218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Joy O RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (731) 424-3725
CGID2642

Joy O RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   5   6   7   2   6   1   4   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Nice sites, but very dirty, old and shabby amenities. However, the owner is very helpful, nice gentleman. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
Shore services are good. Water is about 40psi. AT&T Cell Phone is good, Sprint & Verizon Air Cards are good. No cable. There are sites to handle big RV's, are gravel & Dirt, with plenty of room for slides and between sites. Road into the park is narrow and rough as well is the road in the park. Did not use restrooms or laundry. Only a couple of long time tenants. Satellite access is good at most sites. No discounts. Payment can be cash, check or credit card. DirecTV Satellite is possible at most sites. This is not a great park but is good for a few days. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
If you want a pleasant well maintained CG you will not find it here. The day we were here the adjacent farm had just spread manure and it stunk to high heaven. The male owner is a grump though his wife is talkative and pleasant. Wi-Fi is nearly non existent except in the office itself. Difficult entrance/exit into the CG though fresh gravel had been laid. I had just driven 7 hours and there was no other CG within 50 miles so ... any port in a storm. My suggestions is that you go elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
1st: where can you get a full-hookup site AND a pool for only $25 total cost, including tax? And while this is an older campground, the hosts are wonderful, the place is clean, and the pool was a nice, unexpected bonus (stayed in Aug). West side of Jackson TN right off I-40. Close to interstate but noise did not bother us. Easy big rig access, although the entry road looks a little scary - keep going, you'll be surprised. Surrounded by a large crop field, good shade, easy pull-through. Small older bath/shower house inside same building as office. No cable but dish is ok here. Wi-Fi now! pretty good, some spotty coverage but usable if you're in the right space. We planned on one night, stayed for three. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
This is a Mom & Pop park with the same owners for 30 years and they are delightful. It is just 300 yards down from the TA Travel Center (exit 68), where we dieseled up, convenient to I-40. Small but very clean. Our 45' bus and large tow had no problems here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
In the face of an approaching storm as we drove down I-40, we saw the signs for Joy-O and decided to stop for the night. The campground is adjacent to I-40, but traffic noise was not too bad. Interior roads and sites are gravel. The old breaker box at the site had a 30 amp receptacle but no breakers, just an open hole where the breakers should have been. The breakers for all sites are located in a couple of panels mounted in the center of the campground. The receptacle in the box was not secure, and jiggling it caused the power to go on & off. The restrooms and showers are old and were relatively clean given their age, but a major rehab is needed. Given the poor condition of the electrical system in this campground, we will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Not a destination spot but its great for an overnight. Friendly lady runs the office, nice pool for the kids and small enough park for them to ride bikes as hardly any traffic. Looks like they have a few extended stay people but it's a clean park. Two gas stations nearby. Note, the truck stop diner isn't worth the $$$ and its the only thing close. We'd stay here again (and eat a sandwich in the RV). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
I would caution anyone who is thinking of camping here to check the electrical box and make sure the ground line is indeed grounded! One afternoon as my children and I were in the camper it started to smoke very badly. After getting the children out, the camp owner, an electrician (who was camping directly beside us) and myself inspected the damage. The electric box was putting 220 volts into my camper instead of 110 volts. With this overload of volts came a burned up refrigerator, built in vacuum cleaner, air conditioning, and 2 flat screen televisions and a few more items. The camp owner opened the electrical box and informed us it was a ground wire that had "come undone." Our camper was in the shop for over 1 month getting the repairs it needed. Our camper was only 1 year old. After the incident the camp owners decided to change their story and somehow say it was the campers fault. But any one out there who knows electricity knows that our camper doesn't produce the 220 volt...his bad electrical box did that. I am saying all this to just warn you to be aware of the electrical boxes that look like they are from the stone ages and to offer some advice. The advice is...just up the road a little ways toward Nashville is a wonderful campground. Buyer beware at JOY-O Rv Park!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$28
Don't stop here if it is raining, I'm still trying to get the mud off my shoes and 5th wheel. The 50 amp connection for my space did not have a on/off switch. A very nice lady runs the park. We would stay again (only if its not raining) only overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
This is a fine overnight stop, if you do not mind a 30 amp service site number 20 puts you all by yourself with a very large lawn space and a view of the highway. This campground is set back far enough that there is minimal road noise. The staff was very friendly. As a bonus there is a truck gas stop just before you get back on the highway with nice fast pumps. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
It was an OK overnight stop. Far enough away from I-40 so the noise wasn't bad. Nice pool. Gravel sites with grass and trees. Wouldn't stay for other than overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Great name but the name does not reflect in the park. Very old park and needs attention. The road into the park is unlevel, has pot holes, and the trees need to be cut back. The restrooms were clean but needed repairs. Could not close the door to the shower as the locking bolt would not line up with the hole. The shower had no handle, just a screw to turn on and off the water. Floors were cracked, etc. Wife had to deal with spiders in her shower. Looks like it used to be a good park - just old now and needs repairs. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Just needed a place to stay the night and it worked out fine. Nothing fancy, but a good overnight stay and sort of hidden away. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
Overall a clean campground. I found this campground through this website. It is easy to pull our rig through the park and get in and out easily. A little pricey for the location and what they offer though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
This is a very cute, tidy and clean little campground just behind a truck stop. Very easy in and out. We were not bothered at all by highway or truck noise. There was no on/off switch at the electric hookup. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
The park itself is small and fairly quiet. It is located on the interstate behind a truck stop and across the street from an adult bookstore. The pool is very small, old, and has cracked fiberglass everywhere along the edges. They also have a "swim club" which allows locals to use the pool. The pool is hardly large enough to support the guests, much less the locals. The laundry facility is average. Water pressure poor, but good electrical. (They only have a small amount of 50amp h/u's) No internet, cable or sat TV. The major drawback to the park is the owners. They are about as friendly as a flesh eating virus. They are a retired couple who do not live on site. It appeared to me they have plenty of money and do not care if anyone stays or not. Because there is not an on site host, the park facilities are sometimes used late at night by transient travellers. I guess the word is out about free showers and laundry. If in the area I would use the Beech Lake Resort Park. It is the only park in the area that I would rate very high. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
For what it is, it is great. We spent New Year's Eve in the park. No one else just us. The shower was warm, the space heated and done in sort of early Boy Scout. But a port is a storm it was great. Truck stop sounds not far away, but liveable. Some loud screaming animals in the middle of the night, but liveable. All in all, needing a spot the rest it was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Easy access from I-40. No amenities and Jackson,TN is 15 miles away. Great transit park. Clean , well kept. Utilities well located for easy access. Will stay here again in transit to TN/NC mtns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$22
We stayed here for two nights in a 34 ft motorhome with a toad. While it is somewhat close to the highway, it still has a very private rustic feel. The pull-thrus are large and there is an entire row of beautiful pine trees on the edge of the campground. We have 2 large dogs, so we appreciated the fact that there was a very large field at the campground. It is very quiet and while there appear to be a few monthly campers, most of the campers are 'overnighters'. The sites are grassy and spotless. The registration is self check-in, but there is a phone number for any problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$20
A very barebones stop-over park. Never saw the staff while there. The kind of park you pull into, sleep and leave, not because you have to, but rather because there is no reason to stay. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com