206530 User submitted reviews online!!
Smoky Bear Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 81 user reviews. Phone: (865) 436-8372
CGID2636

Smoky Bear Campground

Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   7   10   10   8   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
This is a lovely park located east of the tourist insanity of Gatlinburg (i.e., it's quiet) but still close to all the area attractions. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. They provided us with a very informative list of area attractions, including good descriptions of various hiking trails in Great Smoky Mountain National Park. On our last morning, we had a bad problem with our landing gear as well as a tire issue and they helped us out so we could safely hit the road. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
So happy to have found this lovely little campground. As far as I'm concerned the further I could get from tourist-centric Gatlinburg the better. My level, gravel back in site # 29 is wooded in back, preferable to me with my Class B cargo doors that open onto that view. Limited traffic noise and few TV channels, but excellent Wi-Fi. Spotless bathroom and quiet, serene atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
Excellent park and very helpful and friendly staff. Concrete pad. Quite area except for small amount of traffic noise from hay 321. Pool and hot tube close due to October and falling leaves. Only draw back is that it is 10 miles East of Gatlinburg. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
This is a nice smaller campground that is well kept and the owners take pride in keeping it that way. The sites are spacious with fire rings and picnic tables on each site, pretty landscaping throughout the campground as well. The pool was nice and clean. It's a little far from the main entrance to the Smoky Mountain entrance and Gatlinburg, about 14 miles. Not many grocery stores close by either, and it's on a pretty busy highway linking Newport to Gatlinburg but we enjoyed our stay (4 weeks) and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
The park is layed out in an irregular loop pattern on a slight hill. The interior road is paved and the sites are gravel or concrete pad with the electric and cable on a pedestal. The water is clean and great tasting. The cable is only 6-7 channels with poor reception, but we did not come to the smokies to watch TV. The electric is reliable and strong. The pool and hot tub are new, clean and inviting. Landscaping, which includes rock beds, flower beds and other decorations are meticulously maintained. When a facility looks and feels this good the customers tend to behave accordingly. This is a family friendly place and a destination campground with lots to do in the area. The owners live on site and should love to come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
This is one of the nicest and cleanest campgrounds we have ever had the pleasure of camping in. The hoists were both very helpful in every regard. We spent 3 nights here, but would happily return for a week or more in the future. If you want to stay somewhere with entertainment galore nearby and one of the nation's nicest campgrounds look no further! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$47
We loved this well kept, smaller campground. No trouble for our 42' coach on a nice wide cement pad. Hook ups located just right. Site nice and level and landscaped nicely. There are only a few large sites for big rigs. Owners take great pride and make a point to introduce themselves to see if all is OK. Gatlinburg is a wonderful clean city with unique shopping and close to Pigeon Forge, where we had a dinner show at one of the many places along the strip. A lot like Branson, MO. Would definitely stay up here in the mountains again. Owner provided alternate route for easier trip into campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$55
Nice family park. Staff extremely helpful. Kids had a great time. Bathrooms clean, but no heat so it was very cold coming from the shower. Very tight turing. because of trees but it was beautiful. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$45
Great campground and great service. Wireless internet very, very slow and NO SPRINT cell service. Will be coming back next year for Thanksgiving. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
Family friendly park. Owners go out of their way to be helpful, friendly, and will make the most of your vacation. Pet friendly. They also have cabins available. You won't regret this 5-Star campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
I might not have the right to comment on this park because I only stayed one night. I had to depart early and was refunded. I didn't ask. Beautiful park with better yet great owner. Thanks again! Will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
A super clean and very nicely landscaped RV park with nice amenities. Lots of beautiful flowers. Friendly owners who treated us more like guests than customers and utilities all worked well. Access to and in the park was easy for our larger RV if you listen to the park owners directions ref: getting to the park. Park faculties (paved roads, pool, etc) were all in very good condition. Super clean restrooms. Reasonably sized and nicely landscaped sites. Only downside: its a bit of a drive to most Smokey Mountain attractions and the most popular National Park areas, but we expected that in order to be away from the crowds and noise at the end of the day. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
Immaculately maintained park, very helpful and friendly owners and staff. It's a bit of a drive to Gatlinburg, but this park's focus is the GSMNP, and they encourage you to take advantage of great hikes you can get on from the campground. Close to Greenbrier and Cosby (read far from the maddening crowds) areas of the park with trail heads and excellent trout fishing located there. Very nice concrete pull through pads, and plenty of maneuver room for the back in spots as well. Drove through a couple of the nearby campgrounds and didn't think they were nearly as nice and well maintained. I would give this one a 10 if they improved their laundry, it was all in good repair, and the facility was nice, but there were only 2 washers and dryers-think it would really be a problem come summer time. Highly recommend and will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$40
