206669 User submitted reviews online!!
McKinney Falls State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (512) 243-1643
CGID2701

McKinney Falls State Park

Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   8   7   6   7   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
This park has about 6 miles of hiking & biking trails, but there has been some damage done by recent floods. The walk-in campground, visitor's center, and Rock Shelter trail are closed as a result. Some roads are narrow and some sites are not level. There are lots of birds singing, but unfortunately you also hear noise from the nearby vehicular and aircraft traffic. There is supposed to be WiFi at headquarters, but we got no signal at our nearby campsite. The falls are scenic and are worth checking out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$24
First off I am unsure why the rates at this park are so high. It doesn't reflect in the amenities offered. They have one shower house per camping loop with two showers for men and women. There was a line to use the facilities. Roads are very narrow and I am really unsure how the bigger rigs got in and out of their spots. Most back in sites are at 70 degree or greater off the main road. Have to be very skilled to get a trailer backed in and avoid all the trees. Pull through's are sharp hoops. Sites are not level and you need to be sure and have plenty of leveling blocks. Wildlife is nice, lots of deer to watch in the morning and evening. Falls are nice and the old historic sites are interesting. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
Had a nice site, level, shaded, private. Hiking trails were good. A recent flood has devastated the areas near the creek. One visitor center building was closed and a large picnic area also closed for cleanup. Lots of downed trees. Quiet, although some road noise as we happened to picked a site near the road. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
The sites are a mixture of pull-throughs and back-ins with adequate space between sites. I was assigned a pull-through and was directed to travel around the loop to the right in order to pull in with the utilities correctly positioned. The road through the loop is bi-directional and too narrow in my opinion for multiple rigs traveling opposite directions, but this wasn't a problem when I arrived in our 20' trailer. Portions of the park are being repaired due to severe flooding in 2013 and therefore closed. This really only impacts the walk-in tent sites and a picnic area. Both were still accessible for hiking. The river and the falls are clean and the water is crystal clear. In places I could see 10-15 to the bottom though the majority of the water doesn't appear to be this deep. My dog loved playing in the numerous puddles in the bedrock. This State Park is just minutes from the airport and not much further from downtown Austin. Very easy to find and yet isolated except for the occasional jet taking off/landing. My only complaint was that the restroom nearest my camp site did not have showers though there were showers on the other side of the loop. Not really a complaint, but in general this is an old state park and the trails and facilities reflect the age. Maintenance appears to be generally current, however the hiking/bike paths were rough in places and I didn't feel comfortable riding my bike on them. They are definitely better suited to mountain bikes rather than my recumbent that I brought with me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$29
We stayed here just one night while passing through. Based on the previous review of a 40' making it through, we decided to come on in. The attendant gave us spot 63, a moon shaped pull through. There was NO way my 40' was gonna be able to pull in that skinny space without taking out the power pole and water, plus low hanging trees kept us out. We spied a second spot, a back in, but again a branch ended that. We eventually found another back in spot but it was very difficult to get into due to the narrow road we were backing in from and branches on the swing side. We made it, but barely and with white knuckles. Since we are in the back of the park, I had a chance to see the whole place, and I would NEVER recommend that anyone bring anything over 36' in here. Also, slides are a problem because of the trees. They need to do some trimming around here big time. Like the previous poster said, the dump station is super narrow with a gigantic tree next to it. I squeezed in with 1 inch to spare. (white knuckles) That being said, once in the spot, the park is ok. There are lots of campers nearby in tents, and a couple of 5th wheels. It's quiet, but I'm ready to leave, and nervous about pulling out. There is a drop off on each side of this narrow site, so pulling out must be precisely done the way I came in. When back in, my back tires had to rotate within 3 inches of the fall off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$24
A great state park. Easy to maneuver in our 40ft with tow. Paved roads and sites. We had a pull through and we were able to get satellite reception. Easy access to Austin and the toll road that by-passes I-35. No sewer, there is a dump station with freshly trimmed trees, so clearance is not an issue. There are mountain bike and hiking trails. Gave it a 7 due to lack of amenities. Otherwise, a great place to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$32
