214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Austin Lone Star RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 116 user reviews. Phone: (512) 444-6322
CGID2699

Austin Lone Star RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
158
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   7   10   9   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
Overall a very good park. Sites were very spacious and long enough to hook up vehicle to camper at your site and drive off. Paved roads, nice pool, nice staff. Easy on and off interstate. All sites are about the same. Most trees not big enough to affect satellite reception, but plenty of cable channels. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Pros: The sites are wide enough and long enough for our 39 in trailer. There is a sense of privacy with trees or brushes. They recently paved the roads into the campground. Great locations close to downtown. Our son lives near campus and other relatives live south of the city. The campground is in between those locations. The staff was top notch, very friendly, and helpful. Cons: no real organized activities. We guess because there is this great city to explore. One third of the park is "monthly" residences. They go to work. Some of the rigs were older but clean. Not sure if we'd camp there again when we come back to the city. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$50
Most reviews here are pretty accurate about the park. It's older, narrow roads, etc. but very well kept and friendly staff. Sites we've stayed in are long enough for our fifth wheel, 34' plus truck without sticking out. Water pressure is high, make sure your regulator is not worn out. Wi-Fi worked fine, I didn't use it much as my phone got 4G pretty much throughout the park. It's a little farther out than I wanted to stay. We usually like to stay at other RV parks closer to downtown in Austin, but due to a car show being it Austin most were booked up. We actually lucked out, they told us they had a cancellation and were able to get us in and the spot was, "one of the best". I didn't notice it being really anything "...of the best". The only cons are: the restrooms are clean but a little dated; this was obviously a KOA in the past. We came in after going downtown, around 8:30-9:00 p.m. to a heated pool that closed at 5:15, which I thought was odd. Not odd that it was closed by 9:00 p.m. so much, but that it closed at 5:15 in the afternoon. Swim early I guess. Overall nice park...Resort - no, Park - yes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$65
Overall good. Very tight conditions. The person next to me was parked in front of his rig and I had to do some maneuvering to get out. Saturday breakfast was delicious, staff was friendly. Right next to the XXX shop, which I really didn't appreciate. This campground is on the South end of Austin right on I-35. Always, always traffic getting into and out of the park, but that's Austin. Right next to Home Depot, which ended up being convenient. Freeway noise always evident. Walmart and Walgreens close by also, but will still take you 15 minutes to get through because of traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Price reflects the monthly rate. We stayed over 2 1/2 months and had a magnificent experience. Super friendly staff as well as residents. Sites were roomy and level. On-site propane is a huge plus, and the staff will pick up, fill, and return your bottles. Prices were some of the lowest we've seen in the country. Trash can be picked up from your site every day so long as it's out by 10 AM. The on-site workout room is well kept and very handy. There is also a rec room with a pool table, ping pong, and dart board. The pool was closed for the winter, but looked like it would be very nice in the summer. Location is handy for visiting downtown, various malls, COTA, restaurants, and grocery stores. Decent highway access too. Very clean restrooms, showers, and laundry room. The grounds are very well kept and it shows that the managers take great pride in their park, and will do everything to make your stay a great one. Wi-Fi is TengoInternet, which worked as any TengoInternet site does. Had a very strong 4G signal as a backup. This is one of the best RV parks we've stayed at after traveling all over the country. The staff sets a very high standard, and we will most definitely return next time we're in Austin. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
Price reflects a discount. Long pull-through sites with grass and a picnic table. Used the cable. It is gated 24/7 and close to downtown Austin. They had a breakfast for $2 a person on Saturday. We have stayed here before and would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$42
Loved how close this clean Resort was from Austin. Didn't find a thing wrong. Asked for a level site, got one. Asked to be away from the action, got it. Loved the clean showers and lots of front loading washers and dryers, huge dog park, free coffee in the office in the morning, easy maneuvering roads, well lit and quiet. A true resort with picnic areas, pool, event facility, putting green, cabins. Nothing lacking and will return our next time through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$43
Nice place, well kept. Site was level and well taken care of. Employees were very helpful. Very pleasant place. I really liked the Dog pen next to the Laundry. Turn them loose and do your Landry. Only thing found wrong were some of the outside roads needed some work, but think they'll get that taken care of before long. I would return here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Very clean, quiet campground close to downtown Austin. Sites are very small, nothing special. Very friendly helpful staff. Wi-Fi extremely slow. We enjoyed our stay and used this campground to be close to our granddaughter and were only there late evenings until mid morning so we found it adequate for our needs. Laundry Room was clean and reasonably priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Beautifully landscaped and maintained park in close proximity to the city of Austin. Clean, friendly, just a nice place overall. Lots of trees, shrubs and flowers throughout. If we ever roll through Austin again, we'd use this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$39
Staff was friendly and helpful but check in took a long time. Security gate is not really secure as anyone could easily walk around it and it is trouble to use. WI-Fi didn't work most of the time. They use Tengointernet service that restricts usage. We will not stay here again because we need a good WI-Fi connection that works and allows us to use it as we wish! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
Nice, older campground. Sites were level, with older trees for shade, somewhat making entry and leaving a little close. Although near the highway, the trees knocked out most of the noise. We enjoyed our visit, and would stop here again. Escort to your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$45
The front desk clerk was very rude on our arrival and the person who directed us to our site was very officious. On the other hand the park is clean and safe and is convenient to I-35. The park is probably overpriced but is definitely secure with a security gate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$44
