218863 User submitted reviews online!!
Angels Camp RV & Camping Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (209) 736-0404
CGID269

Angels Camp RV & Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   6   7   5   7   9   7   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
This is a very nice park. It was clean and the sites were level. You do park on dirt and rock, but for the most part, it was enjoyable. The internet was good as you would expect for an RV park. Lost connection a few times, but that is expected. The showers and bathrooms were clean. Now the con: we were here on a special weekend so the RV park was crowded with motorcoach people and people with tents. You do not want to be assigned (as we were) in space 33 or anything close to that number. Since the road in front of space 33 is dirt and rock, all we saw was dust constantly, kicked up by vehicles going in and out of this area. We could not move because the park was full. Just a warning; other than that I would stay in this park again. We had plenty of room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
Strategically located to visit Calaveras Big Trees State Park, Yosemite, and The Calaveras County Fairgrounds. Wonderful manager and owners, dedicated to constant improvement to the park. Most recent improvements include a community fire pit & large dog park with agility devices. There is a community pavilion with several cook-tops, a playground area for kids, a walking path around a small pond, and a community garden. There are two bath houses, with one being in the main registration building. All facilities are very clean and well maintained. They have 5 small cabins and 2 larger "park models" that are called lodges (bath & kitchen included). The Wi-Fi here is spotty but works best in the main building. The park is located outside the city limits therefore, only DSL is available. We found it to be as good as most RV parks. There are a few permanent tenants but most are located together away from vacationers (a nice strategy). Overall, we liked this park & expect them to continue to get even better with time. It's obvious the owners and manager care a lot about their place and their guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This is an older campground with a number of long term tenants. The campground was adequate, but the price was very high for quality of the campground. There did need to be some minor repairs in the showers, and the electric pedestal only had a 50 amp outlet (had an adapter to 30 amps). Many sites are pull-through and are gravel or dirt. Just was not up to par for the price charged. Our price was after the Good Sam Discount. Prices at this park are as high as $49 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
This campground is very clean and very close to Yosemite. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$44
If I were rating this based on reception from office personnel, from time I called to check-in, it would be a ten. Other than that, I can't say much in favor of the place. I'm amused by the number of places that use the term "resort" for a campground out in the dirt. Any place that today does not offer Wi-Fi will never get a high rating from me. Though Wi-Fi was advertised, I could never get to the Internet though I did get a message I was connected. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Older facility that they are trying to keep up. We camped on the road side and another good weed whipping would not hurt. Sites are narrow especially with the slope from the next site. The flies were terrible during our stay so I deployed the screen room tent. It would not sit level due to the slope and this thing covers a picnic table plus a chair. Sites are not level. I used 4 of those yellow blocks on one side to get it close to level. All the remaining hookups were good. A fire ring is at each site with a picnic table. The road side of the campground is terraced and can get steep when you exit with a rig. Road noise did not really bother us. Quieted down at night. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The back of the campground looked the best. Tenters have it nice. Horseshoes and playset were always busy. A nice community cooking area also available. Restrooms were clean during out stay as well as the showers. The pool was cold even though staff said it was heated. Wi-Fi was unreliable and slow to the point people asked around if anyone could get on. The only answer staff gave was use the outdoor signal (which we were). I loved the view on the back side of the campground of the port-a-pottie storage area. Nothing the owners can do anything about. Angels camp looked like a nice little town. We visited Big Trees and Moaning Cave easily from the campground. We had a little trouble finding the place so if you do and you come from HWY 4, it is a couple hundred yards on the left side of the road just past the Texaco station on the right side of HWY 49. A little confusing, but you will get it. I would stay here again if needed. I would like to see the campground kept up a little better on the road side. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Bathrooms are clean, only three (3) showers; I used my own. Laundry could use another dryer or two (2), but they don’t rip you off, $1.25 to wash and $0.75 to dry. Store is well stocked. Owner and staff are great. It is very quiet, and we are parked down by the road. Have been here for two weeks, and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$41
We had a long, gravel pull through site. There was plenty of room to unhook my truck in front of my 30 foot trailer and park another car behind my trailer. The spot looked uneven. It was much easier to level than I anticipated. It took a one inch board to level my trailer side to side. The site was narrow but I had plenty of room for my slide out. The sites are so narrow, to use the fire pit, you have to plan your rig placement since the unmovable, fire pit is less than three feet from the parking pad. We had hail, rain and snow. More rock on the parking pads would eliminate many muddy puddles. The grass on both sides of the parking pad absorbed the water without becoming muddy. There was no cable TV. Antenna only achieved two Spanish speaking stations. Those in our group with satellite TV had good reception. Wi-Fi did not work at our site. Wi-Fi was acceptable in the club house and outside pavilion. The pedestal at our site only had 50 amp service. The office supplied a 50 to 30 amp adapter at no charge. There was a five dollar charge for a dog. The staff was friendly and the park is centrally located to many attractions. I do not consider this park a “resort” but I would stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$38
