was less traffic than the closer parks. Kids loved the water slide, so did wife. The campground gives you the feeling of being in the woods, not in a parking lot, crammed in together trying to get as many spots as possible from an acre of land. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
We camped streamside. The very large pool was never crowded even in the evening and always sparkling clean. The water slide was a huge event: it was operational, well maintained and staffed, and safety was important. Great for tweens and teens. The grounds were well kept and well manicured. The store stocked better than most, and the blueberry ice cream is a must. The game room is ok: our kids did utilize it some but the games are mostly for mid to older teens. The staff was very helpful and trash was picked up street-side. Now for the negatives: A rare few of the sites have concrete pads, the rest mostly rock beds, so bring a tarp or mat. There is only one laundry with 6 washers and 5 working dryers: with 200 sites and dirty kids you can do the math on this disaster. The laundry is located at the check-in office, so if your staying stream-side, it's a pretty good hike to clean your fruit-of-the-looms. The centered bathrooms and showers were tolerable but did not meet the clean test by any means. Last for the negatives: I thought playing a PG movie with violence was tasteless for a campground with so many kids! The movie needed to have been a little more family and perhaps shown outdoors not in the game room. There was only one movie shown the entire week. The fishing pond is great to sit by: but bring some live bait if your planning to catch anything. All in all:' the family environment is above average, the number of kids here is great, check-in was easy, and for what you get, even paying a few extra bucks for the slide seems well worth the price. It was an all time hit for kids, and a true campground, not just an RV park out by a street. The travel distance to Gatlinburg is about 15 minutes: we went into town daily for breakfast and a few activities, then back to the camp for sliding and campfire fun. Note: the trolley does not come to the campground. Also check out the whitewater rafting: it's about a 25-minute drive and well worth the money. With all that said: a little updating attention to the laundry and center bath area and Adventure Bound would get an A+. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We stayed here in a pop-up with 2 adults and 3 kids. This was our second stay. The kids absolutely love this campground! The pool and water slide are great fun. We stayed way in the back and it was not crowded at all. The sites are large and neat. I love the private shower rooms, even though they are rundown a bit. The camp store was very well stocked and prices were high, but then most camp stores are. We did not fish, but enjoyed the pond. The kids theater was a blast. The staff are among the best we've encountered at a campground. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$46
We camped here for a week. We were promptly waited on and given our site number. We reserved a stream side site and a lot of the campground is stream so its nice to hear the rolling stream instead of the traffic noise. We did notice that if you're in the front of the campground you can hear traffic noise and sites 1-5 back up to a animal hospital. I think they may board dogs there too and could hear barking. So you might want to reconsider sites on the front left as you go into the campground. We were in the back and there was no Wi-Fi connection. We had to take our laptop up to the game room to connect. We also couldn't get cell service from the campground and had to drive a ways down the main road. We noticed the camp store wasn't stocked with some of the things you might need if you run out. They carry no bread so stock up or there is a Food City down the road or another small store. One more thing that we thought was absolutely ridiculous was the wood they sale for the camp fires. They paid 13 dollars and got like 10 pieces of wood. So we drove down the road and found a guy selling wood and bought tons of wood for our week there for 20 bucks. The pool was nice and clean but water a little chilly to me. The campground is a nice, clean one. They have the Jack Tales theater on weekends and its fun for the kids. They can be in the play. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We just returned from Adventure Bound in Gatlinburg and thought it was great. Our weekend didn't start out so great when we arrived Thursday night. The site we were on wasn't very big and directly across from us was a row of larger empty pull-throughs. When we mentioned this to the manager she readily offered to move us to a site of our choosing. We ended up staying put due to the fact we were already set-up and had no neighbors on either side. The entire atmosphere was relaxing and peaceful, other than being a little too close to highway 321. The bathhouses were very well kept and up-to-date. The slide was in great shape and our kids LOVED it (me too). The only place I saw that needed updating was the game room. It also would benefit from a couple of big fans pulling some air through the place. Other than that the capmground is in really good condition. With regard to the new management; while I had never visited here before, I spoke with a lady who told us she had been coming there since she was a child and that the folks who currently own had really cleaned/fixed/updated the place in the last couple of years. All in all we were pleased with the campground and the management. We fully intend to return with friends in the near future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We spent four nights Memorial weekend 2009 at this campground. This campground was much nicer than I had expected. We had a family of 2 adults and 6 kids. Kid's even rated it a 10 and they wanted to stay longer. Lots of things to do between pool, Jack Tales Storytelling theater, water slide, fishing, and exploring the creeks. We originally reserved a regular stream-side lot but due to a last minute cancellation we got to upgrade to the stream-side with tent deck on lot 300. Tent deck was fabulous over looking running creek and it protected us from rain on our last two days. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Even though it rained, we enjoyed the campground. The store was nice, but a lot of things seemed overpriced. We had a great time, park was pretty empty, not quite camping season yet. Lots of trees and most sites, from what I could tell, were shady. The only thing I took notice of that was negative, I'd like to have seen more stones on the RV lots. Our lot was pretty muddy w/ all of the rain and we commented on how if the lots had more stones it would have been better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$47