The Campground owners made sure our visit to the area was a happy and memorable one. The campground is exceptionally clean (even the bathhouse). They have a pool, hot tub, playground, and various activities for campers. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
This is a good campground but quite aways from Gatliburg. Overall it's a good value for the money. I would have said it's a great campground but like all the other campgrounds that are along Highway 321 the road noise is terrible and all the locals need a new muffler We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
We truly enjoyed our visit at Smoky Bear Campground. Owners are on site and work hard to make your stay pleasant. Pool, laundry, bathrooms, and grounds are all clean and centrally located. Sites are level. Had a great time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
We had a great stay here. There are the most gracious hosts. Our family includes two little girls (aged 3 and 1 at the time) and they were most welcome. Bathrooms were cleaned. We stayed over July 4th, and they had a guest demonstrate cast-iron cooking (peach cobbler). Great stay. We would definitely stay here again if we were to ever go back. The one downside is that we had to drive through Gatlinburg every time we wanted to go somewhere - this added 10-15 minutes to our drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Stayed here for 5 nights to explore the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge/Smoky Mountains area. This is a very nice family oriented campground. It is located 11 miles outside the town of Gatlinburg and well worth the drive for the peace and quiet. The sites are very large and the entire campground is very well maintained. There is a nice pool and hot tub as well as a small playground and basketball court for the kids. There was a building for group events, but we did not go in there and they did not offer “activities” while we were there. When you check in, they give you a great informational packet about area activities to get you started. The bathhouse was very clean and had large stalls and showers. There is also a small but functional laundry facility. Make sure you bring plenty of bug spray as the mosquitoes were hungry! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This was a great place. Everything is extra clean and grounds are very well kept. They could use a few more cable channels. That is the only negative, but hey you are camping, right? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
All I can do is echo the comments of those who have visited/reviewed this gem in the Smokey Mountains. The owners meticulously manage and maintain this relatively small campground. You are welcomed with open arms and treated as 'family'. We will be annual visitors to the Smokey Bear Campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
Rate shown reflects Good Sam discount. Yes, it's clean, and the roadways are in good condition. Nice landscaping. Space between campers is adequate for a commercial campground. Bath houses spotless and maintained/inspected frequently. The pull through sites are level and concrete, while the level back-in sites are composed of a rather large angular gravel that makes for a firm foundation, but is otherwise uncomfortable for barefoot walking. Sites have nice picnic tables. Sewer connect spouts were a bit high, so gravity feed had to be engineered with stones. DTV reception poor, AT&T service acceptable, especially outside the camper. The CG does NOT offer full-blown cable TV, but instead a limited genre of local channels, with ESPN and FoxNews spattered in in a rebroadcast on what appears to be their own cable system. Wi-Fi was pitiful in terms of speed and often simply froze. Don't waste your time hoping it will work. It won't. The pool and hot tub pool were great! Playground and basketball court were used often by families and children. Coming out of the campground, you are on a hill and curve, and the speed limit is 55 MPH on US 321, so you need to be mindful of it when pulling out of the CG. Smoky Bear is located 4.5 miles west of Cosby, and probably about 12 to 15 east from Gatlinburg proper and the trolley lot at Gatlinburg City Hall. Nearby country food stores are expensive, so be sure to bring food from larger communities and stores. Gasoline in Cosby was VERY inexpensive, however. Overall, a good experience at this CG, and we would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
We are a family with 9 and 6 year old children. The park was very nice. Undoubtedly the cleanest campground we have ever stayed at. The owners take great pride in living up to the reputation created by other camper reviews and they did not disappoint. It is a smaller park but still has a very nice pool and playground which our kids loved. The only negative would be the road noise if you are in certain sites. Some of the sites on the other side of the loop would be fine but the one we were in had fairly significant road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$43
We chose this campsite as a base for our activities in the area (Dollywood, etc.). It is far enough from Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge to avoid the crowds, and this can be both good and bad. If you making a daily trip to either of these towns, the miles add up. However, the campground is very close to some outstanding hiking. This is a clean, exceptionally well-managed campground. The owners are friendly and helpful. When the camp store was out of bleach for our laundry, the owner gave me a gallon from her home. The gravel sites are spacious and shady, but it was a little tough to level the RV. The restrooms and laundry room are spotless. There is a nice little play area for the kids, including a small basketball court which my kids loved. We are glad we stayed. We hope to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