I have stayed here on 2 occasions. Close to I-35 but quiet. Gated entry is relaxed; many cars came in without asking. Quiet, everyone staying was respectful, the staff were cheerful. I have always felt welcomed. Close to downtown. It's an older park and there are several more permanent residents. Shady, and clean and level pull throughs. I will stay again next year. Used to be a KOA. Well kept and has upgraded electrical utilities and cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
The location is close to many restaurants, stores, and shopping. Very friendly check in staff and grounds maintenance staff - they get 5 stars. Sites have large trees,so you might need to maneuver for satellite TV. Many full time residents, and park was full the night before we arrived, so I was glad I had made reservations in advance. There are 2 dog parks, plus play ground area. We have stayed there many times as the RV park is close to family. Price paid reflect military discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
We had stayed at a Carefree Resort RV park in Fort Worth, so decided to stay at another in Austin. The staff was amazing, especially one gentleman who helped us set up our TV, even showing us were our antenna reset switch was located in our new 5th wheeler. The park is nice with level concrete pads. The only comment would be that the sites are a little close and the way out is a little convoluted. Like with most Carefree Resorts, there are a number of permanents living at the park, but they were all very friendly. We would definitely return and stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$70
We stayed here during the Formula 1 Race in Austin. Rate was high but hotel rooms were 3-5x rack room rate during the race. Campground was fully booked - I waited 9 months to get a cancellation. They had three people in golf carts meeting you at the entrance - immediately took you to our space - let you check in later. Process was exceptionally well managed. Pull thru with my 45 footer and Honda was roomy and adequate. Yes - a bit older resort and roads in the back section were a bit trashed but office staff were exceptionally helpful. Immediately off Interstate 35 - but noise was not that bad and very convenient. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$44
This is an excellent park to stay in. We have stayed here multiple times without any problems. It is clean and the staff is always helpful and friendly. If you have a satellite dish on top of your RV; many of the spots will have trees in the way and you will not be able to get a line up for a signal from the satellite. They serve an excellent pancake breakfast on the weekends. We will definitely stay here again. Definitely call ahead for a reservation during the college football season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Main reason we came here was for the hot tub, found out when we arrived that it no longer works and they probably will not fix it. Would have stayed longer but after finding that out, we left the next morning. It was a good thing we still had water in the fresh tank as the park was without water for the night. Will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
This is an older campground and has somewhat narrow interior roads, but adequate. Mature trees and bushes, level sites and main exit road is in very good shape, but adjacent roads need work. I gave this park an 8 because their office hours are 8a to 6p and not all travelers are in at that time, especially if you get caught up in Austin's rush hour traffic!! For this type of business someone should be there until 8:30 or 9:00 p.m. Due to the extreme heat, the power caused the lights to dim and brighten intermittently. I was far enough back that I did not hear the I-35 traffic. I think I would try some other park as getting to park requires you to back track if you are southbound on I-35 and then you have to go north cross over I-35 to head south again. A lot of extra driving for a KOA type price such as this one has. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Have stayed here before as close to daughters. New paved main road nice otherwise side roads in park need replacing. Lots of trees. Staff gets A+. Greets you in drive way and escorts you to parking site, helps with hookups and offers lots of local information. Gated at all times. Lots of trees. Might be considered a bit tight,but we will stay there whenever we are on that side of Austin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
We stayed here overnight while visiting relatives in Austin. The gentleman that greeted us was very friendly and took us right to our spot, even doing so before requiring us to check in. The lady checking us in was quite friendly as well, and explained all the amenities very well. The park has lots of trees that create a nice shade canopy, and the pull-through spot had enough room to stack our 27' trailer and crew cab F-150. There was a nice selection of cable channels and the Wi-Fi was nice and strong for our iPads. The roads are a little narrow, but the signage makes it easy to understand how to maneuver through the park when exiting. Even though the location is right off I-35, we only heard road noise infrequently (mainly when big rigs went by) and it was not enough to disturb our rest. All in all, a nice park, and one we will stay at again when we have the occasion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
This is a very nice park. The roads are paved and the sites are gravel, shaded, and spacious. We didn’t notice when we had neighbors or when they came and went. The park is gated. The pool is clean, but was not heated. We were at the front of the park so the interstate 35 traffic noise was noticeable in the morning. Cable had 60+ stations! Wi-Fi was excellent. The bathrooms/showers are individual and clean. Laundry clean, but a bit cozy. Just 5 miles from the capitol so the location was excellent. Also close to Walmart, grocery and restaurants. Staff was very friendly. Rate was Passport America rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
Nice park with little freeway noise. The slide out was a little too close to the picnic table, so had to walk around it into our neighbors area a bit. The laundry room was a tad worn but very clean. Had to use a magnetic card for entry ($20 cash deposit). Very friendly folks. It's just far enough outside of Austin to miss rush hour traffic. Quiet and level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$50
The people working at this park were very friendly and helpful. The trees were beautiful and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$44
Stayed here for a convention as I was not paying 200 bucks a night for a sleazy hotel. The park is busy, narrow roads, quite cozy. Everyone was friendly. Close to I-35 but not noisy. Lots of trees which is a plus in Texas. Some long termers here but great people. Gated, which I liked and is somewhat dark, not really lighted which made for some great rest and sleep. Wireless internet was good, not fantastic but for email and light surfing, it was fine. I will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$37
