206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Natchez Trace State Park / Pin Oak Lake was rated 8 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (731) 968-3742
CGID2651

Natchez Trace State Park / Pin Oak Lake

Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   9   7   8   9   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Overall a very nice campground with spacious campsites and nice views of the lake. The bath house is the cleanest and most well kept that I have seen anywhere, but this is the start of camping season so that can change when the campground stays full all the time. There are very few trees for shade. All sites are gravel with fire rings and grills along with a picnic table. Some picnic tables could use a little bit of repair work with the benches that were heavily bowed. AT&T cell phone coverage was not great, but it was usable. 3G was also spotty. The antenna picked up ABC, CBS, and PBS, but that was all. The campground host and the park rangers were very visible and constantly making rounds throughout the area. We will definitely be going back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
This is our first visit to Pin Oak Lake & it was very nice. We stayed in the middle loop & could see a little of the lake from our site. The sites are very roomy & level with a gravel surface. Site 23 gets full sun until about 1:00. We could not use our dish due to the tall trees behind us, but people in the middle & opposite side were able to use theirs. The bath house was very clean & well-maintained. The shower stalls & dressing rooms are roomy. There is a long shelf & 3 double hooks for items in the dressing rooms. There was plenty of hot water. The campground host was very helpful. There is a nice pier on the lake on the middle loop. We were very pleased with this campground & would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
The pull-thru sites are extremely long. We could have put another 40' MH and toad on the space along with our own. The sites are also very wide. The park was relative quiet even though it was Labor Day weekend. The reservation staff was extremely friendly AND helpful when we needed to extend our stay. One word of advice, however, is ask for directions to your campground. We found the roads and signage to get to the campground confusing. Certainly would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
This is a beautiful campground with a few sites that are right on the lake (29 and 31 are great sites). The campground is quite a drive off the interstate, but the roads to it are good. Roads inside the campground are also good. Very quite and peaceful campground. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
We have reviewed this park before, but there have been changes this year that warrant another review. First, Tennessee State Parks have gone to a reservation system, so it is no longer a first come basis as it used to be. That is a good thing in my opinion, but it is something that campers need to be aware of before arrival. The down side to that is that, while the rate remains $25 per night, they have added a $3 reservation fee and $3.69 tax, making the actual cost to stay $31.69 per night. The price is getting up there with private campgrounds that provide cable TV and Wi-Fi. This park has neither. While it is still a nice park with a lot to do, they are getting more strict with the rules. The camp host came around twice during our most recent stay to remind us of the rules. Once to tell me that my boat trailer has to be properly parked (no problem) and the other to tell us to be gone by 12 noon or we would be charged an extra 15 bucks. We've never been run off on Sunday as there is seldom anyone coming in to take the site until the next Thursday or Friday. I saw no reason for that, but the rules are the rules. One other thing, in my earlier review of this park, I commented on the good seafood buffet on Friday night. I don't know what has changed, but the quality of the food is not as good as it used to be. It is okay, but not great, and the price on it has gone up as well. For these reasons, I've lowered my overall rating of this park from a 9 to a 7. It is still a good place to camp, but just not as good as it once was. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Beautiful state park. There was hardly anyone here during our stay. Very peaceful and quiet. Camp host was very helpful, as there was nobody staffing the station at the entrance to the campground. Very poor Verizon cell signal was really the only negative about this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
Lovely park with many wonderful sites to choose from. The restrooms are incredibly clean. Sites needed some leveling. To be honest, the food at the nearby lodge, was okay but not great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Great campground. Good view of sky for satellite TV. The only knock are poor cell service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
We were looking for a quick overnight while traveling I-40, this wasn't it. The park is 10 miles south of I-40 and probably takes nearly 20 minutes to get there from I-40 due to the continuous "S" curves that make up Tenn hwy 114. The drive in is through some beautiful heavy forests but the campsite itself was a disappointment in that it was totally cleared of trees - strange. If you like sun or want absolutely no obstruction for your satellite antenna this is your place. The roads are asphalt and in good condition. The pads were gravel, many were quite long and for the most part level. The park was clean and well maintained. We did not use the restrooms but by outward appearance they seemed in good condition. There was a playground for the kids and a roped off swimming area nearby. We rated this park down to a 7 primarily because of no trees left around the camp sites - it is nothing special. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Three loops to choose from. The sites are long and mostly level. Gravel sites and paved roads. The 50 amp service was good. Marginal Verizon Internet service, but worked sometimes. Very clean and sturdy bathrooms. A bit far from civilization. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
