221721 User submitted reviews online!!
Bandy Creek Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (877) 444-6777
CGID2662

Bandy Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   10   10   9   9   8   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
I rated this park on the low side because the maintenance of the campground appears to have slipped quite a bit. Aside from that it is a spectacular and well run park and is a national treasure. We were in Loop D. The restroom shower curtains were sickeningly covered with mold and mildew, the exterior of the very modern building (vinyl siding) was covered with mold and mildew. The grounds where we were camping had grass in excess of 1' high and apparently had not been mowed in some time. Properly developed tent pads were saturated with weeds. Its clear the National Park Service is being slammed by budget cuts and treasures for families and recreational enthusiasts like Bandy Creek are bearing the brunt of the burden. The cost to replace a few shower curtains and to buy a bottle of bleach to wash down the vinyl siding is minimal and for less then $50 each in material (curtains and bleach to wash the siding), the well designed shower/restrooms could be cleaned and in excellent condition. The Superintendent and staff are to be commended though for an overall great facility and a wonderful attitude towards the users of this great National Park facility. Our only hope is that someone wakes up and gives these fine folks the resources they need to maintain and sustain these wonderful parks like Bandy Creek at the Big South Fork. This is the most pet friendly National Park facility I have ever seen! We will definitely be back to Big South Fork and we hope it is given the resources it needs to get squared away for those of us that want to utilize this camping facility. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$11
Terrific campground that allows the senior access pass which is half price. Rangers are great and friendly. It is very isolated with no cell or local TV stations. Wally world is about 20 minutes away if you get lonely. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
Excellent facilities for the horses and the campers. Lots of great trails right out of the barnyard. Nice clean, well maintained campground. With our 40' LQ gooseneck we had a little trouble backing in, but it was dark. This is a beautiful part of our country and a great campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Excellent camping: we went the middle of September. I highly recommend searching for the Haunting in the Hills at Bandy Creek and making your reservations. Full day entertainment with Story Tellers, good clean fun for all ages. Campground is clean, restrooms cleaner than any I have been to in the past year! They even have a sink outside the restrooms to clean dishes, that was a huge plus for me. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Quick weekend camping trip with my brother's family. What a beautiful campground, cannot wait to go back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$11
Out of the way campground but still one of our favorites. Always clean and the upkeep is ongoing. Wally World is only 20 minutes away in case you want or need something. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This is a very well maintained park in an out-of-the-way location. Very wooded and lots of privacy between sites. Sites were clean and ours was very level. National Park rangers frequently patrol the park and offer assistance. Lots of kids but most everyone was well-behaved; a few site-cutters, but otherwise no noise problems. This is horse country, so we saw lots of horse owners using the campground and park. Big South Fork National River and Recreation Area (in which the park is located) is an overlooked gem. The campground has plenty to do to keep kids happy (playgrounds, safe roads on which to ride bikes, a clean pool, horse stables, visitor center, and hiking trails). The only negative is that it is very isolated and TN route 297 is a nightmare to approach the park from the east. We followed the park website's advice and came in from the west on TN 297. After reconnoitering TN 297 to the east (e.g., the road down and back up through the river gorge) we were very glad we added the several extra miles to the trip...it was nothing but steep switchbacks with numerous gouges in the pavement where trailer hitches had bottomed out. In sum, it's a great park for a 3- or 4-day destination for relaxation and as a base for exploring the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$11
A beautiful campground with nice sites out in no man's land. It was very peaceful and quite and the horse center was fairly full. We go here about twice a year and are never disappointed even without wifi or scarce cell phone service. You can use your cell phone if you find the right spot on a cloudless day. I wish they had full hookup but who's spoiled. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Nice large sites with water and elec. It's nice to get away without the internet and very little cell phone use. Hard to get the cell to work at times. If you like getting away with nature, this is the place. Plenty of trials to keep you occupied. Closest town is probably about 20 minutes away, with a Wally World. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$11
If you are a hiker, mountain biker or a horseback rider this is the place to be. There are trails everywhere. The swimming pools is clean and cool. Some site are a little tight to get into. We had no trouble with a 38'MH. The grounds are clean and the rangers are very helpful. On some evenings, the park naturalist give lectures that are both informative and interesting. Looking forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
We camped for seven nights over the 4th of July holiday. The park was mostly full except loop A which is for tents only and does not have water and electric hookups. We reserved site C14. It looked good on the internet, but it turned out to be one of the worst sites in the park. Our bedroom window was about 10 feet from the neighbor’s picnic table. They stayed up very late and talked. They were not loud, they were just very close. We enjoyed our hiking adventures. We averaged around 6.5 miles a day, so we hiked around 45 miles. As stated in other posts if you do not enjoy nature, there is not a lot to do. However even with the bad campsite we really loved our visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
