206576 User submitted reviews online!!
David Crockett State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (931) 762-9408
CGID2647

David Crockett State Park

Camp Information
Sites
114
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   5   5   9   2   5   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
There are two campgrounds in this park. An upper one and a lower one. We have stayed at the upper one a few times. Not all of the sites are level, but we have been lucky enough to be able to park in mostly level ones thus far. The park is beautiful and we have woken up to wild turkey gobbling near our camper. The wildlife is abundant with deer, turkey, and raccoon. The swimming pool is not in the campground but is in another location of the park. The bathhouses are clean but the showers could use more water pressure. There is no sewer, but they do have a dump station. There is also campground hosts during the summer season. They are very nice and helpful and take very good care of the campground. This is the first year they have allowed online reservations and we love the fact that we don't have to sign in at the park office and can reserve specific sites. We usually arrive after the park office closes and are given a key code for access into the park. The park restaurant has a nice buffet lunch and dinner when you can catch it open. This is a nice park for a weekend getaway or an extended vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
This was the first campground in a month of travelling that I had to use the leveling blocks. Maybe it was just that one particular site but the others appeared to have their own off-camber issues also. The strangest thing is you drive through the dump station to enter or exit the campground. Therefore if you are doing the dumping routine, you will be blocking traffic. Weird. Very nice clean restroom/shower facilities. Peaceful and quiet with a forest setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Beautiful park just outside of Lawrenceburg, staff is friendly and helpful. There are 2 camping areas, we stayed in campground #2, it's very wooded and quiet. There is a notice at the front gate: "No alcohol allowed." This seems to go a long way in keeping the park quiet and peaceful. Even larger groups were quiet and respectful of other campers. Some sites are not very level, but there are plenty to choose from, so you'll find one to suit your needs depending on your rig. Only 30A, and there is a dump station right at the entrance to the campground. The water pressure is a little low, but not unbearable, with a little work on their camping pads, they'd rate a 10. Great walking trail winds through the woods, plenty of deer, wild turkeys, raccoons and squirrel to be seen. The Visitor Center is very nice and has a great display about David Crockett and the history of the area. You can see that investment is being made in this park as improvements are ongoing. Cabins have recently been completely renovated, there is a restaurant on the park and there are planned activities by the interpretive staff. They have GAMPRO stations on the walking trail. Crockett Falls is very nice, a small waterfall, but pretty, covered bridge, very charming. Several restaurants and shopping within a quick drive in Lawrenceburg. Would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
There are 2 campgrounds in this park, the original one along a beautiful and peaceful creek, and a newer one in the woods. Many of the spaces in the creek side campground are too small for a larger camper but the ambiance is much better there. There is nothing to see in the wooded area but trees and that gets old fast. Unfortunately, they close the creek side campground after the summer and the only choice is the woods. There are still a lot of pluses to this park though. There are biking and hiking trails and a nice swimming pool and peaceful lake. I'd give it a higher rating if they didn't close the creek side campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This park is situated where Davy owned and ran along the banks of the Shoal Creek a powder mill, a gristmill and distillery. All three were washed away in floods in 1821 and that is when he decided to move west. At the park there are bike trails and one can ride along Shoal Creek where Davy Crockett worked. In August, there are Davy Crockett Days which is a big festival. This campground has a big lake, boating, fishing, swimming in a pool, fishing, a nature museum, and a great restaurant. Sites are not level and in April only loop 1 and 2 of the second campground were open. It must have been spring break because there were a lot of children here and the bathrooms were not that clean. I had heard so much about TN State Parks but I did not really like this park. The woman that checked us in was wonderful though – pleasant, friendly and very informative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
We liked this park. We were in the #2 section, which is wooded and quite pretty. Many of the sites have nice views into ravines and the woods. Our site was pretty level, but many are not. The sites are large and reasonably private. The Campground Hosts were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
