218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Loretta Lynn's Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (931) 296-7700
CGID2641

Loretta Lynn's Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
290
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   6   9   5   3   5   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
We stayed here because of a sign we saw on the interstate and thought it would be fun. The camp sites are nice and long and with careful placement you can be level. Utilities are placed conveniently and the grounds are clean. There is lots to do and see on the ranch. We had some well placed trees that gave us shade most of the day. WiFi was non existent in our site. The staff was very friendly and the night we were there there was a movie night with free pop corn and drinks. The movie was Coal Miners Daughter. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
One's rating for this park will depend on where you are. We stayed in the "medium rent" district, only water and electric, no sewer. Our back in site was on grass, level, close to the river, easy to enter and completely adequate. The sites in our area were close together but there were only three rigs within sight of us, none next to us. Staff was very pleasant except when I called to mention their WiFi didn't work. They were not concerned. And our Verizon phone service was very marginal. Our VZW broadband was very, very slow, when it did work. We went there to see the Ranch and did that. We probably will not have a need to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
We spent almost a week here, and wish we could have stayed here longer. The property consists of around 3500 acres and is absolutely beautiful. We went on the full tour of the museums, home, coal mine, and the tour guide was beyond friendly, and made us feel right at home. Everyone at that ranch did. We were so relaxed there, and would definitely go back. They have sites for every type of camper and they aren't crammed in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$37
Stayed here one night. Beautiful park. Lots of trees. Most sites are very long and narrow. The first site I entered was a pull-through but not really. I have a 34 foot trailer and could not pull forward out of the site due to it being too narrow and trees on either side of the exit point. I had to back out and select another site. It was very long and narrow as well. The hookups were at the entry point to the site so they were only convenient for electrical because mine is at the rear. I needed an extension for the water hose and could not reach the sewer with my hose. The sites were not very well thought out as far as utilities. There was a rocky slope on one side of the site and I fell down it more than once as it was tricky footing and there was not enough room to walk on the pad with slides out. There was no cable and the Wi-Fi would not connect. For the price (which included the Good Sam discount) I expected cable and good Wi-Fi. It was fun to see Loretta Lynn's houses, the grist mill, and shops. Would stay here again but come prepared with sewer and water hose extensions. We could pick up a few local TV stations from Nashville. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$17
This is a beautiful park. Sites are large and entire campground is very well maintained. We parked in an open field which was not very level but many other spots were available; we got in late and only stayed for one night so we weren't too choosy but could have had any one of many level, shaded spots if we had planned to stay longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$1
I called in advance and was told that the pull-through with FHU were only 50A electric. My truck camper is only 30A. She said we'd have to take a non-sewer site to get the 30A service. What?! Every campground in America has 30A available at a FHU! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Camp sites not assigned so we could park anywhere. Sites were long and very narrow in a grass field. We had electrical problems that the staff ignored. The problems were on the Campground side. On check out, we reminded them again and were again "blown off". I would not stay here again as it is not a true RV park. It is a place to park RVs while they are attending events at the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
This is a beautiful campground but not one to spend a lot of time in unless you're into horses. No cable, no TV satellite signal, no Wi-Fi or ability to get signal for computer with USB key, and not much signal for cell phone. The water pressure was almost non-existent. The swimming pool was beautiful but not used much, perhaps because it was quite a walk down and back up the hill from the main campground. The signs on the door of the cafe located in the main campground advertised golf cart rentals but when we inquired about renting one we were told they were not renting golf carts this summer at all, even though the sign was still prominently displayed. A golf cart would have made it easier to use the pool. We did enjoy the tour of Loretta Lynn's plantation house, etc., but that only took about an hour and 45 minutes. I would not return except for a stopping-off overnight stay if we were traveling in that direction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
This is a nice RV Park that could be a really nice RV park, but isn't. It is near home, so we camp here fairly often (3 or 4 times a year). Hurricane Creek is fun for the kids, but you have to "fight off the rednecks and horse droppings to get to it." The sites have full hookups (30/50A elec, water, sewer), but no cable TV or Wi-Fi. It is a beautiful setting and has a camp store/cafe/soda shop on the grounds. If you check the calendar of events, there are several concerts and other events as well as the annual moto-cross races. The RV sites are plenty long, but require some leveling. If you are traveling through the area, it beats the alternatives, but is a bit pricy in my opinion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