The campground in this Texas state park shows some signs of age. Most sites have 30 amp service with 50 amps being available at a few. All the sites are gravel. Many, but not all, are level. Most have adequate clearance for big rigs. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, but were a little put off by the $6.00 daily entrance fee we had to pay (thus the $34.00 nightly fee). This park sustained damage from the 2013 Halloween flood. The visitors center is closed due to flooding and may be closed for some time. The short Rock Shelter trail is closed. The longer Homestead and Onion Creek trails are both open. Still there is plenty to do in the park and you can't beat the location so close to Austin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
We made reservations on-line. When we had to change them there was a $5 charge. We stayed three nights. The park is quiet at night, a little noise from the traffic on McKinney Falls Parkway and an occasional bit of jet noise from the airport that is about 2 miles east. The park is not in the approach path for the airport. We paid $24 for 50 amp service. The pull through site is a crescent off to the side of the road with the water/power post between the road and parking. I almost scraped the power post with our 40 foot motor home, backed up repositioned and got into the site with a few branches lightly brushing the coach. Some tree trimming would help. We were able to level on this site, the campground is on a gently sloping hillside and may not be as level on other sites. Our site was near the top of the hill closest to the parkway. There is a low hanging branch (10 ft) over the sewer dump so we were unable to use it. Power is good and there is shade at least on one side. Even with trees we had satellite TV on our site and good AT&T phone and T-Mobile hot spot coverage. Staff was friendly and courteous, after hours check in not so convenient, but available. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
We had purchased the Texas State Park annual pass for $70 which gave us four 1/2 price camping nights. Without the pass, there is an additional day use fee of between $4 and $8 per person per day which makes the camping rates at the state parks too high. We had site #14, a water and 50 amp electric paved pull-through level site. The site was nice and large and we were able to get a satellite signal. This is a very nice and quiet park during the week. Great hiking and biking trails that would be better if they were marked more clearly. Beautiful, natural setting with two waterfalls. Very nice and clean bathrooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
This is a great state park with lots of amenities about 15 miles south of Austin. The sites are spacious but most have a slope. We were not able to get our 40' RV completely level. There were other spots but we wanted site 12. There is a paved 3-mile walking/biking path around the park as well as other walks, historical sites to visit, and picnic tables on the river. It is pretty remote and the closest Walmart and shopping is a minimum of 5 miles away. Lots of trees and grass at most sites and not all sites were satellite accessible. They charged us $31 a night but added a $6 per person per day entrance fee. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$32
This delightful park is just on the outskirts of Austin. The sites are very nicely spaced with water and electric hook ups and an easy to use dump site. There are lots of trees, and some sites have lovely shade. With the drought, the trees aren't as green, they tell us. Hopefully this year, they will get some rain. If you have dogs, hold on TIGHT. There are herds of deer in the woods. Our lab almost tore my arm off in the dark last night when she smelled or saw them. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
This is a fairly nice campground. The restrooms & showers were fine. We were camped here on a weekend and there were a lot of families with lots of kids. If you don't want to listen to lots of kids and dogs barking come during the week. Lots of locals use this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$20
We stayed in site 29, a nice pull-through with no low-hanging branches which abound here. No Wi-Fi, but there is good Verizon coverage for a hotspot. No cable TV at our site and poor over the air signal. Great trails to the falls and lots of birds and deer. Staff were very friendly. Quiet during the week, but fills up on the weekend, but quiet at night. We have been using the Texas State Parks Pass which saves a lot in the long run. There are very many parks in the state. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
Camped at this state park numerous times. Always friendly staff. Need to watch the trees if camping in a 5th wheel lots of low branches. It's also close to Austin if you want to go into town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
This is a nice state park. Its a great place to stay near Austin . If you have a big rig you need to choose your site due to trees, some of the pull through sites are tight for a longer rig. We stayed in site 5 which is a pull through and open, great in the winter when you don't want shade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
