206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Seacliff State Beach was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (831) 685-6442
CGID270

Seacliff State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   1   10   4   9   4   10   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$65
Sites are very close together. I will only do full hookups to avoid generators noise. The park is as good as your neighbors. Sites are very close. If neighbor has a fire - you get to breath the smoke. If neighbor talks loud, you get to hear every word of it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$65
This is a wonderful California State beach campground. We have stayed in campgrounds across the country, and California Beaches are among the most beautiful. They are also among the most popular, hence the need for reservations! If you show up without a reservation, you take your chances. The sites are asphalt with grass between them, and the full hook up sites are great. The beach is close and the crashing waves are awesome. Cell signal is sketchy in the campground due to the tall cliffs behind the campground. Our Verizon air card worked well, but I had to go up to the parking lot for reliable phone signal. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2012
$58
This is the worst of the worst. No reservations so I was put in overflow. Just a black top parking lot. No water, table, shade or anything. All this for $58. I left and got a refund. As a lifelong resident of California, I am ashamed of our park system. Having traveled through many states, I can tell you California Parks are at the bottom of the heap, and the most expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$65
We love love love Sea Cliff SB. It's very stressful trying to get a reservation the first day of each month. But we give it the old college try each month and are able to get in 4 times a year. We love watching everyone walking by all day. You are literally steps from the beach. The waves are so wonderful to listen to at night. You can't go wrong here. Good luck getting a reservation though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$55
Check in was quick and friendly. We were in the overflow section which is just a parking lot but we knew that going in. Spaces were wide and long enough for us. We did not feel cramped. The camp host was friendly and helpful. The location is what attracted us and brought us back. We were here about 4 years ago. We were disappointed in the level of service though. There are no sinks in the bathrooms and half of them have been closed due to budget cuts. Garbage pick up must be limited too as the bins were full. The place no longer has the atmosphere that we found before. The dump station is closed (we had to drive a couple of miles to the next State Park to dump). I doubt if we will be back. We paid $55.00 to stay in a bare parking lot with limited service. The Parks Department needs to shake their heads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
We love this campground. The spots are good size with plenty of room for tow vehicle and trailer. No shade or trees, but who needs that when your on the beach. The sites are ocean front with full hook-ups. It's very difficult to get reservations but well worth the effort. I would camp here again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
What a dump! Basically a parking lot next to a dirty beach. We had a self contained space for $55 as there were no hooks ups available. You reverse into a lined off space (nice and wide and long). There is a public running/walking path right in front of the lots. We hadn't even set up the RV when we had to ask a lady to remove her dog's waste from next to the camper where she had let it do its affairs. Three dogs deposited within a couple of feet from our RV over the course of the evening, with 2 of the three owners clearing without being asked. But even so, parking near a local dog latrine is not very pleasant. The toilets were so dirty that we would not use them, and the same goes for the the shower. People we met in Las Vegas raved about the spot. So maybe we are too fussy for a dirty, dog latrine area on a stinky beach. Cannot recommend and would not use again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$65
The most beautiful spot we've camped at! Back in sites right on the beach with full hookups. It was very quiet, and each site has a sandy "yard" with picnic table. The one-mile boardwalk is in front of the sites. We stayed 3 nights and wished it were longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
We visit this park every year and have loved it. This year it seems to have gone downhill as far as cleanliness and quality of campers. There were doggy piles all over the place, cigarette butts, trash, broken glass and etc. The spaces are tight and close together, which in the past has never been a problem. However, the park is now overrun with rude, cigar-smoking, table-banging, beer-drinking, loud-talking at 6am, parking-their-car-in-front-of-other-camper's-spaces people whose dogs are out-of-control with aggressive behavior and excessive barking. All this made the close quarters nearly unbearable. One guy was even forging metal in his fire pit and clanging away all day with a hammer like the beach was his personal blacksmith shop. It was so loud it echoed up and down the beach, let alone what it must have been like for those in the spaces right next door! The civility and common courtesy that used to exist here is gone. Too bad because it is a great location and the proximity to the beach cannot be beat and the hosts and rangers are always very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
I booked this place exactly 6 months ahead, as soon as the booking became available at 8am. It filled up like crazy and I was only able to get 2 nights although I was hoping for 3. It's insane. But when I got here, I was not that impressed. It's state ran, not exactly clean, with lots of weeds, dirty bathrooms, somewhat trashy. Yes, it's right infront of the ocean/beach which is good, but it's not the cleanest beach I've been to. You get a fair amount of sand in your RV no matter what you do because it's so close to the beach. There are a lot of pedestrians that walk right in front of the beach/RV so there isn't much privacy. I was not impressed and I will not make that kind of effort to reserve a spot MONTHS in advance for this mediocre park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$50
Love state parks and this is no exception. They are a bit more expensive but usually worth it because of the views. Staff was very friendly. Was passing through but will be back!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$65
Previous review describes this facility well. Lots of sand but location has to account for something. Rather pricey for sure. But you are right on the ocean, just yards from where the waves crash upon the shore. I found that to avoid the ubiquitous dog-walkers I could walk on the beach, thereby not having to weave in and out among the many pooches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$65
We love this campground and so do a lot of other people. You need to book it 6 months in advance and it sells out within 5 minutes after reservations open. Nothing beats full hookups on the beach. The sites are not large but we have a 45' motorhome and were able get in. We have also stayed here in a trailer and had great time. Looking forward to the next time I can get reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$44
