206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Stillwell Store and RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (432) 376-2244
CGID2691

Stillwell Store and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   4   5   9   9   10   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$23
If you are expecting a posh resort RV Park, don’t come to the Big Bend. This is the Chihuahuan Desert, not Estes Park Colorado. The RV parks that are close to Big Bend National Park are all what would be termed rustic. The desert climate is rough on everything, and everywhere is far away so luxuries are too expensive to ship in. People learn to make do with what they have. That is what most people love about the Big Bend. It is getting away from the rat race. Stillwell Store is nothing fancy. They don’t claim to be. What they are is a no frills full hook-up gateway to Big Bend NP. Basically, you have three options if you want full hookups in the area. They are all widely separated mileage-wise, but are fairly similarly close to the Park Headquarters. Stillwell has the best prices for full hook-ups hands down. They are not owned by the same family anymore, but they do a nice job of making you feel welcome. They may not have the entertainment they had, but give them a chance to get settled, and I’m sure they will get lots of repeat campers. I will be one. I rate them not against the perfect RV Park, but against what is available as local competition. They more than hold their own. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
You'll either love it or hate it here! If you are looking for a quiet, remote camping experience "off the grid," then you'll love it. This park built a reputation as a go-to destination with repeat customers, nightly music, and more. Most of that is in the past because the park is now under new management. It is only open part of the year, and no longer has nightly entertainment. You do get full hookups or W/E only in a very no-frills environment. Most sites are 30 amp but three sites are 50 amp. You'll have no cell phone coverage but good camp WiFi. Bathrooms are pay-for-use so I didn't review them. Fill up your tanks before you come as they have limited unleaded gas and the closest diesel is 30 miles away in Big Bend NP. Closest groceries are in Alpine 75 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
For the life of me I do not understand the high ratings for this park. It is dumpy to be nice. Nothing attractive about it. Old trucks sitting around, two old mobile homes with old tires on their roofs. The pros: only 8 miles to Big Bend NP, full hook-ups and very quiet. Cons: dumpy and that is being nice. No cellular voice or data service. Sites on one side are very close together, on the other side they are spaced further apart, but again run down outbuildings, old trucks and much to be desired in landscaping (there is none). If we wanted to go to Big Bend again, this is close, but it sure does not deserve anything above a 4 or 5 in rating, if that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
Nothing special. Park is run down. Just somewhere to park that has FHU. We had issues with low electric wire as we were trying to park in site. Stayed one night and moved on the down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
We stayed her for 5 nights. It was very rustic/simple with level gravel sites & full hook-ups with absolutely no frills. The service more than made up for it!! We ran out of sandwich bags which we needed for our long hike. The store didn't have them, but the ladies there scrounged around and found just enough! The location just outside Big Bend NP is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
Please note that this RV Park is 85 miles south of Alpine and only about 8 miles from the east entrance to Big Bend National Park. Improvements are constantly being made under new management. It is still owned and managed by the Stillwell family but the grandchildren of Hallie Stillwell are now running the park. (W.T. died last winter) They have just bought several travel trailers and fifth wheels to rent out for those that need phone service, buy a MagicJack and bring a "real" telephone and your notebook computer and it will work with the free high speed Wi-Fi system. Cordless phones will not work as they kick you off the Wi-Fi since they are on the same frequency. This was our 10th year and the Whitfords from Reed City, MI, were there most every evening to provide music. Every one gets to know everybody else and it is really a great place to spend some time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$27
What a great place! Everyone is friendly and introduces themselves. At 8 most evenings there was live music in the museum followed by a camp fire. The view across the valley was wonderful with the far mountains about 17 miles away. And talk about quiet: I never even heard a jet overhead. There was almost no traffic on the ranch road out front. There was even security with a deputy sheriff living here. One afternoon, I just went over to the store/office, bought a cold beer for $1.25 and set on the porch in a rocker, reading. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$19
As a frequent Big Bend National Park visitor, I have stayed here on many occasions over the past 4-5 years. This year I was pleasantly surprised by the new WiFi booster that allows me to use my computer in my travel trailer. It is probably the best WiFi performance I've had at any RV park. And, considering that you can't get a cell phone signal here, it's pretty impressive! You won't meet any nicer people anywhere (campers and staff) than you will meet at this park. I have developed some close friendships over the years and now consider this place like a second home. One camper compared their experience here to being at summer camp. No, it's not the fanciest place, but it is honest and fun. As many of us often remark, people either "get it" or they don't. The ones that do are rewarded with an incredible camping experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$19