This is a beautiful Texas State Park. Lots of really nice campsites with decent space between sites so you don't feel a lack of privacy. Park staff was very friendly and helpful and took the extra time to make sure I received a campsite I would like. Located on the southeast edge of Austin, shopping, restaurants, and attractions are nearby. The park has great hike and bike trails and Onion Creek flows through it. We stayed here five nights and would liked to have stayed more. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Beautiful State park. Wish we were there longer to enjoy the amenities. In addition to campsite fee, there is a $6/night/person entry fee. Wonderful staff. Very quiet - there mid-week. Verizon coverage was 4 of 5 bars. They recycle = thank you. Showers were 7 of 10. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
This is a really nice state park. Near Austin, a good location to start from for many side trips. Only drawback is some sites not real level. You also get some air traffic noise. Park staff are friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
Still at the top of our list for state parks in Texas. Wonderful park with miles of walking trails and so may beautiful places to sit and enjoy the wildlife and peace. Some sites require leveling. Ours did but my parent's didn't. The power was dependable without any interruptions. We had many deer and even a fox visit our site during our 6 night stay. We love that this park is so close to all Austin has to offer but when you are inside the park you have a hard time imagining the major city outside it's perimeters. It's that peaceful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$20
We're big fans of Texas State Parks and this one is no exception. Staff is friendly, surroundings are beautiful and it's close enough for easy drives into Austin to see the sights. Like many of the Texas parks we've been in, some of the sites are not very level, but we had our choice since it's not very busy in mid-December. Our last time in Austin we stayed at Lone Star but this suits us much better. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
Great scenery, bike trails and wide open sites in a fairly quiet location near Austin. Good jumpoff location to San Antonio riverwalk and the Alamo. Wi-Fi was at hotspots only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
There are about ten 50amp sites. A handful are semicircle pull-through sites in which an HDT and Fifth wheel (65') could fit. Site 19 is across the street from extra parking for an HDT or extra vehicle. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Nice park and very convenient to the city of Austin. Onion Creek flows through it and plenty of wading or swimming places are available! Very busy on the weekends for day usage. Nice visitors' center, hiking/biking trails, and historical walks. Good WiFi at the visitor's center! Very family friendly and plenty of wildlife to see around dark! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
This is a very busy park and due to all the rain in the area this spring was really grown up. I guess they hadn't had a chance to mow and/or weedeat the sites yet. There were nice hiking/biking trails. We saw some deer. The staff were very helpful and professional. We had reserved a 30 amp site, but could have gotten a 50 amp when we arrived, but since we really didn't need the 50 amp service this time of year still went with a 30 amp site. This price is site cost only as we have the Texas Park Pass which covers the daily entrance fee of and additional $5.00 per person/day. We had to pay $5.00/day for an additional vehicle fee and had to park at the restroom area. This park extremely strict about vehicle being on pavement. It is a nice park and is a good meeting point for us and daughter's family so probably will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$18
This was our second trip to this park. The close proximity to everything Austin has to offer without being stuck in a private RV park with no where to roam can't be beat. We stayed in site #20, which was level, roomy and had a beautiful old oak tree to enjoy watching the birds and squirrels run around in. There are plenty of walking and bike trails to enjoy and the river is flowing again since the rainfall has returned to this area. Most sites are big rig friendly and have ample space for slides without the interference of trees close to the pad. The park ranger and staff was very friendly and helpful. The only improvement that could be made to this park is sewer hookups, but sometimes you can't have it all. We will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
Only lack of sewer prevented this park from a 10. Older well treed park with large sites, well spaced out for privacy. In spite of trees we had no problems with satellite reception. Loads of birds, but they made us remove our feeders due to strict no wildlife feeding rules. Near to Austin for sightseeing. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$17
Nice park with nice people. Staff is friendly and helpful. Facility is clean and well kept. The nightly rate does not include $3 internet reservation fee or the $4 per person daily entry fee. The park does not have internet in the park as advertised. We were told it has not worked in some time and it is unknown when it will be repaired. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$26
The $26 includes the $4 day use fee for out-of-state guests. This park was quiet, with trails, lots of wildlife, reasonable facilities (though the wife thought lighting was insufficient). Note that Wi-Fi is available only at the visitor's center, which closes in the early evening. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$24