Nice little camp ground. Owner and staff very friendly. Sights are narrow and need more gravel as lots of mud around the sites. Wi-Fi is not available in the sites we had. Very limited area of use for Wi-Fi. I think spring and fall would be idea times to visit as long as the rain has stopped. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
The staff here were very friendly and helpful. The sites were mostly terraced and quite narrow. But they were long enough for the kids to set up a tent. (We found a great deal on a tent from Sunrise Camping Gear). It was very hot and there was minimal shade. Some fun things to do in the area. Do not take highway 4 to get here, especially if towing a heavy load. Use highway 12 to 49 as it's way easier. Overall, we weren't too happy with the sites and given the heat and limited nearby attractions, we probably won't come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
This park is going through some upgrades to make the sites better. Site we had, #45, had sewer location near rear of site and about 18" higher than gravel surface, too difficult to dump. Tight site and too short to park truck, needed to use adjacent tent site for truck. Close to historical sites and especially the Willie Nelson Concert in Murphy's. Good roof mounted satellite reception. Would stay here again but at another site that is longer and wider. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
My husband and I camped here over Labor Day Weekend. What a treat. The owner is so friendly as is the staff. They show you the camp site and help with the hook ups. This is a great family park with rules. We would stay here again! Close to everything you might want to see in Gold Country and also to New Melones Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Camped here since we were going boating on New Melones Lake and the campground is right opposite the entrance road to the lake. Nice, simple, rustic little campground. We had a full hookup pull through site which was pretty level. Site was tiered which we always like. Park has older, but nice little pool. Store had very little in the way of supplies but we usually bring all we need. Owners were very friendly. One note- there are a lot of flies in the area so be prepared with fly strips or some other counter-measures. We'd come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
Overall this was a nice park with a friendly staff. The facilities were clean and park maintenance was done daily. They offered a very nice cooking gazebo with 3 stoves and sinks for people who did not bring camping stoves. They also offered cabins for those who did not wish to tent or RV and they offer electricity at some tent sites. The pool and play structure would make this park attractive for families with children. While the park is nice and well maintained a lot of the trees were on the younger side and the sites are a bit close together. Once the trees mature for more shade this park will be even better. The closeness of the sites are generally not a problem, but the camper right next to mine snored very very loud. The gentleman that checked me in gave me the best site for shade in the entire park, which I greatly appreciated. In the future the owner might consider stretching the Wi-Fi out so it can be accessed from the campsites (Internet was only available close to the lodge) and installing cable TV hook-ups. All in all this was a great place to stay. I will go back there at some point and I would recommend this place to my friends. They also offer AAA and Good Sam discounts. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Super friendly staff, nice sites and facilities! Enjoyed our stay, recommended! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We stayed here in June. The owner's told us they had recently taken over the management and it had kind of a disputable reputation. From our experience, the place is now a real nice and tidy one, and the couple running it are gorgeous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Camped here with other members of our RV club. The campground is ideal for RV club rallies. The staff was very helpful. You are escorted to your campsite. Numerous group facilities. It is a great base camp to tour the California Gold Country. Be careful to book away from the new campsites that were being developed until the trees mature. We will return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
We have stayed here a total of 3 times now. It's a great place to stay to see "Gold Country" or a great staging area to go to the Bear Valley/Lake Alpine area in the winter. It's below the snow line, so you can stay here, and take a short drive to the snow. The facilities are very nice and well kept. They even have an Emu (ostrich-like bird) the kids will like. The owner lives on site, is very concerned with making sure you are happy, and seems like a really nice guy; in general. I indicated that there are "shade sides" available, but I would say just barely. There are some sites with trees, but I don't think they will make much of a difference, and am pretty sure this place would be quite hot in the summer. The Wi-Fi might just connect at your site, but will probably only be useful at/near the clubhouse. They have propane available on-site, a small store, and firewood delivered to your site for $10 a box. Reservations on-line were easy. The $40 price was for water/electric only. When I reserved online in the past, I got a AAA discount, but when we just showed up the last time I was told I had to pay cash to get the cheaper price; so you may want to bring cash. We will be staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