This is a very unusual RV park, right at the north entrance to Big Bend National Park. It's part of an old working ranch, and has a lot of history to it. It is not fancy, but the people who own it, and those who come back year after year, make it worth a stay. The only downside is that the restrooms and showers need some upgrading. They have a store with a few grocery items, and gasoline, but you had better plan on bringing everything else you may need with you because the closest town is Marathon, which is 45 miles north, and the closest grocery store is Alpine, which is 75 miles northwest. WiFi can be obtained near the store, but it's doubtful that you will get any cell signal. This place is a real diamond in the rough, but it's fun and very interesting, and we will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$16
This RV park is great. The museum is very interesting and gives you a feel for what it was like to live in the area many years ago. The Stillwell family still runs the park and love to talk about the history of the area. The mornings and evenings in the desert are beautiful. We were the only RV in the park and loved the isolation. It was very quiet and the stars at night were fantastic. The park is close to Big Bend National Park and is convenient in that respect. My sister recommended that we stay here. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
We like staying at places that are not like any other, and Stillwell fit the bill. We arrived at the end of spring break and stayed in the almost empty W&E sites ("The Strip"). Prefer the elbow room rather than FHUs and being packed in between Class A's. Loved the delightful musical entertainment, but be forewarned: your participation, at least on the Saturday night we attended, is required (singing or dancing). A lot of fun. We were happy we stayed here rather than moving into the park as spaces opened up. The museum is interesting; the outdoor cafe wasn't open; the store is pretty bare bones, so stock up ahead of time. The electric boxes in our part of the strip were brand new and worked well; water pressure was, indeed low, but it is the desert after all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
Better than the sites we checked out in Big Bend. Close enough to the park for sightseeing. Family friendly and extremely "homey". We were happy that Big Bend NP was full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
We stayed at this park based upon the reviews we read. The park is part of the 12,000 acre Stillwell Ranch. We stayed in a W&E only site. The “campground” is basically a very large gravel parking lot with side-by-side hookups. The W&E sites are located across the street from the store. The very limited FHU sites are next to the store and are also site-by-side hookups on gravel. Electric was so-so. Our surge guard protector kicked in and shut power to the rig twice. Water pressure was low, so much so that you didn’t need a pressure regulator. Free Wi-Fi is available in the store area and was very good. No Verizon cell phone access. The Stillwell family is very welcoming and accommodating. People have been coming here for years for that reason and not because of the campground or its facilities. There are scheduled lectures given by the park service since the family has a very tight relationship with the park; guests provide musical entertainment; a local rancher and archaeologist may also give a lecture. We arrived four days before the start of spring break. The W&E sites were nearly empty. However, the W&E sites filled up with the start of spring break which made it feel very crowded especially with side-by-side hookups. Nevertheless, it is a good place to stay based upon the location. Avoid spring break or other major holidays and you’ll be fine. We would camp here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
The rate shown reflects a daily rate for less than 1 week. Pay this rate for 6 nights and receive the 7th night for free. I spent 15 nights at this wonderful campground near the northern entrance to Big Bend National Park, 6 miles east of US 385 on RR 2627. What this park lacks in frills it more than makes up for in the exceptional personalities of the owners, staff and campers who come here from all over the country year after year to enjoy the beauty of the area and the company of each other. Nightly live music, singing, regular visits from interesting "locals," the February trail ride, complete with chuck wagon meals and a dance, not to mention Nan's famous burritos, all add up to an incredibly unique experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
I have rated this a 10 because of the people, the area, and the entertainment. We came for a week and will be here almost three when we leave. A husband and wife team provide guitar picking music nearly every night. The owners are very welcoming. The history of this ranch is worth the trip itself as are the forays into Big Bend Park, Alpine and the area. The Texas Trail Riders had a big do going on while we were here so we had access to Chuckwagon BBQ and a Cowboy dance which was all so unexpected when we came. The place was recommended to us and we thank that person for the recommendation. We would definitely come here again!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
This is a funky cowboy/horse area type campground property. There is a small store and "museum" on property - usually live music at night in the "museum", along with story-telling, DVD's of local interest. Often meals are available too, home cooked by the owner (who is very friendly.) It is a freat way to enter eastern entrance (at end of 385 from Marathon) of Big Bend. You might be parked next to a horse trailer. Email in advance for more information before you come - long way back to Marathon or Alpine. Full hookups 50amp, and less, available on dirt parking lot surrounded by desert and mountains. There are no real park facilities, but you are in the middle of nature and with fun-loving and amusing people who stay here - it's a real experience you aren't likely to find anywhere else. We would definitely come again. This listing should probably be under Big Bend National Park or Marathon, not Alpine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$17