The park is lovely and under normal circumstances I would camp here again, but for the fact that we were walking our dog and overheard the manager screaming at staff and later on in the week she was being ugly to kids. She apparently doesn't need to be in the general public as a manager, she was rude, loud, and hateful to her staff and to the customers and it seems to me that the staff is the one's who help the manager keep things running, and the customers pay her salary so she needs to work elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
Great campground just as I remembered from 25 years ago. Staff are friendly. And the campground has much to offer kids. Well maintained but the prices in the store as well as golf cart rentals are very high. Will go back very soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$53
Staff was very friendly and helpful, from booking the reservation on the phone, to checking in, to checking out. We had a lovely shaded spot by the stream. (Site 206) Full hook up with cable. Wireless is available but you need to be close to the office. We just brought our laptops to the porch and sat in the rocking chairs. no problems. I took a look at the showers but didn't use them, some friends said that only 2 out of 5 had running water. Lots of activity's for the kids. The pool and 500' water slide were great. (even fun for the adults) We will go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
What an excellent park. The bathrooms were very clean and cleaned at least twice per day. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They gave us several sites to choose from and directed us to some we may like better. The store was nicely stocked and staffed by some of the nicest ladies we've dealt with. Our site was level with plenty of gravel and nice shade trees. There was some kind of truck show being hosted there and we were invited to join in the festivities which included breakfast, lunch and a bon fire and beer later in the evening. This is not the first time we have stayed here, and it won't be the last. I understand there was a management change a year or so ago. These folks that are running it now are doing a great job. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
This campground has really gone down hill over the years through change of ownership being now corporate. We had a family reunion using 3 cabins and 4 campsites. The campsites were not close to level. The fire pits were filthy but my main complaint was our children and their families staying in the 3 cabins. At $100+ per night they were best classified as the pits. Plumbing that didn't work, refrigerators that didn't operated properly. Cleaning between guest occupancy's was pathetic: 2 towels were furnished for a 4 person cabin. Same sheets all week long, this is not acceptable. The workers there have been decreased at least 70%. They know that the lake has not been stocked with trout in years and they continue to rip people off for $6.50 each to through the line in the water and catch nothing. I saw 4 trout caught in the lake in 5 days. It used to be that every time practically you casted a line you caught a trout. The campground was about 20% occupied all the time we were here. Which only means: price up, services down. Means they lose. We will never return here again after staying there on 4 or 5 other occasions. Sorry We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$44
We stayed here from July 1st through 8th. The bathhouse we used was not the cleanest of places we have stayed but no where near the worst. Was not bad enough I had a problem with it, and I know it was cleaned very well at least once daily everyday we were there. People just made no effort to help keep it clean. We had the AC in our pop-up running non-stop, along with an extra refrig, fan outside, TV, dvd, etc., etc., and never had any problem with the power. The power did go off to the whole campground for a couple of hours one day, but it was off to the whole surrounding area as well so I didn't fault the campground for it. The water slide was just fast enough to be fun, but expect a scrape or two. The pool is nice and big especially for a campground, and was clean for most of our stay. Towards the end it seemed they got slack on vacuuming, cleaning (grass, etc.). Our site was right next to the stream and trout pond and during certain times had a lot of flying insects around which was annoying but if you have a bug zapper take it and you won't be bothered. I was very impressed with the quantity and size of fish caught from the trout pond and how anyone who wanted to fish could catch one. The campground store is stocked very well and reasonably priced on everything I saw except beer which was outrageous. To sum it up this is a very nice campground and great for kids and adults alike. My only reasons for not giving it a 10 (perfect) are that camping and all the extras are expensive and things like the pool, bathhouses, campsites could be better maintained from a maintenance standpoint and also the staff could have been friendlier. They weren't rude or un-friendly but didn't seem to really enjoy what they were doing either. They should also consider spraying for insects like other campgrounds do. Just for the money there is definite room for improvement. We all had a good overall experience and I would recommend it over others in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