This is the best park we have ever seen. On arrival, a workcamper led us to our pull-through site and answered all our questions, then we went back to the office to register and pay. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, with lots of suggestions on what to see, where to park, etc. in Austin. The Wi-Fi worked perfectly, as did the cable TV channels, with reception getting better after dark. We had our rig serviced at the local Buda Camper Clinic II, only 7 miles away, but ended up staying longer here because we liked it so much. The front office even accepted some packages for us from UPS. There is a fitness room off the main office where my husband enjoyed their workout equipment and weights. There are probably a dozen or so full private baths, including showers in each one, which means no waiting even in the morning "rush hour" and the bathrooms were always clean. The sites are nicely separated with mature trees and hedges, so you aren't looking into your neighbor's windows. The only downside is beyond the campgrounds' control - the noise from the I-35 freeway - but by the end of our stay, we got used to it. I rate this an A+ resort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$37
Most professional staff we have ever dealt with. Road noise from 10 lanes of high-speed traffic just outside of grounds is the only reason we don't rate it a 10. Lots of shopping and great restaurants nearby. Downtown Austin is only a few miles away. We liked the resort and Austin so much that we stayed 2 weeks rather than our planned 1. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$34
Easy location off freeway in South Austin. Staff get a 5*. Grounds well maintained but the interior streets are in bad condition, but the resort said that was the next repair. New rally addition to office. Sites are gravel. Some recent replaced power stations. They suggest you use a pressure regulator on water. Shade trees in summer. This location is near daughter, so we have stayed here several times. Electronic gate at entrance, so secure. Easy Sat. and Wi-Fi reception. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
Apparently this is the park closest to Austin. It is old so the spaces are very close and the roads are narrow and in need of repair. That said, the staff was wonderful, allowed us to stay long after check out to await our car repairs. Shower facilities were excellent. Right off the highway, but not noisy. It was winter so we did not see the other facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
The park is nice, and the weekend breakfast is great. I was lucky enough to be able to maneuver the narrow roads and park my RV in a shaded site, so no complaints there. I would stay again mostly based on the location, however it's a little pricey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Nice Office and the best weekend breakfast I've ever experienced in a campground. Overpriced for the resorts' condition. Roads inside the park are very rough and narrow. Some sites very small and too close together. Cable TV was very fuzzy/snowy; I opted to bring in off-the-air TV for a better signal. Bath house I used was clean and nice enough. Big Rigs may have trouble maneuvering due to other vehicles parked nearby. Had to ask folks to move their vehicles so I could park my 5th Wheel. Some very old trailers parked in here, and looking at them, many may never move again. RV parking sites are on coarse gravel. My site had no patio to speak of, just an old nasty fire ant infested picnic table on loose gravel that awaits one wrong move to give you a splinter. Lots of trees in the park, but I was one of the few that had full sunshine on my rig most of the day. Choices in this area of Austin are few, so I would likely stay here again if I want to spend time in a very interesting area of a terrific and weird City of Austin. Really need to bring these prices down though, and do something about the fire ants. I've stayed at many nicer places at much lower rates, but not in Austin. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Nice shady park with bushes separating the sites. Friendly staff, easy check in. The only complaint is currently they are putting in new wiring and water, and are leaving some mud around. So be careful as it will track into your rig. Would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
This is a clean, safe, generally quiet park with very accommodating and friendly staff. The location is convenient for South Austin. There are a variety of sites; most are gravel, shaded, and fairly level. The rate is for a monthly stay, including electric. The main road is wide and in good condition, but the side roads are narrower and bumpy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
Very friendly and helpful staff! Wonderful pool, beautiful trees, delicious breakfast on weekend. On busy highway, but road noise not a problem. Well maintained. Knew this place back when it was a KOA; it was good then and is better now because the trees and shrubs have grown. Definitely will stay here again and will recommend it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$42
The Park is clean and very well run. Good pull thru sites. Lots of shade! Roads are a little rough but still usable. The only negative I had was the man who took us to our site could have been friendlier. We would definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$21
PA rate for four nights. Older park but very well maintained. In the back there is plenty of room for Big Rigs and very little highway noise. Gravel sites with cement patios. Clean restrooms and clubhouse. Nice workout room with equipment. Very convenient to downtown Austin. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$42
Lovely trees so lots of shade. Very clean and welcoming. Quiet, even though you are right on the freeway. Best in Austin. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Nice clean RV Park. Friendly staff. Will return soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
We stayed here summer of 2010 and again on Thursday and Friday before Easter 2011. Resort was not full. Has very nice folks. This is a older RV park and for us the location was prime factor in the selection. It is close to daughters home. The road in and out of the parking area is narrow and tight. We have levelers as some sites are unlevel. There are lots of trees, so we had to park so the satellite dish would get clear reception. There are many long term RV's. It is quiet at night. Has the best $2 breakfast. Has some recent remodeling to office area. Easy to find as this Resort fronts on the feeder road of the freeway. It's gated at night and has good WiFi reception. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$42
Great place to be. Office help is friendly and a great breakfast is available for $2 a person: Friday, Saturday and Sunday. 24-hour gated park, which is nice. Even though it is located on Interstate 35, it was quiet where we were parked. Several people saw wild turkeys in the park but we didn't. We recommend this and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
Just stayed one night. Park is extremely crowded with not much room to "breathe." We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$21
Price reflects Passport America discount. Interior roads paved but not smooth. CG has many trees, but our spot in the back (140) had good satellite reception. WiFi (free Tengonet) was fair. Verizon air card was fine. Staff couldn't be nicer. Has propane delivery at your site every Tuesday. Daily trash pick up at the site. Many Class A's here. No noise from I-35 in the back sites. You are given a entry gate card under $20 deposit during your stay. Picnic tables and grill at each site. Very nice CG: would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$42
