215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Rock Island State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (931) 686-2471
CGID2671

Rock Island State Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   9   10   8   7   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
We never knew this park was so close to home (Knoxville) and is mainly flat, good highway into except for the road to the park about 5 miles curvy, but easy road. The park was beautiful, there are so many waterfalls here, continuous beautiful nature scenery. We had some trouble with electricity shutting down a couple times, but the maintenance people fixed within 30 minutes of our arrival. Everyone helpful, friendly. The rangers were taking extra time to clean up trash, which I cannot believe someone would just leave a cup or can sitting somewhere when there are trash cans readily available. Most of the sites are small, but we were lucky to get a larger site. The ranger said they are redoing some sites and electrical work over the winter. Want to come back next year. There is an excellent restaurant nearby Foglight Foodhouse, gourmet out in the middle of nowhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Didn't have any trouble going in on the roads, but you should unhook your toad as soon as you get in. Easy night check-in cause there is none, just pick your spot and pay by 10am the next morning. Back-in site was smallish, but OK. The water spigot {older) was broken (hose connector gone) at our site, but it was the only one damaged near us. The electric was OK, but don't overload it. The bathhouse was fine, somewhat dated but usable. Showers were just OK as water pressure was low, but pretty clean. Separate changing area at shower. Playground and pavilion behind it. Make this a stop in TN, the park and waterfalls are beautiful. It is in a quiet country setting and very quiet. We will be back to stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Rock Island was beautiful. The staff was very helpful, and the programs were great. The campground sites are small, but they are well shaded. Be careful not to run too many electric items. The electric lines are old and can't handle several electric items running at the same time. The canoe trip up the Caney River is a must. The gorge area was beautiful. The naturalist were very informative and helpful. I would recommend going off the trails and seeing the smaller waterfalls off the bluff and the beautiful ferns. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
This is a really nice, shaded campground. You can make reservations the week before your stay only. Paved camp sites with fire ring and grills, 30amp electric, and water hookups. The park itself has a couple of different playground areas. Campground has own, and pavillion. Bathhouses were clean and have had some renovation in the last year. Planned activities for kids. Great park to visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
We took our family camping and had a great time. The lots were shaded, the people around us friendly, and the rangers and hosts were great. I wish there would have been more activities for the kids, but we enjoyed going down to the beach and the kids got to swim. We went down below the dam and got to walk the river bed. It was beautiful. We could see the falls which was down stream a little ways. I recommend it for a great get-a-way. I wish this park was closer. We would came here alot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$10
It was still cool when we camped here but the campground was about half full. Very nice sites, well-spaced. The bathrooms were clean but could use some repair. The Park itself is outstanding; Great Falls of the Caney Fork River, and a very historical area. This is a great base camp for folks who like to hike and look at waterfalls as the area is full of them. Burgess Falls State Park (no camping) is nearby and it is a short drive to many others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$19
Sites tight for a 34ft fifth wheel. Both sites that our family had were hard to level RVs (both 5th wheels). Nice park for children. They enjoyed biking, rock painting, tie-dyeing, dodge ball, tubing in the gorge and swimming in the lake. Bathrooms need updating very bad. Bathrooms at the lake must have been nice back years ago, but now they are run downed. Only complaint was the tightness of getting our fifth wheel into the site. Seen lots of deer and had 2 raccoons raid our trash can one night. Would go back again if had a more level and wide site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Camped here for the first time during the fourth of July holiday. Great place for kids because of the activities that the rangers and the naturalists plan for the folks there. The park was full and a little crowded but sites were fine and few bugs. Beach was nice but the river was down so the water dropped off quickly into deeper areas. If you have kids, this is the place to be for outdoor fun with the rangers. They made the week! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$16
Good state park and beautiful scenery. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
I loved this park and especially the campground. Everyone we know loves Fall Creek Falls but it cannot hold a candle to Rock Creek! It has great campsites. Most are very big. We camped in a cul-de-sac...plenty of safe space for our kids to bike. The site was a huge asphalt slab with a rock/concrete path to the picnic table and bbq. Ample space. I didn't use the showers but they looked like they could use updating. Not a big issue for me since I don't use them anyway. Bathroom was clean but not new. The Park Rangers here are wonderful. Our kids loved Erin. She took us on a "rock hop" across the gorge. Later on, the kids did a rock painting at the pavillion. This is a beautiful park and a must see for any camping family traveling in or around this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
This was a great state park. It is a little out of the way but well worth it. The falls were awesome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$16
We ended up here after we couldn't find a decent site at Fall Crek Falls. Rock Island is not a big park. However, the park is very pretty and there's plenty to do. The sites are shaded and private with asphalt pads. Each site has a nice large picnic table and concrete pad. There are some large waterfalls and water cascades within the park. One of the park rangers (Kyle) offered a free guided canoe trip from the swimming area up to the falls/cascades. We even got out and walked through the cascades. I'm sure the kids (and me) wil never forget it. There are lots of planned activities. The management was very nice to deal with. Each site even has its own garbage can. We would definitely come back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$16
Beautiful, heavily wooded campground with spotless facilities. Swimming and rock climbing is available close by the campground in Center Hill Lake or in the river that feeds the lake. Located a short drive from Fall Creek Falls State Park, this park had plenty of available sites even though Fall Creek Falls' campground was full. The only reason this park doesn't get a 10 is because there is no camp store of any kind, and the closest store of any kind is a 15 minute drive. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com