If you come from I-40, you will have 10 miles of very curving road. The asphalt is in good shape but it is a ride, always turning, going up or down. For having 14,000 acres or so of forest, most of it is elsewhere. Camping area is cleared out areas with few trees. You will probably get shade early or late in the day. The Lodge is very nice with restaurant if you want such for a change and Lexington, TN is only a couple miles away. It is largely populated with locals escaping from the Memphis area. Went on the trails, but they weren't much. Many visitors were very impressed by the place, but I had hoped for something more. We were there for 5 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This is a really nice, well laid out park. Some pull-through sites and lots of long back in sites. FHU in our site was $25/night which is not bad for this part of the country. Water, sewer, Power (50amp). $20 if you are a Tennessee senior. There are 4 nice lakes in the park to play in. Cell service is spotty and our Sprint MiFi was adequate but roamed on another carrier. One good antenna channel (ABC) and several PBS. We enjoyed our stay and visited good friends from Henderson. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This is a lovely, quiet park on a lake. Staff was helpful and friendly. The bathroom was basic at best and didn't seem to have been used much. I would rate them about a "5,"so didn't feel I could say they were not clean per se. We were here after Labor Day, so it was too cool to swim, though there was a small area near the playground, which was also very nice. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This is a very nice quiet park. All the roads are paved but the sites are gravel. Little tricky to find if you don't mark your mileage. Park was very clean and had several activities for every one. For our family this will be a regular stop in our travels. Park staff stopped to collect fee and when he was told we used the honor box there were no more questions. In fact he offered to help set up. The camp store was nice and they have cabins for those who do not want to tent it. My mother stayed in one of the cabins two weeks earlier and loved it. This place is in the country and nowhere near a populated area. We love it and highly recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
This is a wonderful state park. The park is very large, and the RV campground itself is about 14 miles south of IH-40. They have both back-in and pull-through sites, distributed in several loops. The site are largely cleared, but the loops are surrounded by tall trees. It is a good compromise that allows satellite dishes to be aimed, but gives some sense of privacy from the other loops. Our Verizon broadband was weak but usable with an external antenna and amplifier. AT&T and Sprint cell phones were very marginal in the campground, but usable within just a couple of miles back toward the highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
This is a very clean and well kept state park RV campground. We have stayed here a number of times. If you like the outdoors, you'll like it here. There is a state park restaurant in the Pin Oak Lodge about a mile from the RV campground that has a very good seafood buffet on Friday night reasonably priced. Natchez Trace State Park is the largest in the Tennessee State Park system and offers a lot of things to do from fishing, boating, hiking, bicycling, horseback riding, ATV riding, hunting, camping, whatever you like to do outdoors. The campground hosts are very helpful. The only negative is that it is about 10 miles back to get ice and supplies if you forget something. Cell phone service and wireless internet is spotty. There is no cable or Wi-Fi in this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
Nice stop off between Nashville and Memphis. About 15 gentle winding miles south of I-40. Very pleasant but it was a bit cold and we arrived after dark so we didn't see much of the area. Do think about the trip into Lexington, it is a friendly little town 10 miles southwest of the RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
This is a typical state park campground that is designed for family camping NOT RV'ing. There is very poor cell and internet service in this area. Campground is in a state forest on a lake 12 miles from nearest shopping. Very quiet campground except on weekends.The park has full service hookups, blacktop roads and level gravel sites. Most campers behaved quite well considering there was no-one at the gate or in the park most of the time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
The grounds at this park were well kept. They are very neat and well mowed. It was our first camping trip in many years. There was shade for most sites although some sites did not have any. The bath house was pretty well kept - the showers were a pretty grungy, but not unbearable. (Reason for the 8) Some sites had an absolutely gorgeous lake view. There was a pier which we walked to each evening and a swim beach and pavilion within walking distance. The park was very kid friendly and had a lot of kids. There was a hayride both nights were were there. Dogs were on leashes. Mostly the park has trailer campers and fifth wheels. Sites were pretty level with a gravel base and picnic table, and lantern hook with grill and fire ring. The camp host was nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
RV Park Campground is 11.4 miles south of the park entrance along I-40. Scenic park with nice playground, pavillion, swim beach. RV campground is on lake with few waterfront sites. Very quiet park. Bathhouse is clean and large. Sites are gravel and large. Nice firepit, grill and picnic table. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This is a great park approximately 20 minutes from Lexington. Park staff was very friendly, lots were level, and lake access was good. Only drawback is that they don't take reservations so be early or call first. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