We camped here for 4 nights. This park was great. It has miles of hiking trails, a nice waterfall, and tons of nature. We saw a pack of 9 deer when we first drove in. The sites were clean, restrooms mostly clean, and the trails were very clean. Getting to Austin requires a car or a $25 cab ride. We loved the city. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$16
We enjoyed the hiking and biking on well marked tails along the Onion and Williamson Creeks. Big rig friendly in one loop (Sites 1-40). However, much tighter in the second loop. There are good facilities for all to enjoy. The location is close to downtown Austin and the airport. It can get noisy but overall not bad at all. The Rangers are young green-horns that tend to be a bit over-the-top with the regulations! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$5
We've been here a few times, we also have the state parks membership. Close to Austin, lots of nature around, some of the sites are difficult to back-in if your rv is 30 or more feet long, but doable. Always lots of wildlife, accommodating staff. We usually stay here if we are going to a UT football game or the Pecan Street Festival is in town. Looking forward to it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
Great place for being close to Austin, yet in-the-country feel! Onion Creek passes right through the park & you can swim/wade near the Falls (if it's not closed due to high bacteria count). Nice level concrete pull-through sites with shade, woods, deer, playgrounds, etc. HOT water for showers! Very popular park so make reservations early! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$16
Nice park very close to Austin. Good place to stay when you want to discover Austin. Nice hiking paths along the river and falls. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$16
We enjoyed this park close to Austin. The park did have to close down our last day due to a sewer break--we were unable to use the restrooms or use the dump station. Lots of deer around and nice walking/biking paths. Pull through sites very convenient for large motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$16
Very pretty, quiet area. Internet satellite access okay. Saw lots of deer. Not much water in falls due to dry season. We could only overnight as they were full for the weekend. Would return to this park. We bought a parks pass, otherwise there is also a daily admission fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
Beautiful scenery at this state park. Park staff very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$14
This is a nice State Park. The site are big and space out. We find this Park really easy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
The park front desk personnel were not too accommodating or pleasant the day we arrived. Our pull-thru site was nice and large, but wasn't much selection for sites... we got lucky. The park had nice paved hiking trails, although there was one spot that has a steep incline and bicyclers came roaring down while we were walking up. Nice fishing spots by the falls area. One day that it rained we went into Austin to a mall and the State Capitol as our nephews had not been there before. We saw deer near our campsite. I camped here with my husband, 2 nephews, and 3 dogs. Not a bad park, but just wasn't one of my favorites so far. We drove from Fort Worth to camp here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2006
$24
Way overpriced for what we got. We had two sites for a one night stop. Pull throughs are curved and impossible for a 30' trailer. We fought two of the pull through sites and finally found a back in site just deep enough to hold us. (many would not). We were there just to spend the night, but we did call the office about 15 minutes prior to closing. They assured us they had 55-60 foot pull thrus but didn't wish to take the time to assign us a site. Park was hard to find at night due to lack of signs. We will not stay there again. If Texas rest areas can offer Wifi, we should have had it for free for the price this park charged. If a family was staying several nights and knew ahead of time what type of site they would get and arrived during the day, the experience might be totally different. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$16
This campground is just minutes from downtown Austin and all the typical places tourist like to visit. The park is located in the woods and most sites are wooded. This are two three mile hiking/biking trails located within the park, as well as Onion Creek runs through the park and has two smallish waterfalls. Fishing is allowed as fishing within all Texas state parks is free. The Smith Visitor Center is open on weekends except during the winter. It costs $4 per person to camp or use the many day use areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Great shady pull thru sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$12
Terrific place to stay. Trails, history, close to attractions in Austin, friendly staff, beautiful small waterfalls to swim and fish at, Indian rock shelter. Can't say enough about this place. We stayed in a tent but will be returning to stay in the pop up for the 4th of July weekend. One of our favorite spots. Even though you are very close to everything in Austin, this park makes you feel like you are miles away. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com