206555 User submitted reviews online!!
Tims Ford State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (931) 962-1183
CGID2684

Tims Ford State Park

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   6   9   8   6   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Great park for hiking and geocaching. Hiked 9.5 miles in one day on the trails here. Paved trails are also great for biking. We managed to get our 36' RV in and out OK, but there are several low hanging limbs we had to dodge along the way. Water pressure was great and had no problems with power. Unfortunately there are only a few sites that are suitable for a RV our size. Stayed in site #1 and had to use blocks under the front wheels to level the rig. Verizon voice and data worked fine. Staff was friendly and helpful at check in. We would have stayed longer if our schedule had allowed it and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
This is a lovely park although it is quite isolated. There are four sites with full hookup and the price reflects the additional $5 per night for the sewer. There is a dump station on the way out so for short stays I wouldn't select the full hookup again. The rangers were patrolling the park the whole time even though there were only about four RVs in there at this time of the year. Beautiful walks and very well maintained with paths and roads being swept of leaves each couple of days. Easy (and pretty) drive to Lynchburg and the Jack Daniel's Distillery. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
This state park is simply beautiful! It has miles of biking and hiking trails and an abundance of wildlife. Deer and squirrels are everywhere! There is a huge swimming pool that is open during the summer and it looks well maintained. The campground is a little old and could use some sprucing up, but it's still pretty nice and the view of the lake is great. We are not bothered by the sounds of the kids having a good time riding their bicycles and so forth and have never had any problems with noise after dark. Some of the spaces are a little tight backing into, but we haven't had any problems so far. The staff has always been very friendly and helpful too. We've been here several times and keep coming back. It's a great spot for a weekend getaway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
Except for the first few sites (maybe sites 1-10) the sites are very short. Parking our 26 foot 5th wheel was a chore, so much so that hard cornering and running up on a two foot mount caused my camper to get into the roof and rear window of my truck ($1100.00 damage). Sites are not level (required two inch block on one side to level). Campgrounds not very well kept. Picnic table on different level from camper. But if you like children screaming from 8am-9pm this is the campground for you. There was the saving grace of going to Lynchburg to see the Jack Daniel's Distillery and have lunch at Miss BoBo's (oh, you have to do Miss BoBo's) and downtown Lynchburg is a hoot. Wife like the place OK, so I guess if she clubs me over the head I may be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
This is the second time I've stayed here. This time was a 5 day stay that included Thanksgiving with my family (who were in a cabin). Only 8 or 10 other campers and it was very nice. I had a choice of several nice sites. They have done a great job of clearing adequate space while still leaving a lot of trees for shade and an "outdoor" feeling. I would rate this a 10 but the facilities are a bit old and need some work. If you are looking for big rig access with all the bells and whistles, this is not for you. If you are looking for a nice camping experience, it is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Tims Ford has a satellite campground called Fairview Devil's Step at the end of Fairview Rd. off Hwy. 50 in Winchester. There are 38 sites with 30 amp electric & water (no sewer) and 26 of them are right on Tims Ford lake. Nine sites are paved and the rest are gravel. They do not take reservations. Checkout is 3 p.m. They are very strict about the no alcohol rule. There is one restroom that is quite old; the showers have a concrete floor with a drain. There is a public boat ramp here so you can park your boat at your lakeside campsite. This park is beautiful when the dogwood trees are in bloom in the spring. There are several nice restaurants in Winchester around the square. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
The sites are very level, double-wide cement pads, but most are very shallow: maybe 27 feet at the most. There are lots of children. The picnic tables are on uneven ground on the opposite side of where you’d exit the RV on *some* of the sites, and the hookups are on the wrong side for a trailer or motorhome for the site that I was in. There are only four sites with full hook ups. I thought, at first, that there was only one bath, but I think there are two. I paid $20 for the night, full hookups are $25. I think this is an older state park: ideal for tenters and pop-ups and people like me with small trailers, who are traveling solo. For the size of the park, it’s a shame they didn’t allot more room for the campground. I think there are 51 sites, and they are all pretty close together, but it's very wooded so it didn't matter much. Not bad for my stay because there weren’t too many campers: maybe half the spaces were filled. While the bathhouses are old, they are roomy and clean, with a sink, toilet, and shower in the women’s. I could see the lake through the woods. It’s a very big lake, and I’m sure a haven for boaters. There are paved trails throughout the woods surrounding the campground, which to me was the best part of the park. It's great for dog walking and I saw some bikers while walking, but mainly it’s a peaceful place to enjoy nature with your pup. The staff was very friendly. If you have time, and are traveling west when leaving, take their advice and turn left onto 50. It's a very pretty ride. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
A nice state park. Rate reflects price for one of 4 full hookup sites with sewer. 50 amp only receptacles on those, so bring your adapter if you have 30 amp plug and want full hookup. W/E sites are 30 amp only. Bath houses were dated but clean. Great paved hiking/ biking trails throughout the park with some fantastic views of the lake. Great golf course as part of park, also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
We camped here from early Friday afternoon to Sunday morning. Family had the adjoining campsite. We had a nice view of the forest across from our sites 49 and 50. The lake was a few minutes walk away. All sites with a view of the lake, plus the 4 sites with sewer, were already taken by the time we got there. There's a small camp store near the boat dock on the lake. All employees we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful. There were many young families there with children. The children appeared to be enjoying themselves. The campground was clean and it was quiet at night. Pets were kept on leashes. We plan to camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
This may be the best State Park I have stayed in. The sites are paved and wide, 4 are full hook up. First come first serve, no reservations. Fantastic lake with easy access, 5 miles of paved bike trails, and quiet at night. We were there for the change of leaf colors on the trees. It was truly beautiful. The staff is helpful and friendly. There is an on site laundry, but is older and could use some new equipment. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We probably would rate this higher if the golf course had been open. It was closed for 60+ days, as they were redoing the greens. Very nice park. Thought this was a nicer park than Falls Creek Falls. They do have sewer hookups on some of the lots. The lots are A+ and A lots and the price is more for an A+ lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
Large, shaded sites. Some have a view through the trees of Tim's Ford Lake or a foot bridge. Nice paved walking trails. Paved sites are short so you have to remove your truck from the camper and park it crossways in front of your camper. The attendant was very nice. Bathroom #2 was clean, but had no hot water or countertop at the sinks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
Huge state park with tons of hiking trails. Great getaway. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Very family oriented. The bike trails are wonderful. We were there over Memorial Day weekend and had to go on Tuesday to get a spot, since there are no reservations and it fills up quickly. Even though the campground was at capacity, it was quiet and did not seem crowded at all. The sites are spaced nicely from each other and have plenty of room for awnings, slideouts and personal belongings. The patios and sites are paved, the area is very clean. We really enjoyed our weekend in this state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$17
Small State Park Campground. Difficult to get a site as they fill up quickly on Friday afternoons. Paved bike trails along with a boat launch, tackle shop, and swimming pool within State Park (about 3/4 mile from campground by road). Clean and well maintained. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com