I did not like the layout of this park. The sites were long enough, but very narrow. I also did not like the exit road from the site. It was steep and very winding. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
BEAUTIFUL Park! However, the attitude of the employees left a bit to be desired. This whole Loretta Lynn Ranch reeked of "Nickel and Dime" you to death. I will not be returning, as there are many other places just as nice, if not nicer, that do not stick it to you for every little thing. No Wi-Fi, and forget air cards working in this location. No cable, and your antenna will only pick up two station, maybe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
We were a bit disappointed. We needed a night's stop; found the campground tight... no Internet or cable. Access roads were all quite narrow. Blacktop sites were partially level. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. It wasn't the quality we expected. The park itself wasn't open yet. We might stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$41
Beautiful area. 7 miles from the hiway. If you go check ahead because they do 3 times a year motorcross races. That's when we showed up. Rustic wood showers but very nice. Great sites. Wood was expensive $10. Also you want to be sure to go to Ms. Lynn's plantation home for a tour and visit her museum. Very nice. I really enjoyed it greatly except for the races. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
We just happened upon this park. Intended to just stay one night, but the campground was so nice that we stayed a second night. No internet nor satellite/cable TV, but there was so much to do and see in the area that we didn't mind. People everywhere were so nice and hospitable. Not even big Loretta fans, but after staying here and meeting some of her family and touring the home and museum: am a fan now. We would absolutely stay again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
We were very disappointed with this campground. Many trees making roads tight. Sites very narrow but long. Do not plan to use a satellite dish in this campground. We will not go back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Full hook up area is up on the hill. You find your own site, which means if you pass a site up that you want, you can't go back because everything is one way. You have to go down a pretty good grade to get out of the campground and then climb back up again. Sites were not very level and some had pretty good drop offs. We looked at the grassy area, but could not see any defined campsites. You just seemed to drive across the grass and look for some hook ups. The equestrian area campground looked pretty good. Cafe was not open and didn't show any signs of being open. The area is very pretty, but we won't take our motorhome back up there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This was an overnight stop for us, but we really enjoyed Ms. Loretta's RV park. The property is very wooded and the park is well thought out and attractive. We enjoyed driving around the property and the tour of the mansion and a replica of her childhood home. We did not have time to visit her museum but would like to on another trip. It is about 7 miles from I-40 but we thought it was worth the side trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
We were put in a small 30 amp section by ourselves with no other campers around which has pros and cons. They tried to sell me a 30-to-50 amp converter cable for $21, so I could go up the hill and be by everyone else, but decided not to go for that. This seemed to be a decent campground given we got the PA rate of $18. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
Very narrow road from office into the campground, with piles of rocks on both sides: be careful. Sites need a lot of work to level. Several long pull-throughs with full hook ups. TV reception with antenna was bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
If you are a fan of Miss Lynn's you cannot miss staying here. It's as if you are an invited guest! The whole extended family works here or near here and you can meet them as well as see the museum, mansion, old cabin from Butcher Hollow and maybe run in to Loretta herself. The park is beautiful and well maintained although slightly difficult to get into. Doolittle built the park himself when they weren't quite so big! One of Loretta's old tour buses is already there though and you can rent it for the night if you choose. It's expensive but don't hesitate if you are in the area. It was an experience I will remember for years to come. Loved every minute! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Pros - very clean campground, bath house next to cafe was super clean and air conditioned. Paved roads/sites available, some gravel. Cons - Arrived late and had no direction on where to go (there are 3 separate camping areas). Pool water was clean but the pool tile was very dirty. Play ground equipment was outdated and in the weeds. Sites (on top of hill) were narrow, no grass, just rock. Cafe/Store closed while we were there mid-week. Although the campground was very empty while we were there, please call ahead. Motocross is held here and was told that the campground can only be reserved through the motocross staff during those times. Would recommend this campground to couples and over nighters only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$21
I guess we went because it was Loretta Lynn and a Passport Park. But we won't go here again. It was a disappointment. The spots are hard to get to. Watch out for the entrance, we missed it and saw other people to the same thing. The road in the park winds around trees in the hills. We had a very large drop off on both sides of the rig. No cell phone or Dish service. The attractions up the road were not worth the stop. We will not stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