We stayed here for five nights over Thanksgiving weekend. The sites are not particularly level, but the ones toward the front have nice high hedges that make the sites feel more private. Paved sidewalk to the bathroom is nice. Picnic table at site is also welcome. There is a glaringly bright street lamp right over our site (#23) that made it a little hard to sleep, and the road noise from I-35 is fairly loud. The bathrooms are okay. Showers vary from ice cold to scalding hot from moment to moment. Hard to take a shower without freezing or getting burned. Some showers don't work. Laundry room is nice. Older machines but pleasant laundry facilities and machines worked well. They have propane available and were nice enough to put freeze warnings on everyone's RVs. Kind of pricey. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$21
This park has it all. Beautiful big shady private sites. Wonderful friendly helpful staff. Laundry room A-1. Showers and washrooms spotless. The only problem is the Interstate. It's loud all the time. No difference in the middle of the night. It's not the park's fault. of course. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$38
When we pulled in we were met by the host at the gate and escorted to a wonderful site and guided into the site. We were told to check-in when we had time. We setup, walked the dogs, rested a little and went to the office to check-in. They were very friendly and helpful and told us about a great restaurant. The roads were narrow but the corners were very wide. No problems while we were leaving with the toad hooked up, (55+ feet). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
Agree that the park is no 10, but the folks working here are 10's. The sites here vary and some are much nicer than others. Note that a $20 cash deposit is required for the gate card. This is a good value with Passport America given its location in Austin. We had a 30 amp back in site with water, sewer, CATV and WiFi. There was very good separation between the back in sites with large bushes providing good privacy. We did get a lot of road noise from I-35. The interior roads are very narrow and exiting has you going to the back of the park and then back down the center. We had the breakfast on Friday morning before leaving, great value for $2. Pancakes, biscuits and gravy, danish, muffins, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee and tea. Good access into the city by crossing over I-35 a few lights west and then a right on Congress, this takes you straight to the State Capitol building and is an easy drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
There is no way this park should be rated a 10. The sites are gravel, including the patios, and very narrow. Interior roads are narrow with very tight turns and badly in need of maintenance. This is compounded by some campers parking their vehicles extending into the streets and the staff apparently doesn't care. Additionally, the park is right next to I-35 so there is a lot of road noise. If you must stay here try to get a site towards the back. For dog owners be aware there is very little grass but they do have a dog run. The best part of this campground is the staff. They are very friendly and helpful. We would not stay here again, it is highly overrated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
I wish I could live in this campground I loved it so much. I went for 3 days and stayed 6. The employees couldn't have been nicer, and they keep it pristine. There's a little off leash dog park. The WiFi is excellent. The location is easy to get to downtown. The spaces are wide and long and landscaped so they are private. Lots of trees but still sites where rooftop satellites get a signal. I hated to leave! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
This is an absolutely beautiful, surprisingly quiet oasis park right off the frontage road of northbound I-35. Every employee is positive & helpful. One of the cleanest parks we've stayed in in 34 years of RVing. We arrived as Hurricane Alex sent a terrific wave of humid, hot weather alternating with rainy, hot weather; stuck inside much of the time. We appreciated the extra-wide pull-through spaces with grassy lawns and mature trees. Very private feeling here. On weekends & holidays the rate jumps to $50/night; however, we still feel it was well worth the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
Staff was very friendly, helpful and efficient! Has lots of shade trees. Park is gated. Washers in laundry were small and expensive for the size. But over all, a very pleasant place to stay. Will do it again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This is just an update, we've stayed here a few times when attending events in Austin that run into the early morning hours. We stayed this time while attending Pecan Street Festival on 6th Street. Park hosts are accommodating, not overbearing. Secure entrance, facilities clean, park is not cluttered with trash and it is close to just about everything in Austin. We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Nice park with the most friendly staff. We are fulltimers and when we arrived we were greeted with warm smiles and lots of information on things to do in the area. The park is neat and the laundry room is kept cool and clean. The location is close to South Congress and we would definitely come back again and stay for another month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
Great campground conveniently located on the south side of Austin on route I-35. Has very friendly and helpful staff. The campground has nice level sites with shade and there's a small heated pool and hot tub by the office. The only negative was that the roads were rough and needed resurfacing, but we were told that's on the agenda for this year. We'd certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$38
We were in the Austin area to visit family and have our MH serviced. This park provided just what we needed. Easy access to I-35, yet you don't hear it. Interior roads are a bit narrow and in need of repair, but we came and went in our 40-footer without any trouble. Just take it slow. Once we were in our site, there was plenty of room. Staff is friendly. Weekend breakfasts are a tasty deal. And, we met some very friendly, fellow campers here. This will be our park of choice whenever we're in Austin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$50
We stayed here while attending SXSW (Music/Film Festival), and our stay started off with a negative taste in our mouths. Upon making our online reservation at the rate quoted, they called us saying the rate would be even higher because they were so busy. With no other options near town available, we had no choice but to reluctantly accept it. We were placed in the front of the park, which is quite noisy from interstate traffic. (Further back gets much quieter). The sites are fairly well spaced, but pretty packed in too, and there's nice trees and bushes between them. The WiFi worked fine, facilities were clean and the staff was super friendly. The bathrooms where private shower/toilet suites: quite nice. The hot tub was however, closed our entire stay. Getting in and out of the park is frustrating, as you have to travel about 3 miles further to get back on the frontage road when coming in from the north. While there is a back entrance that would make things easier, it's locked. Families be warned: there's an adult megastore right next door. All and all: we would consider this park as a last resort when staying in Austin. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$50