6 miles from east entrance of Big Bend National Park. Our group was there for 13 nights. Most nights there was live music at the museum. Most sites are pull throughs with side by side pedestals. We have stayed here for 6 years and meet many of the same people on return trips. Everyone if friendly and helpful. It's just a laid back desert environment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
Utilities worked just fine. Nan in the store is fantastic. Needs tv and internet to be more than a stopover place. Location is right at the entrance to Black Gap and 8 miles from Big Bend. Beats staying in the Bend campgrounds of RGV or Cottonwood with no utilities for $14. It is a very adequate stopover place with very friendly folks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
Great place to stay. Owner emailed me with information about groceries. No running down to the 7-11 here! 46 miles to the Marfa IGA. Park was clean and people were very friendly. There are campers that come here year after year. I loved the remoteness and the quiet. Gathering around the front porch at night was fun and something that I had not done since I was a kid. Yes, there are scorpions and snakes and other wildlife. If these things bother you stay home! This is the remote desert and they are a part of it. Yes, ants too. I will be coming back later this year to spend a couple of months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2007
$17
I don’t get how anyone could rate this park a 9. . This is a little store a long way from anywhere with RV spaces, some have full hook ups including 50 amp power. The spaces are narrow but long enough to fit big rigs (we camped there in a 37ft 5th wheel) The spaces are small enough that you share your picnic table with your next door neighbor. Don’t even think about using the park showers! There are ants all over the ground in and around the spaces. Having said all that, there are very few options in this area and it will do if you are visiting Big Bend NP. It’s right outside the entrance but sill 35 miles from the Park Headquarters. The hook ups worked and the water even tasted good. Be careful when you are hooking up to the water and sewer. The hookups are below ground, I had to chase a scorpion out of the water hook up box. If you plan to stay here, lower your expectations and you won’t be disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$17
Stayed 3 nights a lot better than sites in Big Bend We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$17
We had 5 rigs and a group of tent campers. Most of us stayed 6 nights. I don't understand the last post that questioned the campground location. Other posts made it clear that this RV Campground is not at Alpine, but 90 miles away. The post office for that part of the country is "Alpine". It is used by people who come here year after year and we have made friends with people from across the country. This is the best campground as far as meeting other RV'ers that we have visited. Our dog even has found a steady boyfriend here. This was our 5th year. Some people stop there for one night prior to trying to get into the RV Park at Rio Grande Village (the section with water and electricity). Many stay here after they see that RGV is an asphalt parking lot with electric pedestals behind the curb you back up to. We will return next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2007
$28
I do not understand the 10 ratings on this park. Granted it seems there are no good campgrounds around Big Bend but this place was a gravel parking lot. There are only two 50 amp service sites and this side of the park (feet from the remote road) are very close together and difficult to get in or out of. The staff are very friendly but we would never stay here again. This park is not even near Alpine. Actually closer to Marathon. About 9 miles from the east entrance to Big Bend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2006
$24
This park IS NOT in Alpine, it is just outside the entrance to Big Bend Nat'l Park. Can accommodate and size RV. This is really remote, about 40 miles to the closest town (Marathon). They have their own small store and gas pumps. Also have a museum dedicated to Hallie Stillwell. Beautiful, stark scenery. Go to the end of the road and see La Linda, Mexico ghost town across the Rio Grande. Great place to get away from it all. Run by the Stillwell family. It may not be everyone's cup of tea, since it is so remote, but I loved it! Great place to start exploring Big Bend National Park. Horsebackers and river rafters welcome. Lots of local character and characters! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$17
We camped here from April 12th thru April 21st. It was hot and windy, but we had a wonderful time. When our toad died on us in the park, we called the office and W.T. Potter sent someone to tow us back to the park. They had a problem with the well blowing a fuse and worked hard to get the water pressure back up after the fuse was replaced. We sat on the porch every evening, visited and ate ice cream. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy considering that the temperature was up to 106 and most people left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2005
$16
Not at Alpine, Texas but 90 miles southeast. About 9 miles from the Highway 385 entrance to Big Bend Nat'l Park. Nearest town is Marathon, 40 miles north. We have stayed there 3 times. This past stay was for 10 days. We were with a group of RV's and tent campers. They always had 35 to 40 RV's. This park has more space than the RV park in Big Bend. It is in a remote area and there is some hiking that can be done on the Stillwell Ranch. Black Gap Wildlife Management area is only a few miles south, with the road ending at La Linda, a former Rio Grande River crossing, 23 miles to the south. We use this campground while touring and hiking on the east side of Big Bend. We find the staff to be friendly and they do have a store with supplies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Gravel parking lot with hookups, small narrow sites. Owners were friendly. Have Hattie Stillwell Museum you can visit. Right outside Big Bend - convenient for early entry to get campsite there! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com