206530 User submitted reviews online!!
Volunteer Park Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (865) 938-6600
CGID2640

Volunteer Park Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   3   8   7   7   8   1   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
A little expensive for just staying two night. Too cold for the pool. Gravel sites. OK as we were visiting family; therefore, not using the park except for sleeping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Older park with uneven sites. I thought we asked for 50amp water/elec only, but ended up in a pull through with 30amps. Also didn't get water because the guy who pulled in next to us used our water spigot after we unhooked and went to refuel. Oh well, that's why we carry extra water. Definitely won't stay there again, will drive a little farther if we go that direction again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Overpriced for what they provide. Original price we reserved for a so-called "super site" was not honored when we arrived. We were told it was mistake. We didn't see any sites we would consider "super"anyway. Lots of construction truck traffic. Our pull-through site was so unlevel. The front wheels of the rig were off the ground. Our 34' rig plus tow vehicle took up every inch of the site. We ended up unhooking and backing up the rig to be on the cement pad and parking the car in front. It was adequate for an overnight stop, but nothing more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
3 nights at $20PA, 1 at $36 Stayed 6 days in a 42' MH, easy to get to park from I75. Small sites, tight to get in and out, on a hill, sites are not level. Probably 70% full time. Trash company next door starts rolling at 1am. Trees block Sat. Installing cable but not active when we were there. Good, Wifi worked, sewer on site, good laundry facility, 50a, friendly park owner staff. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
The rate reflects Passport America. The sites were a little short for our tow dolly, needed a couple of blocks but paved. They were also narrow but we were touring during the day. Quite a few full time residents, but not a problem. The bathrooms were older but very clean. Convenient to I-75 exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Nice place for a stopover. Entire campsite is on a hill, but they have made the individual sites somewhat level. A significant number of residents are fairly permanent but there are still many that are not. Just stayed here for one night. Seemed a little over-priced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$19
We have used this park a couple times while traveling. It is a good stop over point and a pleasant evening. The number of pull throughs make it very convenient. Most sites will need some help from you to level your rig, however. While there have been numerous posts detailing mistreatment by the camp staff, I've yet to experience anything but a friendly office manager. There is a waste management facility next door which will help you wake up in the morning which is fine if you want to get rolling, but probably not so fine if you're looking to sleep in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
The (New) owner was the most rudest person I have ever met at any RV park I have stayed in. I was to be a long term camper (work). No cable, they ran a cable from two sites down through the trees. I stayed one night and I was out of there. The park was mixed with Mobile homes. Staff was untrained. A much nicer, friendly staff right down the street. I would not recommend this camp ground to any friend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
On arrival we registered at the office with a less than friendly man. The park is more than 70% seasonal or full time campers. The campground is clean but looks old. The sites are narrow and short making it difficult to extend both a slide and awning.It is in a convenient location right off of I75. We planned to stay 5 nights. However, after the first night our AC stopped working so we went to a hotel for 2 nights leaving the camper at the park. We left 2 days early. They would not refund any payment. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
The minute we pulled up the staff was there to help. Very friendly owner and staff. We were in the area for the Honda Wing Ding and the best part of the whole experience was staying at this park! Shady and quiet, anything we needed they were ready to help with. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$19
Barking dogs. Shrieking kids in pool. Sub-par showers. Pull through not level. I'd give it a pass next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Park is on a hill and sites were close together. South of the park is a quarry business and a land fill so many trucks driving right by the park from 6:00AM til late afternoon. Park had just changed hands so natural confusion of new staff was evident. We stayed here for 3 weeks getting work done on the RV. Wi-Fi was slow due to all the insurance adjusters in the park for the storm damage. A couple of nights no Wi-Fi at all and office is only open from 10:00AM till 8:00PM. Would stay here again but only for a day or two. We used Passport America for our entire stay which was nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We stayed one night while in transit through the Knoxville area. Park was clean, but unpaved. Sites are of reasonable size and accommodate larger RV's. Water, electric and sewer worked fine, as did Wi-Fi. There is a smallish pool (we did not use it). Not much else here for activities and the area is pretty rural/rustic (Waste Management facility is next door). Afternoon and night were quiet/peaceful, but early morning had a fair amount of truck traffic on the local road adjacent to the park. Very convenient to I-75 and there were several interesting places to visit in the area just north of the park (e.g. Norris Dam). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
