206945 User submitted reviews online!!
The Crosseyed Cricket was rated 6 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (865) 986-5435
CGID2650

The Crosseyed Cricket

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   8   7   2   2   8   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
We've been RVing for nearly forty years and the Crosseyed Cricket has been in the campground guides for as long as I can remember. We've passed it many times in the past enroute to Gatlinburg so we decided to give it a try. What a joke (and disappointment). It's about 4 miles off I-40 and the roads are rutted gravel, the office is a gazebo. We arrived around 6:30 pm no one was there. We deposited our $25 in an envelope and set out to pick a site. There were only two left (and they were dirt. Thank Goodness it didn't rain or we would have been hung up). Bring bug spray. The guy beside us (along with his pet rabbit) was living (permanently) in an old VW Campmobile that didn't even run. Sorry, but I intend to pass this one up for the next 40 years! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
The Crosseyed Cricket is slightly off the beaten path making for a quiet camping experience. It's really almost two parks with the upper park for primarily long-term residents. The lower part, which is not in view of the upper part, is mostly for those staying only for a few days. There are several pull-through and back-in sites, along with tent sites. We stayed in a pull-through site along a quaint creek. There are many ducks running around and a small playground consisting of swings, tetherball, and a 'log cabin' for the kids to climb on. There is also a fish-shaped swimming pool, but that was not yet open in April. Okay to stay there for a few days, particularly if you are primarily using it as a 'home base' for exploring the Knoxville area. Finally, follow the signs or web/phone directions into the park otherwise, your GPS might take you on a narrow single lane road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
I stayed here a while back and it was a great place; shady, quiet, hilly, and sites along a small stream. The owner is awesome, very helpful. Price is great, and it's about 2 miles from the I-40 exit but worth the drive. Restaurants and Knoxville are very close. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
This park is a self check in. There are some very picturesque sites next to a stream and overlooking a large pond. The bathrooms were showing their age but were clean (B+). The road leading to the park is narrow and has some tight curves. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Campground continues to go down hill. Fishing and restaurant are both closed. Mostly long term residents. It's a shame since it's so close to West Knoxville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Access road is pretty narrow for a big rig and tree overhang damage is to be expected, campground has a lot of semi permanent residents. First section closest to the office is especially difficult to maneuver into while looking for a spot. Site marking is poor once inside campground, they advertise for big rigs, but don't seem to have enough room for multible slide outs. There was a tent in the first 50amp pull thru, wasn't impressed, won't return We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
This campground was great. The water-side sites are a unique experience. My site had a deck overhanging the creek. The access road is not as bad as I expected after reading prior reviews. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23
They closed the top half to only have permanent sites. The one we had was ok. However, I certainly enjoyed the top one more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2004
$23
The road leading in was a bit small. They charge extra for AC! The fish shaped pool was clean and the fishing was good. However, you must keep what you hall in and pay for them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
The park is really nice but access ro it is not so good. narrow roads with low hanging trees on each side. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$35
Very poor roads and campground turns into a lake in the rain. Not for big rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2001
$22
Difficult to get to - very narrow, hilly roads. Trees not trimmed for larger rigs. Tight turns inside CG. Nice for smaller rigs or those staying for several days - not good for overnighters. Has interesting looking old mill converted to restaurant but is a long walk from CG. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com