Pristine campground, great landscaping, friendly on-side owners. Wi-Fi didn't work one day, but fixed for the next. Not open yet, but still accommodated us and some others. Some barking dogs only negative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Wonderful campground! Very clean and well kept. Very peaceful and quiet with the exception of some road noise. Sites are level and not cramped which I understand is not the "norm" in the Gatlinburg area. The owners are very nice and friendly as well as the people they have helping out. I was impressed by the quick response I received when I contacted them via email. Most campgrounds that I email with a question take days to get back to me, if they get back to me at all! There's a great hiking trail close by: make sure you ask about it! The WiFi was a bit frustrating as it would go in and out. Overall though, I highly recommend Smoky Bear Campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
Best restrooms and showers we have ever seen! Entire campground was clean with either asphalt, concrete, gravel or grass (no mud!). Nice location outside of busy Gatlinburg. Pool was nice, small playground, didn't use the Clubhouse but it looked nice and had AC. Would stay again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
I don't have anything bad to say about this park. In fact it is a wonderful campground. I found it after hours of searching and reading reviews of campgrounds in the area. Staff run a well kept family campground. The facilities are clean as can be and the owners are available and visible all the time. It is pleasant place to relax and enjoy the mountains. I will definitely return again if I get the chance. Had a wonderful stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
A friendly campground with great owners who take you to your site and help you back in. Owners also take the time to make recommendations about what to do and not to do in the nearby area, which was helpful. The campground was very well maintained, with nice landscaping. We all loved the pool, which was clean and well-kept and a godsend during the very hot and humid weather we experienced while there. The bathrooms were also clean, well-kept and cheery. Room for improvement: you can't select your site when you make your reservation, which means you are at the mercy of the owners when it comes to where you will camp. The campground seems to cater primarily to motor homes. We had one of the few tent trailers at the campground during our stay, and were given a spot with a steep uphill incline. The limestone/gravel rock on the site, combined with the incline, made backing in tricky. The sites are relatively small. The bathroom showers have barely a stream of water, supposedly in regards to conservation of natural resources, but this seems an unfair disadvantage to those who don't have showers in their campers. We would camp here again if we were staying in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
I cannot say enough nice things about this wonderful RV park. We stayed here several days while visiting Great Smoky Mountain National Park. Immaculately clean in every area. The laundry has 2 washers and 2 dryers. The bathroom and showers are exceptional. We had a paved pull-through site. The owners are marvelous. They helped my husband with a water issue and since it was Father's Day, he was given a hat. The pool was thoroughly enjoyed by my grandson as was the basketball goal and playground. I would not think of staying anyplace else when visiting this area. It was the highlight of our 3 week vacation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Rate shown is Good Sam discount. Site was gravel back-in and level. Beautiful landscape with lots of shade trees. Garbage dumpster was at the entrance to campground so it can be a good walk from some sites. Cable TV limited to 7 channels and most of them were snowy. WI-FI was limited range. It kept cutting out on me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
One of the best campgrounds we have stayed at. Very well maintained. Bathrooms and showers very clean and well maintained. Owners are very friendly. Hiking across the street. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
This was the best most nicely maintained campground we have stayed at in the 10 months of travel we have made. From the point we entered the grounds, you could tell that the owners truly cared for their property and it carries over to the campers enjoyment of the carefully planted flowers. Within an hour of our setting up, the owner was over to welcome us, which they did throughout our visit. We were invited to a Blues fest in their club room, which was really enjoyable and featured some authentic Tennessee Bluegrass musicians. We enjoyed our time there so much, that we extended our stay and would stay here again without a doubt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
This is a flower-filled, quiet, spotless park that's just far enough away from Gatlinburg to miss all the traffic and crowds. The owners are delightful people and fun to visit with. The ladies shower room is decorated with sunflowers and bright yellow walls, and immaculate. I used the laundry twice and was impressed with how clean it was and how reasonably priced. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
Camped here with a group of 8 camping families, most with young children and it was fabulous. Owners were very "hands-on" and visited each site at least daily if you were outside. Bathrooms and showers were spotless, even after the rain, wind and storms. Owners fixed omelet breakfasts for everyone in the campground on Sunday morning in the clubhouse. Will definitely go back: soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$39
Cleanest campground we have stayed at. Quiet, well maintained. All gravel sites. Very helpful owners, gave us tips on hiking trails, road conditions, even gave the kids ice cream out of her own freezer since it was too early in the season for the campground store to stock the freezer. Hiking trail into the park about 100 yards from the campground. Nice small playground. Sites 16 and 18 recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