This park is an easy access off I-75. It makes a great quiet spot for several nights. Spaces are short; plan on unhooking your tow. A subtantial number of sites are long term, but we have stayed twice with no problems. Site was pull through concrete pad with water, sewer, 50amp, and cable. The park is Passport America, so you can save 50% if you're a member. The office was clean and the staff friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
The best park of all our 7 weeks away. Was clean and safe. The staff treated us just like family. Will be back next year for a longer stay. Will recommend it to all our friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$17
This park is actually just outside Knoxville so is conveniently located for the Smoky Mountain attractions as well. We were there for about 6 weeks and were treated like family. Owner / managers were absolutely terrific, helpful and responsive. They even hosted a Christmas party for guests complete with BBQ, Santa, and homemade cookies. We definitely will stay there when in the Knoxville area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
This was the second time we stayed at this park. Both times were only overnight. Staff are friendly, sites are tight but adequate. We felt that the local campers were treated a bit more nicer than the travellers just passing through. We will stay here again, hopefully a bit longer next time, to enjoy more of the facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Campground was very clean. Paid extra for their super site and still could not open awning. Cable TV was very fuzzy and was told they would come check it but never did. Staff was very friendly, only bad for me was small sites, poor cable, and a little pricey for location but would use again if I needed to be in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
We chose this campground from the Passport America directory. Close to I 75 just north of Knoxville. Nice, quiet campground. It has tight spaces, & concrete pads barely hold wheelbase of a 39 ft. RV. We did need to center coach to be able to open slides & awnings. Once we got set up, works out nicely. Very friendly, efficient staff. Nice warm pool & has hot tub. We would return. (There are oversized spaces for only $5 extra, with full concrete pad & patio.) Those look great for handicap or oversize rigs. 50 AMP & cable are included in the $19 Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
Nice Passport America park. Pool is heated, clean showers and bathrooms. Nice pull through sites. Would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$19
We found this park in the Passport America guide. It is located near the Interstate, yet because it is behind a ridge you cannot hear the traffic noise. It is very clean and as mentioned, has wonderful management. They have a number of full time campers so they are able to maintain a high quality of maintenance. We will stay here again and recommend it to our fellow campers. If you have a big rig ask for a spot south of the pool area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
This was a really nice park that we ended up in, because the Escapees Park down the road was doing renovations. I must say the guy at the front desk was very, very nice and helpful. It had a very nice little store and some events and goings on. The park was very clean and had a great laundry. WiFi was okay, not strong but it worked. Everyone was very accommodating. The only reason we are giving it a 7 and not a higher score, is that the sites were very tight. We could not have put out our awning and had to squeeze our car in between two trees because there was not enough space to park at the end of the site. You could pay extra for a bigger site, but did not know this when we checked in. Good place though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$35
Not a bad campground, but we found it very cramped and the roads tight. We have a 38 foot MH. But it was clean. It's more a full time type campground. We would stay here again as a stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
We have stayed here several times and we appreciate the helpful attitude and friendliness of the owner/staff of this park. The park has quite a few "permanent" residents but we have always been able to get a site...some have been back-in and some pull-through. There are a lot of trees which can make it tricky to park and sometimes difficult for a roof mounted satellite. We had a very helpful staff help us navigate into the site. Very helpful!! There is a wonderful cable TV system and the Wi-Fi is adequate (depending on how many users at any given time). It is provided free by the park so no complaints from us. This park accepts Passport America which certainly helps in this day and time. We appreciate the consideration. We would recommend this park and will call ahead to stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Park is easy to get to and easy to navigate once inside. Gravel roads are well maintained and wide enough to easily move around. The staff is friendly