This campground is great. Our 12 year-old son's favorite on our three week trip. We stayed two night/three days. As part of the Big South Fork National River and Recreation Area it had a Jr. Ranger program for the children too. The park ranger on duty was very nice as well as the rest of the staff. The campground sites were very spacious - I would even say huge. We biked around the four sections of the campground to the pool and stable area. The was a public pool, very clean and well supervisored (small extra fee). Playgrounds. Horseback riding. If you travel with your horses this seem to be the place. We didn't, but a couple of the sections of the campground had many trailers. The restrooms and showers were clean and hot water. Plenty of trails to hike too. A definitely stop on our next trip through Tennessee. Ranger program at night. We highly recommend this place for camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
Great place for hiking and enjoying the outdoors. Not much else to do though and the camp store wasn't open for this time of year. Campground was about half full with lots of horse trailers and a road of off road people who blocked the road and took advantage of sites not occupied. As far as I know they were never told to correct the situation. Enjoyed the week though and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
Although the name of the campground would seem to indicate it sits on the banks of a stream, I couldn't find one anywhere. That said, the sites were clean, spacious, well-spaced, and level. Most were shaded. The bath houses, while clean, only offered four showers per location (two for men, two for women), and I would imagine there might be a wait for one to come open during busier times. On the weekend we visited, the campground was practically deserted, though, and according to the staff, there are few times in a given year when the campground is actually full. Area attractions are few; if you are not interested in hunting, equestrian activites, hiking, or just enjoying the peace and quiet, you might find yourself hard-pressed to stay entertained. A fair (but not overwhelming) amount of gnats and flies were present; bring the bug spray. We saw plenty of deer and turkey. We felt very secure here. All in all, our experience at Bandy Creek was a pleasant one. Kudos to the staff for keeping things clean and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
Excellent campground with countless opportunities for hiking and other outdoor activities. Pads are asphalt and very level, with generous "living areas" of gravel. All sites have shade during at least part of the day, and many of them are completely shaded. Site privacy is very good for the majority of the sites. 50A service is available only at a few selected sites; 30A is the norm. Even over the Independence Day holiday weekend, when the campground was 100% full, the bathhouses were immaculate and well stocked with paper products. The campground cleared out the morning of the 4th, and was less than 20% full the next night. As far as we could tell, there were no laundry facilities within the campground. The swimming pool is open from Memorial Day to Labor Day, 11AM - 7PM each day, and a family pass is just $6 for the entire length of your stay. Pool passes must be purchased at the entrance to the campground. Swimming is also available in the river itself. The stables within the park no longer offer guided trail rides, but my daughter rode with Southeast Pack Trips about 15 minutes away and said it was much better than the one in the park anyway. (I am not affiliated with Southeast Pack Trips, I just believe in passing on good information!) There is a pay phone available next to the check-in booth. Verizon wireless worked well within the park; Cingular did not. Ice is available at the bookstore (9AM-4PM) in both block and cubed forms. Limited firewood is available at the stables (8AM-5PM). Other than that, you will need to go to either Oneida or Jamestown, each about a 30 minutes drive. If the park had a little more in the camp store arena, this park would get a solid 10; but a 9 is still pretty good. We will definitely return - this fall! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Great campground in the National Park. We went during the week and had all of loop C to ourselves. The bathrooms were immaculate--and HUGE. Great showers. Lots of hiking, swimming (in river), biking and horseback riding nearby. We couldn't do a lot of stuff because of torrents of rain. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Beautiful heavily wooded campground in the Big South Fork National Recreation Area, which straddles the KY-TN state line northwest of Knoxville. Most sites are very private, and almost all are heavily shaded. Facilities are spotless, and the campground is rarely full, so the facilities stay clean. An abundance of hiking and nature activities are close by, and this park is used extensively by horse riders. A swimming pool is a 5 minute walk from the campground, and horse rental stables are about 10 minutes walk further away. The only reason this campground doesn't get a 10 is because the camp store is almost entirely a gift shop; the closest store is about 30 minutes away via a very winding, hilly road. We will return to this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This is a beautiful campground. It is inside the National Park, and is well cared for. The bath house was in great shape. The sites were concrete pads with lots of grassy areas around them. There is plenty of shade, but room even for the big rigs. The paths were paved and great for bicycles. The visitor center was close by, as were the horse stables. There were several playgrounds for the kids, and there were many sites far away from the playground for peace and quiet. The whole family was sad to leave. We will be returning to this great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com