This is a very nice campground. The hosts are wonderful. I am pretty sure they stopped by our campsites three or four times during the weekend. The paved roads and well manicured grounds make for a beautiful setting. Extra clean too! Our camping club is planning another trip here in early 2010. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This is a great campground about 15 minutes or so outside of Gatlinburg. It is close enough to allow for trips into town, but far enough out to get away from the traffic and noise. All sites have full hookups and many are nicely shaded. The sites were good sized and there were sites to handle any size rig. The facilities were very clean and the cable TV and Wi-Fi worked great. For us, the best thing about this campground were the owners. They were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make us happy. They stopped by to chat with us daily and were sincerely interested in making our stay a success. We stayed here for 9 nights and will definitely stay here again: hopefully longer next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$37
We pulled in on Saturday night and my dd20 came down with a fever with suspected H1N1. Soon my husband and I had it and we were in our RV for the next 2 weeks. Owner couple checked on us daily and even brought over homemade soup to help with the healing process. We have never stayed at a campground where we were made to feel more like family in a very thoughtful way. When we finally recovered enough to get out we were directed to hidden breathtaking scenic areas that matched our strength levels and given wonderful coupons for local shows. Definitely listen to their advise on getting to the campground and getting around the area. Three different nights, they had musical entertainment and they kindly made sure we knew about all of it. There is a little restaurant called Cobbly Nob Grocery, Cafe & Pizza that delivers after 5 P.M. Great chicken wings and hamburgers. This campground is one of the only ones in Gatlinburg to stay open year-round and we will definitely go back. We feel like family now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$37
This is a small, privately owned campground. There is one loop and there are approximately 45 sites total. All sites have full hookups. As others have stated, the owners were extremely friendly yet not intrusive. I really felt that they cared about our stay and appreciated our business. I agree with the previous reviewer; approach the park from the east rather than going through Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. As for the park itself, the sites were too close together for our liking however all the facilities were very well maintained. The Wi-Fi was hit and miss; the cable was pretty weak with only a few channels offered. The restrooms were cleaned fairly well but I wouldn't consider them "spotless." Nonetheless they were clean enough for me. There wasn't much of a camp store but who needs it with Gatlinburg only 13 miles away. I also observed a few other parks in the area and I'm confident that this is one of the best. If we ever go back to the "Gatlinburg zoo", we will most likely stay at this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$37
This was a great campsite. The owners are very nice and the grounds were fantastic. A little close to each other though, but not bad. We stayed at #24 and that seemed to be the best site. You may want to ask for this site. The only reason why I didn't give this park a 10 is because the cable TV was not good at all. Seemed to be just hooked up to an antenna. Also the Wi-Fi was almost non-existant. That was probably because our site was far from the office. Remember: this is a little ticky tack on my part because why go to the Smokey's to watch TV and get online? But hey, I am just letting you know. If we go back to the Smokey's one day I won't even look for another RV Campground: will go to this one! Just a side note: I looked at several other RV parks while driving around and while some were nice, alot of them were just one RV stacked on the other. Also very important: listen to the directions on how to get there by the owner. Do not go through Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg: wow what a traffic mess! Going around the mountain on I-40 is so much faster. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
This is a fantastic campground with the best owner/operators we've ever encountered. The facility is immaculate, with beautifully maintained sites. It is a quiet park, away from the crowds of Gatlinburg, but close enough to drive: easily within 10 minutes. Absolutely beautiful fall colors in October, and the owners decorate the park nicely for the season. On one rainy day of our stay, the owner conducted an Asian food cooking class and made sure everyone received tons of samples! She and her husband, go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, and made us feel like family! They gave us valuable information about activities in the area, as well as helpful directions to "secret" non-tourist sights. We will definitely return to this park the next time we visit Gatlinburg, TN. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
From the moment we pulled in it was easy to see that this campground was beautiful. We arrived early afternoon and checked in at the office. We were greeted by the very friendly owners that gave us all the info on the surrounding areas. I loved how we were also given all the best kept secrets of the area. The bathrooms, pool, playground and laundry room were immaculate! The campsites were pretty level and kept clean. We spent almost 2 weeks here and we really had a hard time leaving. Smokybear is located about 15 minute from downtown Gatlinburg where you'll easily find places for groceries, restaurants and tons of shopping. Hiking was awesome thanks to wonderful advice! We hope to return next year for a longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