We stayed at this RV park for a week and found it clean, well maintained, and with a very friendly and helpful staff. The park has a rustic flavor perfect for the area. Wine grapes grow on site and are quite tasty. The location is convenient to the old historic district in Angels Camp, CA. Water pressure on site was good and voltage was adequate. There's no cable TV, but we were able to receive an amazing selection of digital TV channels (some HD) over the air from Sacramento and presumably Stockton. Each site has a picnic table and a fire ring (with cooking grate). Due to the layout of the sites, the fire rings are located a tad close to the RV's for my personal taste. For example, you wouldn't want to have a campfire with your awning out as the fire would be under the awning! But on the positive side, the layout lends to a cozy private feeling. One downside to this park (and not the fault of the owners) is busy CA Hwy 49 is located right in front of the park. This highway features constant road noise during the day, but thankfully is relatively quiet at night. The Wi-Fi signal was frustrating and I hope the owners will upgrade it! We found it weak and intermittent even when using a high-gain externally mounted Wi-Fi antenna on the top of our travel trailer, which normally pulls in the most troublesome signals: not here! Thankfully AT&T wireless had good coverage here with their Edge data so we could keep in touch with the outside world. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again when visiting the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Friendly owners with a commitment to upgrading and expanding. It was clean and neat, had a small store, propane and group facilities. Gazebo was a great place for a party. Solar powered. Close to historic and natural areas. Tent sites were very nice. Some cabins available. Partial hook-up sites quieter and farther from highway. Convenient to, but not in, town. A few long-term residents and a fascinating Emu! I'd go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
The staff was very friendly. Receiving WiFi was trying at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$37
Booked this campground based on recent reviews and was not disappointed. Park is well maintained with many improvements made by the new owner. Interior roads and sites are gravel. We had premium pull-through site #5, which was level and well shaded on both sides of the rig. Clubhouse, pool, and recreation area is very close, but just far enough so you don’t get much noise. Lots to do and see in the area within an hours drive, such as the town of Murphy, Columbia and Big Trees state parks. WiFi is only available in the clubhouse and a few sites that are very close to the clubhouse. Park is dog friendly. We would definitely camp here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Nice clean park, friendly staff, close to all the Historic sites of the " mother load ". We had a great time and would recommend this park to anyone wanting to explore the Gold Country. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$28
I previously reviewed this park, and gave it a poor review. Now, they have new owners and management, and it is much better maintained. They evicted the permanent campers who did nothing but trash their sites. Well kept, clean and worth the rate. Only reason I didn't give it a higher grade is because of the poor WiFi reception. Only available in the clubhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
The campground and clubhouse were clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Sites were level and easy to park as they were pull through with well designed drives. A couple of minor issues. The park was only 1/2 full but consecutive spaces were assigned. It would have been nice to spread us out a bit more. The park has free WiFi but it is really only usable from the clubhouse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$39
New owners are doing a very good job. Landscaping is well maintained. Lots of shady areas. Innovative terraced area for RV's and large flat area great for groups. We liked it so much we booked for our RV club in October, 2007 and April, 2008. It is a wonderful location with many places of interest within a 1/2 hour drive. Lots of activities going on in that area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$29
Park under new management. Owner upgrading park. Had a swimming pool, no water in it. New owner was on top of things. He was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
We spent the weekend here and were surprised by how nice the place was. Couldn't get wifi at tent sites, but the clean showers and restrooms made up for it. Two types of tent sites, with water and electric, and without. As with most places in spring, bring mosquito coils or other such items. Nice shaded tent sites which you will need in the summer! Nice owners, seems they are getting the hang of running the place well. Plan on returning soon, maybe try a cabin next time. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
The new owners are doing everything they can to improve the park. Cable TV is expected by next year and limited internet access (for sites closest to the office) was available in March, 2007. The fairgrounds are right next to the park and in short walking distance. We were pleased with what found and will certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$99
We recently spent a few days at Angels Camp RV and Camping Resort. I have never meet such wonderful people in my life. The customer service was above and beyond belief. I was truly impressed and would recommend this place to anyone. There is so much to do and the fishing was terrific. I was entertaining customers and was unsure of this place, not knowing what to expect. I will definitely return. My hat is off to the whole crew as they made our trip wonderful! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
I stayed at Angles Camp RV park 3 weeks before, liked it so much I planned a group outing with my fishing club group. Everyone enjoyed the stay, campground host was great, we are now planning a yearly fishing trip to New Melones Res. and will be staying in Angles Camp RV park. Great place for group outings or just camping by yourself, quiet, and beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