We were told at "sign-in" desk that it is "no problem" for a 40' MH and 50amp was available. There were NO 50 amp sites at all and sites were so far from level there was no way 40' could be leveled. The general condition of the park was "trashy". We obtained a refund and left! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
There are 2 campgrounds in this state park. #1 is along a creek but it was closed due to debris from a recent flood. The sites in that area are mostly small & many do not have shade. Campground #2, where we stayed, is wooded. The sites are spacious and shady, but most are not level, and the pavement is broken off in places. The bath house in our end of the campground needed to be cleaned more thoroughly. It also needs to be updated & is not handicap accessible, although the bath house at the other end of campground #2 has been updated & is accessible. However, it also needed to be cleaned more thoroughly. The showers are nice & hot, and there is adequate space in the dressing area. The campground hosts were very friendly and helpful. They live there 6 months out of the year and have been there several years. In another area of the park there is a paved bike trail that goes through a wooded area. It was very enjoyable in spite of the numerous cracks & buckles in the pavement. Another plus is the park's restaurant, which offers a very good buffet. It is just a short drive from the campground. There are also a lot of planned activities offered for kids, a swimming pool near the restaurant, and areas for different sports activities. Wildlife are abundant in the park. We saw deer, wild turkeys, and raccoons. The raccoons raided the campground trash cans every night. This state park has a lot to offer, but the condition of the bath house needs to be addressed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
See the October 2007 reviews if you are over 32'. Came in and will never again. We are a 35' MH with slides and towing, and the slope is way too much. There are a 'couple' of sites that can work if you are 35' to 40', if you can get one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
This was our first time in a TN State Park, and we were not disappointed! Spacious wooded sites, and nice quiet, very dark evenings. Not too far off the Natchez Trace Parkway. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
Very nice park would definitely stay here again. We had no problems getting in or out of our site. Sites fairly level and spacious. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
Absolutely beautiful state park located within a city. Access roads and sites are pretty narrow and tight. I don't think a large pusher could get into the camping area. We had a 26' travel trailer and had no problems. Some of the camp sites are closed. The park is being renovated and cabins are being built. The camp host(s) were friendly and did a great job of maintaining the area. The scenery is great and wildlife abounds. We saw deer and a flock of wild turkeys. Shopping is readily available in Lawrenceburg. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
AWESOME! Friendly staff, well kept park, awesome stay! Will do again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
It was really cold when we stayed here, so we didn't get to experience the park much, and there was only 1 other trailer in the park. We were up on Loop 2, which is up on a hill and very attractive, with lots of tall trees. Our pad was a bit bumpy. Each site had a fire pit or fireplace and picnic table. The bathrooms were clean and warm and the sinks and showers had hot water. We got a few TV channels using our antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
David Crockett State Park has two campground areas. Included in Campground 1 are some restricted sites (17-21) - restricted for us by RVs 32' and longer - no tents allowed on these sites. Tenters use area 1 mostly because of Shoal Creek that borders the campground. We stayed in Campground 2 where there is no body of water, but the sites are quite nice. Best, most level sites for big rigs are 73,75,76,83,84,86. Most all the other site slope down toward back of site making it difficult to set up level. Several facility upgrades are in construction for area 2 and should make this campground area even better. Bathrooms were clean and cozy warm. Up the park road from campground 2 is a large park swimming pool, discounted use fee for campers, and a park restaurant open for lunch daily and dinner Friday and Saturday. The restaurant overlooks the park lake where boats can be rented for pleasure and fishing. We enjoyed bike riding and hiking some of the park trails. This was a convenient stop for us while visiting relatives in Lawrenceburg. Park gate was locked each day at dark, but campers were given lock combination to come and go as they please. We would visit this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