Smoky Bear Campground is very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This is one of the cleanest campgrounds we have ever stayed at. It is not large but that gives the staff/owners more time to spend with each client. There are some seasonal sites but they appear to be near the road where there may be a lot of noise. Pool is nice with a whirlpool. Kid's playground is nearly new and well kept up. Use your GPS to find the campground, the coordinates on their web site take you directly to the office. My only complaint is the distance to Gatlinburg: about 13 miles. But I can live with that. I would stay at this CG again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
After having a terrible experience, we checked into this campground at the last minute. In this case, we found out that things happen for a reason. This place was outstanding. The business is family owned and while we were there we saw four generations of the family. This family is amongst the nicest people I have ever met. Even when I complained about my firewood being damp, they were courteous and kind. Mind you, the firewood was damp because the humidity was about 200% and was by no means their fault. They even offered to give me money back for the wood. After I left, I felt bad about even complaining because they seemed genuinely upset that I had a complaint. We had a site directly next to a flowing stream. The water was so clean you could drink it. The sound of the stream lulled me to sleep every night. The pool was well kept and so were the rest rooms. The next trip we make to Gatlinburg, we will definitely be staying here. Thank you to the Chief and family for a great experience. You saved my family vacation that was almost ruined. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Awesome Place. Our favorite campground out of our 3 week trip. Everything was clean. The owners went out of their way to help us w/ several issues and to make our stay excellent. We will gladly return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
We traveled here with 4 other families to visit the National Parks and Gatlinburg. After reading previous reviews of the campground, I was confident that I was staying at the right place for us. After arriving, I definitely know this was the best place for us in the area. The owners are very friendly, more than accommodating, and really know the area attractions well. They can give great recommendations based on your interests, kids ages (if you have any), and tell you where to save your money. Although not harassing, the owners walked the park many times each day, and were more than accessible. The park is very clean from the bathrooms to the heated pool. Some sites are bigger than others. We easily backed our 40' fifth wheel into our site. The pull thru's are smaller sites, but they are designed for those who aren't going to spend any time but sleeping at their camper. The pull thru's are also close to the pool area, so be warned of noises. Highway noise was good "white noise" but if you want quiet, request a site in the back of the park. I highly recommend this site to anyone looking for a place in the area. It is about a 15 minute drive into Gatlinburg. You will see other campgrounds on the way, and from the road, can't say that they look better than this one! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Immaculately Clean and well kept. Owners very very nice and friendly. Best park in the area! Will definitely come again. Don't miss this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
Very tough not to give this park a 9 or 10 based on its cleanliness and the awesome and friendly owners who take obvious pride in their park. My only issues with this park that others should be aware of: the big rig pull throughs are very narrow and there is a lot of noise of off US 321 next to the campground. The back in sites looked fairly wide, but the pull throughs are so narrow, that there is not even enough room to put the picnic table or a lounger next to your rig without blocking access or sloping up the hill toward the next site. That being said, I would definitely recommend this park if you are mainly planning to use it as a base for exploring the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Maybe the nicest site we have ever camped at. Everything was very clean. Site seemed very roomy to me even with three slides. Concrete pull throughs are the best. Old settlers trail across the street and to the left about 200 feet is not to be missed for hikers. Old cabin ruins and many creeks. Owners give sheet with hints on enjoying the area. Take the roads recommended by campground to get there to avoid the traffic. Well maintained and landscaped. I will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
Very clean and tidy. Noisy a lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
This is one of the very best campgrounds we have visited. If they had a motto it would be Clean, Clean, Clean. Every site is spotless as is the pool and playground area. A very peaceful setting after a hectic day in Gatlinburg, Pidgeon Forge, or a day trip in the Smokies. Owner's could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable: Would not think twice about visiting in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Clean bathrooms, campground, pool, laundry. Has a group fire pit and all out kitchen/conference room for rally s / parties/etc. Trash pickup everyday at 10 a.m. Playground/basketball for kids. Some sites were level, shaded, cemented. It is about 15 miles from Gatlinburg and I40. Back roads take you to Dollywood/Pigeon Forge/Seiverville quicker/easier then going the main strip. Owners very accommodating, helpful, and nice. Last few days we were there we kept smelling septic odor (down by sites 18-22) but no where else in campground. There was no water (besides pool) which my dogs could play in. Some seasonal/full-time people (wouldn't know it) and some sites back up to main road but buffered by trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
A very clean park with pretty rockscapes and flowering plants throughout. The management is very nice and honestly eager for you to be happy there. My biggest complaint is the narrowness of the pull throughs.They are on a slope and the available area for a patio is small rocks on the slope. Other than that, a great park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