This campground is well maintained and relaxing and very nice sites. We were in the upper campground with a big rig. However the lower camping area looked very nice. The staff was so helpful and check in was a breeze. Not to mention the fact that the Owner family is very much evident, which is a big plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This is a great place to stay if you have kids that like to swim and ride horses. Some of the sites on the upper campground can be tight, but we like the lower campground - that's where the pool is and a great creek to swim in. Also they have a new Wrangler camp that is awesome if you have horses and like to bring them along. They also have a oldie style store up on top area along with a mini movie theater. You need to come when Loretta has a concert or one of her talent search shows - there's nothing like free music to pass the time. Sites are first come first serve, so it can be a problem for the upper campground. I still rate this place high for fun and things to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Reserved a 30 amp location. First come, first serve. Would have to park on grass, unlevel, with no sewer. Only 50 amp RV's get the cement slabs with full hookups. Went to the office and got my refund and went down the road. Would not recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
We recommend this campground and enjoyed our visit but would suggest selecting one of the paved sites on the hill although not all of these sites are level. Specific sites cannot be reserved ahead of time so you'll need to arrive early. The park and facilities were very clean and well maintained. There is a cafe on the hill and a pool at the bottom of the hill. Free paddle boat rentals are available. Golf cart and canoe rentals were also available for a fee. There was no Internet. The scenery was beautiful. We were, however, disappointed that during our stay, everything closed at either 5:00 pm or 6:00 pm including the cafe, pool, ranch attractions, etc. But, we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
Nice Campground. 30 amp sites are at the bottom and are rustic. 50 amp sites are first come first serve. Longer rigs look at site exit due to possible dragging rear of rig. Things close early so enjoy in the morning. Stayed here June of 2006. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$37
Park is very large and nice, all roads on top are blacktop with blacktop sites. This would be sites 1-22 and sites 29-46. Sites 47-63 and 23-28 are gravel, also roads on same sites are gravel. Only couple blacktop sites are level. Some are very long and all blacktop sites are nice. Parks has number of sites in lower part on grass. Only problem if you have rain place would be a mess due to mud. Grass sites 222, blacktop 43, and gravel 25 for total of 290. On rates we paid $36.87 per night for 50 amps with blacktop site. Tax rates are, sales tax 9.25% and hotel tax 3% or $4.02 total per day. Equipment for kids to play on. Trees are great as are the views. Ranch has town of Hurricane Mills to tour with Loyetta's home, all very nice. Motor cross track in park and at times this may be problem due to noise in day time hours. Park was very quite at night. Anyone would be happy here. Cable TV and WiFi would be nice to have. Loyetta's sings here couple time a year, check her web site for dates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
Staffing levels such that not able to return our reservation message after 24 hours. Also not able to escort to site. Great pool. Very very narrow drive throughs. Pleasant staff but not much help on recommedations for restaurants, etc. Good location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
We love this place, we go several times a year, loretta has really made approvements over the last couple years, she has her old son in law back running it and he is doing a great job. The one on top has paved sites and yes some are tight, lots of shade up there along with campstore, bikes, golf carts to rent. the campground below is our favorite, the pool is down there along with a nice spring feed creek, my kids swim there just as much as the pool. also down below is the stage were you can hear the music or other shows they have going on. check the Loretta Lynn web page to see what is going on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$20
We went to this park without reservations and arrived on the Thursday before Memorial Day weekend and were able to get 3 sites for 3 nites, w/e only. We have a motorhome and our two kid's family's are tenters. We were lucky to find a place but the downside follows. We picked up the tab for the family. Sites were $19 for electric and water, not bad coming to $171 but then a sales tax of $30 was added (that's an 18% salestax not to be found in other counties in Tennessee) and an additional hotel tax of $10 was also added and our bill topped out at $211. Being Memorial Day weekend every place else was full and being with family we just grinned and beared it. We had our pick of sites on Thurs afternoon, their policy is first come first serve on sites (they do take reservations but that just garantees you a site, not necessarily a good one). We picked out 3 and set up. By Friday night the place was full. The couple who set up next to us had made reservations well in advance for a w/e/s site but by the time they got there late on Friday nite they had to settle for w/e sites because all the w/e/s sites were taken, even though they had reservations. All sites are narrow, we had to choose either slide out or awning but not both and even then it was very tight. No campfires allowed except in a few tent sites. The camp has many things to do but only swimming and fishing are included with your fees. So if you come to this park expect high taxes, a hotel tax even though you bring your own room, tight sites, no campfires and if you have reservations make sure you arrive early and pray people without reservations have not taken all the better sites. We felt lucky to find a place as we did but we would not return to this park and I caution others that wish to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
1999
$18
Very plain. Mostly gravel everywhere. Hardly any grass in the campground. The pool and office is quite far from the campground itself. Way over rated in my opinion. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com