We needed to find a campground to stay at because our family was flying in to stay with us in Austin. This campground was wonderful! The staff was the most friendly I've encountered for a LONG time...they were so kind, welcoming, and sweet with our kids. We loved the pancake breakfast too! It's a very well kept park. It was a bit spend (more than their normal rate) because we were there in March (they don't accept discounts during that month because they are so busy). The Wi-Fi worked well for us most of the time, the laundry facilities were nice, and the trash pick up in the morning was an unexpected bonus. The pool was not open while we were there, but it looked very clean and nice. We would definitely consider staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$21
A wonderful place to stay. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. The campground was protected by security access gates. The sites were roomy with plenty of trees and vegetation. The sites were level. On the other hand, the interior roads were a bit rough and there was puddling on our site from the rain. The rate reflects our Passport discount. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
This was an okay park. The lots and roads are narrow. I had a hard time getting the motorhome in and out of the lot onto the park's road. I didn't notice any road noise even though we were sort of close to the interstate. The staff was friendly. One peculiar thing about staying there. The staff requires a $20 deposit in cash for an entry card that has to be returned during office hours. Returning the entry card was an irritation.I might pick another park for multiple days. I must admit the dog park was a huge plus for our dogs. The price reflect Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$33
This park is in no way a "resort." This is not a destination park, it's a great place to stop by if you need to be in the area, but it's pricey, the interior roads are horrible. The pool was closed for the winter, as was the hot tub, but even if it was open, it would be locked down at 7 pm. But in order to get to anywhere in Austin, be prepared for the congested Interstate 35 traffic and anyplace you need to visit is on the other side of town. I don't think I'd stay here again, there are other parks here in Austin that aren't as expensive and are twice as nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$50
Secure, quiet, private level sites with plenty of space for awning and picnic tables. Level, easy in/out with space for dingy. Tight to exit but no real problem. Close to everything, right on access road to I-35. No road noise carried through the campground. Were there for a week and loved it. My huskies loved the cool, shaded spot and nice walks around the campground. Breakfasts were fantastic! We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
This was our second time here. What a wonderful place to stay near the city. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The road could use updating, but keep the traffic slow. The park is immaculate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$47
Over all a very friendly staff. The roads in the park are a little narrow but the sites are large and shaded as well as large shrubs on both sides, so it give you a feeling of being alone. Trash is picked up from in front of sites daily. The only draw back is some of the sites have old utility connections requiring you to get on your knees to hook up and the boxes are sharp enough to cut you ( personal experience). Over all though, this was a pleasant stay and we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Stayed one night. I am usually a recreational camper who prefers state parks. But I needed a place close to Austin to stay while attending ACL Music Festival. By far exceeded my expectations. Staff was very friendly and helpful upon check in and getting us to our spot. Great pull through site. Plenty of trees throughout campground. Great bathhouse set up and very clean. Would highly recommend and will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Great park, looks to be an old KOA. Well manicured, lots of trees, but if you know how to drive it's not a problem. It is close to I-35, but when in the park I didn't really notice it. Facilities were clean. We stayed here while going to an event on 6th Street. Management is all you could hope for. We will be back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
Daily rate reflects club discount. This park is all others say when it comes to quiet on the interstate and ease of use. We enjoyed our stay here and were well pleased with the friendly staff and the facilities. We really enjoyed our stay and all that this area offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
This resort is an oasis of calm and shade in the middle of a concrete jungle of big box retail and development. It's conveniently located off the interstate, not far from downtown. But, we didn't notice any traffic noise while we were there. All the sites are large, level pull-throughs with full hook-ups. The campground is very secure with badge access gates and key codes on the bath houses. They offer yummy weekend breakfasts at a reasonable price. The Front Desk staff was awesome. The Passport America rate of $20 was quite a bargain (half price) for what you get. You can even buy a Passport America membership there and use it immediately. The only negative comment we can make is that the roads were a little rough and had some potholes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
The was one of the best experiences we ever had in a commercial RV park. The park with in excellent shape, everything worked and the landscaping was very nice. The people there were some of the friendliest we have encountered. The services were good, the cafe was nice. I wish we had more time to spend there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This is a great park and the staff was fabulous. Access to the park was very easy. Maneuvering through the park was no problem with our 33 foot fifth wheel trailer. Sites were shady and roomy. The hook-ups were well positioned. Cable TV worked great and the bath house was amazing. There were 12 individual private rooms with shower and rest facilities. The bath house was very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Excellent park. Host couple couldn't have been nicer. Easy access. Has everything we needed. With the passport rate, this was a bargain. Location for sightseeing is perfect. Would definitely recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
Charged us more than their website indicated the price was - and had to pay extra for Wi-Fi even though their ad in the 1009 RV Travel and Camping Guide indicated it was included We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$50
Very clean, quiet, friendly, and convenient to all the Austin amenities. This place exceeded our expectations. The pool was warm and inviting. There were 12 private bathrooms with a sink, mirror, shower and toilet - Awesome! The breakfast was great. 5 stars for Service. Tons of shade and trees. We are new to Class A's and we did not have any problems driving in and around this park - plenty of room for our Allegro Bay. We loved it and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$52