This park is spotless. Cement slab, very level, bordered in gravel, grass and flowers, with trees in between sites, a fire ring, all in all very pleasant. The pool is beautiful and clean, big for the size of the park. Although we do not use the Bath House I went in to see it, and it is spotless. The owners are very nice and helpful, she wrote a 3 page brochure on things to do in the area, which we used extensively. Also gave us great advise where to eat, shop for groceries etc. There is not a cigarette butt, candy wrapper or bottle cap in sight I cannot get over how clean this campground is. Although is is located on a busy street the hedge inbetween the campground and the street makes it all muted, and at night there is hardly any traffic, therefor we where not disturbed. Overall a very pleasant experience to stay here and we will gladly stay here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
This was the best campground we've stayed at during the last 10 months and 45 campgrounds we've stayed in. There is a very comfortable feeling here and the owners go out of their way to make it that way. The grounds are meticulously landscaped and clean. Minutes after a rainstorm, there was no standing water anywhere to be seen. The drainage and foliage is excellent. There is some highway noise during the day from Highway 321 to Gatlinburg, but it wasn't obtrusive (my wife didn't notice it at all). There is plenty of room for big rigs (ours is 42' long plus the truck). You can't go wrong staying here, period. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
We love this place. Small, quiet, clean!! We have camped their twice now, this last trip was for over a week. The owners are very friendly and keep a clean campground. If you want to be right in the heart of Gatlinburg then this is not the place for you, but if you want to enjoy the mountains and have an easy drive into Gatliburg then we highly recommend visiting Smoky Bear. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
This campground has all the amenities, including cable TV and sewer hookups. The management was very friendly! The space between campsites was average. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
Small but very nice campground with very friendly and efficient staff.(even let us borrow instead of buy an adapter). Staff seemed to be working every day we were there on some type of maintenance or improvement and it was obvious that they took pride in what they did. The campground is somewhat remote, but is within easy driving distance of many things to do. We used a very nice and new concrete pull-thru site. Would camp here again. Pool area closed due to winter weather, but looked nice and well kept. Bathrooms were spotless!!! Basketball goal and small playground nice additions. Keep up the good work We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$37
The owners make this park what it is. They appear to truly be trying hard to make your visit as nice as possible. The staff was EXTREMELY nice during our visit. I had a problem with the RV water heater during my visit and they offered to have a staff member come by to help me. I just needed to remember where I had stored the spare part! My ONLY major complaint was the pad. The angle is enough to be troublesome. I will say they quickly told me they are replacing the one we were on soon, and I have no reason to believe they won't. The park's a bit far out too, BUT access was VERY easy from I-40 if you follow their instructions. We would stay there again, but we do try a lot of different ones up there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
The Park name has changed to Smoky Bear Campground. We started off planning on spending a week and ended up spending almost two. The park is very well kept up. The owners are extremely friendly and we found the park quiet and peaceful even when it was completely full. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$33
I have nothing put praise for this campground. After leaving, our towed vehicle broke loose. My daughter went back to the campground where a camp worker went out of his way to assist her. We made it home with no more problems. We'd definitely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This is a great campground for families!! The owners of this park are what make it incredible. They really enjoy kids and make it a great experience. They knew my kids by name by the end of our long weekend. We were going to go into Gatlinburg for some sightseeing and shopping, but we were having such a great time at the campground we decided to stay there the entire time we were camping. There are a lot of activities and games. The stream is great to play in (even though it is too small for tubing). It is located about 15 minutes from Gatlinburg, but we enjoyed being further from the crowd. This is a must visit campground if you camp with children. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
Very clean campground. Spotless rest rooms. Nice helpful owners. Not near downtown Gatlinburg attractions but worth the 15-20 minute drive. Kids enjoyed the campground but wished they would have had a game room. We didn`t hear traffic noise from our site. We had a flat on our trailer the day we were leaving, one of the workers recommended a garage 1 mile away. The garage fixed it ($8) in about an hour and we were on our way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
The owners of the campground are wonderful. On arrival, they took us to the site and helped us get backed in. Any time we needed anything all week, they were willing to help. The sites are gravel and grass and were a little hard to get the rv level. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. There were a few planned activities during our stay and a bluegrass band one night was especially good. Our kids loved the playground and swimming pool. Our only complaint was that the campground was 20 minutes from Gatlinburg and 30+ from Pigeon Forge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