If you're looking for a campground with enough amenities to keep the children occupied, then this may be the place for you. If, however, you prefer a campground with clean restrooms and enough electricity to power a small pop-up trailer, then beware! The sites are mostly shady, there's a water slide and pool, as well as a trout pond and gameroom. The camp store was well-stocked, and the ice cream there was pretty good, too. Unfortunately, during our mandatory 4-night minimum stay, the bath houses were never cleaned (as evidenced by the excrement that remained on the toilet seats the entire time, the burned out light bulb in the bath house that was never replaced, the leaky shower that ran non-stop during our entire stay, and the wet, muddy floors surrounding the toilets). This is definitely a place where you want to keep water shoes on your feet while you shower! Also, we experienced a complete power outage one afternoon that lasted almost 2 hours, and we had surges of electricity the rest of the time. We did not have enough power to run the A/C in our pop-up, and our neighbors at the next site had the same problem. Unfortunately, while the neighbors were successful in receiving a partial refund, we were denied any, even though we wound up leaving early. (Please understand that I'm not one who usually demands air conditioning while camping, but we had a newborn with us and the temperatures were dangerously high for him.) With all this said, if you asked our other kids (ages 7,9,and 11), then they would have told you this place was great! Be forewarned though, the pool water was very cloudy, two of my three children were injured on the water slide, and the $6.50 "daily campground fishing license fee" does not guarantee that you'll catch any fish. By the time we paid $9.00/day/family for the water slide and $6.50/day/child for fishing, this was an expensive venture! Overall, for the price we were charged, I expected a whole lot more. I was really disappointed that the manager was not more understanding and refused to discuss the problems with us. It's unlikely that we would return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
Our site was quite large. We had a stream site and was next to the fishing pond. The campground overall was excellent for us. The pool and water slide were in great shape and handled all of the guest on the Labor Day weekend that we stayed. I did not use the rest rooms but my wife and children did, they explained that they were OK, but not the greatest. The showers were clean. Some of the sites in the back of the campground were smaller, but the ones in the front and stream side were a nice size. Great campground if you like to be out away from the hustle of the attractions. Overall, A very good experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$??
We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend in a popup and found the stream close to the site we had reserved was about 40 yards away from the site. Not a big deal, as we could still hear the water and it was a level site once we got the pup backed down the hill! Showers were clean and had hot water everyday, although we only went in the mornings. Bathrooms were semi-clean and got cleaned sometimes more than once a day. Many activities provided by the campground daily, mostly for kids. Overall, after driving by a few other campgrounds in the general area, we were extemely happy with our choice! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$?
I am new to this site and reviewing places where we have camped. 2005 was the first year of camping for our family. We stayed at the Crazy Horse Campground in August 2005. We found a coupon at the visitorís center that got us 3 nights for the price of 2! We wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of Gatlinburg but close enough to drive in. Crazy Horse was 12 miles away. There were places to grocery shop within just a few miles. When we arrived we asked if we could look at the available sites and the kind staff members accommodated our request (they were great the entire stay!). We chose a site beside the stocked trout pond. It had a beautiful view but a lot of flying insects. We had free use of the waterslide but had to pay to fish and were limited to 2 fish. After I saw the trout coming out of the pond I understood why. The camp store was very nice and well stocked. The bathrooms were clean and there were individual shower rooms. The young man that held the Sunday Worship Service was awesome! Overall it was a great experience and we had some quality family time. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
The expense was not worth the stay. Sites are very small and campground seems overly crowded. Showers and bathhouses were filthy every day. Extra charge for pond use. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$50
We camped here over Memorial Day weekend. This is definitely a family-type campground. Lots of kids running around (including my 3). The campground was crowded (it was a holiday weekend) and the pool seemed a little small for all the kids in it. I don't believe the pool is heated, because it was awfully cold. The water slide is very nice and my kids loved it (the line was never long: maybe a 1 minute wait at most). We were disappointed in the playground. It is very small and quickly became a mud pit with all the rain. Speaking of mud, it did rain quite a bit over the weekend and parts of the campground were muddy. Our site (159) could have used a little more gravel. Most of the sites have plenty of shade. They are rather small, but still bearable. The sewer connection for our site was quite a bit off and I wound up buying a 15' sewer hose at the campground store ($15). Sites 171 through 177 are very nice and have a concrete patio. Sites 227 through 222 are also nice. They seemed a little larger than all the other sites. We didn't have any problems with the staff. All were very helpful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$48
Beware of Crazy Horse Campground. They stung me for over $200.00. I made reservations several months ahead and told them the size of my rig only to arrive and find out the site was too small. They do not give refunds. I repeat THEY DO NOT GIVE REFUNDS. I tried to negotiate with a very rude manager to no avail. I was eventually offered one of two available sites. One had wild chickens running though the site and the other was our original site but I would have to park my truck in an overflow lot by the maint. shed. I'm still in the process of fighting to get even a portion of my money back. This is a corporate campground at it's worst. Smoky Bear campground is right down the street. They have large sites, very clean facilities and excellent service. Even better, the owners are on site. Oh, and they're a lot cheaper to boot! RIPOFF! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$35