We had visited this park 2 times in advance as we were looking to stay here permanently. The 3rd visit, we were told they needed money to hold the spot for us. We didn't have the money at THAT moment and explained that. They put us on a list. A few days later, we called to pay for our site. We were told then that it was already taken. We lost our house and have to live in means that we can afford. After even calling the area manager, no call back. I called again, no call back. This is after calling the corp office in Arizona. I had thought customer service is everyone's goal. Not this place. I'd never pay to stay at this place. Its in the WORST part of Austin, in the HOOD! All around the outside of this place is all illegals. Not to mention, next to a porno shop. Soooo not cool if you have kids! I told them if they do not resolve my problem, I'd call the Better Business Bureau, they never called me. So, now they are getting my poor review for NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. They can't even call me to find out if I wanted the spot before they gave it to someone else. That's plain rude! DO NOT STAY HERE! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$40
Park was run by a family for years, but with new ownership comes changes. The price seems steep for what seems to be a gravel and dirt site. The staff was friendly, and really new their park. no problems parking, but with all the trees i did pick up some new dings and scratches. I would stay again, but only for a short PPA priced stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
Exceptional park, right off of I-35. Lots of trees. Secure place to walk and sit outside. Friendly, competent staff. Fully stocked store. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
Price is Passport America price, normal rate is $40 a night. The roads are very narrow, and not well maintained pavement, but we had no trouble navigating them. Sites were long enough for our 34' trailer and truck, plenty wide enough, fairly level. Most sites had tall bushes between them for a bit of privacy. There are lots of shade trees. This is the first park I've been to that has a dog park centrally located, instead of stuck out in the back 40. The staff were very friendly and helpful. 150 sites and 4 "overflow" primitive sites. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$40
Was back again, had stayed in Jan '08 and rated it then - water pressure wasn't the damaging level I was warned, but like before it is nice to be told. I picked up a pressure gauge right after I left that time, so was able to stay on top of that potential problem. Was in almost exact same site I was in Jan, so same remarks hold true. Would like to see the pricing match the facility, as a little high for what you get. Can't see calling it a "resort". Staff is extremely helpful and guided me to site and lined me up as before. CATV was great and stay was short enough to not fool w/ Sat TV, used my PC's air card so not sure if or how WI-FI worked. Be sure to bring the CASH for your gate card, but I think they warn you about that when you reserve your place. Moved to a municipal campground to save money, though have used this place before and would again, for a short stay though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$15
An older campground that is well kept up, and in spite of the apparent tightness we had no problem manuevering into our site. The staff is VERY nice and will try to sell you Passport America if you are not already a user. WiFi is not free as in most campgrounds nowadays but at $5 a day coupled with the $15 a day campsite I can't complain. Several extended stays with only a few with too much stuff outside and under their RV. The park is next to the interstate which provides a constant source of highway noise, and is immediately adjacent to two XXX Adult viewing places which detracts from the wholesomeness. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
Rate is based on using a coupon $99 for a week. The roads are narrow but we didn't see anybody having a problem navigating them, even 40 ft with toad. Sites were decent size and level, bath house and showers were very clean. Great base for doing things in Austin, would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$19
Rates are based on Passport America good for two nights. This is a Carefree RV Park. The park was well maintained. An escort was provided and pointed out trees and the side of the road to stay on when making turns. The dog run was attached to the laundry and was very adequate. There was good camaraderie amongst the campers, especially with the breakfast Wednesday through Sunday in the attached office "cafe." The location of the campground is very convenient to down town Austin. The pull-through sites were all gravel and near to level, gravel everywhere. Very little grass amongst the sites - but lots of gravel.A good place for an over night stay, or two. (800) 284-0206 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Escorted to campsite, then went to check in. Great pull thru, and a clean, long site. Shrubs between site and trees to keep you cool. Very clean bathrooms and showers. Felt very welcomed here. Unfortunately very narrow roadways in campground. Would go back to this Resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
This is probably the worst RV park that I have ever stayed in. By the style of the office building, it appears to be an old KOA. The streets are so narrow that you can hardly get a rig down them. Some sites are wider than others. Even though there were several wider sites empty, we had one that was so narrow that we could hardly get in. One slide was inches from a tree, and there was a very narrow walkway on the other side of the coach. I asked for a big rig site, but it was so short that we had to park the car across the street from the rig. We could not get a satellite signal because of the trees, and they were so low over the coach that we were afraid to put the antenna up. "Landscaping" consisted of hundreds of overgrown trees and shrubs--all needing trimming--and the leaves and mess that they create. Because of all the over-growth, the place was closed in, dark and dreary. We felt like we were in a dungeon. Sites are a chalky gravel that created a mess tracking in. I will park in Wal-Mart before I would go back to this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2008
$34
Decent location if it wasnt for the xxx bookstores next door. We didnt stay. Small sites. i wouldnt book this again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$33
We stayed here 1 week and received a weekly rate. However, they attempted to charge more than I was quoted when I made the reservations. It is a nice campground close to downtown Austin. However, it is right on the frontage road for I-35 so it is a bit noisy. It had a nice dog park which was a plus. The big downer was that we had to pay for the Wi-Fi even though the paperwork they passed indicated it was free. The campground apparently has new management and several things have been changed: not necessarily for the better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$36
Very well landscaped. Escorted to site and helped getting set up. Sites are separated by shrubs and are gravel and level. Some back-in sites are tight getting in to. Interior roads need to be resurfaced. Convenient to interstate and downtown Austin. Short distance to San Marcos outlet malls and Cabela's. Nice individual cabins. There are individual restrooms and showers that are immaculate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$50