This truly one of the cleanest campgrounds we have ever stayed in. The restrooms were always spotless. Small campground with only 49 sites, but the owners were always visible and checking on you to see if everything is ok. Small pool and hot tub. Campground was on 321 but all campgrounds in the area are on that road. Owners gave directions to get to campground that did not take you through the traffic areas of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. We will come to this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This park is so very nice. It is a smaller campground, but that gives the owners more time to cater to you. The owners were always checking in on us and making sure everything was going good. It is the cleanest campground I have ever camped at. The owners are extremely friendly (very easy going) and are ALWAYS working on keeping up the campground. Nice size sites with nice gravel areas and flowers all over. Nice reck hall you can use at anytime. Nice pool and hot tub, very clean. Bathrooms and showers were ALWAYS clean!!! Yes it is along highway 321 but all the campgrounds in this area are. We went on drive thoughs of a couple of other campgrounds we had considered before deciding on Smoky Bear and I am SOOOO glad we chose Smoky Bear. I would go back again for sure!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$28
The owners are very nice and working toward improvements but they aren't there yet. I was assigned a spot and then asked to move because an improvement was being done. The cable was very fuzzy and was corrected by staff on first site but I gave up when the same fuzziness appeared on the 2nd site. The electricity frequently cut off - especially at night. This occurred on both sites. I will have my unit checked to make sure the problem is not internal to my unit but I would have appreciated a bit more response than "oh really?". It would seem though that if the problem is within my unit it would occur during similar situations i.e. when the microwave and tv are on together or coffeepot and microwave, etc. This was not the case. Frequently there were no appliances on (late at night) and the power would go on and off. The sites are close together with no privacy between. It wasn't crowded though so this was not an issue for me but I think it would be if I was here during regular season. I think the park has potential - it's just not there yet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
It's only February, but my husband and I are already looking forward to returning to Smoky Bear Campground. This will be our third year camping there and consider it our "home away from home." We've camped at other campsites, and both agree this is our favorite. Our grandchildren love the play area and pool. The owners are friendly and make us feel welcome. If weather permits, they'll provide entertainment and free hotdogs and all the trimmings around a cozy fireplace. It's a good way to meet and get aquainted with the neighbors. The groundkeepers are on their "toes" seeing that everything is taken care of around the campground. I'll have to say we only get about 6 channels on TV, but who has time to watch when there's so much else to do? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
the cg is the nicest one on hwy 321 and the cheapest. The grounds are clean and sites were clean. Trash pickup every day. Have table and fire ring with no grill top. Good roads from I40 to cg. Very nice staff that worked every day we were there raking leaves and cleaning. Bathhouse is great. The only problems i had was my site and a few more were down hill bad, the tounge of trailer was on the ground. Still wasn't enough and sites were closer than we like them too be, but as we seen most were close in the area. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
We were very disappointed. First the pool and spa were closed up(event hough we were told it would still be open), it was 80+ when we arrived,the spa would have been fine. The owner said it was too much work and too expensive to keep open for maybe one person. Another problem was they advertised free breakfast on Sunday, that was cancelled due to health regs. Last disappointment was according to their calendar there was to be a pet costume contest. We had made our outfits for our pups, and that was not even mentioned. The reason I am stating all these things is because the owner called on our cell phone while we were traveling and none of these things were mentioned,because we would probably look for another location closer to Pigeon Forge. We picked this place due to the extras offered. It was also advertised right at Smokey Mountain entrance. It is at least a 25 min. ride to town depending on traffic. The site that was assigned to us was very small and over a cliff,we have a rear entry door and it would have been hanging over the cliff.Not one other person even said HELLO the entire time we were there. All in all it was very disappointing, and we would not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
This is a wonderful campground about 8 miles outside Gatlinburg. Campsites are wooded and fairly wide. We checked out several campgrounds during our visit and found that Smoky Bear had some of the most spacious campsites. Most are gravel, but there are several paved pull through sites available for big rigs. Each campsite had a fire ring and picnic table. We never saw a piece of trash. Not even a scrap of paper laying anywhere in the campground. It is immaculate. This campground is nicely landscaped and spotless. During our visit, we saw the owner setting out new plants. The owners are some of the nicest people we have ever met. A owner came down to our campsite after we checked in and asked if we needed help in setting up. He went out of his way to get information for us about local attractions. The swimming pool and hot tub were closed for the season, but appeared to be very well maintained. The bathrooms/showers are some of the cleanest/nicest we have ever seen. They were actually decorated!! Paint, wallpaper, curtains, pictures and flowers were in each bathroom. They were spotless. I'm sure the owners went in and cleaned the restrooms several times a day. I never saw a single water spot on the faucets!! Nice campstore had basic items and firewood. There is a nice playground available for children. There is also an area around a fire pit for groups of campers. There are two rental cabins in the campground. There are only two negatives I should mention. The cable TV only has 5 channels. The campground is right on highway 321, so there is a little traffic noise. That's why I will give Smoky Bear a "9" rating instead of a "10." However, every other campground in Gatlinburg is located on a highway too. These two minor items certainly would not keep us from going back. Smoky Bear is an awesome campground, and we will always camp here when we are in Gatlinburg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$60