and the grounds are well kept. However the price I had to pay was way to high for the what the park had to offer and the spaces (I had a premimum pull through site with concrete pad) are narrow and short. The trees were so close to my TT that I could not even open my awning. The hookups were very close to the pad so hooking up was a breeze. They did provide a picnic table and even a campfire ring even though it was an old wheel from a tractor trailer. The fact that they had some long term "residents" in rather run down trailers really took away from the overall feel and made the whole place seem a bit run down. The wi-fi was free but VERY slow. The cable TV had around 100 total channels and worked perfectly. Overall it's not a bad place it just had a lower class feel but the staff is very friendly and because of that I would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
Nice park in a convenient location near Knoxville. There seemed to be quite a few long term residents, but everything was well managed. No problem with the level terraced spaces. Our space was near the main road (Raccoon Valley Rd.) and there was a little noise, but not overwhelming. The office staff was very friendly. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
This park has the appearance of an older campground, narrow, dirt & gravel roads, pull throughs are short, in order not to unhook the toad, I had to pull ahead, off the front of the pad, which then took a lot of leveling, trees are nice, but actually too many, couldn't put the awning out because of a tree, but with all the shade, it was not a big deal. Cable worked good, Wi-Fi worked, but a little slow. It's actually not a bad place for the price, $17 on Passport America. We will use it again for a short stay if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
We paid the Passport America rate. Pull-throughs with cement slabs, otherwise gravel. Interior roads were a bit rough. Cement slab was just barely long enough for us to lower our jacks. Hard to level and some sites hard to get into. Heated pool, little store, huge clean laundry with front loaders. Music at pool hot tub area around supper time. Nature walk and lots of trees. Full hook ups. 50 amp. Cable and Wi-Fi but sometimes the Wi-Fi slows down. We used our air card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
Passport America park, stopped overnight returning to Ohio from Florida. Rather crowded, with many permanent residents. Shady and unlevel for the most part. Site was along the highway, so it was noisy during the night. Office has a store with groceries, produce, etc. Restroom & showers were fine. Would stop again if in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
Passport America rate. It is definitely not a scenic park, just rows of RVs pretty close together, a fair number were permanent. There is easy access from the Interstate and even though our site was close to the road it was quiet. A fair number of trees, but the overall feeling was of being very tight. There was not enough room to park our truck in our site, had to use a nearby vacant site and our neighbor had to move his TV for us to pull out. Laundry room was sparkling clean, large, and reasonably priced, one of the best we have seen. WiFI was good, cable was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
We stayed in the over flow and the owners will go out of their way to do anything to help. Just ask and they know everything about the area and where to go. If you want wine and dine this is not your place but if you need a stopping spot in this area this is it. We will return . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$29
Quite frankly, I wasn't impressed. If you are looking for scenery or ambiance, go elsewhere. If you don't mind a quick stop at a convenient place that has its share of run down permanents, this will foot the bill. Although the sites had decent room between them, the overall feel of the park is that of overcrowding. A friendly staff - but they failed to take any action to stop 5 rude people who had set up a VERY loud sound system that was way beyond acceptable in volume. The park is right off the interstate and is convenient. Not horrible, but certainly not worthy of all the good reviews I've read here. I've seen gems and I've seen dumps. This park is somewhere in the middle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Wonderful campground. Everyone is very friendly. The facility is well-maintained and they even offer home-cooked meals!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
Nice park, but very tight to maneuver. My main complaint was that when we called for a pull through, they said no problem. When we got there, the site was long enough for a pull through, but due to the slope we had to unhook. On the plus side the park was clean and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
We were directed here by a local RV dealer when our living room slide failed. The owner went out of his way to assist me find a repairman who would come to the campground and repair our 5th wheel. On top of that he gave us a great site at the Passport America rate of $12.50. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$13