We stayed here in March, which according to them is an "event" so the rate is $50. No discounts! The park is conveniently located to downtown Austin, has private but small sites. The roads are extremely tight and it's impossible not to brush up against bushes pulling in or out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$37
Our stay was OK... The grounds/landscaping could use a definite upgrade. The staff were not rude to me, but I witnessed one of them yelling at another customer when it was unnecessary... We will probably not stay here again, but only because there are other RV parks nearby, and are in better locations (nearer to restaurants & shopping, and not as close to the Interstate). If you are looking for a one-nighter, this is your place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$34
Stayed here for one night in March. Good location right on the highway. Friendly staff and best general store I've seen in a while. Nice playground for the next time I bring the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$40
Good location to downtown. We stayed here for over a week so we were put in the back of the park where people didn't move in and out as often. Internet was strong but not free. You had to pay for it. The park is an old KOA if I was to guess by the buildings. They fixed it up but when we were there the leaves from the past fall were still on the ground etc. Attention was needed in that area. If they would clean up that, it would make the park look nicer and better kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$38
Level, gravel sites that are wide with privacy buffers (hedges). Our pull-thru was 70 ft. long. Narrow, paved roads. Friendly staff. High water pressure, good voltage and sewer hookup. Swimming pool was open in February, but didn't try it. Very full with some extended stay visitors. Probably popular with winter TX visitors. Gated with an access card. Many facilities near by. Cable free with site and pay for Wifi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$38
Great location, very helpful staff. Excellent CATV and WIFI. Was pleased to be warned about the water pressure before I did any damage. Quite a few full time setups. Kind of crowded, sites were almost on top of each other. Narrow streets and tight corners. Iffy to be called a resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$19
Exceptionally hospitable staff -- welcomed immediately on arrival -- escorted to our gravel site. Staff polite and welcoming. Site clean, thin grass surround, level, water and power worked fine (high water pressure noted). Clean, well-maintained restrooms, laundry and showers. Lots of trees, although trimmed well enough to access sites. Good place to overnight for a day or two when visiting Austin area. Propane available on site. Pool too close to highway to use or enjoy. Reasonable value for the area. RV PARK might be a better descriptor than RV RESORT. [PASSPORT AMERICA rate $19/nite] We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$38
The staff very friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our site and the staff person made sure we had everything we needed. There are plantings between the sites to provide extra privacy. Many of the sites are pull through. The cable was free but there was a charge for the WiFi. The WiFi is provided by Tengo Internet and the signal was strong. The Passport America half price rate is only good the first night. Highway noise was not a problem since we were near the back of the park. A card key gate entry is provided for security. Trash is picked up at the site every morning. There is a fenced dog walk area in the center of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$38
We have only stayed here once but will return from now on. I think this is the nicest RV park in the Austin area. The staff is very friendly. The only reason they didn't get a 10 is because I need to return to see if the quality is consistent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$38
The staff here is incredibly friendly and helpful! When you check in, they meet you at the entrance and take you to your site, then tell you to get set up before you even need to come back to the office and pay. They even give you a free pancake breakfast every morning. The park looks like it used to be a KOA, so it has lots of trees, and it has been nicely maintained. It IS right next to I-35, so there is highway noise, but it’s not that bad. Also, as mentioned in other reviews, it is next to an adult video place, but the park setting is so private that it’s just not an issue. Its location is extremely convenient to seeing the sights in Austin, which we appreciated. Their free Wi-Fi is excellent, and they have free cable TV as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$38
This is a former KOA from the late 1960s The sites and roads very tight due to trees. Rate includes a free pancake breakfast every morning. Many trees need to be trimmed around sites. The park has free WIFI that has an excellent signal. The cable TV is very good and has many channels. This park accepts Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
New ownership doing a very nice job of bringing the park up to date. Roads are still narrow. Breakfast is good. We didn't like the fact that it is so close to I-35 or the adult movie theatre. The proximity to downtown is excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
My family met there under unfortunate circumstances (my Dad's funeral). The warm and caring staff made us feel welcome and at ease from the second we arrived. Park is very clean, well maintained and secure. There is a shady, fenced dog park. Excellent South Austin location close to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
This park has plenty of shade. Laundry is secured area, but expensive, there are only 6 washers for the whole park. When it rains, it is extremely muddy and water stands at your site. This bringing more bugs. You do get a free breakfast though. Gate card for you to come & go is $20.00 (refundable). Lots of workers but the park seems to need some daily TLC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$44
Very cooperative people. They lead you to your site. Then you unhook since entry way is short. Roads are narrow but passable. Breakfast (pancakes) is included. Our pull-through site was long enough for our 45' rig and pick-up truck. We actually hooked up prior to leaving site. While it is true that campground is close to some adult stores, they are far enough away not to intrude. Over-all a very positive experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$32
We enjoyed the pancake breakfast and the friendly staff. The park was very clean. One of the best amenities we thought was how close it is to Austin. Just a zip up the freeway and your there in downtown. I think you have to realize the convenience of staying on the freeway close to Austin and overlook a few things. I would give it an overall 8 on the scale. Thanks We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
Price 50% with Passport America. Would not stay here again and definitely would not pay the full price of $50 for this place. The front desk was very inefficient--this park is definitely NOT "one of the best in America." We had a difficult time maneuvering through the tight roads and close shrubs. Adjacent to very busy highway. Our site was decent since it was halfway back through the park and we had lots of shrubbery which offered some privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2006