This is a very pretty state park. It is large. You must drive, for example, from the campsite to the restaurant, or pool, or lake, or the big playground. That is not really a problem, since along the way you can watch for deer. Has basketball courts, tennis courts, and volleyball courts. There are several walking trails. The pool was closed, but it looked very big. The restaurant was nice. The Saturday night dinner buffet was ok, since we had become tired of cooking. The Sunday morning breakfast buffet was better. We camped in Campground 2 in a 35' motor home. The first night we were on Site 80. It had a very steep slope, if not careful stepping out of the motorhome, you could roll down the hill. We were backed right up to the grill, so we could not use it. The picnic tables are showing age. The grill at Site 78 had some rocks and concrete breaking off, but it was usable. Did not use the showers, but the bathroom seemed clean enough. One bathhouse/bathroom just outside our loop was closed and looked like they were in the process of completely remodeling. They had just put in some new playground equipment in Loop 2 a day or two before. In other words, looks like a little care is needed, but that they are working on it. Moved to Site 79 on our second day,when someone left, and it was better. Friends were in Sites 77 and 78, and they were nice too. Very near Lawrenceburg (right at the edge of town). We didn't see much of the town, but it looked like it would have everything you needed. Loop 1 is near the stream. I'm not sure if there would be a site in that area that a long camper/motorhome would fit in. Very peaceful, unless you take your toddler grandchildren, like we did! However, the weather was perfect and we really enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$17
Very nice park. Camped in upper campground. Most sites required considerable leveling but otherwise was a nice place to stay for a couple of days loafing in the area. Small Amish community just to the north of town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
Nice wooded sites with paved roads and pad. The park is near town but feels private and quiet. There is a locked security gate at night. There are many hiking and bicycle trails, interpretive center, and restaurant on site. Deer are seen in the campground. Fishing boats can be rented to use on the small lake. Each site has a fire pit, table, and trash can with daily pick-up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$17
Very beautiful very well maintained park has nice pool and lake with paddle boats and fishing boats for rent. You pick your own campsite and no reservations are accepted so it is first come first serve. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
This was our first camping trip, and we loved it. We stayed in camp ground #1. Lots of free space and grass for the kids to play in. The creek was extremely nice, refreshing, and relaxing. Lots of nice people, and kids. Lots of free kids activities, trails, finishing, and swimming. Lots of turkeys and deer. We will go back. However, take what you need - no store on-site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$18
This campground has a wonderful assortment of nature and wooded campsites. If you like the back to nature but not quite boon docking feel this is a great park. When you stay at this campground you can almost be assured that you will have some wildlife be it a deer (sometimes multiple) or a wild turkey and even the occasional raccoon wander through your site. We love to camp here in the winter as the deer will stroll through the grounds like they own the place. (maybe they do) Winter camping is also nice here as you can be pretty much by yourself with typically 2 or 3 other units on the campground. We camp here in our hybrid camper often and I can't believe I missed the 05 winter season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$17
Very nice park. Would have enjoyed it better if the weather would have been a tad bit warmer, we were not expecting snow in April for our spring vaction. Stayed here 2 days on our Natchez Trace Parkway journey. Lots of wildlife!! Like to of had 12 deer run over my 5 year old son. He got a kick out of it. I also had 2 turkeys visit me by the fire one night. I plan on returning here again. park deserves a 10 but weather made it a 9. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
This park has 2 campgrounds. One campground is on the bank of a stream and the other is in the middle of a forest. There is also a lake, swimming pool, playgrounds, paved hiking and bike trails, and a very nice restaurant. We stayed in campground # 2 in the forest for 4 days, and I've never seen so many deer. Every day we would see deer passing through the woods behind our campsite, and along the road while driving through the park. Also, there is an Amish Community just north of Lawrenceburg. We drove through the community and stopped at several homes to purchase vegetables, bread, candy, etc., (they have signs out by the mailbox if they have items to sell). It was like taking a trip back in time. If you go, just be aware that the Amish do not sell on Sunday. This was one of our favorite trips in the RV and we will definitely go back to this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$17
Nice, with clean bathhouse, plenty of wildlife and outdoor activity areas family friendly, "lots of kids". Would highly recommend. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
1999
$14
Beautiful campground. Wooded sites. Pool is open to public and charges usage fee. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com