Angels Camp was a great place to stay. We are new to RVing and wanted to explore Gold Country. Angels Camp was central to Columbia, Murphy's and New Melones Reservoir. All recommended places to visit and explore. We loved Moaning Caverns. The RV resort is very basic. No fancy lakes to view or history to see on site but it was extremely clean and the new owners are personable, accommodating and friendly. We will stay there again. Truly enjoyed the hospitality. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$29
We enjoy this campground a lot. We have camped here for the past six years, missing just one year when the previous, short term, owners were there. The rates are back in the affordable range and the facilities are back to the great condition they were before the last owners ran the camp. I can heartily recommend the campground for families of all ages. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$33
We have stayed at the Angels Camp RV and Camping Resort several times. Our most recent visit there was our favorite, mainly because the new owners are so hospitable and made us feel so welcome. The highlight for our kids was entering and winning the coloring contest, which entitled them to pick a prize from the owners' treasure chest. The park is clean, quiet, and family-oriented. We look forward to our next trip back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$10
We went as two families and had a great experience. Cabin and the whole site was clean, amenities included play areas on site for the kids and a community cooking area with 3+ burner areas and sinks. Staff was incredibly friendly and always available. The drawing contest for the kids was a nice extra touch. Would recommend for any campers, especially those with kids! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
This is our 5th year spending Thanksgiving week in site #17. We almost didn't go this year because the park was going bad last year with full timer trailer trash people. Heard they had new owners so we gave it another chance this year since we love the area so much. Boy are we glad we did, because they have new owners and the place is back to top notch. The price is back to a fair rate and they have kicked out all the trailer trash live ins, sorry no other way to say it. The place is very well kept, the service couldn't be friendlier and the spaces are far apart and staggered so you don't feel like you are camping in a cramped parking lot. We highly recommended to everyone we met during our 9 day vacation and we'll be returning next year to site #17. Happy Camping everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$61
I took my mother to spend Thanksgiving holiday at Angel's Camp to try out the campground. It was a wonderful experience. The owners where always on hand if you had a question or needed anything. The grounds were very clean. It is a very nice, family park. We stayed in one of the camp's lodges and it was very large and roomy with room for sleeping at least 6. I will be returning to this campground. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$39
I found this campground to be well maintained and the new owner was very friendly, helpful, and kind. The Wifi wasn't working, but that is not uncommon in RV parks. The price was a little high for what you get. The Calaveras County Fair was going on next door and the park was full, but there were no problems with rowdy folks or excessive noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$35
We rolled in, expecting to "check it out" and stay 1-3 nights. We are so pleased with the cleanliness, the hospitality, the location (near historical sites, winter skiing, and fishing), on-site security, and knowledge of the surrounding area given by the management here, that we have elected to stay a total of two weeks. The campground is quiet even though on highway 49. Sites are well-maintained. All in all, a very pleasant stay and we will return when in the area. Park is under new management and any previous complaints should be disregarded! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2006
$49
Way overpriced. Terrible campground, and even with new owners and new management, it is not well maintained. New managers are very green and not familiar with their own campground. Dogs running around loose, dog excrement all over the place. Sites reserved for monthly are trashed, that it is an eyesore. They are supposed to have Wi-Fi, but this is no signal and the management has no idea what to do. This campground is not even close to being a Resort. I DO NOT recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$49
This is the most we've ever paid. Small sites and dirt pads. Nice facilities and lodge. Lots of activities for kids. Nice tent sites. Nice laundry facility. Manager seemed scattered. Stayed one night and found another place for the next 3 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$59
This park has raised their rates every year that they are pricing themselves for weekend rv'ers only. Sites are on a hill and a steep turn to get into the sites. They said that they had wifi and that is the reason we stayed there, but I could not get a signal even in their office. Stayed there for the last time We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$34
We want to share with you an unpleasant experience we had at the beginning of our Memorial Day weekend. We had made reservations (with a deposit and receipt), in March, at Angels Camp RV and Camping Resort just south of Angels Camp, CA. We arrived at 7:00 p.m. Friday evening. We were told they had double booked our reserved space and had no place for us. There were no spaces available and there was nothing they could do for us. The only "help" they gave us was to direct us to the local county fairgrounds for the night. What a disappointment! We were very distraught and frustrated. Their lack of concern was appalling! We will never go back there again! (We did find a place the next morning and managed to salvage our holiday weekend.) We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2003
$33
Park is well maintained and attractive. Camping cabins are nice, and there are even two "log house" cabins (actually small mobile homes) available. Playground, community/large gathering cooking & dining area available. Park would have gotten an 8 if Wi-Fi had been available. Managers were friendly and helpful. I am planning to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com