Beautiful state park. Paved roads, level sites, large sites,full hookups. This park does not take reservations so call before you get there to make sure there are sites available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Yes, this state park is off the beaten path, but a good place to enjoy quiet and peaceful times. The lack of shade can be a problem, in the heat of summer, but the fall temperatures do not pose a problem. We will be back for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is a very nice park, but a little expensive for the state park system. The bathrooms were clean, but there was an issue with the drains in the shower. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We stopped overnight off I-40. It is about twelve miles south from Interstate but well signed. The sites were flat and well equipped and we thought it would be a nice place to stay a few days. Lake has a swimming area. Park has a lodge and other attractions. CG host was very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
We camped here for 2 days in April and found that they had increased the daily rate from $17.00 to $25.00. Also, our cells phones and broadband air card - which worked just fine last October when we stayed here - were iffy at best. Don't know what could have changed to cause this, but we weren't the only ones having trouble. The sites were overgrown and the fire rings needed cleaned out. The pull-thru site sizes are generous and the view of the lake is terrific. But this lack of contact with the outside world, lack of maintainence and an almost 50% raise in rate makes this campground not worth the 11.4 mile trek off the highway. We probably won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$19
This was an excellent park. The park was huge, so there was plenty of room to spread out. There was a lot to do including seeing the Pecan tree that Andrew Jackson supposedly planted, and hiking the over 53 miles of trails. The only bad part is that the campground store is far away from all 3 of the campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$16
This is a great state park at a great price. There is about a 50-50 mix of back-ins & pull-thrus. Most pull-thrus are long enough to not require unhooking toad. Most of the roads are paved, and the sites are gravel and fairly level. Each site has a table & a fire ring. There is a very nice beach & children's playground. The park is big-rig friendly and will handle any size rig with any number of slides. Most sites are satellite friendly. The utilities are modern & placed well. The rating of the park went down for the amount of trash and unmowed sites-- the worst I've seen in several visits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$22
This is way off the road about 13 miles off I-40 but well worth the ride back to it: very scenic, lots of trees and waterfront sites. Clean restrooms and showers, nice beach for the kids. Camp store is a bit down the road but you can drive in to Lexington to Wallys if needed its not that far. Super sites, great just to walk around and see the views. They also have cabin to rent if needed. Its a must place to visit. We come several times a year to this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$16
A little off the beaten trail but what a great facility. We stayed here in a 45' Prevost and had no problem getting in or out. Many sites with a nice lake view. Lots of room between sites. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
Natchez Trace State Park has three different campgrounds: Campground 1, Campground 2, and Pin Oak. Campground 1, also called Cub Lake Campground, has approximately 25 sites, about 7 of which overlook the small lake below it. Sites were level, well-maintained, and shaded, with an ample "living area" of fine gravel; all had 30A electric and water. Picnic table and fire ring were provided. The lake had a small swimming beach, and rented fishing boats and pedal boats. Unfortunately, the bath house was a mess and badly needed to be cleaned; hopefully this is the exception rather than the norm. Campground 2, referred to by the park rangers as the "primitive" campground, is in a wooded vale and is very secluded. Some sites have electric and water, some do not, and not all sites are level. The sites were all good sized, but the road through the campground is very tight and winds between trees. Do NOT attempt to take anything over 20 feet into the campground, or you will have big problems. Didn't check the bathhouses for cleanliness, we just drove through to see how it looked. We did not go past the Pin Oak RV campground, but that is the one other reviewers have mentioned as being devoid of trees. The park ranger told me it was essentially a field with electric/water/sewer hookups and a line or two of trees. It is also the furthest from I-40. There is a campstore within the park, but selection is limited and prices are high. They did, however, have all s'more ingredients! Overall, CG1 was a very nice campground and, if the bathhouse had been clean, would have rated a 9. We will return at least once and if the CG1 bathhouse is clean will make it a regular weekend spot. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$17
Sorry, but this CG was not what I envision when I think of State Parks. All of the sites were out in the open with lttle to no shade and cut into a hillside. While Natchez Trace is a very scenic park, the ambiance of this CG felt very out of place. I don't think this was a well, thought-out design. Needless to say, we drove thru the entire CG and just kept on going when we got back to the exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2004
$17
Campground was very clean and well maintained. Large, private, easy to get into sites. You can see the lake from every site. Firepit at our site wasn't cleaned out but others were. Very nice and relaxing. Not a whole lot to do in the fall but they have a great beach on the lake for the summer. We will go back for a quiet weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$17
A very, very nice CG that is new, thus a lack of shade trees by the sites. Price range is 7.50 for handicap to 17.00 for non residents. Clean restrooms with laundry facilities. I will go back again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com