$33
This is one crummy place. As other reviewers mentioned, it is right next to two porn stores, which doesn't really bother me, but it could offend others. The actual campground is tight and the roads are in a state of advanced disrepair. To call this place a 5 star resort is simply a flat-out lie. The "rack rate" is $50 a night, but there are many ways to get discounts, including a "buy 2 get 1 night free" promotion. Even at $33 a night, this campground is way over-priced. We wanted to be as close to downtown as possible, but since there is always traffic on the feeder roads to I-35, you are not really benefitting from this proximity. Avoid this place at all costs! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$53
This is a PassPort America park so we got a 50% discount on 2 nights of the 4 that we stayed. Each morning there was a free pancake breakfast. We stayed in the back of the park so highway noise was not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2006
$50
Let me just say that the park itself is ok. This park is suppose to be rated "Best Parks in America", however, I do not understand why they received this. Possibly for the breakfast in the morning, but that's it. We are a family of 5 with kids ranging in ages from 3-14, this campground is next door to a XXX Adult MegaPlex, you can hear at night the big rigs pulling in there and having their trucks on idle...it is located right off of I-35 and the traffic is horrible. Another disappointment was the fact the swimming pool and play ground is 10 feet from I-35 feeder, not to mention feet away from the adult "theatre". The campground is between a car dealership and the mega-plex, and the back of the park backs up against apartments. We left early the next morning. We have a 38 ft. travel trailer and a Ford F-350 and both of them together would not fit in our spot, we had to move the truck to visitor parking. The pool is tiny and is right on the feeder of I-35. I will say that if you do not have children, the place may be right for you. The bathrooms are clean and the staff is very friendly, everything would be fine with this park except the location, that ruins it. I was told that this park is the best Austin had to offer, if that's the case we will not be doing much camping in Austin anymore! Huge disappointment. This is NOT "America's Best Park". It's not kid friendly or family oriented. No fishing, no hiking. Only fun would be shopping in Austin. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$45
We pulled in at 830 PM. We were told they closed at 9 PM and after hours check in was no problem. We were led down the road through the park by a man named Bill. He showed me where all the hookups were and invited us to a pancake breakfast the next day. ALL of the people in this park were extremely helpful and courteous. The roads were a little narrow, but they helped us get into the site. I would go back and we plan to. There is a movie theatre next door and the park is far from in a "seedy part of town". I was worried about that. We have three children and they had a ball. VERY KID FRIENDLY. A+ We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$32
Park is located just off I-35 near Austin which is good location for shopping and other activities; however, very noisy. Campsites close together. Staff friendly and helpful. Lots of trees which would be good during summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2005
$40
Over-rated by Woodalls and Trailer Life (this park buys big display ads in the RV park guides). Old, run-down, narrow roads, several abandoned trailers, dicey neighborhood. And the The only redeeming feature is its proximity to Austin. Typical of most big cities --the economics prohibit quality RV parks. We would only use this park again if we *really* had to be close to Austin. Otherwise, stay in Fredricksburg or Kerrville and day-trip in to Austin. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
We also stayed here in September, 2005 and paid $50.00/night. They did give us a 10% discount. This park's charges are relatively high, but I credit that to it's location within the Austin city limits and it's proximity to many of Austin's attractions. Also, it has very little competition. The staff was very helpful, considerate and friendly. The owner was rather surly. We stayed here a week in August after we had bought our RV. The staff was very helpful in advice, guiding us in and generally welcoming us to the RV community. It was very quiet and peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Narrow roads and hard to navigate. Very nice desk people. I believe the park is overpriced for a short stay type park. There is not actually anything to do there. We used it as a rest stop. Good security with a pass gate at entry. I believe it is more expensive than it should be. It was priced like we were at a resort or destination type park. They do offer free pancakes for breakfast. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$36
Very nice place! Great big trees and friendly people. it looked like there were a lot of employees. Everytime I turned around somebody was asking if I needed anything. Very clean as well. I will definitely stop next spring again! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$38
This place treats RV'ers first class. We were greeted when we pulled in and taken to a site and told to set up and get comfortable and come down to the office by 8:30pm to register. This was at 4:00 pm in the afternoon! Staff knowledgable and helpful. Had a great free pancake breakfast and the Saturday Night Prime Rib Steak Dinner is out of this world. Whether just an overnight stay or staying longer, don't pass this one up. They also honor Passport America with a smile!! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2001
$38
How this park stays in business is indeed a mystery. Each camper we spoke to said they would never, ever return. The staff, from the owner on down, are some of the rudest, surliest, most obnoxious people we have ever met at a campground. When we exclaimed surprise at the price the owner said " must not get out much huh?" . It got worse from there. The $38.00 price is the BASE price. There can and will be ad ons. That an old KOA with cramped ridiculously small roads, unlevel sites, dirty facilities and gestapo like rule enforcement, that is located next to a Porno Megastore and on the main "stroll" of the area's prostitutes, can charge the prices they do is mind boggling. The ratings achieved by this park had to have been "purchased" as is evidenced by the massive amount of billboards which can be seen as far away as Oklahoma for this park. Save yourself money and aggravation and drive on by! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2000
$32
Large staff, yet seemingly rude and not at all helpful with information on area attractions or directions. Would not stay again. Heavy security because of bad neighborhood gave impression of an armed camp or prison atmosphere. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$38
This is a really nice campground. They have permanents, but are in a different area from the short timers. Close to freeway, yet pretty quiet. Lots of nice big trees. Grounds are maintained daily by a large staff. This park is very busy. Has a nice store and cafe. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com