This was our first time staying in an RV park and we chose Smoky Bear Campground after doing internet research. It met our expectations and more. The owners are very nice and friendly and made it a point to walk around the campground and chat. The sites were very clean and shaded. They offer two cabins and three RV's for rent for those who don't own their own. We rented the Chateau (25 footer) and with four people in the family, it was snug, but perfect for our needs. The price was comparable to a hotel and slightly less, plus we got the benefit of campfires and nature to relax with. The bathrooms and laundry were very clean as was the pool. The hot tub was broken at the time, but the owner was aware and trying to get it fixed. Unfortunately, it didn't get fixed while we were there, but the little kids used it as a kiddie pool. They held a cookout the first night we were there. Free hot dogs for everyone. Afterward, the kids participated in fun games and won prizes. On the Fourth of July, a barbeque contest was held. My father, who was camping with us, won first place for his pulled pork and ribs. His prize was very generous and he can't wait to go back. At night, the capground was quiet. No excess noises and was very peaceful. I highly recommend Smoky Bear Campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Great park our kids had a wonderful time. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
You will not be disappointed with a thing in this campground. They are very friendly, helpful, and the bathrooms and showers are spotless. The sites are very well maintained. It is close enough to all the attractions of Gatlinburg, yet out of the hustle and bustle of the town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
AWESOME PARK! After driving through several parks in the Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge areas, we thought we would never find anything with any significant shade. We were so pleased to find this park. Our site actually backed into the edge of the Smoky Mountains National Park! The landscaping was beautiful, with many flowers in bloom. The bathrooms, which are centrally located, were absolutely the finest I have seen at any campground. They were spotless!!! I can't emphasize this enough. It seemed as if someone was there to immediately clean up after anyone used the restroom or shower. The owners were extremely nice and accommodating. The only drawbacks were that the heater for the pool and the hot tub was broken, making the pool a little chilly and the hot tub not worth using. However, the owner indicated that the heater would be repaired soon. All in all, this was a wonderful camping experience that we would recommend highly to anyone. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2004
$24
Great campground away from all the hustle and noise of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. That is the main reason we chose this campground. Easy directions to the campground avoiding all the traffic was great!! Very friendly and helpful with directions and all our questions. Had satellite TV connection which was a plus. Nice drive to Pigeon Forge to the outlet malls through the backroads avoiding the traffic - was wonderful and very scenic!! We will definitely be back!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$27
Rate is for non peak time. They have a very lovely CG and have nice sites and a nice club house and pool and hot tub too. It is easy in and out and they have nice full hookups. Easy access to the town of Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge (owners will show you a back way). We went to see if we want to hold a rally there and decided that it will be a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$28
The owners go out of their way to please guests. Are very good at accommodating groups with extra service and catering. Our second visit this month and we look forward to coming back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$30
We camped at Smoky Bear in September 2003. Our overall experience was positive. The owner/hosts were very friendly. The campground included a camp store, cable tv(5 channels), small playground with basketball court, and a few cabins for rent. We were especially impressed with the extra clean bath house. We've camped at several commercial campgrounds and Smoky Bear has the cleanest bath house of all. The pool was heated to a warm 85 degrees which felt nice on late September morning. Even better was the hot tub. Like most commercial campgrounds, the sites at Smoky Bear are a little too close together for those who like solitude, however during our value season stay we and a few others pretty much had the campground to ourselves. Sites were a mix of shade and open with an abundance of decroative gravel, water, electric, and cable tv at all sites. The big rig drive thru sites are paved. A seperate tent camping area was available with limited services. My only complaints about this campground were the bugs and sound of traffic of nearby Highway 321. Otherwise, we had a good experience. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$27
Very clean sites and park. Very friendly and helpful staff. Sites are very close together. Quiet and very well run park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$30
What a wonderful place to stay! Paved roads and the 50 amp. pull thru's are also paved. Absolutely spotless groundskeeping and spotless restrooms. The staff are very nice and helpfull at all times. Cable tv only has limited channels. VERY, VERY clean campground. I would love to own a small campground like this!!! Approximately 15-20 minute drive to Gatlinburg but roads are very good. Use caution when exiting campground (busy highway). For directions, see any campground directory. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com