We really enjoyed this campground. Found it in our Passport book. Had planned going to the next exit to another campground but decided to check this one out. The people at this park truly are pleasant and go out of their way to help out. We had no reservation but the man squeezed us in in a site at the top of the hill outside. Where we were serenaded by dump trucks going into the gravel pit and 18 wheelers going into the terminal. But found that to be OK. At $27.00 for the two nights it was different to say the least. We enjoyed the meal served up quite reasonable on one evening. And talking to the other people in the campground. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone. Sorry about some of the other posts. Those that found it hard to get into their campsites with their monster rigs, and those that didn't like the permanents that were located in the back of the park. Remember, permanents are needed to insure that a campground stays solvent. The pool and facilities were really clean and really appreciated the management squeezing us in even though they had over-booked for the weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$15
The campground was clean enough, but has seen better days as far as accommodating newer rigs that are longer and with multiple slides. We arrived in a 34' triple slide 5'er and had to make several tries getting into our site. (we have been RV'ing since 1976-not newcomers) The restrooms were clean and wi-fi was strong at our site. Only about 4-5 sites are "super-sites" that will accommodate a rig over 35'. Many trees make access to parking hazardous. Scars on the trees attest to the difficulty people have in parking and leaving their site. Parking at our site was very tight with the dually and the concrete pads on most sites were short and sharply sloped on the exit end. One motorhome when leveled had both front tires off the ground approximately 2". Trees need to be thinned to allow better access and many of the concrete pads need to be lengthened. A good number of permanent residents occupy sites throughout the park and many of the rigs are in marginal condition. Security did not seem to be a problem, however. Road conditions were rough with small berms formed across many of the roads to divert water in rainy conditions. We were advised to keep our speed down in the park so we would not "rearrange our dishes." Noise from the freeway did not seem noticeable. The rate we paid was a Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
A nice park to use as a base to explore the area. Tight, pull-through sites between the trees that require some work to get level. Bath house was clean and well maintained. A nice meal is offered every night at a reasonable price, and the staff is friendly and helpful. One night there was a group playing bluegrass music in the clubhouse! This park is not a destination, but still a nice place to stay for a few days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
Lots of loud road noise and traffic pretty much all of the time. Spaces way too small and way too many trees. Difficult to get into spaces. Back half has several permanent, older campers that need repair. Staff is friendly. Nightly meal specials available. Have a very nice, new and clean laundry facility. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$15
We stayed here on our Passport America discount. Normal price is 30. We only stayed here for one night. This is an older campground with a friendly staff and lots of shade trees. The sites are not real big but do come with concrete pads. We stayed here with 40' rig and it was extremely agressive to get in and park. When we finally got level, the front wheels of the bus had to be off the ground. I liked this park, but if your rig is over 36 feet long I do not recommend it unless you are very experienced with tight spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$25
We agree with above posts except we found the big truck traffic, dust and diesel smell to be very bad when parked at back-in site near top of hill. We spoke to owners and they state that nearby gravel company is moving and within the next year a large amount of truck traffic and associated problems like noise, odor,et. will be greatly decreased. There still is a large trucking company nearby however so all the heavy traffic will not be stopped but greatly decreased. Also from Nov 1 to April 1 this park does not honor any memberships but their winter rates are only $12.50. The campground is very clean, has some tiered sites and lots of shade. Suggest requesting any site away from road and we will do this when we return. They are Coast to Coast as well as Passport America We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Not bad but the back of the campground is home to quite a few dilapidated campers of the permanent type. A good stopover but not really a place to stay for a long time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$13
Nice people and very good food. Some truck noise but ok place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Originally a Jellystone Park. A very nice CG with easy access to I-75. Very friendly management who try hard to make the visit to their CG enjoyable. Only negative, and it isn't a big one, is that the road next to the CG is access to a large truck terminal. If you have small children you should try and get a site as far away from that road as possible. Excellent location for a base camp within an hour of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg and two hours from Ashville, NC and Biltmore Estate and Cherokee, NC. Have camped here many times and plan to go back. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$14
An excellent stop-over park, just north of Knoxville. Very friendly owners, clean and neat. Ex-Jellystone Park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com