I recently took my family to Gatlinburg for the weekend and we stayed at the Crazyhorse. I made reservations for Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. We set up Thursday and spent the night. It rained hard that night and the first thing we all needed was a hot shower. There are three bathrooms on the campground. We didn't realize the first one didn't have any hot water until everyone was in the showers. We had to put our clothes back on and take all our shower stuff back out to the truck. (It's still pouring buckets and the wife and kids were sure letting me know how upset they were.) We journeyed to the back of the campground to bathroom number two which was closed. The final bathroom was up near the office. When we attempted to park by the bathroom we were told we could not park there. There was no parking around the bathroom for forty or so yards (Still raining buckets). This would be fine for me but not for the wife and kids who are trying to get ready to go to downtown Gatlinburg. When I went to complain about the bathrooms there was an older man in front of me complaining that the heated pool advertised on the internet wasn't really heated at all the day before. They lady's response was that the heat in the pool depended on how hot it was outside. (Guess it was solar powered!) I told the receptionist that I wanted to withdraw my reservation for the next two nights based on the lack of services at the campground. She told me it would be o.k. I packed up our tent in the downpour and gathered all our belongings. On the way out I went to settle up and get my receipt. The manager came to the window and told me she wasn't allowed to give refunds. I asked her who was and she told me that she was the highest authority I could speak to. I would understand her position if the campground was full but it was only about twenty-five percent full. I didn't need reservations after all. I was charged for the remaining two nights but refused to stay there. I'll never consider it as a possible location to camp again. The management and employees were very rude to me and made me wonder where all the southern hospitality had gone. You can still find it in Tennessee just not at the Crazyhorse. They're right it is Loco here. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$35
Stayed several nights with 3 kids (ages 2, 3, 6). This is an A+ for the kids because they can play all day wading in the streams, going down the waterslide, swimming in the pool, and romping around (only kid complaint was old playground equipment and over-rated fishing pond). We'd highly recommend a stream site --anything from 207-212 (best 209) for rustic and 171-177 for concrete pads across from bathrooms. All beautiful tree-covered sites, but some can be muddy. Pretty level. Mostly gravel roads. Staff was very nice to us, despite some of the other reviews. Picked up trash in front of sites all day long and were always nice to the kids. Location is a bit far but away from hussle of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Minor negatives: a few ugly pipes across the streams, some rental cabins are not too pretty along the streams, some dangerously high banks on parts of streams, could use a little better up-keep overall. Still, we had a ball and would definitely stay here again, especially after seeing for ourselves that Twin Creeks and Outdoor Resorts were basically overrated parking lots. Even worse was Camping in the Smokeys, which was basically a football field next to the highway. We were very pleased to see that we picked the best one for our taste. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$48
We had a horrible experience at this campground. We were assigned a site that could not accommodate our rig. We were told to park our truck in the overflow lot. When we asked for another site we were told the park was full. The Manager was very rude and when we checked out we asked for a refund for all but that first day and were rebuffed with "we don't give refunds". This is an example of a corporate campground that does not care. Stay away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$50
I was very impressed with this campground. We were in site 176 against the creek and the sites were quite large for a private campground. I needed a new sewer hose and bought a 20' one in the campstore for under $10. Less than it was at Wal-mart. Great staff and the water slide is great for all. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$40
Our family has camped at Crazy Horse for several years each Memorial Day weekend. While my kids love it because of the pool, waterslide, and Jack Tails theater, our last trip was somewhat unpleasant. The main bathouse was out of order and we had to walk several hundred yards to the big rig section to shower. The poolside restroom was very dirty/muddy. Sites at Crazy Horse offer little privacy, are way too close to each other, and are in desperate need of new gravel to avoid a muddy mess after a rain shower. The campground is far from quiet, however I have camped here off-season and found it to be much more tranquil. The new ownership has upped nightly rates to $40+ in season and seems a bit much. On the bright side, Crazy Horse offers mostly shaded sites, a nice trout fishing pond, and is kid friendly. Avoid Crazy Horse on a holiday weekend and you'll probably fare much better. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Water Slide We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$39
Great park, a lot out of the way if you like Pigeon Forge. If you like Gatlinburg, like we did than it's no more out of the way than the Pigeon Forge campgrounds. Park is clean, quiet nice atmosphere. I liked the stream sites at the back of the park where we were. We also had a bear visit us, but it gave us no trouble. The kids loved the water slide as well. I would definitely go back if I would visit the area. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$37
Although, it's a little out of the way, Crazyhorse is worth a stay if your looking for a nice quiet atmosphere. The park is very laid back with friendly staff and plenty for the kids to do. The only concern was from a regular who said the campground had been sold and staff had been cut recently. However, my families first experience was positive. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
1999
$25
Great park, the staff is unbelieveable, very very helpful. The park is so kid friendly that my daughter wanted to live there. I would highly recommend this park for any stay in the Gatlinburg Pigeon Forge area. Only drawback is that they are kind of far out from everything. We did have a bear visit us one night, but that was our fault because we left food outside on the table overnight. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com