Not our cup of tea, although many others we talked with were delighted with it. Being right on the ocean with full hookups was not enough to overcome the deficiencies. The raised area between all sites is all sand. There is no room to sit outdoors except on the sand. The campground is right on a boardwalk/seawall that many locals use for exercising and walking their dogs, so privacy is non-existent. It's clear that California is operating their parks on the cheap as there is no landscaping whatsoever, and everything looks shabby. Made our reservation in March so we got the $44 rate. It's now $65, $55 for the overflow no-hookup area. The overflow area has no access to water and no dump station. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
I was only able to secure an overflow site at this park but it is well worth it! Tis was my first time camping at this park and upon driving in I quickly realized it was very tight for my 26 foot travel trailer. There is an "island" that separates the camping spaces and the main road through the campground. The only way I was able to get in there was to jump the island. It took a little nerve as I am relatively new to the rv lifestyle. My neighbors were very helpful in guiding me in to our spot on the beach. This park is awesome and my kids didn't want to leave. It is a bit cramped but you'll probably be at the beach more than you'll be at your rv anyway! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
A very nice place to stay, although plan on getting lots of sand in you RV. AT&T phone service is poor at the campsite because of the hill along the entire campsite. Reception better at the entrance to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$26
Yes, this is a parking lot on the beach with full hookups, but it's a parking lot on the BEACH with full hookups! What a fabulous place to stay if you want beach accessibility! We loved this place so much. The weather in was fabulous, the people are nice, there's a new Safeway grocery store right down the street. Who could ask for more? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$44
Full hookups right next to the beach. That about says it all! Couple useful points, the sites are a fairly narrow, paved, level parking spot with a picnic table and fire pit on sand next to it. The sand is kept in with a curb, so you need to be careful backing in so you don't scuff your tires/rims. Several mile long walking path runs right behind the RV's. Camphosts are friendly and have a table of reading material you can borrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$44
Great park with fantastic views of the ocean. We loved the park but not the reservation system they have. The park only has 26 full hook up spots, with one of those spots kept for use at the park rangers discretion. I feel this is wrong considering you have to book this park 7 months in advance and it's totally booked within 15 minutes after reservations open. By not making the spot available for rental, it just makes it that much more difficult to obtain a reservation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
The on site hosts were friendly and helpful. Easy access to highway 101. We were very pleased with this park. The beach was beautiful. The sites were level and well maintained. We will return to this park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$44
Great beach side campsite. Loads of locals and their dogs walk by each day. If you stay longer then a few day. You'll get to know them. Great park hosts year round. Have exchange table. Take a book, share a book. A few locals that live down the road (and must use the park road) have a rather bad habit of speeding on the way to work (morning) and back home (evening). The park ranger is aware of this and keeps a close eye out. But if you have very young ones you have been warned! Sadly the in route / overflow camping is now also held hostage by that company reserve america. Best thing about overflow? You can head in (A or C class) so you have a view of the ocean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$27
As previously posted, park itself is outstanding, but poorly planned. That is the reason for a 6 rating. Whether the state government submits to local concerns or not, the park designers have grossly limited the number and size of rv's able to utilize this beautiful area campground. It does not matter who was or who is governor, it can be corrected and yet, it is not! Politics at its best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$10
I really loved that it was next to the beach. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
I agree with previous post, but only give this campground a nine because of the poor utilization of space! Gov. Davis again has shown his lack of creative ability to have a park designed not take advantage of state property. Located on a beautiful stretch of beach, numerous spaces created only for small units. A large ugly divider that houses weeds and sand that seperates parking spaces and access road limits the size. A total waste!!! As previously posted, bluff overlooking ocean also is wasted and poorly planned. This is state land, but evidently not intended for full recreational use of people in California. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Sea Cliff State Park offered pull-in sites along a sea wall, with a wide beach in front, and a tall cliff to the rear. Only about half the sites offered hookups. When we arrived in June at 2:34 p.m. midweek-without reservations- only spaces in the non-hookup "overflow" area were available. They were admitting only self-contained motorhomes at the time. Apparently, park construction limited vehicle turn around: any RV longer than 34' was turned away at that time. The "overflow" spaces were basically the same as the hook-up ones, but without utilities. For water and sewer we were told to go to nearby New Brighton State Beach. We were told at the gate that generators were allowed, but did not know at that time that "generators may be operated from 10:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m." only. This is one park I would recommend that RVers call ahead to determine availablity and any special restrictions . We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Great place to visit. Views and nature, plus proximity to beach make this an outstanding campground! Generally quiet and clean. It is a bummer that this campground only has 26 sites with hookups, but that also makes it nice and quiet with a lower hassle factor. By the way, the park has been here for many years so blaming the limited 26 sites on our current governor is not exactly accurate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Extremely difficult to obtain sites. Six/seven month pre reservation needed majority of times. Would advise small overnight sites (w/o hookups) be converted into rental spaces. This would allow approximately 30 more rental spaces. Overnight spaces small and restricted to small RV's only! A shame to waste space like this overlooking ocean!!! A state beach campground with excellent location, unfortunately poorly thought out and constructed because of the wasted space. A parking lot on bluff overlooking beach not utilized effectively. Area is used as storage by city and commercial vehicles. Majority of bluff not utilized. Again, a terrible waste of land located on the ocean where spaces could be utilized for recreational use. California parks and recreation department deserves a poor rating because of waste of profitable and beautiful scenic area! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com